
TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 5. TEXAS FACILITIES 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 126. SURPLUS AND SALVAGE 
PROPERTY PROGRAMS 
SUBCHAPTER A. STATE SURPLUS AND 
SALVAGE PROPERTY 
1 TAC §§126.1, 126.4, 126.5 
Introduction and Background. 

The Texas Facilities Commission ("TFC") adopts amendments to 
§§126.1, 126.4, and 126.5 of Title 1, Part 5, Chapter 126 of the 
Texas Administrative Code, with changes to the proposed text 
as published in the April 15, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 2639). 

During its rule review, published in the December 11, 2015, is-
sue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8915), the Texas Facilities 
Commission ("Commission" or "TFC") reviewed and considered 
Texas Administrative Code, Title 1, Chapter 126 for readoption, 
revision, or repeal in accordance with the Texas Government 
Code §2001.039 (West 2008). The Commission determined that 
Texas Administrative Code, Title 1, §§126.1 - 126.5 were still 
necessary as these rules were promulgated to direct the trans-
fer, sale, auction, or other disposition of State of Texas surplus 
and salvage property either by the state agency that owns the 
subject property or by the Commission, on behalf of the State 
of Texas under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2175. Revi-
sions to these rules, however, were required to ensure consis-
tency with governing statutes and to correct typographical errors. 
Accordingly, the Commission proposed amendments to Chapter 
126. Notice of the proposed amendments was published in the 
April 15, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 2639). 

Justification for the Rule. 

Proposed revisions to existing rules are required to reflect the 
agency's name change, to ensure consistency with governing 
statutes, and to correct typographical errors. Section 126.1 de-
fines terms used in the subchapter addressing state surplus and 
salvage property. The adopted amendment will add definitions 
that will address changes made to §2175.1825 and §2175.241 of 
the Texas Government Code. Section 126.4 establishes rules for 
the direct transfer, priority, reporting and other disposition of sur-
plus and salvage property. The adopted amendment is required 
to conform to changes made to §2175.184 and §2175.541 of 
the Texas Government Code. Section 126.5 addresses disposi-
tion of surplus and salvage property to the public. The adopted 
amendment is required to address changes to §2174.190 and 

§2175.241 of the Texas Government Code. Due to comments 
received by another state agency, the Commission is adopting 
the amendments to Chapter 126 with changes. 

Comments. 

The 30-day comment period ended on May 16, 2016. During the 
30-day comment period, the Commission received written com-
ments from the Texas Department of Transportation ("TXDOT"). 
Summary of the comments and the Commission's response fol-
low: 

Proposed amendment to §126.1, adding definition of "Surplus 
Advertising Period": proposed definition conflicts with statute. 

Commission response: Deleted the proposed definition from the 
adopted rules. 

Proposed amendment to §126.4, adding language regarding di-
rect transfer fees: TXDOT requested further clarification con-
cerning the direct transfer fee. Specifically, TXDOT seeks clari-
fication on whether the direct transfer fee is the price established 
for the property or is intended to be a fee in addition to the es-
tablished price and which agency, the Commission or the selling 
state agency, receives the proposed fee. 

Commission response: Deleted the proposed language from the 
adopted rules. TFC added language that will make §126.4(a)(2) 
conform with statutory changes by changing the posting from the 
State Comptroller's website to TFC's website. 

Proposed amendment to §126.5, adding subsection (c): TX-
DOT requests clarification as to whether the fee to TFC would 
be charged only for donations made by TFC under subsection 
(c)(1), or whether the fee would also be charged to donations 
made by state agencies under subsection (c)(2). 

Commission response: The Government Code gives TFC the 
authority to charge a fee. While TFC anticipates in most sit-
uations where TFC has minimal involvement, no fee would be 
collected on behalf of TFC. In the event that TFC encounters 
a situation where more costs are incurred with the transaction, 
TFC reserves the right to collect the fee. 

Proposed amendment to §126.5, adding subsection (d): TXDOT 
requests that the terms "Small Value Items" and "Capital Assets" 
be defined and requests clarification as to the Commission's au-
thority to withhold 12 percent from the proceeds of a sale or 
transfer. 

Commission response: Added clarifying language as to the def-
inition of "Small Value Items", as well as clarifying language that 
TFC seeks to recover costs, and deleted the language related to 
"Capital Assets" and withholding 12 percent. 

Statutory Authority. 
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The amended rules are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§§2175.1825(a), 2175.184(a), 2175.190(c), and 2175. 241(a), 
(b), (c), and (d) (West 2008 & Supp. 2015). 

Cross Reference to Statute. 

The statutory provisions affected by the adopted rules are those 
set forth in Chapter 2175 of the Texas Government Code. 

§126.1. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Certificate of Acquisition--A form prescribed by the 
Commission that verifies the qualifications of an approved assistance 
organization or political subdivision as an entity entitled to receive state 
surplus or salvage property. 

(2) Commission--The Texas Facilities Commission. 

(3) Local Governmental Entity--Each local government 
entity of the state, including counties, municipalities, and special 
purpose districts such as school districts, districts for fire and emer-
gency services, including volunteer fire departments, utility and water 
districts, and health districts. 

(4) Political subdivision--Each political subdivision of the 
state, including counties, municipalities, public school districts, volun-
teer fire departments. 

(5) State agency--

(A) a department, commission, board, office, or other 
agency in the executive branch of state government created by the state 
constitution or a state statute; 

(B) the supreme court, the court of criminal appeals, a 
court of appeals, or the Texas Judicial Council; and 

(C) the Civil Air Patrol, Texas Wing. 

§126.4. Direct Transfer, Priority, Reporting, and Other Disposition. 

(a) Priority of claim. 

(1) The first state agency, political subdivision or assis-
tance organization that agrees to the established price before the ex-
piration of ten (10) business days shall be entitled to the property; pro-
vided, however, a state agency shall have first priority over all other 
entities. 

(2) In the event two competing and equivalent requests are 
received from parties of equal standing, the Commission shall award 
the property in the best interests of the state. Two or more requests shall 
be considered "competing and equivalent" for purposes of this section 
if each meets the established price on the same business day and within 
the ten (10) business day period following posting on the Commission's 
website. 

(b) Reporting requirements. When a transfer of property is 
made to a political subdivision or assistance organization, the state 
agency disposing of the property must ensure the completion of a "Cer-
tificate of Acquisition" form. In completing the Certificate of Acqui-
sition, the political subdivision or assistance organization certifies its 
continued qualification as an entity entitled to receive state surplus or 
salvage property, acknowledges receipt of property, and certifies that 
the property will be used for the purpose expressed by the organiza-
tion at the time of application. The completed "Certificate of Acquisi-
tion" is to be retained by the state agency and a copy should be sent to 
the Commission within 5 business days of transfer. After the transfer, 
the state agency disposing of the property must document the proceeds 
from sale into the Comptroller's State Property Accounting System. 

§126.5. Disposition of Surplus and Salvage Property to the Public by 
Competitive Bidding, Auction, or Direct Sale. 

(a) Method of Sale. The Commission will consider the fol-
lowing criteria when determining the method of sale for surplus and 
salvage property: 

(1) geographic location; 

(2) cost of transportation if applicable; 

(3) sales history for similar property; 

(4) type of property; and 

(5) condition of property. 

(b) Disposition by direct sale to the public. 

(1) Location and method of direct sales. Direct sales op-
erations may be conducted at designated state facilities or warehouses 
approved by the Commission or by live or Internet auction. 

(A) Access. The general public, political subdivision, 
and assistance organizations will have equal access. 

(B) Payment. A purchaser under this section must pay 
for the surplus or salvage property by an approved method of payment 
at the time of sale and prior to obtaining possession or actual title to the 
property. 

(C) Live auctions. Surplus or salvage property sold 
through the live auction method shall be accompanied by an auc-
tioneer's paid receipt. The auctioneer's paid receipt will serve as the 
authorization of the Commission that the purchaser has in good faith 
complied with the conditions of the sale. 

(D) Internet auctions. The Commission may contract 
with one or more commercial Internet auction sites for sale of state 
surplus or salvage property. Property on the Internet auction site shall 
be posted for at least ten (10) calendar days. 

(2) Transfer of property. When a purchaser or successful 
bidder has paid the full amount due for the purchase of surplus or sal-
vage property, the Commission or its designee shall notify both the 
successful bidder and the state agency holding the title of the surplus 
or salvage property and authorize the transfer of possession. In the case 
of vehicles or other items which require title transfer, it shall be the re-
sponsibility of the state agency holding title to complete the transfer of 
title to the purchaser or successful bidder. 

(3) Forfeiture. In the event a purchaser or successful bid-
der pays for the property, but fails to remove the property within the 
time specified, the purchaser or successful bidder forfeits his rights to 
the property and any monies tendered, and ownership of the property 
reverts to the state. 

(c) Direct Donations to Assistance Organizations and Local 
Governmental Entities. 

(1) If the Commission determines that disposition by pub-
lic sale is not in the State's best interest then the Commission may de-
stroy the property as worthless salvage or donate it to an assistance 
organization or local government entity. 

(2) A State agency may also make similar donations if the 
agency first notifies the Commission and provides sufficient informa-
tion for the Commission to determine the donation is in the State's best 
interest. The State agency is responsible for documenting the donation 
and any proceeds in the Comptroller's State Property Accounting Sys-
tem. 
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(3) The Commission may charge the recipient a fee (not 
to exceed 10% of the item's market value) to cover the costs of the 
donation. 

(d) Returns on Small Value Items--For the purpose of this sec-
tion, Small Value Items are non-capitalized items in the Comptroller's 
State Property Accounting System. The Commission may not provide 
participating State agencies with monetary returns on the transfer or 
sale of that agency's small value items. However, the Commission will 
allow the State agency to receive a return in the form of transfers of 
similar items at zero or reduced cost. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604735 
Kay Molina 
General Counsel 
Texas Facilities Commission 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 15, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-2400 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND 
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 354. MEDICAID HEALTH 
SERVICES 
SUBCHAPTER A. PURCHASED HEALTH 
SERVICES 
DIVISION 3. MEDICAID HOME HEALTH 
SERVICES 
1 TAC §354.1039 
The Texas Health and Human Service Commission (HHSC) 
adopts an amendment to §354.1039, concerning Home Health 
Services Benefits and Limitations, with changes to the proposed 
text as published in the June 17, 2016, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (41 TexReg 4372). The text of the rule will be republished. 

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION 

Section 354.1039 required that a prior authorization request 
for repairs of durable medical equipment (DME) or appliances 
include a statement or medical information from the attending 
physician substantiating that the medical appliance or equip-
ment continues to serve a specific medical purpose and an 
itemized estimated cost list of the repairs. The requirement for 
a statement from the attending physician was administratively 
burdensome on DME providers requesting prior authorization 
for the repair of a DME or appliance. In addition, it is not 
required by federal law. Therefore, HHSC amended the rule to 
remove this requirement. 

COMMENTS 

The 30-day comment period ended July 18, 2016. During this 
period, HHSC received comments regarding the amended rule 

from the Coalition for Nurses in Advanced Practice. A summary 
of the comments relating to the rule and HHSC’s responses fol-
lows. 

Comment: The commenter supports dropping the requirement 
for a physician statement before repairing durable medical 
equipment or appliances. 

Response: HHSC appreciates the comment. 

Comment: The commenter requests that HHSC revise subsec-
tions (a)(7)(A) and (a)(8)(A) of the proposed rule to include nurse 
practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, certified nurse-midwives, 
and physician assistants as medical practitioners who may sign 
an order for diabetic equipment and supplies. The commenter 
states that this would be consistent with Texas law, citing Texas 
Government Code §531.099, which requires HHSC to align 
Medicaid diabetic equipment and supplies written order proce-
dures with Medicare procedures. The commenter also states 
that this would be consistent with federal law, citing 42 C.F.R. 
§440.70. 

Response: HHSC declines to amend the proposed rule as the 
commenter suggests. Contrary to the commenter's assertion, 
42 C.F.R. §440.70(a)(2) requires that an order for home health 
services, which includes medical supplies, equipment, and ap-
pliances (see 42 C.F.R. §440.70(b)(3)), be the order of a physi-
cian. Moreover, although the federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) recently amended §440.70, it did not 
amend the physician order requirement. See 81 Fed. Reg. 5530 
(2016). Finally, CMS has not granted approval of a waiver to this 
federal requirement. See Tex. H.B. 1487, 81st Leg., R.S., §3. 

Comment: The commenter requests that HHSC revise subsec-
tion (b)(1)(A) and add a new subsection (b)(1)(C) to allow a nurse 
practitioner, clinical nurse, specialist, or physician assistant to 
perform a face-to-face encounter within 30 days prior to starting 
home health services. This is consistent, the commenter states, 
with 42 C.F.R. §440.70(f) and (g). 

Response: HHSC agrees and has revised the rule for adoption 
as the commenter suggests. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC 
with broad rulemaking authority; and Texas Human Resources 
Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code §531.021(a), 
which provide HHSC with the authority to administer the federal 
medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas. 

§354.1039. Home Health Services Benefits and Limitations. 
(a) The Health and Human Services Commission or its de-

signee (HHSC) determines authorization requirements and limitations 
for covered home health service benefits. The home health agency is 
responsible for obtaining prior authorization where specified for the 
healthcare service, supply, equipment, or appliance. Home health ser-
vice benefits include the following: 

(1) Skilled nursing. Nursing services provided by a regis-
tered nurse (RN) or licensed vocational nurse (LVN) licensed by the 
Texas Board of Nursing provided on a part-time or intermittent basis 
and furnished through an enrolled home health agency are covered ben-
efits. Billable nursing visits may also include: 

(A) nursing visits required to teach the recipient, the 
primary caregiver, a family member and/or neighbor how to admin-
ister or assist in a service or activity that is necessary to the care and/or 
treatment of the recipient in a home setting; 
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(B) RN visits for skilled nursing observation, assess-
ment, and evaluation, provided a physician specifically requests that 
a nurse visit the recipient for this purpose. 

(i) The physician's request must reflect the need for 
the assessment visit. 

(ii) Nursing visits for the primary purpose of assess-
ing a recipient's care needs to develop a plan of care are considered 
administrative and are not billable; and 

(C) RN visits for general supervision of nursing care 
provided by a home health aide and/or others over whom the RN is 
administratively or professionally responsible. 

(2) Home health aide services. Home health aide services 
to provide personal care under the supervision of an RN, a licensed 
physical therapist (PT), or an occupational therapist (OT) employed by 
the home health agency are covered benefits. 

(A) The primary purpose of a home health aide visit 
must be to provide personal care services. 

(B) Duties of a home health aide include the perfor-
mance of simple procedures such as personal care, ambulation, exer-
cise, range of motion, safe transfer, positioning, and household services 
essential to health care at home; assistance with medications that are 
ordinarily self-administered; reporting changes in the patient's condi-
tion and needs; and completing appropriate records. 

(C) Written instructions for home health aide services 
must be prepared by an RN or therapist as appropriate. 

(D) The requirements for home health aide supervision 
are as follows. 

(i) When only home health aide services are being 
furnished to a recipient, an RN must make a supervisory visit to the 
recipient's residence at least once every 60 days. These supervisory 
visits must occur when the aide is furnishing patient care. 

(ii) When skilled nursing care, PT, or OT are also 
being furnished to a recipient, an RN must make a supervisory visit to 
the recipient's residence at least every two weeks. 

(iii) When only PT or OT is furnished in addition 
to the home health aide services, the appropriate skilled therapist may 
make the supervisory visits in place of an RN. 

(E) Visits made primarily for performing housekeeping 
services are not covered services. 

(3) Medical supplies. Medical supplies are covered bene-
fits if they meet the following criteria. 

(A) Medical supplies must be: 

(i) documented in the recipient's plan of care as med-
ically necessary and used for medical or therapeutic purposes; 

(ii) supplied: 

(I) through an enrolled home health agency in 
compliance with the recipient's plan of care; or 

(II) by an enrolled medical supplier under writ-
ten, signed, and dated physician's prescription; and 

(iii) prior authorized unless otherwise specified by 
HHSC. 

(B) Items which are not listed in subparagraph (C) of 
this paragraph may be medically necessary for the treatment or ther-
apy of qualified recipients. If a prior authorization request is received 

for these items, consideration will be given to the request. Approval 
for reasonable amounts of the requested items may be given if circum-
stances justify the exception and the need is documented. 

(C) Covered items include: 

(i) colostomy and ileostomy care supplies; 

(ii) urinary catheters, appliances and related sup-
plies; 

(iii) pressure pads including elbow and heel protec-
tors; 

(iv) incontinent supplies to include incontinent pads 
or diapers for clients over the age of four for medical necessity as de-
termined by the physician; 

(v) crutch and cane tips; 

(vi) irrigation sets; 

(vii) supports and abdominal binders (not to include 
braces, orthotics, or prosthetics); 

(viii) medicine chest supplies not requiring a pre-
scription (not to include vitamins or personal care items such as soap 
or shampoos); 

(ix) syringes, needles, IV tubing and/or IV admin-
istration setups including IV solutions generally used for hydration or 
prescriptive additives; 

(x) dressing supplies; 

(xi) thermometers; 

(xii) suction catheters; 

(xiii) oxygen and related respiratory care supplies; 
or 

(xiv) feeding related supplies. 

(4) Durable medical equipment (DME). Durable Medical 
Equipment must meet the following requirements to qualify for reim-
bursement under Medicaid home health services. 

(A) DME must: 

(i) be medically necessary and the appropriateness 
of the health care service, supply, equipment, or appliance prescribed 
by the physician for the treatment of the individual recipient and deliv-
ered in his place of residence must be documented in the plan of care 
and/or the request form; 

(ii) be prior authorized unless otherwise specified by 
HHSC; 

(iii) meet the recipient's existing medical and treat-
ment needs; 

(iv) be considered safe for use in the home; and 

(v) be provided through an: 

(I) enrolled home health agency under a current 
physician's plan of care; or 

(II) enrolled DME supplier under a written, 
signed, and dated physician's prescription. 

(B) HHSC will determine whether DME will be rented, 
purchased, or repaired based upon the duration and use needs of the 
recipient. 
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(i) Periodic rental payments are made only for the 
lesser of: 

(I) the period of time the equipment is medically 
necessary; or 

(II) when the total monthly rental payments 
equal the reasonable purchase cost for the equipment. 

(ii) Purchase is justified when the estimated duration 
of need multiplied by the rental payments would exceed the reasonable 
purchase cost of the equipment or it is otherwise more practical to pur-
chase the equipment. 

(iii) Repair of durable medical equipment and appli-
ances will be considered based on the age of the item and the cost to 
repair the item. 

(I) A request for repair of durable medical equip-
ment or appliances must include an itemized estimated cost list of the 
repairs. Rental equipment may be provided to replace purchased med-
ical equipment or appliances for the period of time it will take to make 
necessary repairs to purchased medical equipment or appliances. 

(II) Repairs will not be authorized in situations 
where the equipment has been abused or neglected by the patient, pa-
tient's family, or caregiver. 

(III) Routine maintenance of rental equipment is 
the responsibility of the provider. 

(C) Covered medical appliances and equipment (rental, 
purchase, or repairs) include: 

(i) manual or powered wheelchairs; 

(I) non-customized including medically justified 
seating, supports, and equipment; or 

(II) customized, specifically tailored or individu-
alized, powered wheelchairs including appropriate medically justified 
seating, supports and equipment not to exceed an amount specified by 
HHSC. 

(ii) canes, crutches, walkers, and trapeze bars; 

(iii) bed pans, urinals, bedside commode chairs, el-
evated commode seats, bath chairs/benches/seats; 

(iv) electric and non-electric hospital beds and mat-
tresses; 

(v) air flotation or air pressure mattresses and cush-
ions; 

(vi) bed side rails and bed trays; 

(vii) reasonable and appropriate appliances for mea-
suring blood pressure and blood glucose suitable to the recipient's med-
ical situation to include replacement parts and supplies; 

(viii) lifts for assisting recipient to ambulate within 
residence; 

(ix) pumps for feeding tubes and IV administration; 
and 

(x) respiratory or oxygen related equipment. 

(D) Medical equipment or appliances not listed in sub-
paragraph (C) of this paragraph may, in exceptional circumstances, be 
considered for payment when it can be medically substantiated as a part 
of the treatment plan that such service would serve a specific medical 
purpose on an individual case basis. 

(5) Physical therapy. To be payable as a home health ben-
efit, physical therapy services must: 

(A) be provided by a physical therapist who is currently 
licensed by the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, or phys-
ical therapist assistant who is licensed by the Texas Board of Physical 
Therapy Examiners who assists and is supervised by a licensed phys-
ical therapist; 

(B) be for the treatment of an acute musculoskeletal or 
neuromuscular condition or an acute exacerbation of a chronic muscu-
loskeletal or neuromuscular condition; 

(C) be expected to improve the patient's condition in a 
reasonable and generally predictable period of time, based on the physi-
cian's assessment of the patient's restorative potential after any needed 
consultation with the therapist; and 

(D) not be provided when the patient has reached the 
maximum level of improvement. Repetitive services designed to 
maintain function once the maximum level of improvement has been 
reached are not a benefit. Services related to activities for the general 
good and welfare of patients such as general exercises to promote 
overall fitness and flexibility and activities to provide diversion or 
general motivation are not reimbursable. 

(6) Occupational therapy. To be payable as a home health 
benefit, occupational therapy services must be: 

(A) provided by one who is currently registered and li-
censed by the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners or by 
an occupational therapist assistant who is licensed to assist in the prac-
tice of occupational therapy and is supervised by an occupational ther-
apist; 

(B) for the evaluation and function-oriented treatment 
of individuals whose ability to function in life roles is impaired by re-
cent or current physical illness, injury or condition; and 

(C) specific goal directed activities to achieve a func-
tional level of mobility and communication and to prevent further dys-
function within a reasonable length of time based on the therapist's 
evaluation and physician's assessment and plan of care. 

(7) Insulin syringes and needles. Insulin syringes and nee-
dles must meet the following requirements to qualify for reimburse-
ment under Medicaid home health services. 

(A) Pharmacies enrolled in the Medicaid Vendor Drug 
Program may dispense insulin syringes and needles to eligible Medic-
aid recipients with a physician's prescription. 

(B) Prior authorization is not required for an eligible re-
cipient to obtain insulin syringes and needles. 

(C) Insulin syringes and needles obtained in accordance 
with this section will be reimbursed through the Medicaid Vendor Drug 
Program. 

(D) A physician's plan of care is not required for an eli-
gible recipient to obtain insulin syringes and needles under this section. 

(8) Diabetic supplies and related testing equipment. Di-
abetic supplies and related testing equipment must meet the follow-
ing requirements to qualify for reimbursement under Medicaid home 
health services. 

(A) Diabetic supplies and related testing equipment 
must be prescribed by a physician. 

(B) Prior authorization is required unless otherwise 
specified by HHSC. 
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(b) Home health service limitations include the following. 

(1) Patient supervision. 

(A) Patients must be seen by their physician or, if con-
sistent with subparagraph (C) of this paragraph, a nurse practitioner, 
clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant, within 30 days prior to 
the start of home health services. This physician visit may be waived 
when a diagnosis has already been established by the attending physi-
cian and the patient is currently undergoing active medical care and 
treatment. Such a waiver is based on the physician's statement that an 
additional evaluation visit is not medically necessary. 

(B) Patients receiving home health care services must 
remain under the care and supervision of a physician who reviews and 
revises the plan of care at least every 60 days or more frequently as the 
physician determines necessary. 

(C) If the face-to-face encounter is performed by a 
nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant, the 
practitioner must communicate the clinical findings of that encounter 
to the ordering physician, and the physician ordering the services 
must: 

(i) record the date of the face-to-face encounter and 
the practitioner who conducted the encounter; 

(ii) affirm that the face-to-face encounter is related 
to the primary reason the patient requires home health services and that 
the encounter occurred within 30 days prior to the start of home health 
services; and 

(iii) include the clinical findings of the encounter in 
the patient’s medical record. 

(2) Time limited prior authorizations. 

(A) Prior authorizations for payment of home health 
services may be issued by HHSC for a service period not to exceed 
60 days on any given authorization. Specific authorizations may be 
limited to a time period less than the established maximum. When 
the need for home health services exceeds 60 days, or when there is 
a change in the service plan, the provider must obtain prior approval 
and retain the physician's signed and dated orders with the revised 
plan of care. 

(B) The provider shall be notified by HHSC in writing 
of the authorization (or denial) of requested services. 

(C) Prior authorization requests for covered Medicaid 
home health services must include the following information: 

(i) The Medicaid identification form with the fol-
lowing information: 

(I) full name, age, and address; 

(II) Medical Assistance Program Identification 
number; 

(III) health insurance claim number (where ap-
plicable); and 

(IV) Medicare number; 

(ii) the physician's written, signed, and dated plan of 
care (submitted by the provider if requested); 

(iii) the clinical record data (completed and submit-
ted by provider if requested); 

(iv) a description of the home or living environment; 

(v) a composition of the family/caregiver; 

(vi) observations pertinent to the overall plan of care 
in the home; and 

(vii) the type of service the patient is receiving from 
other community or state agencies. 

(D) If inadequate or incomplete information is pro-
vided, the provider will be requested to furnish additional documenta-
tion as required to make a decision on the request. 

(3) Medication administration. Nursing visits for the pur-
pose of administering medications are not covered if: 

(A) the medication is not considered medically neces-
sary to the treatment of the individual's illness; 

(B) the administration of medication exceeds the thera-
peutic frequency or duration by accepted standards of medical practice; 

(C) there is not a medical reason prohibiting the admin-
istration of the medication by mouth; or 

(D) the patient, a primary caregiver, a family member, 
and/or a neighbor has been taught or can be taught to administer intra-
muscular (IM) and intravenous (IV) injections. 

(4) Prior approval. Services or supplies furnished without 
prior approval, unless otherwise specified by HHSC, are not benefits. 

(5) Recipient residence. Services, equipment, or supplies 
furnished to a recipient who is a resident or patient in a hospital, skilled 
nursing facility, or intermediate care facility are not benefits. 

(c) Home health services are subject to utilization review, 
which includes the following: 

(1) the physician is responsible for retaining in the client's 
record a copy of the plan of care and/or a copy of the request form 
documenting the medical necessity of the health care service, supply, 
equipment, or appliance and how it meets the recipient's health care 
needs; 

(2) the home health services provider is responsible for 
documenting the amount, duration, and scope of services in the recip-
ient's plan of care, the equipment/supply order request, and the client 
record based on the physician's orders. This information is subject to 
retrospective review; and 

(3) HHSC may establish random and targeted utilization 
review processes to ensure the appropriate utilization of home health 
benefits and to monitor the cost effectiveness of home health services. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 12, 

2016. 
TRD-201604737 
Karen Ray 
Chief Counsel 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
Effective date: October 2, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 4. AGRICULTURE 
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PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
AGRICULTURE 

CHAPTER 7. PESTICIDES 
SUBCHAPTER H. STRUCTURAL PEST 
CONTROL SERVICE 
DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
4 TAC §7.115 
The Texas Department of Agriculture (the Department) adopts 
new Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 4, Part 1, Chapter 
7, Subchapter H, Division 1, §7.115, Structural Pest Control 
Enforcement, relating to penalties for violations of Subchapter 
H. The new rule is adopted without changes to the proposal 
published in the July 29, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 5493). The penalties set forth in the attachment to 
§7.115, the Penalty Matrix (Matrix), are created to deter conduct 
detrimental to public health and safety, the environment, and 
consumer confidence and to prevent unfair competition by 
noncompliant businesses. 

No comments were received during the comment period. 

The new rule is adopted under Chapter 12 of the Texas Agri-
culture Code, which authorizes the Department to prescribe and 
assess administrative penalties to enforce structural pest con-
trol laws and regulations, and Chapter 1951 of the Occupations 
Code, which authorizes the Department to regulate certain struc-
tural pest control activities in this state. 

The adoption is made under Chapter 12 of the Texas Agriculture 
Code and Chapter 1951 of the Occupations Code. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604687 
Jessica Escobar 
Assistant General Counsel 
Texas Department of Agriculture 
Effective date: September 27, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 29, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-4075 

CHAPTER 30. COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 
SUBCHAPTER A. TEXAS COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM 
DIVISION 3. ADMINISTRATION OF 
PROGRAM FUNDS 
4 TAC §§30.50, 30.55, 30.58 
The Texas Department of Agriculture (Department) adopts 
amendments to Title 4, Chapter 30, Subchapter A, Division 3, 
§§30.50, 30.55, and 30.58, relating to the Texas Community 
Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program. The amendments 
are adopted without changes to the proposal published in the 

July 15, 2016, edition of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5129). 
The amendments to the CDBG programs permit flexibility in the 
application and eligibility process, and enable maximum benefit 
to those communities in need. 

The Department received one comment from GrantWorks, Inc., 
recommending a scoring change which would require applicants 
to prioritize their Colonia Construction Fund applications in order 
to ensure funds are not concentrated in a few counties. The De-
partment recognizes the importance of an equitable distribution 
of grants through the overall CDBG program. The primary goal 
of the colonia set aside is to assist communities with the great-
est need; however, the Department may consider including the 
recommendation in the scoring criteria in the future. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code 
§487.051, which provides the Department the authority to admin-
ister the state's CDBG non-entitlement program, and §487.052, 
which provides authority for the Department to adopt rules as 
necessary to implement Chapter 487. 

The code affected by the adoption is Texas Government Code 
Chapter 487. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604639 
Jessica Escobar 
Assistant General Counsel 
Texas Department of Agriculture 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 15, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-4075 

PART 12. TEXAS A&M FOREST 
SERVICE 

CHAPTER 216. RURAL VOLUNTEER FIRE 
DEPARTMENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
4 TAC §§216.2, 216.3, 216.6 
Texas A&M Forest Service (the agency) adopts amendments to 
4 TAC §§216.2, 216.3 and 216.6, concerning the Rural Volun-
teer Fire Department Assistance Program. The amendments 
are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published 
in the August 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
5858). 

The adopted amendments comply with the requirements of 
Texas Government Code, §614.106, which requires the agency 
director adopt rules for the administration of the Rural Volunteer 
Fire Department Assistance Program to assist volunteer fire 
departments in paying for equipment, training of personnel, 
including determining reasonable criteria for the distribution of 
money from the volunteer fire department assistance fund. The 
amendments are non-substantive in nature and change the 
definition of a fire department from recognized to chartered. 
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The agency received no written comments regarding the adop-
tion of the amendments. 

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Texas Government 
Code §614.102 and §614.106, which authorize the agency di-
rector to adopt rules considered necessary for the administration 
of the program. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 12, 

2016. 
TRD-201604752 
Robby DeWitt 
Associate Director for Finance and Administration 
Texas A&M Forest Service 
Effective date: October 2, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (979) 458-7341 

TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION 

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
LICENSING AND REGULATION 

CHAPTER 60. PROCEDURAL RULES OF THE 
COMMISSION AND THE DEPARTMENT 
SUBCHAPTER B. POWERS AND 
RESPONSIBILITIES 
16 TAC §60.24 
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts amendments to an existing rule at 16 Texas Ad-
ministrative Code (TAC), Chapter 60, Subchapter B, §60.24, re-
garding the Procedural Rules of the Commission and the De-
partment, with changes to the proposed text as published in the 
June 3, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3969). 
The rules will be republished. 

Senate Bill 202, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), 
transferred seven programs from the Texas Department of State 
Health Services to the Department to include, Athletic Trainers, 
Dietitians, Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Licensed 
Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners, Midwives, Orthotists and 
Prosthetists and Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiolo-
gists. In addition, House Bill 3315, 84th Legislature, Regular 
Session (2015), changed the Medical Advisory Committee to 
the Combative Sports Advisory Board. The adopted amend-
ments primarily updates the list of Advisory Boards to include 
the additional advisory boards added from program transfers. 
The adopted amendments are necessary to comply with Texas 
Government Code, §2110.008. 

The adopted amendments to §60.24 add the Advisory Board of 
Athletic Trainers, Dietitians Advisory Board, Dyslexia Therapists 
and Practitioners Advisory Committee, Hearing Instrument Fit-
ters and Dispensers Advisory Board, Midwives Advisory Board, 
Orthotists and Prosthetists Advisory Board and Speech-Lan-
guage Pathologists and Audiologists Advisory Board with 

respective abolishment dates. Editorial changes are also made 
to renumber the section accordingly. 

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to 
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules 
were published in the June 3, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 3969). The deadline for public comments was July 5, 
2016. The Department received a comment from one interested 
party on the proposed rules during the 30-day public comment 
period. 

Comment--The commenter asked what happens when the Ad-
visory Board of Athletic Trainers is abolished. 

Department Response--The Department is required to update 
the abolishment dates of the advisory boards to comply with 
Texas Government Code, §2110.008. If the abolishment date 
approaches and the Department still has statutory authority over 
the program and the advisory board the date will be extended. 
The Department did not make any changes to the rules based 
on this comment. 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 51, which authorize the Commission, the Department's 
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these 
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by 
the Department. 

In addition, the following statutes establishing advisory 
boards/committees/councils are affected: Texas Agriculture 
Code, Chapters 301 and 302 (Weather Modification and Con-
trol); Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapters 754 (Elevators, 
Escalators, and Related Equipment) and 755 (Boilers); Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 469 (Elimination of Architectural Barriers); 
and Texas Occupations Code Chapters 203 (Midwives), 401 
(Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists), 402 (Hear-
ing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers), 403 (Licensed Dyslexia 
Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia Therapists), 451 (Athletic 
Trainers), 605 (Orthotists and Prosthetists), 701 (Dietitians), 802 
(Dog or Cat Breeders), 1151 (Property Tax Professionals), 1152 
(Property Tax Consultants), 1302 (Air Conditioning and Refrig-
eration Contractors), 1305 (Electricians), 1601 (Barbers), 1602 
(Cosmetologists), 1603 (Regulation of Barbering and Cosme-
tology), 1703 (Polygraph Examiners), 1802 (Auctioneers), 1901 
(Water Well Drillers), 1902 (Water Well Pump Installers), 2052 
(Combative Sports), 2303 (Vehicle Storage Facilities), 2306 
(Vehicle Protection Product Warrantors), 2308 (Vehicle Towing 
and Booting), and 2309 (Used Automotive Parts Recyclers). No 
other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

The statutory provisions affected by the adoption are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51. No other statutes, 
articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§60.24. Advisory Boards. 
(a) Unless otherwise provided by law, the presiding officer 

of the commission, with the commission's approval, shall appoint the 
members of each advisory board. 

(b) The purpose, duties, manner of reporting, and membership 
requirements of each advisory board are detailed in the statutes and 
rules of the specific program regulated by the department. 

(c) In accordance with Texas Government Code, §2110.008, 
the commission establishes the following periods during which the ad-
visory boards listed will continue in existence. The automatic abolish-
ment date of each advisory board will be the date listed for that board 
unless the commission subsequently establishes a different date: 
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(1) Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers--09/01/2024; 

(2) Advisory Board on Barbering--09/01/2024; 

(3) Advisory Board on Cosmetology--09/01/2024; 

(4) Architectural Barriers Advisory Committee--
09/01/2024; 

(5) Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors Advi-
sory Board--09/01/2024; 

(6) Auctioneer Education Advisory Board--09/01/2024; 

(7) Board of Boiler Rules--09/01/2024; 

(8) Combative Sports Advisory Board--09/01/2024; 

(9) Dietitians Advisory Board--09/01/2024; 

(10) Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advisory Com-
mittee--09/01/2024; 

(11) Electrical Safety and Licensing Advisory Board--
09/01/2024; 

(12) Elevator Advisory Board--09/01/2024; 

(13) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Advisory 
Board--09/01/2024; 

(14) Licensed Breeders Advisory Committee--09/01/2024; 

(15) Midwives Advisory Board--09/01/2024; 

(16) Orthotists and Prosthetists Advisory Board--
09/01/2024; 

(17) Polygraph Advisory Committee--09/01/2024; 

(18) Property Tax Consultants Advisory Council--
09/01/2024; 

(19) Speech Language Pathologists and Audiologists Ad-
visory Board--09/01/2024; 

(20) Texas Tax Professional Advisory Commit-
tee--09/01/2024; 

(21) Towing, Storage, and Booting Advisory Board--
09/01/2024; 

(22) Used Automotive Parts Recycling Advisory Board--
09/01/2024; 

(23) Vehicle Protection Product Warrantor Advisory 
Board--09/01/2024; 

(24) Water Well Drillers Advisory Council--09/01/2024; 
and 

(25) Weather Modification Advisory Committee--
09/01/2024. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 2,
 

2016.
 
TRD-201604623
 

Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY 

CHAPTER 62. COMMISSIONER'S RULES 
CONCERNING THE EQUALIZED WEALTH 
LEVEL 
19 TAC §62.1071 
(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, 
§2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cum-
bersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figure in 19 TAC 
§62.1071 is not included in the print version of the Texas Register. The 
figure is available in the html version of the September 23, 2014, issue 
of the Texas Register online.) 

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts an amendment to 
§62.1071, concerning the equalized wealth level. The amend-
ment is adopted with changes to the proposed text as published 
in the June 24, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
4579). The section establishes provisions relating to wealth 
equalization requirements. The amendment adopts as a part of 
the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) the Manual for Districts 
Subject to Wealth Equalization 2016-2017 School Year. The 
manual contains the processes and procedures that the TEA 
uses in the administration of the provisions of the Texas Edu-
cation Code (TEC), Chapter 41, and the fiscal, procedural, and 
administrative requirements that school districts subject to the 
TEC, Chapter 41, must meet. 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The TEA has adopted the pro-
cedures contained in each yearly manual for districts subject to 
wealth equalization as part of the TAC since 2011. The earlier 
version of 19 TAC §62.1071, Administration of Wealth Equal-
ization, adopted effective June 11, 1998, and subsequently 
amended several times, was repealed effective May 9, 2011, 
and replaced with the wealth equalization manual to remove 
outdated and obsolete provisions from rule. The intent is to 
annually update 19 TAC §62.1071 to refer to the most recently 
published manual. Manuals adopted for previous school years 
will remain in effect with respect to those school years. 

The amendment to 19 TAC §62.1071, Manual for Districts Sub-
ject to Wealth Equalization, adopts in rule the official TEA publi-
cation Manual for Districts Subject to Wealth Equalization 2016-
2017 School Year as Figure: 19 TAC §62.1071(a). 

Each school year's manual for districts subject to wealth equal-
ization explains how districts subject to wealth equalization are 
identified; the fiscal, procedural, and administrative require-
ments those districts must meet; and the consequences for not 
meeting requirements. The manual also provides information 
on using the online Foundation School Program (FSP) System 
to fulfill certain requirements. 

Three significant changes to the Manual for Districts Subject to 
Wealth Equalization 2016-2017 School Year from the Manual for 
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Districts Subject to Wealth Equalization 2015-2016 School Year 
are as follows. 

Election Dates 

The Chapter 41 Option 3 and Option 4 election dates have been 
moved to the District Intent/Choice Selection form in the Chapter 
41 subsystem of the online FSP System. 

Chapter 41 Intent Letter 

The Chapter 41 Intent Letter is no longer mailed to districts. The 
letter authorizing districts to proceed with adopting a tax rate is 
located in a link at the bottom of the District Intent/Choice Selec-
tion form in the Chapter 41 subsystem of the online FSP System. 

Changes to deadlines noted throughout 

The language corresponding to passage of Senate Bill (SB) 1, 
84th Texas Legislature, 2015, has been removed because tran-
sitional provisions from SB 1 expire September 1, 2016, and will 
not apply to the 2016-2017 school year. 

At adoption, changes were made to the manual. The dates in-
cluded on page 32 under the "First Evaluation" section were up-
dated to align with the dates in the "Chapter 41 Calendar for 
School Year 2016-2017" on pages 11-15. Although the calendar 
dates were accurate at proposal, the dates on page 32 were in-
advertently not updated to correspond. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The 
public comment period on the proposal began June 24, 2016, 
and ended July 25, 2016. No public comments were received. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under 
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §41.006, which authorizes the 
commissioner of education to adopt rules necessary for the im-
plementation of the TEC, Chapter 41. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments the TEC, §41.006. 

§62.1071. Manual for Districts Subject to Wealth Equalization. 

(a) The processes and procedures that the Texas Education 
Agency (TEA) uses in the administration of the provisions of the Texas 
Education Code (TEC), Chapter 41, and the fiscal, procedural, and 
administrative requirements that school districts subject to the TEC, 
Chapter 41, must meet are described in the official TEA publication 
Manual for Districts Subject to Wealth Equalization 2016-2017 School 
Year, provided in this subsection. 
Figure: 19 TAC §62.1071(a) 

(b) The specific processes, procedures, and requirements used 
in the manual for districts subject to wealth equalization are established 
annually by the commissioner of education and communicated to all 
school districts. 

(c) School district actions and inactions in previous school 
years and data from those school years will continue to be subject 
to the annual manual for districts subject to wealth equalization with 
respect to those years. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 2, 

2016. 
TRD-201604624 

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: September 22, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 24, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

CHAPTER 102. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 
SUBCHAPTER EE. COMMISSIONER'S RULES 
CONCERNING PILOT PROGRAMS 
19 TAC §102.1058 
The Texas Education Agency adopts new §102.1058, concern-
ing the reading excellence team pilot program. The new section 
is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published 
in the July 29, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
5494) and will not be republished. The adopted new section im-
plements the requirements of the Texas Education Code (TEC), 
§28.0061, as added by Senate Bill (SB) 935, 84th Texas Legis-
lature, Regular Session, 2015. 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. SB 935, 84th Texas Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2015, added the TEC, §28.0061, to require the 
commissioner of education to establish and administer a reading 
excellence team pilot program. The pilot program establishes 
reading excellence teams composed of reading instruction spe-
cialists who would provide assistance to eligible school districts 
upon request. A school district is eligible to participate in the 
reading excellence team pilot program if the district has low stu-
dent performance, as determined by the commissioner, on re-
quired reading diagnosis assessments for kindergarten, Grade 
1, and Grade 2 or on the Grade 3 State of Texas Assessments 
of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) reading assessment. 

Adopted new 19 TAC §102.1058, Reading Excellence Team Pi-
lot Program, implements the TEC, §28.0061, by establishing 
qualifications and criteria for selecting reading instruction spe-
cialists for reading excellence teams. It also requires that read-
ing instruction specialists have significant expertise in reading 
instruction; experience in providing instruction related to the cur-
riculum in 19 TAC Chapter 110, Texas Essential Knowledge and 
Skills for English Language Arts and Reading; and knowledge 
of developmentally appropriate and research-based strategies 
for students. The adopted new rule requires selected education 
service centers to prioritize school districts and open-enrollment 
charter schools that apply based on low performance on statu-
torily defined kindergarten-Grade 3 assessments for receipt of 
reading excellence teams. 

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The 
public comment period on the proposal began July 29, 2016, and 
ended August 29, 2016. No public comments were received. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new section is adopted under 
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.0061, as added by Sen-
ate Bill 935, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, 
which requires the commissioner of education to adopt rules to 
administer the reading excellence team pilot program, includ-
ing establishing qualifications and criteria for selecting reading 
instruction specialists for a reading excellence team; and the 
TEC, §12.104(d), which authorizes the commissioner to permit 
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open-enrollment charter schools access to state programs avail-
able to school districts if the open-enrollment charter schools 
comply with the requirements of the programs. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §28.0061, as added by Sen-
ate Bill 935, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, and 
§12.104(d). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604631 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 29, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 3. TEXAS BOARD OF 
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 72. APPLICATIONS AND 
APPLICANTS 
22 TAC §72.6 
The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts 
amendments to Chapter 72, §72.6, concerning Time, Place and 
Scope of Application, without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the June 24, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 4585). The amended text will not be republished. 

The amended rule will assist the Board in serving the public, 
stakeholders and licensees. The amendment will reflect current 
examination practices and bring the rule into compliance with 
statutory guidelines contained within Subchapter G. License Re-
quirements of the Chiropractic Act, and recognize the transition 
to an online jurisprudence examination. 

This rule was proposed for publication at the Board's meeting 
on May 17, 2016. The proposed language was published on 
the Rules Committee and the Board agenda. Comment on the 
proposal was sought during the Rules Committee and the Board 
meetings prior to this publication in the Texas Register. 

No comments were received regarding this amendment. 

This amended rule is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§201.152, relating to rules and Subchapter G of the Chiroprac-
tic Act, License Requirements. Section 201.152 authorizes the 
Board to adopt rules necessary to regulate the practice of chi-
ropractic to protect the public health and safety. Subchapter G 
provides the framework to authorize the Board to grant chiro-
practic licenses. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the amend-
ment. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604681 
Courtney Ebeier 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: November 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 24, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6715 

CHAPTER 74. CHIROPRACTIC RADIOLOGIC 
TECHNOLOGISTS 
22 TAC §74.1 
The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts 
amendments to Chapter 74, §74.1, concerning Chiropractic 
Radiologic Technologists, without changes to the proposed text 
as published in the June 24, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 4586). The amended text will not be republished. 

This section established requirements and procedures related 
the rules of chiropractic practice. 

The amendment is made as part of the Board's review of Chapter 
74 to fulfill its ongoing duty to conduct agency rule review. 

This rule was proposed for publication at the Board's meeting 
on May 17, 2016. The proposed language was published on 
the Rules Committee and the Board agenda. Comment on the 
proposal was sought during the Rules Committee and the Board 
meetings prior to this publication in the Register. 

No comments were received regarding this amendment. 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§201.152, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary 
to regulate the practice of chiropractic to protect the public 
health and safety. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604682 
Courtney Ebeier 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: November 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 24, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6715 

22 TAC §74.2 
The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts 
amendments to Chapter 74, §74.2, concerning Registration of 
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Chiropractic Radiologic Technologists, without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the June 24, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 4586) and will not be republished. 

This section established requirements and procedures relating 
to the rules of chiropractic practice. 

The amendment is made as part of the Board's review of Chapter 
74 to fulfill its ongoing duty to conduct agency rule review. 

This rule was proposed for publication at the Board's meeting 
on May 17, 2016. The proposed language was published on 
the Rules Committee and the Board agenda. Comment on the 
proposal was sought during the Rules Committee and the Board 
meetings prior to this publication in the Register. 

No comments were received regarding this amendment. 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code 
§201.152, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules necessary 
to regulate the practice of chiropractic to protect the public 
health and safety. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604683 
Courtney Ebeier 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: November 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 24, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6715 

CHAPTER 78. RULES OF PRACTICE 
22 TAC §78.6 
The Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Board) adopts 
amended Chapter 78, §78.6, concerning Required Fees and 
Charges, without changes to the proposed text as published 
in the June 24, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
4588) and will not be republished. 

The amendment is made to update the rule to reflect and rat-
ify the Board's current Schedule of Fees regarding its jurispru-
dence examination and applicants that are being evaluated for 
licensure. It also acknowledges that a licensee may take a ju-
risprudence study course and receive 3 hours of CE. Finally, it 
contains an additional compliance tool for use by the Enforce-
ment Committee. 

This rule was proposed for publication at the Board's meeting 
on May 17, 2016. The proposed language was published on 
the Rules Committee and the Board agenda. Comment on the 
proposal was sought during the Rules Committee and the Board 
meetings prior to this publication in the Register. 

No comments were received regarding this amendment. 

This amendment is made under Texas Occupations Code 
§201.152, relating to rules. Section 201.152 authorizes the 
Board to adopt rules necessary to regulate the practice of 
chiropractic to protect the public health and safety. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604684 
Courtney Ebeier 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Effective date: November 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 24, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6715 

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD 

CHAPTER 185. PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 
22 TAC §§185.2, 185.4, 185.6, 185.7 
The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts amendments to 
§185.2, concerning Definitions, §185.4 concerning Procedural 
Rules for Licensure Applicants, §185.6, concerning Annual 
Renewal of License, and §185.7, concerning Temporary Li-
cense. The amendments are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the May 13, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 3419) and will not be republished. 

The amendments to §185.2 add definitions for "Active Duty" and 
"Armed Forces of the United States" and amend definitions for 
"Military service member", "Military spouse" and "military vet-
eran." These amendments are in accordance with the passage 
of SB 1307 (84th Regular Session) which amended Chapter 55 
of the Texas Occupations Code. 

The amendment to §185.4 expands subsection (f), Alternative 
Licensing Procedure, to include military service members and 
military veterans. The amendment also includes language al-
lowing the executive director to waive any prerequisite to obtain-
ing a license for an applicant described in the subsection, after 
reviewing the applicant's credentials. These amendments are in 
accordance with the passage of SB 1307 (84th Regular Session) 
which amended Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupations Code. 

The amendment to §185.6 adds new subsection (b)(9) provid-
ing that a surgical assistant who is a military service member 
may request an extension of time, not to exceed two years, to 
complete any continuing education requirements. The amend-
ment also adds new subsection (j) providing that military service 
members who hold a license to practice in Texas are entitled to 
two years of additional time to complete any other requirement 
related to the renewal of the military service member's license. 
This amendment is in accordance with the passage of SB 1307 
(84th Regular Session) which amended Chapter 55 of the Texas 
Occupations Code. 

The amendment to §185.7 changes an incorrect citation, 
§185.4(d), to the correct citation, §185.4(c) 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the rules. 

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Texas 
Occupations Code Annotated, §204.101, which provides author-
ity for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: gov-
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ern its own proceedings; perform its duties; enforce this subtitle; 
and establish rules related to licensure. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604625 
Mari Robinson, J.D. 
Executive Director 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

22 TAC §185.8 
The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts an amendment to 
§185.8, concerning Inactive License, without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the April 1, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 2385). The amended text will not 
be republished. 

The amendment adds new language in subsection (d) provid-
ing that a licensee attempting to return from inactive to active 
status must complete a fingerprint card and return the card to 
the board as part of the application, as well as submitting, or 
having submitted on the applicant's behalf, a report from the 
National Practitioner Data Bank/Health Integrity and Protection 
Data Bank (NPDB-HIPDB). 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the rule. 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §204.101, which provides authority 
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern 
its own proceedings; perform its duties; enforce this subtitle; and 
establish rules related to licensure. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604626 
Mari Robinson, J.D. 
Executive Director 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 1, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

CHAPTER 199. PUBLIC INFORMATION 
22 TAC §199.6 
The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts new §199.6, con-
cerning Enhanced Contract or Performance Monitoring, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 1, 2016, 

issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4767). The new rule 
will not be republished. 

New §199.6 delineates the criteria and requirements for the 
agency's identification of and monitoring of certain contracts. 
This new section is added in accordance with the passage of 
SB 20 (85th Regular Session) which amended Chapter 2261 of 
the Texas Government Code. 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the rule. 

The new section is adopted under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §153.001, which provides authority 
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern 
its own proceedings; perform its duties; regulate the practice of 
medicine in this state; enforce this subtitle; and establish rules 
related to licensure. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604627 
Mari Robinson, J.D. 
Executive Director 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 1, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

CHAPTER 200. STANDARDS FOR PHYSI-
CIANS PRACTICING COMPLEMENTARY AND 
ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE 
22 TAC §200.3 
The Texas Medical Board (Board) adopts an amendment to 
§200.3, concerning Practice Guidelines for the Provision of 
Complementary and Alternative Medicine, without changes to 
the proposed text as published in the July 1, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 4767) and will not be republished. 

The amendment corrects an incorrect reference to the "board of 
medical examiners." 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the rule. 

The amendment is adopted under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §153.001, which provides authority 
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern 
its own proceedings; perform its duties; regulate the practice of 
medicine in this state; enforce this subtitle; and establish rules 
related to licensure. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604628 
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Mari Robinson, J.D. 
Executive Director 
Texas Medical Board 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 1, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016 

PART 21. TEXAS STATE BOARD OF 
EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS 

CHAPTER 463. APPLICATIONS AND 
EXAMINATIONS 
22 TAC §463.10 
The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists adopts an 
amendment to §463.10, concerning Provisionally Licensed Psy-
chologists, without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the July 1, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4769). 
The amended rule will not be republished. 

The amendment is being adopted to ensure the protection and 
safety of the public. 

The amendment as adopted is necessary due to unforeseen lim-
itations with the Board's shared database system. More specif-
ically, the Board's database system will not allow licensing staff 
to place the transcript requirement at issue in this rule change, 
in the initial application module for some applicants and the ap-
proved application module for others. The transcript requirement 
must appear in the same application module for all applicants, 
otherwise staff will be unable to track the 90 day deadline re-
quired by Board rule §463.2. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the 
amendment. 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, Ti-
tle 3, Subtitle I, Chapter 501, which provides the Texas State 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists with the authority to make 
all rules, not inconsistent with the Constitution and Laws of this 
State, which are reasonably necessary for the proper perfor-
mance of its duties and regulations of proceedings before it. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604636 
Darrel D. Spinks 
Executive Director 
Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 1, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7700 

CHAPTER 465. RULES OF PRACTICE 
22 TAC §465.2 
The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists adopts 
amendment to §465.2, concerning Supervision, without changes 

to the proposed text as published in the July 1, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 4770). The amended text will not be 
republished. 

The amendment is being adopted to ensure the protection and 
safety of the public. 

The amendment as adopted will ensure that the Board's stan-
dards for the supervision of LSSP interns and trainees com-
port with both federal law and nationally recognized standards 
of practice as required by Tex. Occ. Code Ann. §501.260(c). 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the 
amendment. 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, Ti-
tle 3, Subtitle I, Chapter 501, which provides the Texas State 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists with the authority to make 
all rules, not inconsistent with the Constitution and Laws of this 
State, which are reasonably necessary for the proper perfor-
mance of its duties and regulations of proceedings before it. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604637 
Darrel D. Spinks 
Executive Director 
Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 1, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7700 

22 TAC §465.11 
The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists adopts 
amendment to §465.11, concerning Informed Consent/Describ-
ing Psychological Services, with changes to the proposed text 
as published in the July 8, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 4946). The amended text will be republished. 

The amendment is being adopted to ensure the protection and 
safety of the public. 

The amendment as adopted will clarify the duty to obtain in-
formed consent in an inpatient setting, and reduce the regulatory 
burden by eliminating any requirement for duplicative informed 
consent when a patient has already given a general consent. 
The adopted change will also reduce confusion by referencing 
the rule governing informed consent in the public schools. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the 
amendment. 

The amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, Ti-
tle 3, Subtitle I, Chapter 501, which provides the Texas State 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists with the authority to make 
all rules, not inconsistent with the Constitution and Laws of this 
State, which are reasonably necessary for the proper perfor-
mance of its duties and regulations of proceedings before it. 

§465.11. Informed Consent/Describing Psychological Services. 
(a) Except in an inpatient setting where a general consent has 

been signed, licensees must obtain and document in writing informed 
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consent concerning all services they intend to provide to the patient, 
client or other recipient(s) of the psychological services prior to initi-
ating the services, using language that is reasonably understandable to 
the recipients unless consent is precluded by applicable federal or state 
law. 

(b) Licensees provide appropriate information as needed dur-
ing the course of the services about changes in the nature of the services 
to the patient client or other recipient(s) of the services using language 
that is reasonably understandable to the recipient to ensure informed 
consent. 

(c) Licensees provide appropriate information as needed, dur-
ing the course of the services to the patient client and other recipi-
ent(s) and afterward if requested, to explain the results and conclusions 
reached concerning the services using language that is reasonably un-
derstandable to the recipient(s). 

(d) When a licensee agrees to provide services to a person, 
group or organization at the request of a third party, the licensee clarifies 
to all of the parties the nature of the relationship between the licensee 
and each party at the outset of the service and at any time during the 
services that the circumstances change. This clarification includes the 
role of the licensee with each party, the probable uses of the services 
and the results of the services, and all potential limits to the confiden-
tiality between the recipient(s) of the services and the licensee. 

(e) When a licensee agrees to provide services to several per-
sons who have a relationship, such as spouses, couples, parents and 
children, or in group therapy, the licensee clarifies at the outset the pro-
fessional relationship between the licensee and each of the individuals 
involved, including the probable use of the services and information 
obtained, confidentiality, expectations of each participant, and the ac-
cess of each participant to records generated in the course of the ser-
vices. 

(f) At any time that a licensee knows or should know that he or 
she may be called on to perform potentially conflicting roles (such as 
marital counselor to husband and wife, and then witness for one party 
in a divorce proceeding), the licensee explains the potential conflict 
to all affected parties and adjusts or withdraws from all professional 
services in accordance with Board rules and applicable state and federal 
law. Further, licensees who encounter personal problems or conflicts as 
described in Board rule §465.9(i) of this title (relating to Competency) 
that will prevent them from performing their work-related activities in a 
competent and timely manner must inform their clients of the personal 
problem or conflict and discuss appropriate termination and/or referral 
to insure that the services are completed in a timely manner. 

(g) When persons are legally incapable of giving informed 
consent, licensees obtain informed consent from any individual legally 
designated to provide substitute consent. 

(h) When informed consent is precluded by law, the licensee 
describes the nature and purpose of all services, as well as the confi-
dentiality of the services and all applicable limits thereto, that he or she 
intends to provide to the patient, client, or other recipient(s) of the psy-
chological services prior to initiating the services using language that 
is reasonably understandable to the recipient(s). 

(i) Informed consent for school psychological services is gov-
erned by Board rule §465.38. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604638 
Darrel D. Spinks 
Executive Director 
Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 
Effective date: September 26, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7700 

TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES 

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 1. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER D. STATE EMPLOYEE 
HEALTH FITNESS AND EDUCATION 
PROGRAMS 
25 TAC §1.61 
The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services 
Commission (commission), on behalf of the Department of State 
Health Services (department), adopts the repeal of §1.61, con-
cerning the Worksite Wellness Advisory Board as published in 
the May 20, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3615) 
without changes to the proposed text and, therefore, the section 
will not be republished. 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the repeal is to implement Government Code, 
Chapter 664, amended by Senate Bill (SB) 277, 84th Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2015, which abolished the board. 

The board was created by the Legislature in 2007 to advise the 
department, executive commissioner, and statewide wellness 
coordinator on worksite wellness issues, including funding and 
resource development for worksite wellness programs; identify-
ing food service vendors that successfully market healthy foods; 
best practices for worksite wellness used by the private sector; 
and worksite wellness features and architecture for new state 
buildings based on features and architecture used by the private 
sector. 

The board was one of several advisory committees recom-
mended for abolishment by the Sunset Advisory Commission in 
2014. Subsequent to the repeal of the statutory requirements 
for this and other committees, the commission conducted a 
comprehensive analysis and sought stakeholder input on the 
continuation of the advisory committees abolished in statute to 
determine if there was a need to recreate any of the committees 
in rule. No comments were received regarding the discontinu-
ation of the board. The department will continue to obtain input 
on worksite wellness issues through ongoing interactions with 
staff of state agencies and stakeholder groups. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

Section 1.61 is being repealed because this rule is no longer 
necessary. SB 277 amended Government Code, Chapter 664, 
by abolishing the board. 
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COMMENTS 

The department, on behalf of the commission, did not receive 
any comments regarding the proposed rule during the comment 
period. 

LEGAL CERTIFICATION 

The Department of State Health Services, General Counsel, 
Lisa Hernandez, certifies that the rule, as adopted, has been 
reviewed by legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of 
the agencies' legal authority. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The repeal is authorized by Government Code, Chapter 664, 
which has been amended to remove reference to rules concern-
ing the Worksite Wellness Advisory Board; and Government 
Code, §531.0055, and Health and Safety Code, §1001.075, 
which authorize the Executive Commissioner of Health and 
Human Services Commission to adopt rules and policies nec-
essary for the operation and provision of health and human 
services by the department and for the administration of Health 
and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604671 
Lisa Hernandez 
General Counsel 
Department of State Health Services 
Effective date: September 27, 2016 
Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972 

CHAPTER 102. DISTRIBUTION OF TOBACCO 
SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS TO POLITICAL 
SUBDIVISIONS 
25 TAC §102.3 
The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services 
Commission (commission), on behalf of the Department of State 
Health Services (department), adopts an amendment to §102.3, 
concerning the distribution of tobacco settlement proceeds to 
political subdivisions without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the June 17, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 4381) and, therefore, the rule will not be republished. 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The rule amendments provide updated language and offer clar-
ification to enhance the understanding of the program rules for 
the distribution of tobacco settlement proceeds to political subdi-
visions. The rules are still needed due to the continued responsi-
bilities for implementing the Health and Safety Code, §§12.131 
- 12.139, and the responsibilities of the department under the 
"Agreement Regarding Disposition of Tobacco Settlement Pro-
ceeds" filed on July 24, 1998, in United States District Court, 
Eastern District of Texas, in the case styled The State of Texas 
v. The American Tobacco Co., et al., No. 5-96CV-91. 

Government Code, §2001.039, requires each state agency 
review and consider for re-adoption each rule adopted by that 
agency pursuant to the Government Code, Chapter 2001 (Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act). Sections 102.1 - 102.5 have been 
reviewed and the department has determined that reasons for 
adopting the sections continue to exist because rules on this 
subject are needed. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

Section 102.3(b)(2) was amended to give political subdivisions 
additional examples of expenditures that may not be counted 
as unreimbursed health care expenditures. Political subdivi-
sions have frequently contacted the department regarding the 
proposed additional examples. 

The amendment to §102.3(b)(2)(B) adds "printers and copiers" 
as additional examples of administrative equipment not directly 
related to the provision of health care services to the general 
public. 

The amendment to §102.3(b)(2)(D) adds "rabies control" as an 
additional example of environmental services that may not be 
counted. 

The amendment to §102.3(b)(2)(F) adds "time spent transport-
ing inmates" as an example of a court procedure that may not 
be counted. 

In §102.3(b)(2)(J), the word "and" was moved to the end of new 
subparagraph (L) because the list of examples was expanded. 

The amendment to §102.3(b)(2)(K) adds "autopsies, burials, and 
mortician services" as new items not directly related to the pro-
vision of health care services to the general public. 

The amendment to §102.3(b)(2)(L) adds "meal donation pro-
grams" as a new item not directly related to the provision of 
health care services to the general public. 

In §102.3(b)(2), subparagraph (K) was amended to subpara-
graph (M) to accommodate new subparagraphs (K) and (L). 

Section 102.3(f)(1) was amended to give political subdivisions 
consistent deadlines for submitting annual expenditure state-
ments to the department. 

The amendment to §102.3(f)(1)(A) changes the deadline for sub-
mitting annual expenditure statements by delivery, fax, or elec-
tronic mail from 5:00 p.m. to 11:59 p.m. on March 31 to ac-
commodate electronic delivery of expenditure statements after 
regular business hours. 

The amendment to §102.3(f)(1)(B) changes the deadline for 
postmarks of annual expenditure statements submitted by U.S. 
Postal Service or commercial mail carrier from midnight to 11:59 
p.m. on March 31 to conform with the proposed new deadline 
in §102.3(f)(1)(A). 

COMMENTS 

The department, on behalf of the commission, did not receive 
any comments regarding the proposed rules during the comment 
period. There were no changes to the proposed text of the rule 
amendments. 

LEGAL CERTIFICATION 

The Department of State Health Services General Counsel, 
Lisa Hernandez, certifies that the rule, as adopted, has been 
reviewed by legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of 
the agencies' legal authority. 
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STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are authorized under Health and Safety Code, 
§12.133, which requires the department to adopt rules govern-
ing the collection of information that relates to the political sub-
divisions' unreimbursed health care expenditures; and Govern-
ment Code, §531.0055, and Health and Safety Code, §1001.75, 
which authorize the Executive Commissioner of the Health and 
Human Services Commission to adopt rules and policies neces-
sary for the operation and provision of health and human ser-
vices by the department and for the administration of Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 1001. Review of the rules implements 
Government Code, §2001.039. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201604686 
Lisa Hernandez 
General Counsel 
Department of State Health Services 
Effective date: September 27, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972 

TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

CHAPTER 30. OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES 
AND REGISTRATIONS 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) adopts amendments to §§30.3, 30.7, 
30.10, 30.18, 30.20, 30.24, 30.26, 30.30, 30.81, 30.117, 30.120, 
30.122, 30.231, 30.240, 30.279, 30.307, 30.331, 30.340, 
30.390, 30.506, and 30.507; repeals §30.247; and repeals and 
simultaneously adopts new §30.28. 

The amendment to §30.7 is adopted with change to the pro-
posed text as published in the April 22, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 2827) and will be republished. 
Sections 30.3, 30.10, 30.18, 30.20, 30.24, 30.26, 30.28, 30.30, 
30.81, 30.117, 30.120, 30.122, 30.231, 30.240, 30.279, 30.307, 
30.331, 30.340, 30.390, 30.506, and 30.507; and the repeals 
of §30.28 and §30.247 are adopted without changes and, 
therefore, will not be republished. 

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted 
Rules 

This adopted rulemaking implement requirements in Senate Bills 
(SB) 807 and 1307 from the 84th Texas Legislature, 2015. These 
bills impact Chapter 30, Subchapter A, Administration of Occu-
pational Licenses and Registrations. 

The adopted rules enable the commission to: waive licensing 
and examination fees for military service members, military vet-
erans, or military spouses, as required by Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, as amended by SB 807; and extend renewal 

deadlines for military service as required by Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, amended by SB 1307. 

Additionally, the adopted rules: remove redundant citations; 
identify approved training delivery methods; increase examina-
tion security; add relevant statutory citations; remove historical 
dates which no longer pertain to occupational licenses due to 
agency rule changes; remove citations which no longer pertain 
to occupational licenses due to historical legislative statutory 
changes; and improve readability of rules by removing redun-
dant wording and making non-substantive changes to grammar, 
punctuation, and organization. 

The adopted rules also repeal and simultaneously adopt new 
§30.28 to reorganize the section to improve readability by the 
public. Adopted new §30.28 will generalize training provider re-
quirements to apply to all delivery methods. 

Section by Section Discussion 

In addition to the adopted amendments associated with this rule-
making, various stylistic, non-substantive changes have been 
made to update rule language to current Texas Register style 
and format requirements. Such changes included appropriate 
and consistent use of acronyms, section references, rule struc-
ture, and certain terminology. These changes are non-substan-
tive and generally not specifically discussed in this preamble. 

§30.3, Purpose and Applicability 

The adopted amendment to §30.3, updates subsection (b)(11) to 
match the title of Chapter 30, Subchapter L, Visible Emissions 
Evaluator Training and Certification. 

§30.7, Definitions 

The adopted amendment to §30.7, reorders definitions for al-
phabetical correctness. The adopted amendment adds a def-
inition for approved application and association. The adopted 
rule clarifies training delivery methods and providers and identi-
fies entities that may be approved for differing delivery methods. 
The adopted amendment adds or modifies definitions to clarify 
what the commission considers a high school diploma and home 
school diploma. The adopted amendment also updates addi-
tional definitions in the section to improve understanding. 

Based on a comment received, the definition for association in 
adopted §30.7(8) is amended to include all nonprofit trade asso-
ciations whose members are required to employ or contract with 
individuals who hold licenses issued by the commission. 

§30.10, Administration 

The adopted amendment to §30.10, clarifies the responsibilities 
of the executive director by including changes made in §30.7, 
Definitions. 

§30.18, Applications for an Initial License 

The adopted amendment to §30.18, adds language to allow the 
executive director discretion when considering an applicant's 
diploma from a non-accredited high school. 

§30.20, Examinations 

The adopted amendment to §30.20, includes language about the 
role and responsibility of examination proctors and examinees. 
The adopted rule also includes language for increased exami-
nation security requirements and provides details regarding the 
consequences for violation of exam security requirements. 

§30.24, License and Registration Applications for Renewal 
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The adopted amendment to §30.24, clarifies language for re-
newal notification responsibilities. The adopted rule includes lan-
guage from §30.7, Definitions. The adopted rule incorporates 
language from SB 1307 for the extended renewal time for mili-
tary service members. 

§30.26, Recognition of Licenses from Out-of-State; Licenses for 
Military Service Members, Military Veterans, or Military Spouses 

The adopted amendment to §30.26, changes the section title 
to reflect changes made by SB 1307. The adopted rule incor-
porates language from SB 1307 for the qualifications of mili-
tary service members, military veterans, and military spouses. 
The adopted rule adds language clarifying the limitations of reci-
procity. 

§30.28, Approval of Training 

The adopted rulemaking repeals and simultaneously adopts new 
§30.28, to reorganize the section to improve readability and flow. 
The preexisting rule did not allow for incorporation of emerging 
technologies to deliver training. The new rule generalizes train-
ing provider requirements so the requirements apply to all deliv-
ery methods. 

Adopted new §30.28(a), former §30.28(a), removes the 45-and 
120-day application review notification deadlines from the for-
mer rule and place them into internal guidance. The removal of 
the review notification deadlines from rule will not affect the com-
mission's response times on these reviews and will continue to 
ensure staff can review training applications completely and ac-
curately. 

Adopted new §30.28(b) identifies specific training delivery meth-
ods approved by the executive director. The adopted subsection 
incorporates the training methods in former §30.28(b). 

Adopted new §30.28(c), part of former §30.28(b), allows the ex-
ecutive director to award training credit for successful completion 
of approved training used to obtain or renew a license. 

Adopted new §30.28(d), former §30.28(c), allows the executive 
director to determine the number of hours of training credit for ap-
proval. The adopted subsection clarifies the methodology used 
to determine hours from the former section. 

Adopted new §30.28(e), former §30.28(d), identifies the re-
quirements for training provider applications. The adopted 
subsection improves the readability of the previous language. 
Adopted §30.28(e)(6) also specifies documentation required 
for copyrighted material as listed in former §30.28(v). Adopted 
§30.28(e)(7) additionally includes the application deadline from 
former §30.28(y). 

Adopted new §30.28(f) adds the executive director's definition of 
applicant. 

Adopted new §30.28(g), former Figure: 30 TAC §30.28(y)(6), 
identifies the fee schedule calculations for training applications. 

Adopted new §30.28(h), former §30.28(l), identifies the require-
ments training providers must meet to be approved or renewed. 
The adopted subsection makes no substantive changes to the 
former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(i), former §30.28(j), requires that training 
not be advertised as approved until a notice of approval is 
received from the executive director. The adopted subsection 
makes no substantive changes to the former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(j), former §30.28(m)(1), prohibits training in 
a place of business directly related to the occupational license. 
The adopted subsection makes no substantive change to the 
former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(k), former §30.28(e), allows approved 
training to be offered without notification to the executive direc-
tor. The adopted subsection makes no substantive changes to 
the former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(l), former §30.28(f), allows training to be 
considered approved until the content changes or the executive 
director notifies the training provider of required changes. The 
adopted subsection makes no substantive change to the former 
language. 

Adopted new §30.28(m), former §30.28(g), requires the exec-
utive director's approval when training providers change deliv-
ery methods. The adopted subsection makes no substantive 
changes to the former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(n), former §30.28(x), identifies the exec-
utive director's authority over training providers. The adopted 
subsection makes no substantive change to the former lan-
guage. The adopted §30.28(n)(2) includes language from 
former §30.28(y)(3) that grants the executive director authority 
to conduct an administrative review over applications and a 
technical review for rule compliance. The adopted §30.28(n)(4) 
includes the update requirement from former §30.28(h). 

Adopted new §30.28(o), former §30.28(x)(3), identifies the rea-
sons the executive director may recall, rescind, suspend, or deny 
approval for training. The adopted subsection makes no sub-
stantive changes to the former language. 

Adopted new §30.28(p) identifies the types of training that will 
not be approved or allowed credit. 

Adopted new §30.28(q), former §30.28(i) and (q), identifies the 
obligations training providers have to the agency and to the stu-
dents. The adopted subsection includes a requirement to ensure 
the agency has the most current electronic copy of a provider's 
training materials. 

Adopted new §30.28(r), former §30.28(t), requires that training 
material be presented in the original manner and be relevant to 
the critical job tasks for the occupational license. The adopted 
subsection makes no substantive changes to the former lan-
guage. 

Adopted new §30.28(s), former §30.28(u), requires training 
providers utilizing public information modify the material to be 
applicable to the target audience and delivery methods. The 
adopted subsection makes no substantive changes to the 
former language. 

§30.30, Terms and Fees for Licenses and Registration 

The adopted amendment to §30.30 incorporates language from 
SB 807 to waive the initial application fee for military service 
members, military veterans, and military spouses. 

§30.81, Purpose and Applicability 

The adopted amendment to §30.81 removes citations which no 
longer pertain to occupational licenses due to historical legisla-
tive statutory changes. 

Subchapter D: Landscape Irrigators, Irrigation Technicians, and 
Irrigation Inspectors 
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The adopted amendment changes the title of Subchapter D to 
reflect historical rule changes. 

§30.117, Definitions 

The adopted amendment to §30.117 removes and modifies his-
torical definitions that pertain to occupational licenses due to 
agency rule changes. 

§30.120, Qualifications for Initial License 

The adopted amendment to §30.120 removes historical terms 
which no longer pertain to occupational licenses due to agency 
rule changes. 

§30.122, Qualifications for License Renewal 

The adopted amendment to §30.122 removes historical terms 
which no longer pertain to occupational licenses due to agency 
rule changes. 

§30.231, Purpose and Applicability 

The adopt amendment to §30.231 removes historical terms 
which no longer pertain to occupational licenses and registra-
tions due to agency rule changes. 

§30.240, Qualifications for Initial License 

The adopted amendment to §30.240 removes historical terms 
and dates which no longer pertain to occupational licenses due 
to agency rule changes. 

§30.247, Registration of Maintenance Providers 

The adopted repeal of §30.247 repeals a historical rule that was 
valid from September 11, 2008, to April 30, 2009, due to leg-
islative changes from House Bill 2482, 80th Texas Legislature, 
2007. 

§30.279, Exemptions 

The adopted amendment to §30.279 removes and modifies ci-
tations which pertain to occupational licenses and registrations 
due to historical legislative statutory changes. 

§30.307, Definitions 

The adopted amendment to §30.307 removes and modifies ci-
tations which pertain to occupational licenses and registrations 
due to historical legislative statutory changes. 

§30.331, Purpose and Applicability 

The adopted amendment to §30.331 adds a new citation that 
resulted from a recent applicable rule change. The adopted 
section also removes historical dates which no longer pertain 
to occupational licenses and registrations due to agency rule 
changes. 

§30.340, Qualifications for Initial License 

The adopted amendment to §30.340 clarifies that an examina-
tion is required to receive the license. The adopted amend-
ment makes references to college degrees consistent with other 
rules. The adopted amendment removes historical dates which 
no longer pertain to occupational licenses due to agency rule 
changes. The adopted amendment clarifies the amount of edu-
cation and training that may be substituted for the required expe-
rience. The adopted amendment clarifies the courses required 
for licensure. 

§30.390, Qualifications for Initial License 

The adopted amendment to §30.390 clarifies that an examina-
tion is required to receive the license. The adopted rule clarifies 
the course and hours required for licensure. The adopted rule 
makes references to college degrees consistent with other rules. 
The adopted rule clarifies the experience requirements for licen-
sure. The adopted rule clarifies the amount of education and 
training that may be substituted for the required experience. 

§30.506, Visible Emission Evaluator Training Requirements 

The adopted amendment to §30.506 adds a requirement for the 
number of proctors per student. This requirement was originally 
in §30.507 and moved to §30.506 to clarify that the requirement 
applies to training providers. 

§30.507, Field Training and Testing Requirements 

The adopted amendment to §30.507 removes a proctor require-
ment that is better suited to §30.506. The adopted amendment 
also updates a requirement to the field testing certification to be 
consistent with other certification requirements found in rule. 

Final Regulatory Impact Determination 

The commission reviewed this rulemaking action in light of 
the regulatory analysis requirements of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, Texas Government Code, §2001.001 et seq, 
and determined that the rulemaking is not subject to Texas 
Government Code, §2001.0225, because it does not meet the 
definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined in Texas 
Government Code, §2001.0225(g)(3). Texas Government 
Code, §2001.0225, applies only to rules that are specifically 
intended to protect the environment or reduce risks to human 
health from environmental exposure, and that may adversely 
affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy, 
productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public 
health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The 
intent of the adopted rulemaking is to implement requirements 
in SBs 807 and 1307 from the 84th Texas Legislature, 2015. 
Protection of human health and the environment may be a 
by-product of the adopted rules, but it is not the specific intent 
of this rulemaking. Furthermore, the adopted rulemaking will 
enable the commission to: extend renewal deadlines for military 
service as required by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, 
Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and 
Military Spouses, amended by SB 1307; and waive licensing 
and examination fees for military service members, military 
veterans, or military spouses, as required by Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 55, as amended by SB 807. This rulemaking 
will not adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a 
section of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the 
environment, or the public health and safety of the state or a 
sector of the state. Thus, the adopted rulemaking does not 
meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined 
in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225(g)(3) and does not 
require a full regulatory impact analysis. 

Furthermore, the adopted rulemaking does not meet any of the 
four applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225(a). Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 only ap-
plies to a major environmental rule which: 1) exceeds a standard 
set by federal law, unless the rule is specifically required by state 
law; 2) exceeds an express requirement of state law, unless the 
rule is specifically required by federal law; 3) exceeds a require-
ment of a delegation agreement or contract between the state 
and an agency or representative of the federal government to 
implement a state and federal program; or 4) is adopted solely 
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under the general powers of the agency instead of under a spe-
cific state law. 

There are no federal standards regulating occupational licens-
ing. This rulemaking does not exceed state law requirements, 
and state law authorizes their implementation, not federal law. 
There are no delegation agreements or contracts between the 
State of Texas and an agency or representative of the federal 
government to implement a state and federal program regarding 
occupational licensing. Finally, this rulemaking is being adopted 
under specific state laws, in addition to the general powers of the 
agency. 

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft 
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public 
comment period. No comments were received on the Draft 
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public 
comment period. 

Takings Impact Assessment 

The commission evaluated this adopted rulemaking and per-
formed an analysis of whether this adopted rulemaking consti-
tutes a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. 
The purpose of this adopted rulemaking is to implement require-
ments in SBs 807 and 1307 from the 84th Texas Legislature, 
2015. Promulgation and enforcement of this adopted rulemak-
ing would be neither a statutory nor a constitutional taking of pri-
vate real property. Specifically, the adopted regulations do not 
affect a landowner's rights in private real property because this 
rulemaking does not burden nor restrict or limit the owner's right 
to property and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond that 
which would otherwise exist in the absence of the regulations. 
This rulemaking does not constitute a statutory or constitutional 
taking because this adopted rulemaking only implements statu-
tory requirements and updates and clarifies the former rules and 
does not affect a landowner's rights in real property. 

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking and found 
that it is neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implemen-
tation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor does the rulemak-
ing affect any action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordi-
nation Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(a)(6). There-
fore, the adopted rulemaking is not subject to the Texas Coastal 
Management Program (CMP). 

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. No com-
ments were received regarding the consistency with the CMP 
during the public comment period. 

Public Comment 

The commission held a public hearing on May 17, 2016. The 
comment period closed on May 23, 2016. The commission did 
not receive comments at the public hearing. The commission 
received written comments from the Texas Rural Water Associ-
ation (TRWA). 

Response to Comments 

Comment 

TRWA requested the definition of "association" in §30.7(8) be 
amended to broaden the term's applicability to cover all nonprofit 
trade associations representing retail public utilities. TRWA sug-
gested the definition should include "or whose members are re-

tail public utilities that are required to employ or contract with 
individuals who hold licenses issued by the commission." 

Response 

The commission agrees with the comment and has made 
changes to the definition. The commission is not trying to 
exclude any currently recognized association, but rather the 
commission is trying to allow associations whose members 
might not hold commission issued licenses themselves but who 
are required to employ or contract with licensed individuals to 
be training providers. 

Comment 

TRWA supports the changes for the military fee waiver in 
§30.30(c) and recommends the commission streamline the 
process. 

Response 

After SB 807 passed, a waiver process was developed to incor-
porate the statutory requirements for military fee waivers. No 
changes were made in response to this comment. 

SUBCHAPTER A. ADMINISTRATION 
OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES AND 
REGISTRATIONS 
30 TAC §§30.3, 30.7, 30.10, 30.18, 30.20, 30.24, 30.26, 30.28, 
30.30 
Statutory Authority 

These amendments and new section are adopted under Texas 
Water Code (TWC), §5.013, which establishes the general 
jurisdiction of the commission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes 
the general powers of the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which 
authorizes the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
(commission) to make rules. These amendments and new 
section are also adopted under TWC, §37.001, which estab-
lishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" means the Texas 
Natural Resource Conservation Commission, predecessor to 
the commission; TWC, §37.002, which authorizes the commis-
sion to adopt any rules necessary to: establish occupational 
licenses and registrations prescribed by TWC, §§26.0301, 
26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish classes and terms 
of occupational licenses and registrations; and administer the 
provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other laws governing 
occupational licenses and registrations under the commission's 
jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes that a person may 
not engage in a business, occupation, or profession described 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; THSC, 
§§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; or Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §1903.251, unless the person holds the appropriate 
license or registration issued by the commission; TWC, §37.004, 
which authorizes the commission to establish qualifications for 
each license and registration issued under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for issuing licenses and 
registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.006, which 
authorizes the commission to establish requirements and 
uniform procedures for renewing licenses and registrations; 
TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commission to prescribe 
the content of licensing examinations; TWC, §37.008, which 
provides the commission authority to approve training programs 
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necessary to qualify for or renew a license; TWC, §37.009, 
which authorizes the commission to establish and collect fees 
to cover the cost of administering and enforcing TWC, Chapter 
37, and licenses and registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 
37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission authority to 
make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive practices 
by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which authorizes 
the commission to prepare and make available to the public 
information describing the procedures by which a person may 
submit licensing and registration complaints to the commission; 
TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to require a 
person to provide information about other occupational licenses 
and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, which 
provides that a license or registration holder must engage in the 
business, occupation, or profession governed by the license or 
registration according to applicable laws and commission rules 
and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires the commission to 
maintain and make available to the public an official roster of 
persons who hold licenses and registrations issued under TWC, 
Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which authorizes the commis-
sion to contract with persons to provide services required by 
TWC, Chapter 37. These amendments and the new section are 
also adopted under Texas Occupations Code, §55.001, which 
establishes the definitions of active duty, armed forces of the 
United States, license, military service member, military spouse, 
military veteran, and state agency; Texas Occupations Code, 
§55.002, which requires the commission to adopt rules to ex-
empt an individual who holds a license issued by the commission 
from any increased fee or other penalty for failing to renew the 
license in a timely manner if the individual establishes that the 
individual failed to renew the license in a timely manner because 
the individual was serving as a military service member; Texas 
Occupations Code, §55.003, which requires the commission 
to extend for two years license renewal deadlines for military 
service members who hold a license; Texas Occupations Code, 
§55.004, which requires the commission to adopt alternative 
licensing rules for military service members, military veterans, 
or military spouses who hold a license issued by another juris-
diction that has substantially equivalent requirements for the 
license in this state; Texas Occupations Code, §55.005, which 
requires the commission to provide an expedited license proce-
dure for military service members, military veterans, and military 
spouses; Texas Occupations Code, §55.006, which requires 
the commission to provide expedited license renewal to military 
service members, military veterans, or military spouses; Texas 
Occupations Code, §55.008, which requires the commission 
to credit verified military service, training, or education that is 
relevant to the occupation toward apprenticeship requirements 
for a license if an apprenticeship is required; and Texas Occu-
pations Code, §55.009, which requires the commission to waive 
license application and examination fees for certain military 
service members, military veterans, and military spouses and to 
prominently post a notice on the home page of the commission's 
website describing the provisions of Texas Occupations Code, 
Chapter 55, that are available to military service members, 
military veterans, and military spouses. 

These amendments and new section implement TWC, §§5.013, 
5.102, 5.103, and 37.001 - 37.015; Texas Occupations Code, 
§§55.001 - 55.006, 55.008, and 55.009; and Senate Bills 807 
and 1307. 

§30.7. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Aerobic treatment system owner--Persons that in their 
individual capacities own a single-family dwelling that is serviced by 
an on-site sewage disposal system using aerobic treatment. 

(2) Approved application--An application submitted to the 
Occupational Licensing Section that contains all the information the 
executive director has deemed necessary to be accurately processed 
and that the executive director has determined to be approved. 

(3) Approved classroom training providers--Entities that 
have been approved by the executive director to provide classroom 
training after demonstration of hands-on subject matter expertise, 
knowledge of and experience with educational principles, and effec-
tive instructional designs. 

(4) Approved conference and webinar training providers--
Governmental entities or their designated agents, associations, or col-
leges as listed by accrediting agencies that are recognized by the United 
States Department of Education and that have been approved by the ex-
ecutive director to provide conference and webinar training. 

(5) Approved distance training providers--Governmental 
entities or their designated agents, associations, or colleges as listed 
by accrediting agencies that are recognized by the United States De-
partment of Education and that have been approved by the executive 
director to provide distance training after demonstrating comparable 
subject matter expertise, knowledge of and experience with educa-
tional principles, and effective instructional designs. 

(6) Approved training--Training which provides the 
knowledge and skills necessary to perform occupational job tasks 
and is used for obtaining or renewing a license as determined by the 
executive director. 

(7) Approved training delivery method--Methods ap-
proved by the executive director that currently include instructor-led 
classroom training, conferences, seminars, workshops, training at 
association meetings, distance training, or technology-based training. 

(8) Association--The term association as used in the con-
text of this chapter is an industry-related non-profit association whose 
members hold licenses issued by the commission or whose members 
are required to employ or contract with individuals who hold licenses 
issued by the commission. 

(9) Conference--The term conference as used in the con-
text of this chapter includes conferences, seminars, workshops, sym-
posiums, expos, and any other such training venues. 

(10) Continuing education--Job-related training credit ap-
proved by the executive director used for renewal of licenses. 

(11) Correspondence training--The term correspondence 
training as used in the context of this chapter is distance training that 
can either be paper-based and conducted through a postal system, 
electronic-based and conducted through a website, or a blend of these 
delivery systems. 

(12) Distance training--The acquisition of knowledge that 
occurs through various technologies with a separation of place and/or 
time between the instructor(s) or learning resources and the learner. 

(13) Distributor--Any person or nongovernmental organi-
zation that sells a product primarily to individuals maintaining occupa-
tional licenses administered by the agency. 

(14) High school diploma--An earned high school diploma 
from a United States high school, an accredited secondary school 
equivalent to that of United States high school, or a passing score on 
the general education development (GED) test that indicates a high 
school graduation level. 
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(15) Home school diploma--An earned diploma from a stu-
dent who predominately receives instruction in a general elementary or 
secondary education program that is provided by the parent, or by a per-
son in parental authority, in or through the child's home. 

(16) License--An occupational license issued by the com-
mission to a person authorizing the person to engage in an activity cov-
ered by this chapter. 

(17) Maintenance provider--A person that, for compensa-
tion, provides service or maintenance for one or more on-site sewage 
disposal systems using aerobic treatment. 

(18) Manufacturer--For the purpose of this subchapter any 
person, company, or nongovernmental organization that produces a 
product for sale primarily to individuals who maintain occupational 
licenses that are administered by the agency. 

(19) Person--As defined in §3.2 of this title (relating to Def-
initions). 

(20) Qualified instructor--An individual who has instruc-
tional experience, work-related experience, and subject matter exper-
tise that enables the individual to communicate course information in 
a relevant, informed manner and to answer students' questions. 

(21) Registration--An occupational registration issued by 
the commission to a person authorizing the person to engage in an ac-
tivity covered by this chapter. 

(22) Service provider--Any person, company, or non-
governmental organization that provides a service for its own profit to 
individuals who maintain occupational licenses that are administered 
by the agency. 

(23) Subject matter expert--A person having a minimum 
of three years of work-related experience and expert knowledge in a 
particular content area or areas as relates to training. 

(24) Technology-based training--The term technol-
ogy-based training as used in the context of this chapter includes 
training offered through computer equipment or through a website 
(also known as on-line training or e-learning). 

(25) Training credit--Hours awarded by the executive di-
rector for successful completion of approved training. 

(26) Training provider--An administrative entity or indi-
vidual responsible for obtaining approval of training, providing accept-
able delivery of approved training, ensuring that qualified instructors or 
subject matter experts are utilized in the delivery, support, and devel-
opment of training and monitoring, recording and reporting attendance 
accurately and promptly as required by the executive director. 

(27) Webinar--Interactive training delivered live via the In-
ternet as a combination of conference training and distance training 
where the learner is separated by place from the learning source. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604706 

Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

30 TAC §30.28 
Statutory Authority 

This repeal is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013, 
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission; 
TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of the 
commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This repeal is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, which 
establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" means the 
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, predeces-
sor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which authorizes the 
commission to adopt any rules necessary to: establish occupa-
tional licenses and registrations prescribed by TWC, §§26.0301, 
26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish classes and terms 
of occupational licenses and registrations; and administer the 
provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other laws governing 
occupational licenses and registrations under the commission's 
jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes that a person may 
not engage in a business, occupation, or profession described 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; THSC, 
§§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; or Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §1903.251, unless the person holds the appropriate 
license or registration issued by the commission; TWC, §37.004, 
which authorizes the commission to establish qualifications for 
each license and registration issued under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for issuing licenses and 
registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.006, which 
authorizes the commission to establish requirements and 
uniform procedures for renewing licenses and registrations; 
TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commission to prescribe 
the content of licensing examinations; TWC, §37.008, which 
provides the commission authority to approve training programs 
necessary to qualify for or renew a license; TWC, §37.009, 
which authorizes the commission to establish and collect fees 
to cover the cost of administering and enforcing TWC, Chapter 
37, and licenses and registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 
37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission authority to 
make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive practices 
by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which authorizes 
the commission to prepare and make available to the public 
information describing the procedures by which a person may 
submit licensing and registration complaints to the commission; 
TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to require a 
person to provide information about other occupational licenses 
and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, which 
provides that a license or registration holder must engage in the 
business, occupation, or profession governed by the license or 
registration according to applicable laws and commission rules 
and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires the commission to 
maintain and make available to the public an official roster of 
persons who hold licenses and registrations issued under TWC, 
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Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which authorizes the commis-
sion to contract with persons to provide services required by 
TWC, Chapter 37. 

This repeal implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, and 
37.001 - 37.015. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604707 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. CUSTOMER SERVICE 
INSPECTORS 
30 TAC §30.81 
Statutory Authority 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of the com-
mission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of 
the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This amendment is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, 
which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" 
means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commis-
sion, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary to: 
establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed by 
TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 

and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to 
the public information describing the procedures by which a 
person may submit licensing and registration complaints to 
the commission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the com-
mission to require a person to provide information about other 
occupational licenses and registrations held by the person; 
TWC, §37.013, which provides that a license or registration 
holder must engage in the business, occupation, or profession 
governed by the license or registration according to applicable 
laws and commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which 
requires the commission to maintain and make available to 
the public an official roster of persons who hold licenses and 
registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.015, 
which authorizes the commission to contract with persons to 
provide services required by TWC, Chapter 37; and THSC, 
§341.034, which requires persons who perform duties relating 
to public water supplies to hold a license or registration issued 
by the commission under TWC, Chapter 37. 

This amendment implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, and 
37.001 - 37.015; and THSC, §341.034. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604708 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER D. LANDSCAPE IRRIGATORS, 
IRRIGATION TECHNICIANS, AND 
IRRIGATION INSPECTORS 
30 TAC §§30.117, 30.120, 30.122 
Statutory Authority 

These amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of 
the commission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general 
powers of the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) 
to make rules. These amendments also adopted under TWC, 
§37.001, which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Com-
mission" means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation 
Commission, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary 
to: establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
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classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to 
the public information describing the procedures by which a 
person may submit licensing and registration complaints to 
the commission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the com-
mission to require a person to provide information about other 
occupational licenses and registrations held by the person; 
TWC, §37.013, which provides that a license or registration 
holder must engage in the business, occupation, or profession 
governed by the license or registration according to applicable 
laws and commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which 
requires the commission to maintain and make available to 
the public an official roster of persons who hold licenses and 
registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.015, 
which authorizes the commission to contract with persons to 
provide services required by TWC, Chapter 37; Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §1903.053, which requires the commission to adopt 
by rule and enforce standards governing the responsibilities of 
licensed irrigators; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, 
which requires a person to hold a license issued by the commis-
sion under TWC, Chapter 37, if the person engages in certain 
activities related to landscape irrigation. 

These amendments implement TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, 
and 37.001 - 37.015; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.053 
and §1903.251. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604709 

Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER G. ON-SITE SEWAGE 
FACILITIES INSTALLERS, APPRENTICES, 
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVES, 
MAINTENANCE PROVIDERS, MAINTENANCE 
TECHNICIANS, AND SITE EVALUATORS 
30 TAC §30.231, §30.240 
Statutory Authority 

These amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of 
the commission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general 
powers of the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) 
to make rules. These amendments are also adopted under 
TWC, §37.001, which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, 
"Commission" means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation 
Commission, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary 
to: establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to the 
public information describing the procedures by which a person 
may submit licensing and registration complaints to the com-
mission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to 
require a person to provide information about other occupational 
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licenses and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, 
which provides that a license or registration holder must engage 
in the business, occupation, or profession governed by the 
license or registration according to applicable laws and com-
mission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires the 
commission to maintain and make available to the public an offi-
cial roster of persons who hold licenses and registrations issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which authorizes 
the commission to contract with persons to provide services 
required by TWC, Chapter 37. These amendments are adopted 
under THSC, §366.011, which establishes that the commission 
has general authority over the location, design, construction, 
installation, and proper functioning of on-site sewage disposal 
systems; and THSC, §366.012, which authorizes the commis-
sion to adopt rules governing the installation of on-site sewage 
disposal systems. 

These amendments implement TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, 
and 37.001 - 37.015; and THSC, §366.011 and §366.012. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604710 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

30 TAC §30.247 
Statutory Authority 

This repeal is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013, 
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission; 
TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of the 
commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This repeal is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, which 
establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" means the 
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission, predeces-
sor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which authorizes the 
commission to adopt any rules necessary to: establish occupa-
tional licenses and registrations prescribed by TWC, §§26.0301, 
26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish classes and terms 
of occupational licenses and registrations; and administer the 
provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other laws governing 
occupational licenses and registrations under the commission's 
jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes that a person may 
not engage in a business, occupation, or profession described 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; THSC, 
§§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; or Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §1903.251, unless the person holds the appropriate 
license or registration issued by the commission; TWC, §37.004, 
which authorizes the commission to establish qualifications for 
each license and registration issued under TWC, Chapter 37; 

TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for issuing licenses and 
registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.006, which 
authorizes the commission to establish requirements and 
uniform procedures for renewing licenses and registrations; 
TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commission to prescribe 
the content of licensing examinations; TWC, §37.008, which 
provides the commission authority to approve training programs 
necessary to qualify for or renew a license; TWC, §37.009, 
which authorizes the commission to establish and collect fees 
to cover the cost of administering and enforcing TWC, Chapter 
37, and licenses and registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 
37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission authority to 
make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive practices 
by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which authorizes 
the commission to prepare and make available to the public 
information describing the procedures by which a person may 
submit licensing and registration complaints to the commission; 
TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to require a 
person to provide information about other occupational licenses 
and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, which 
provides that a license or registration holder must engage in the 
business, occupation, or profession governed by the license or 
registration according to applicable laws and commission rules 
and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires the commission to 
maintain and make available to the public an official roster of 
persons who hold licenses and registrations issued under TWC, 
Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which authorizes the commis-
sion to contract with persons to provide services required by 
TWC, Chapter 37. This repeal is also adopted under THSC, 
§366.011, which establishes that the commission has general 
authority over the location, design, construction, installation, 
and proper functioning of on-site sewage disposal systems; and 
THSC, §366.012, which authorizes the commission to adopt 
rules governing the installation of on-site sewage disposal 
systems. 

This repeal implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, and 
37.001 - 37.015; and THSC, §366.011 and §366.012. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604711 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER H. WATER TREATMENT 
SPECIALISTS 
30 TAC §30.279 
Statutory Authority 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of the com-
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mission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of 
the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This amendment is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, 
which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" 
means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commis-
sion, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary to: 
establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed by 
TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to 
the public information describing the procedures by which a 
person may submit licensing and registration complaints to 
the commission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the com-
mission to require a person to provide information about other 
occupational licenses and registrations held by the person; 
TWC, §37.013, which provides that a license or registration 
holder must engage in the business, occupation, or profession 
governed by the license or registration according to applicable 
laws and commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which 
requires the commission to maintain and make available to the 
public an official roster of persons who hold licenses and reg-
istrations issued under TWC, Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, 
which authorizes the commission to contract with persons to 
provide services required by TWC, Chapter 37. This amend-
ment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code, §1904.051, 
which requires the commission to establish a program to certify 
persons qualified to install, exchange, service, and repair res-
idential, commercial, or industrial water treatment equipment 
and appliances; Texas Occupations Code, §1904.052, which 
requires a person to obtain a certificate from the commission 
before engaging in water treatment; Texas Occupations Code, 
§1904.053, which establishes that the commission is authorized 
to take applications for certification into the water treatment 
specialist program; and Texas Occupations Code, §1904.054, 
which authorizes the commission to issue certificates stating 

that a person is qualified to install, exchange, service, and repair 
residential, commercial, or industrial water treatment facilities. 

This amendment implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, and 
37.001 - 37.015; and Texas Occupations Code, §§1904.051 -
1904.054. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604712 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER I. UNDERGROUND STORAGE 
TANK ON-SITE SUPERVISOR LICENSING AND 
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION 
30 TAC §30.307 
Statutory Authority 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of the com-
mission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of 
the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This amendment is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, 
which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" 
means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commis-
sion, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary to: 
establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed by 
TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
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TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to 
the public information describing the procedures by which a 
person may submit licensing and registration complaints to 
the commission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the com-
mission to require a person to provide information about other 
occupational licenses and registrations held by the person; 
TWC, §37.013, which provides that a license or registration 
holder must engage in the business, occupation, or profession 
governed by the license or registration according to applicable 
laws and commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which 
requires the commission to maintain and make available to 
the public an official roster of persons who hold licenses and 
registrations issued under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.015, 
which authorizes the commission to contract with persons to 
provide services required by TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §26.345, 
which requires the commission to administer TWC, Chapter 26, 
Subchapter I, concerning Underground and Aboveground Stor-
age Tanks; TWC, §26.364, which authorizes the commission 
to implement a program under TWC, Chapter 37, to register 
persons who contract to perform corrective action under TWC, 
Chapter 26, Subchapter I; TWC, §26.365, which authorizes the 
commission to register geoscientists into the corrective action 
program; and TWC, §26.366, which authorizes the commission 
to implement a program to license persons who supervise a 
corrective action under TWC, Chapter 26, Subchapter I. 

This amendment implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, 
26.345, 26.364 - 26.366, and 37.001 - 37.015. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604714 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER J. WASTEWATER OPERATORS 
AND OPERATIONS COMPANIES 
30 TAC §30.331, §30.340 
Statutory Authority 

These amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of 
the commission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general 
powers of the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) 
to make rules. These amendments are also adopted under 
TWC, §37.001, which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, 

"Commission" means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation 
Commission, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary 
to: establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to the 
public information describing the procedures by which a person 
may submit licensing and registration complaints to the com-
mission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to 
require a person to provide information about other occupational 
licenses and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, 
which provides that a license or registration holder must en-
gage in the business, occupation, or profession governed by 
the license or registration according to applicable laws and 
commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires 
the commission to maintain and make available to the public 
an official roster of persons who hold licenses and registrations 
issued under TWC, Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which 
authorizes the commission to contract with persons to provide 
services required by TWC, Chapter 37. These amendments 
are also adopted under TWC, §26.0301, which authorizes the 
commission to issue licenses and registrations for wastewater 
treatment plant operators and sewage treatment or collection 
facility services under contract. 

These amendments implement TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, 
26.0301, and 37.001 - 37.015. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604716 
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Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER K. PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM 
OPERATORS AND OPERATIONS COMPANIES 
30 TAC §30.390 
Statutory Authority 

This amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of the com-
mission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general powers of 
the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes the Texas 
Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) to make 
rules. This amendment is also adopted under TWC, §37.001, 
which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, "Commission" 
means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commis-
sion, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, which 
authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary to: 
establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed by 
TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to the 
public information describing the procedures by which a person 
may submit licensing and registration complaints to the com-
mission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the commission to 
require a person to provide information about other occupational 
licenses and registrations held by the person; TWC, §37.013, 
which provides that a license or registration holder must en-
gage in the business, occupation, or profession governed by 
the license or registration according to applicable laws and 

commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which requires 
the commission to maintain and make available to the public 
an official roster of persons who hold licenses and registrations 
issued under TWC, Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, which 
authorizes the commission to contract with persons to provide 
services required by TWC, Chapter 37. This amendment is also 
adopted under THSC, §341.033, which requires persons who 
furnish drinking water to the public for a charge to hold a license 
issued by the commission under TWC, Chapter 37; and THSC, 
§341.034, which requires persons who operate a public water 
supply on a contract basis to hold a registration issued by the 
commission under TWC, Chapter 37. 

This amendment implements TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103, and 
37.001 - 37.015; and THSC, §341.033 and §341.034. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604718 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

SUBCHAPTER L. VISIBLE EMISSIONS 
EVALUATOR TRAINING AND CERTIFICATION 
30 TAC §30.506, §30.507 
Statutory Authority 

These amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code 
(TWC), §5.013, which establishes the general jurisdiction of 
the commission; TWC, §5.102, which establishes the general 
powers of the commission; and TWC, §5.103, which authorizes 
the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (commission) 
to make rules. These amendments are also adopted under 
TWC, §37.001, which establishes that in TWC, Chapter 37, 
"Commission" means the Texas Natural Resource Conservation 
Commission, predecessor to the commission; TWC, §37.002, 
which authorizes the commission to adopt any rules necessary 
to: establish occupational licenses and registrations prescribed 
by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, and 26.456; Texas Health 
and Safety Code (THSC), §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 
366.071; and Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251; establish 
classes and terms of occupational licenses and registrations; 
and administer the provisions of TWC, Chapter 37, and other 
laws governing occupational licenses and registrations under 
the commission's jurisdiction; TWC, §37.003, which establishes 
that a person may not engage in a business, occupation, or 
profession described by TWC, §§26.0301, 26.3573, 26.452, 
and 26.456; THSC, §§341.033, 341.034, 361.027, and 366.071; 
or Texas Occupations Code, §1903.251, unless the person 
holds the appropriate license or registration issued by the com-
mission; TWC, §37.004, which authorizes the commission to 
establish qualifications for each license and registration issued 
under TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.005, which authorizes the 
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commission to establish requirements and uniform procedures 
for issuing licenses and registrations under TWC, Chapter 37; 
TWC, §37.006, which authorizes the commission to establish 
requirements and uniform procedures for renewing licenses 
and registrations; TWC, §37.007, which authorizes the commis-
sion to prescribe the content of licensing examinations; TWC, 
§37.008, which provides the commission authority to approve 
training programs necessary to qualify for or renew a license; 
TWC, §37.009, which authorizes the commission to establish 
and collect fees to cover the cost of administering and enforcing 
TWC, Chapter 37, and licenses and registrations issued under 
TWC, Chapter 37; TWC, §37.010, which grants the commission 
authority to make rules regarding false, misleading, or deceptive 
practices by licensees and registrants; TWC, §37.011, which 
authorizes the commission to prepare and make available to 
the public information describing the procedures by which a 
person may submit licensing and registration complaints to 
the commission; TWC, §37.012, which authorizes the com-
mission to require a person to provide information about other 
occupational licenses and registrations held by the person; 
TWC, §37.013, which provides that a license or registration 
holder must engage in the business, occupation, or profession 
governed by the license or registration according to applicable 
laws and commission rules and orders; TWC, §37.014, which 
requires the commission to maintain and make available to the 
public an official roster of persons who hold licenses and reg-
istrations issued under TWC, Chapter 37; and TWC, §37.015, 
which authorizes the commission to contract with persons to 
provide services required by TWC, Chapter 37. 

These amendments implement TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103 and 
37.001 - 37.015. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604719 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
CONSERVATION 

PART 2. TEXAS PARKS AND 
WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT 

CHAPTER 65. WILDLIFE 
SUBCHAPTER B. DISEASE DETECTION AND 
RESPONSE 
DIVISION 1. CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE 
(CWD) 

In a duly noticed meeting on August 25, 2016, the Texas Parks 
and Wildlife Commission adopted the repeal of §65.83 and 
§65.88, amendments to §§65.80 - 65.82, 65.84, 65.85, and 
new §65.88 and §65.89, concerning Chronic Wasting Disease. 
Section 65.82 is adopted with changes to the proposed text as 
published in the July 22, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 5391). The repeals, amendments to §§65.80, 65.81, 
65.84, 65.85, and new §65.88 and §65.89 are adopted without 
change and will not be republished. 

The change to §65.82, concerning Surveillance Zones; Restric-
tions, makes nonsubstantive changes to paragraph (2)(B)(i)(II)(-
a-) - (-b-) to maintain grammatical parallelism. 

On July 10, 2012, the department confirmed the first known 
cases of Texas wildlife infected with Chronic Wasting Disease 
(CWD) in two free-ranging mule deer in the Hueco Mountains 
of far west Texas. With that discovery, Texas joined 20 other 
states and two Canadian provinces where CWD has been 
detected in free-ranging or captive environments. In response, 
the department adopted §§65.80 - 65.88 (37 TexReg 10231), 
effective January 2, 2013, to establish zones in which the un-
natural movement of deer is more restricted, and to implement 
mandatory check stations in certain areas in order to determine 
the prevalence and geographic extent of the disease. 

On June 30, 2015, the department received confirmation that 
a two-year-old white-tailed deer held in a deer breeding facility 
in Medina County had tested positive for CWD, which was fol-
lowed by positive test results for white-tailed deer in three ad-
ditional deer breeding facilities. In addition, a hunter-harvested 
free-ranging mule deer in Hartley County in the Texas Panhandle 
tested positive for CWD in the past year. In response, the de-
partment first adopted emergency rules (40 TexReg 5566) to re-
spond immediately to the threat, then developed interim rules (41 
TexReg 815) intended to function through the 2015 - 2016 hunt-
ing season until permanent rules could be implemented. Work-
ing closely with the Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC), 
the regulated community, and key stakeholders, and with the as-
sistance of the Center for Public Policy Dispute Resolution of the 
University of Texas School of Law, the department developed 
a rule package to implement a comprehensive CWD manage-
ment strategy associated with permitted deer management prac-
tices involving the unnatural movement of live deer (41 TexReg 
815). Those rules were approved for adoption by the Parks and 
Wildlife Commission, with changes, on June 20, 2016 (referred 
to herein as "comprehensive CWD management rules"), and be-
came effective on August 15, 2016 (41 TexReg 5726). 

The repeal, amendments, and new section adopted in this rule-
making are necessary to harmonize the rules in Chapter 65, Sub-
chapter B, Division 1 with the rules in Chapter 65, Subchapter B, 
Division 2, which implement the comprehensive CWD manage-
ment strategy and to modify the types and geographical extent 
of the zones in which the unnatural movement of deer and the 
movement of deer carcasses are restricted. 

The rules as adopted are a result of cooperation between the de-
partment, TAHC, and the department’s CWD Task Force, com-
prised of wildlife-health professionals and cervid producers and 
are intended to protect susceptible species of exotic and native 
wildlife from CWD. 

CWD is a fatal neurodegenerative disorder that affects some 
cervid species, including white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, red 
deer, moose, reindeer, sika, and their hybrids (susceptible 
species). It is classified as a TSE (transmissible spongiform 
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encephalopathy), a family of diseases that includes scrapie 
(found in sheep), bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE, 
found in cattle), and variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (vCJD) 
in humans. 

Much remains unknown about CWD. The peculiarities of its 
transmission (how it is passed from animal to animal), infection 
rate (the frequency of occurrence through time or other com-
parative standard), incubation period (the time from exposure 
to clinical manifestation), and potential for transmission to 
other species are still being investigated. There is no scientific 
evidence to indicate that CWD is transmissible to humans. 
What is known is that CWD is invariably fatal to cervids, and 
is transmitted both directly (through deer-to-deer contact) and 
indirectly (through environmental contamination). Moreover, a 
high prevalence of the disease correlates with deer population 
decline in at least one free-ranging population, and human 
dimensions research suggests that hunters will avoid areas of 
high CWD prevalence. Additionally, the apparent persistence of 
CWD in contaminated environments represents a significant ob-
stacle to eradication of CWD from either farmed or free-ranging 
cervid populations. The potential implications of CWD for Texas 
and its annual, multi-billion dollar ranching, hunting, real estate, 
tourism, and wildlife management-related economies could be 
significant, unless it is contained and controlled. 

The department has been concerned for over a decade about the 
possible emergence of CWD in free-ranging and captive deer 
populations in Texas. Since 2002, more than 40,000 "not de-
tected" CWD test results have been obtained from free-ranging 
(i.e., not breeder) deer in Texas, and deer breeders have submit-
ted approximately 20,000 "not detected" test results as well. The 
intent of the proposed rules is to reduce the probability of CWD 
being spread from areas and deer breeding facilities where it 
might exist and to increase the probability of detecting and con-
fining CWD to areas where it does exist. 

Under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapters C, E, 
L, R, and R-1, the department regulates the possession of white-
tailed deer and mule deer for various purposes. Subchapter C 
governs permits for scientific research, zoological collection, re-
habilitation, and educational display of protected wildlife, which 
includes deer. Subchapter E governs Triple T activities (trap, 
transport, and transplant), in which game animals or game birds 
are captured and relocated to adjust populations. Subchapter 
E also governs Urban White-tailed Deer Removal Permits and 
Permits to Trap, Transport, and Process Surplus White-tailed 
Deer (TTP). (Unless otherwise stated, the permits issued un-
der authority of Subchapter E are collectively referred to herein 
as "Triple T" permits.) Subchapter L governs deer breeder per-
mit activities, which include, among other things, possession of 
captive-raised deer within a facility for breeding purposes and 
release of such deer. Subchapters R and R-1 govern Deer Man-
agement Permit (DMP) activities for white-tailed deer and mule 
deer, respectively, in which free-ranging deer may be captured 
and temporarily retained for breeding purposes. The department 
notes that although DMPs for mule deer were authorized by the 
legislature in 2011, no DMPs for mule deer have been issued be-
cause the department has deferred promulgation of regulations 
pending acquisition of requisite data to develop biologically de-
fensible rules and address disease threats, including CWD. 

Triple T, deer breeder permits, and DMP all authorize release 
of deer under certain circumstances. Additionally, the permits 
governed by Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter 
C, can also include permit conditions for release. 

From an epidemiological point of view, the higher the density of 
susceptible organisms, the more likely disease transmission is 
to occur, if it exists in a population. Obviously, deer kept in cir-
cumstances (facilities, pens, trailers, etc.) in which densities are 
many times higher than what occurs naturally are more likely to 
both manifest and spread communicable diseases at a higher 
rate or in greater numbers than would occur in a free-ranging 
populations. Therefore, the proposed rules are designed and 
intended to provide reasonable assurance that once CWD is de-
tected it is quickly isolated and not spread as a result of increased 
concentration of deer, the movement of live deer under permits 
issued by the department, or the movement of carcasses of har-
vested deer. 

The repeal of §65.83, concerning Buffer Zones, is necessary be-
cause buffer zones are being eliminated. Prior to this rulemak-
ing, the rules imposed a three-tiered cordon approach to address 
the possibility of CWD being spread via unnatural deer move-
ments (deer breeder, Triple T, and DMP activities often involve 
the physical translocation of animals at distances that are far 
beyond what is possible by free-ranging animals): Containment 
Zones (the area immediately surrounding the location where a 
CWD-positive animal has been found); High-Risk Zones (the 
area surrounding or adjoining the Containment Zone); and Buffer 
Zones (an area surrounding or adjoining the High-Risk Zone). 
The unnatural movement of deer is most rigorously regulated in 
Containment Zones and becomes successively less rigorously 
regulated as distance from where the disease was discovered in-
creases. The comprehensive CWD management rules (Chapter 
65, Subchapter B, Division 2) previously referenced in this pre-
amble impose increased CWD-testing requirements for breeder 
deer, Triple T trap sites, and DMP sites where breeder deer are 
introduced on a statewide basis, which makes the concept of the 
buffer zone superfluous. 

The amendment to §65.80, concerning Definitions, would elim-
inate the definition for "buffer zone" for the reasons discussed 
in the repeal of §65.83. The amendment also eliminates the 
term "High-Risk Zone" and replaces it with "Surveillance Zone," 
and removes the language defining such zones as "surround-
ing or being adjacent to" a Containment Zone (CZ). The de-
partment has determined that the term "high-risk" could inad-
vertently and unnecessarily stigmatize an area, so a term that 
more accurately describes the function of the zone has been 
selected. Additionally, for reasons discussed in the proposed 
amendment to §65.82, concerning Surveillance Zones; Restric-
tions, the amendment eliminates the phrase "adjacent to or sur-
rounding a CZ" from the definition. The amendment also alters 
the definition of "susceptible species" to clarify that the term in-
cludes parts of animals and is not restricted to a whole animal. 

The amendment to §65.81, concerning Containment Zones; Re-
strictions, redefines the boundaries of the CZ currently in effect 
in far west Texas and creates a new CZ in the Texas Panhandle 
to address the discovery of CWD in Hartley County. The CZ in 
far west Texas is being reduced in geographical extent in Culber-
son, El Paso, and Hudspeth counties. The contraction of the CZ 
in those counties is possible because the department’s surveil-
lance efforts indicate that CWD has not likely spread beyond the 
Hueco Mountains. Several factors (e.g., cervid population pa-
rameters, cervid behavior and life history, historical surveillance 
intensity, clear boundaries, etc.) are considered when determin-
ing the appropriate extent of a CZ or SZ; for example, when CWD 
was detected just across the New Mexico border in 2012, there 
was more than a strong possibility that infected mule deer were 
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present in Texas, since the movement of desert mule deer can 
be as much as 25-30 linear miles. 

The amendment to §65.81 alters the provisions of paragraph 
(2)(C) by adding language to allow the recapture of deer that 
have escaped from a deer breeding facility within a CZ if specifi-
cally authorized under a hold order or herd plan issued by TAHC. 
The department has determined that escaped breeder deer may 
be epidemiologically significant in some instances and that re-
capture should be permitted if authorized by TAHC. 

Under current §65.81(2)(A), the movement of deer into, out of, 
or within a CZ is prohibited, except for department-authorized re-
search. The amendment to §65.81 adds new paragraph (2)(D) 
to allow TC 1 deer breeding facilities within a CZ to release 
breeder deer to immediately adjoining acreage (provided the re-
lease site and the breeding facility share the same ownership 
and the release site is high-fenced as required by the compre-
hensive CWD rules alluded to previously in this preamble). Be-
cause TC 1 breeding facilities (more thoroughly described in the 
comprehensive CWD management rules) represent the lowest 
risk of spreading CWD, the department considers the release of 
such breeder deer to adjoining acreage under the same own-
ership to present a low risk with regard to disease transmission, 
but all other movement of breeder deer would continue to be pro-
hibited. 

The amendment to §65.81 also changes the term "deer breeder 
facility" to "deer breeding facility" for purposes of consistency. 

The amendment to §65.82, concerning High-Risk Zones; Re-
strictions, changes the title of the section to Surveillance Zones; 
Restrictions, as previously noted in this preamble, shrinks the 
geographical extent of the zone in far west Texas, creates two 
new zones (one to address the additional CWD discovery in the 
Texas Panhandle and one to address the discovery of CWD in 
deer breeding facilities in Medina County), and allows the unnat-
ural movement of deer within a SZ under certain circumstances. 
A Surveillance Zone (SZ) is a geographic area within which the 
department has determined, using the best available science 
and data, that the presence of CWD could reasonably be ex-
pected. With respect to new paragraph (1)(C), the department 
is creating a Surveillance Zone in portions of Bandera, Medina, 
and Uvalde counties, but not a CZ. The reason for not creat-
ing a CZ is two-fold. First, the CWD discovery in this part of the 
state occurred in breeder deer and deer breeding facilities, which 
are required by law to be designed and built to both prevent the 
free movement of deer and contact with free-ranging deer, which 
coincidentally is imperative for the control and management of 
CWD. Second, the facilities where CWD was discovered are op-
erating under TAHC herd plans, which restrict deer movement 
and require CWD testing at a level equal to or greater than that 
required in a CZ. 

Under the previous provisions of §65.82, the unnatural move-
ment of deer was restricted to breeder deer being transferred 
to or from a deer breeding facility that had achieved "Certified" 
status in the TAHC Herd Certification Program (i.e., "Level ‘C’ 
status as defined by 4 TAC §40.3). With the adoption of the 
comprehensive CWD management rules alluded to earlier in this 
preamble, the testing, TAHC herd status, and herd inventory re-
quirements of previous §65.82 with respect to breeder deer are 
no longer necessary in §65.82; however, because the compre-
hensive CWD management rules create a classification system 
that identifies breeding facilities and prospective DMP and Triple 
T trap sites that are epidemiologically determined to present lim-
ited risk of CWD transfer, the amendment adds new subpara-

graphs (B) - (D) to paragraph (2) to address that fact and pre-
scribes the criteria under which those activities would be allowed. 

New §65.82(2)(B) addresses deer breeding facilities and pro-
vides that except as provided by the provisions of Division 2 of 
Subchapter B (the comprehensive CWD management rules), TC 
1 breeding facilities within a SZ may transfer, receive, or liberate 
breeder deer within or beyond the SZ, because they represent a 
low risk of CWD. Similarly, the amendment allows TC 2 breeding 
facilities to receive deer from any deer breeder in the state au-
thorized to transfer deer and to transfer, receive, or liberate deer 
within the SZ, but not beyond the SZ. TC 2 breeding facilities are 
those facilities that while not deemed to present the greatest risk, 
at the same time cannot provide sufficient epidemiological data 
to achieve TC 1 status; therefore, because breeder deer trans-
ferred from breeding facility to breeding facility are always within 
a high-fenced area, which the comprehensive CWD manage-
ment rules also require for release sites, these activities can be 
allowed within the SZ without increasing the chance of spreading 
CWD beyond the SZ in the event the disease does occur within 
the SZ. The amendment to §65.82 also adds new subparagraph 
(B)(ii) to allow the recapture of deer that have escaped from a 
deer breeding facility within a SZ if specifically authorized under 
a hold order or herd plan issued by TAHC. As stated previously 
in this preamble, the department has determined that escaped 
breeder deer may be epidemiologically significant in some in-
stances and that recapture should be permitted only if authorized 
by TAHC. 

New §65.82(2)(C) addresses the movement of deer pursuant to 
Triple T permits and provides for the approval of Triple T releases 
in a SZ, but prohibits trapping for Triple T purposes within a SZ. 
From an epidemiological standpoint, the release of deer within 
a SZ does not present a significant risk of spreading or acceler-
ating the spread of CWD, and in any case, the department will 
not approve a release that would result in deer densities greater 
than the habitat conditions and deer populations at the release 
site can sustain, which would be the major concern in evaluating 
disease propagation potential. Conversely, the trapping of deer 
from within a SZ, because the source population’s disease po-
tential is unknown, represents an unacceptable risk of disease 
propagation in the absence of adequate sampling data to provide 
sufficient confidence that CWD does not exist within that area. 

New §65.82(2)(D) addresses the movement of deer pursuant to 
a DMP and provides for the issuance of DMPs in SZs with the 
proviso that any breeder deer introduced to a DMP must be re-
leased to the designated release site and cannot be returned to 
a deer breeding facility. A DMP authorizes the trapping and tem-
porary detention of free-ranging deer at the trap site for breed-
ing purposes. Breeder deer may be introduced to a DMP pen as 
well, but since the epidemiological status of free-ranging deer 
within high-fenced enclosures is unknown, it is problematic to 
allow breeder deer exposed to such deer to be returned to a 
breeding facility. 

The amendment to §65.84, concerning Powers and Duties of 
the Executive Director, alters the terminology used in the section 
in order to conform the terminology with the changes proposed 
elsewhere in this rulemaking. 

The amendment to §65.85, concerning Mandatory Check Sta-
tions, makes nonsubstantive changes to terminology to comport 
the section with amendments made to other sections. 

New §65.88, concerning Deer Carcass Movement Restrictions, 
sets forth the conditions under which certain parts of a suscep-
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tible species harvested within a CZ or SZ may be lawfully trans-
ported from the CZ or SZ where the harvest occurred. 

New §65.88(a) prohibits the possession or transport of certain 
parts of a susceptible species (white-tailed deer or mule deer) 
taken in a state, province, or other place outside Texas where 
CWD has been detected in free-ranging or captive herds. CWD 
prions are known to be present in tissues of infected animals, 
especially brain, spinal cord and viscera; thus, carcasses with 
these tissues entering Texas from other states and countries 
where CWD has been confirmed represent a source of envi-
ronmental contamination and a potential infection pathway to 
free-ranging and farmed deer in Texas. For the same reason, 
new subsection (a)(2) would prohibit the transport of any part of 
a susceptible species from within a CZ or SZ, except in compli-
ance with the new section. 

New §65.88(b) establishes exceptions to subsection (a), consist-
ing of various types of processing that must take place in order 
to lawfully transport susceptible species from the place of har-
vest. The exceptions consist of meat that has been cut up and 
packaged (boned or filleted); a carcass that has been reduced 
to quarters with no brain or spinal tissue present; a cleaned hide 
(skull and soft tissue must not be attached or present); whole 
skull (or skull plate) with antlers attached, provided the skull or 
skull plate has been completely cleaned of all soft tissue; fin-
ished taxidermy products; cleaned teeth; or tissue prepared and 
packaged for delivery to and use by a diagnostic or research lab-
oratory. In general, these types of processing reflect the removal 
of the types of tissues in which CWD prions are known to con-
centrate. 

New §65.88(c) provides that the exceptions created by subsec-
tion (b) apply if the susceptible species is processed within the 
CZ or SZ where it was harvested. In order to minimize the poten-
tial that brain or spinal tissue potentially infected with CWD could 
be transported beyond a CZ or SZ and present a risk of environ-
mental contamination, the processing of the susceptible species 
must occur within the CZ or SZ where the animal is killed. 

New §65.88(d) allows a susceptible species harvested in a CZ or 
SZ and processed in accordance with the provisions of subsec-
tions (b) and (c) to be transported from the CZ or SZ, provided 
it is accompanied by a department-issued check-station receipt, 
which must remain with the susceptible species until it reaches a 
final destination. At the current time, the only mandatory check 
stations in Texas are located in the one CZ that has been es-
tablished in west Texas; however, additional mandatory check 
stations will be designated in the northwest Panhandle. There-
fore, the provision allows the transport of susceptible species 
only if the required processing has occurred and the head has 
been presented at a check station. 

New §65.88(e) allows susceptible species harvested from a CZ 
or SZ, other state, Canadian province, or other place outside of 
Texas to be transported to a taxidermist for taxidermy purposes; 
however, in order to minimize the potential for environmental 
contamination, all brain material, soft tissue, spinal column and 
any unused portions of the head is required to be disposed of in 
a landfill permitted by the Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ). The new subsection does not exempt hunters 
within a CZ or SZ from the requirement, except as specifically 
authorized by the department, from the requirement to submit 
the head of a susceptible species harvested within a CZ or SZ 
to a check station for tissue collection. 

New §65.88(f) exempts deer harvested in Surveillance Zone 3 
from the mandatory check station and documentation require-
ments of the section. The department was approached by con-
cerned county officials and landowners in Medina County who 
committed to organizing a volunteer hunter and landowner ef-
fort to provide the department with a sufficient number of valid 
"not detected" CWD test results, which would allow the depart-
ment to make an epidemiologically sound determination about 
the prevalence (if any) of CWD within Surveillance Zone 3. 

New §65.89, concerning Penalties, contains the statutory penal-
ties for violations of the proposed new rules for ease of reference. 
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The department received 34 comments opposing adoption of the 
rules as proposed. Of those 34 comments, 21 expressed a rea-
son or rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments, ac-
companied by the department’s response to each, follow. The 
department notes that because many individual comments con-
tained multiple statements, and multiple individuals made simi-
lar comments, the number of responses does not equal the total 
number of comments. 

Impacts to Deer Breeders 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that breeding fa-
cilities in a zone that achieve TC 1 or TC 2 status should be 
allowed to move deer outside the zone. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that with respect to a 
CZ, the rules do not allow the unnatural movement of deer in 
or out of the CZ, which is necessary because a CZ is the area 
where CWD has been discovered and detection of CWD else-
where in the CZ is probable and could be spread, especially via 
unnatural deer movements. With respect to an SZ, the rules in 
fact do allow TC 1 breeding facilities to move deer into and out 
of the SZ, but prohibit TC 2 facilities from moving deer outside of 
the SZ, which is necessary because TC 2 facilities are facilities 
that cannot provide sufficient epidemiological proof that CWD is 
not present within the facility. The department believes that only 
those facilities that can furnish such proof should be allowed to 
move deer out of an area that, because of the reasonable ex-
pectation that CWD is present, has been designated a SZ. No 
changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that deer breed-
ing facilities should be shut down and that all points of entry into 
Texas should be monitored by the department to check for CWD. 
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that 
from a disease-management perspective, while the unnatural 
movement of deer creates an additional risk that must be ad-
dressed, the rules as adopted, in combination with the Compre-
hensive CWD Management rules at Chapter 65, Subchapter B, 
Division 2 provide safeguards to increase the probability CWD 
will be detected where it exists and reduce the likelihood CWD 
will be spread to areas where it does not currently exist with-
out prohibiting all movement of deer. The department also re-
sponds that fiscal and workforce realities make the monitoring 
of all points of entry into the state impossible to achieve. The 
department further responds that deer breeding is authorized by 
Parks and Wildlife Code, §43.352(a). No changes were made 
as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should 
be a moratorium on all cervid movement in Texas and 100 per-
cent testing of cervids for 16 years. The department disagrees 
with the comment and responds that while the unnatural move-
ment of deer creates an additional risk that must be addressed, 
and while additional testing is beneficial, the rules as adopted 
are intended to contain CWD where it is discovered; the depart-
ment’s rules at Chapter 65, Subchapter B, Division 2 address 
testing protocols for deer movement and are not part of this rule-
making. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that all deer 
breeding and unnatural movements should be prohibited for at 
least three years. The department disagrees with the comment 
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and responds that from a disease-management perspective 
while the unnatural movement of deer creates an additional risk 
that must be addressed, the rules as adopted, in combination 
with the Comprehensive CWD Management rules at Chapter 
65, Subchapter B, Division 2 provide safeguards to increase 
the probability CWD will be detected where it exists and reduce 
the likelihood CWD will be spread to areas where it does not 
currently exist without prohibiting all movement of deer. No 
changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
are unjustified and unwarranted burdens placed on completely 
unconnected facilities through movement restrictions of live 
deer authorized under TPWD permits from properties within 
the proposed zones. The commenter stated that because the 
rules prohibit a TC 2 deer breeder facility located inside the 
zone from moving deer outside the zone, the department has 
implemented an unnecessary and unjust quarantine without 
cause. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the rules are warranted and completely justified in 
light of the threat posed by CWD to free-ranging and captive 
cervid populations. The rules prevent a TC 2 breeding facility 
from moving deer outside of a SZ because although a TC 2 
breeding facility’s CWD testing performance, in conjunction with 
testing of liberated breeder deer that are ultimately harvested 
by hunters, is adequate for other parts of the state, this level 
of testing is insufficient to allow transfer of breeder deer from 
deer breeding facilities located within a geographic area where 
the presence of CWD could reasonably be expected. This fact 
makes it absolutely necessary and completely defensible, from 
a risk-management standpoint, to prohibit movement from TC 2 
facilities within a SZ to points outside the SZ. The department 
also notes that Chapter 65, Subchapter B, Division 2 provides 
a pathway for any TC 2 breeding facility to attain TC 1 status, 
thereby becoming able to move deer anywhere within or beyond 
a SZ. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that "many" TC 2 
facilities have been wholly compliant with four different sets of 
rules and will be negatively impacted by an "artificially created 
and unjustified CWD zone" and that such facilities should be al-
lowed to move deer outside a SZ. The department agrees with 
the portion of the comment concerning the compliance of many 
TC 2 breeding facilities. The department disagrees that there 
have been four different sets of rules governing deer breeders 
in CWD zones or that the effect of the rules on deer breeders 
is the result of carelessness or recklessness on the part of the 
department. On the contrary, the department has been extraor-
dinarily inclusive in the development of all regulations that might 
affect deer breeders. The department also disagrees, for rea-
sons stated numerous times elsewhere in this preamble, that 
TC 2 breeding facilities within a SZ should be allowed to move 
deer outside the SZ. No changes were made as a result of the 
comment. The department also disagrees with the comment re-
garding "artificially created and unjustified CWD zones" and re-
sponds that the delineation of the zones imposed by the rules 
is based on the location where CWD-positive deer have been 
detected, the biology of white-tailed and mule deer, the nature 
and characteristics of CWD, and the need for easily recogniz-
able boundaries for hunters and other deer managers to identify. 

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the only 
breeding facilities that should be prevented from moving deer 
are those facilities that are directly connected to index facilities, 
a disease management approach has been largely effective in 
finding CWD throughout the state. The commenters also stated 

that the epidemiological trace-in and trace-out model utilized by 
the Texas Animal Health Commission should be the only tool for 
restricting movement of compliant breeding facilities. The de-
partment disagrees with the comments and responds that any 
connection to an index facility, in the absence of statistically valid 
test results indicating that CWD is not present, is a potential path-
way for disease transmission. The assertion that a disease-man-
agement approach limited only to deer received directly from 
an index facility has ever been employed in this state is false. 
The department also notes that rules regarding unnatural move-
ment of deer are predicated on connectivity to index facilities (the 
same data used by TAHC) and the ability of any given facility to 
provide statistical confidence that CWD is not present in the fa-
cility. No changes were made as a result of the comments. 

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
determine winners and losers in the Texas deer industry. The 
department disagrees with the comments and responds that the 
rules as adopted are not for the purpose of creating "winners and 
losers" but are based on epidemiological risk. The department 
acknowledges that some areas and facilities pose a great risk 
and are thus subject to additional requirements. No changes 
were made as a result of the comments. 

Economic Impacts 

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that rules con-
stituted a severe and unprecedented restriction on commerce. 
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that 
the rules as adopted are not for the purpose of regulating com-
mercial activity. As noted in the proposal preamble, the depart-
ment acknowledges that the rules may have an economic impact 
on persons required to comply. The department also disagrees 
that the rules are unprecedented, as they were originally pro-
mulgated in 2013 and are being amended by this rulemaking. 
No changes were made as a result of the comments. 

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
create "commercial restraints to ranches in the designated CWD 
zones based on geographical proximity to a CWD positive, not 
actually direct connection to the index facilities, which is sub-
jective." The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the rules as adopted are not for the purpose of reg-
ulating commercial activity. As noted in the proposal preamble, 
the department acknowledges that the rules may have an eco-
nomic impact on persons required to comply. The department 
also notes that as a matter of epidemiology, deer populations in 
proximal contact with other deer populations containing a dis-
eased animal are at an increased risk of being exposed to dis-
ease; therefore, all populations (both captive and free-ranging) 
that potentially could come into contact with a diseased deer or 
environmental contamination as a result of normal natural deer 
movement are at higher risk. On that basis the rules prohibit TC 
2 breeding facilities from moving deer beyond the SZ where the 
facility is located. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
will cause economic hardship. The department disagrees with 
the comment and responds that if the comment is referring to 
marketplace behavior associated with unnatural deer movement 
within a CZ or SZ, it is difficult, if not impossible, to accurately 
separate and distinguish marketplace behavior that is the result 
of the rules from marketplace behavior that is the result of the 
discovery of CWD. As noted previously, human dimensions 
research indicating that hunters will avoid areas of high CWD 
prevalence is cause for concern as well. Rather than create 
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an economic hardship, the rules as adopted, by enhancing 
detection and containment of CWD, are necessary to protect the 
state’s multi-billion dollar ranching, hunting, real estate, tourism, 
and wildlife management-related economies. No changes were 
made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules in-
crease the cost of doing business and then add yet another bur-
den to deer breeders in an attempt to put them out of business. 
The department disagrees that the rules are intended to be puni-
tive or otherwise harm deer breeders. The department also dis-
agrees that the rules impose any provision that increases the 
cost of doing business for deer breeders. The rules as adopted 
are intended solely to contain CWD where it is discovered and 
prevent the spread of CWD to areas in which it does not currently 
exists. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules will 
cause financial devastation for deer breeders. The department 
disagrees with the comment and responds that in the cases in 
which a breeding facility is located within a CZ (and therefore 
prohibited from moving deer into or outside of the CZ) or is a 
TC 2 breeding facility within a SZ (prohibited from moving deer 
outside the SZ) there could be a financial impact; however, all 
breeding facilities may upgrade to TC 1 status through increased 
CWD testing and TC 1 breeding facilities located within a CZ 
may release deer to a contiguous release site where hunts could 
be sold. Moreover, the geographical extent of the CZs and sur-
rounding SZs may be reduced in the future if warranted based 
on the department’s CWD surveillance efforts. TC 1 breeding fa-
cility located within a SZ may receive or transfer breeder to any 
breeding facility not located within a CZ and may release breeder 
deer on any approved release sites in this state not located within 
a CZ. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
will have an extreme negative impact on real estate values be-
cause the designation of CWD zones will create a stigma, which 
is both unwarranted and unnecessary. The commenters also 
stated that a ranch in Medina County would effectively be worth 
less this year than last year under the rules, simply due to the 
unprecedented and ad-hoc response by the department. While 
the department agrees that the demand for properties in areas 
where CWD has been discovered is likely to be less than the 
demand in the same area had CWD not been discovered, the 
presence of reasonable, efficacious, science-based rules that 
help to identify and exclude uninfected populations as well as 
prevent the spread of CWD is likely to provide some assurance 
to prospective buyers and sellers that a given property does not 
harbor CWD. The department also notes that as explained pre-
viously in this preamble, the rules are neither unwarranted nor 
unprecedented, although because they are intended for a spe-
cific purpose they are ad hoc by definition. No changes were 
made as a result of the comments. 

Perceived Emergency 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment is treating CWD as if it were an emergency when it is not 
because Texas has too many deer and CWD will never cause a 
decline in the population of wild deer. The department disagrees 
with the comments and responds that if the commenter intends 
to suggest that the rules are unnecessary, the department dis-
agrees and notes that CWD is a communicable, fatal disease 
that has the potential to profoundly alter the dynamics of deer 
hunting and deer management in Texas. Because there is no 
question that CWD exists in captive and free-ranging cervid pop-

ulations in Texas and has been spread by the movement of cap-
tive cervids in Texas, there continues to be an immediate dan-
ger to Texas deer populations that warrants regulatory action by 
the department. The department further responds that in some 
states where CWD has been allowed to proliferate and spread, 
significant population declines have occurred. The department 
also notes that the rules are not being adopted pursuant to emer-
gency rulemaking authority. No changes were made as a result 
of the comment. 

Constitutional and Landowner Rights 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are 
a violation of the constitutional rights of landowners and busi-
nessmen. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the rules as adopted do not impact any constitution-
ally protected right of landowners or businessmen, but regulate 
the possession and movement of species that the department is 
required to protect and regulate. The rules, as adopted are the 
minimum necessary to allow the department to determine the 
extent and combat the spread of CWD. No changes were made 
as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules in-
fringe on private property rights. The department disagrees with 
the comment and responds that the rules as adopted do not af-
fect the private property rights of any individual landowner. No 
changes were made as a result of the comment. 

Science 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are 
nonsensical and out of proportion to the threat that CWD actu-
ally poses. The department disagrees with the comment and 
responds that in most states where CWD has been detected in 
free-ranging deer, if not contained, its prevalence has increased 
over time, and in some cases is exerting measurable negative 
impacts on deer populations and hunting behaviors. The long-
term results of CWD are pernicious, because prions (the infec-
tious agent) remain viable in the environment long after a host 
organism has died, which potentially exposes new animals to 
the infectious agent even after the infected animal has expired. 
In addition, human dimensions research indicating that hunters 
will avoid areas of high CWD prevalence is cause for concern as 
well. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD has not 
killed a single deer in Texas. The department disagrees with 
the commenter and responds that although the deer in Texas 
that tested positive for CWD died from a cause other than CWD, 
the science evidence clearly establishes that CWD is a fatal dis-
ease and does result in mortalities. In addition, it should also 
be noted that CWD is an additional mortality factor in deer pop-
ulations; data indicate that mortality rates can surpass fawn re-
cruitment in local populations with high CWD prevalence. Stud-
ies have found that CWD-positive deer were much more likely 
to die as compared to their uninfected counterparts. (See, e.g., 
Edmunds 2013). While CWD-positive deer in the studies that 
did survive to the clinical stages of the disease did eventually 
succumb to CWD, preclinical CWD-positive animals were also 
shown to be more vulnerable to other mortality factors such as 
predation, hunter harvest, and vehicle collisions. This additive 
mortality can result in declining population trends. No changes 
were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment has no science to back up its belief. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that the delineation of 
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the zones imposed by the rules and the movement restrictions 
for live and dead deer are based on the biology of white-tailed 
and mule deer, the nature and characteristics of CWD, and the 
undisputable fact that unnatural deer movement is a very effec-
tive method for spreading infectious disease. No changes were 
made as a result of the comment. 

Governmental Overreach/Authority 

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
were an overreach. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that the rules as adopted are a scientifically 
valid, epidemiologically efficacious response to the discovery of 
CWD in both free-ranging and captive cervid populations in the 
immediate locations where the discoveries occurred. In addi-
tion, the rules’ requirements are based on the risk of exposure 
to and spread of CWD and the need for surveillance as part 
of the department’s effort to ensure that the rules were not, in 
fact, broader than necessary. No changes were made as a re-
sult of the comment. One commenter opposed adoption and 
stated that anyone at the department is not qualified to "make 
law on CWD." The department disagrees with the comment and 
responds that the department possesses the statutory author-
ity to regulate the possession of native cervids and has relied 
upon the expertise of numerous specialists and experts to de-
velop an effective regulatory response to the emergence of CWD 
in Texas. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the de-
partment has overstepped its boundaries. The department 
disagrees with the comment and responds that under the Parks 
and Wildlife Code, the department has the statutory authority to 
regulate the possession and take of native cervids. No changes 
were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment does not own the deer. The department agrees with the 
comment and responds that under Parks and Wildlife Code, 
Chapter 1, all white-tailed and mule deer in the state of Texas 
are the property of the people of the state of Texas. No changes 
were made as a result of the comments. 

Carcass Movement Restrictions 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
should allow for the movement of venison from Surveillance 
Zones to major cities for processing, the movement of skulls 
to taxidermists, and prohibit the take of predators in order to 
allow diseased deer to be eliminated by nature. The department 
agrees with a portion of the comment and responds that the 
rules in fact do allow for the movement of venison from Surveil-
lance Zones to major cities for processing and the movement 
of skulls to taxidermists. The department disagrees that it is 
necessary to prohibit the take of predators within a CZ or SZ, 
simply because the suppressive effects of predation on CWD 
transmission are believed to be negligible, particularly where 
host populations exist at low densities, such as in far west Texas 
and the Panhandle. No changes were made as a result of the 
comment. 

Testing of Hunter-Harvested Deer 

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that mandatory 
testing in SZs and CZs, creates logistical problems in remote ar-
eas and that the department should establish additional check 
stations. The department agrees with the comments and re-
sponds that although the establishment of specific check stations 
is not set forth in the rules, the department intends to establish 

a sufficient number of check stations so as not to inconvenience 
hunters and landowners, especially during peak hunting times in 
those areas. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are 
onerous to hunters and should allow the storage of harvested 
deer until a convenient time for testing. The department dis-
agrees that the rules are onerous and responds that because of 
the threat that CWD poses it is imperative to obtain a sufficient 
number of valid samples as quickly as possible for testing. The 
department believes that it is reasonable to require harvested 
deer to be presented at a check station within 24 hours of take 
in most cases. However, the department will allow some deer 
to be brought to check stations exceeding the 24-hour require-
ment with authorization by department personnel. As noted in 
response to other comments, the department is committed to 
working with landowners to enhance convenience to the extent 
possible, including the establishment of additional check stations 
during peak hunting times. No changes were made as a result 
of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that landowners 
should be able to call the department so that department repre-
sentatives could take samples at the location where deer have 
been taken. The department agrees with the comment and re-
sponds that although fiscal and workforce constraints make it 
impossible for the department to collect samples on an on-call 
basis for all hunter-harvested deer, the department will attempt to 
accommodate such requests when possible. No changes were 
made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment should train landowners and land managers to take sam-
ples. The department agrees with the comment and responds 
that the department and TAHC are training non-governmental 
representatives to become certified sample collectors. No 
changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that testing for the 
first year should be voluntary in SZs and CZs, allowing landown-
ers to understand the process. The department disagrees with 
the comment and responds that the rules allow the department, 
when circumstances warrant, to designate mandatory check sta-
tions in CZs and SZs. In those instances where mandatory check 
stations are designated, it is because the department has deter-
mined that CWD is or might be present; thus, it becomes imper-
ative to collect as many samples as possible as quickly as pos-
sible to determine the absence, presence, and prevalence of the 
disease in order to inform further disease management actions. 
However, the department is committed to assisting landowners 
in understanding the process via various informational tools, in-
cluding public meetings, literature, and information on the de-
partment’s website. No changes were made as a result of the 
comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that testing should 
be mandatory but landowners should receive a written state-
ment from all government agencies involved stating that no ac-
tion would be taken against any low fenced area where a posi-
tive CWD test occurred in the 2016/2017 hunting season. The 
department disagrees with the comment and responds that fu-
ture actions that may or may not be taken by the department 
in response to the discovery of CWD would be addressed on a 
case-by-case basis according to the circumstances and the dic-
tates of epidemiological science. However, the department will 
continue to make information available to landowners and the 
public via the department’s web site (www.tpwd.texas.gov), in-
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cluding Frequently Asked Questions to address this and other 
concerns posed by hunters and landowners. No changes were 
made as a result of the comment. 

Miscellaneous 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD isn’t a 
problem but the rules will cause a decline in license sales and 
hunting opportunity. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that because the rules affect an exceedingly 
small portion of the state, much of which is located in remote 
areas, there is no reason to expect that measurable impacts to 
either license sales or hunting opportunity will occur. The depart-
ment further notes that the rules are designed to contain CWD 
where it is discovered, which is intended to protect the wildlife 
populations that license revenue and hunting opportunity are 
dependent upon. Significant revenue loss and economic harm 
could result if CWD is not contained and managed. No changes 
were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the zones are 
artificially mandated. If the commenter means that the rules are 
not valid or were not validly promulgated, the department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that the rules were pro-
mulgated in compliance with all applicable statutes. If the com-
menter means that the rules are arbitrary, the department again 
disagrees and responds that the rules as adopted are a scientifi-
cally valid, epidemiologically efficacious response to the discov-
ery of CWD in both free-ranging and captive cervid populations 
in the immediate locations where the discoveries occurred. If 
the commenter is referring to the geographic extent of the zones, 
the department notes that the zones, which for purposes of com-
pliance and enforcement must have boundaries that are easily 
identified and understood, were narrowly drawn based on the lo-
cation where CWD-positive deer were reported, the biology and 
normal range of white-tailed and mule deer, and the nature and 
characteristics of CWD. It should also be noted, that the rules as 
adopted actually shrinks the geographical extent of the CZ in far 
west Texas. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are 
complicated and hard to understand. The department disagrees 
with the comment and responds that the rules establish geo-
graphical zones and clearly delineate what activities may and 
may not take place within those zones, as well as clearly spec-
ifying the circumstance under which susceptible species may 
be transported. To the greatest extent possible, the rules, as 
adopted, avoid complexity. No changes were made as a result 
of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the penal-
ties for violation should be increased. The department disagrees 
with the comment and responds that the penalties for violations 
of the rules are established by statute and cannot be increased 
by the commission. No changes were made as a result of the 
comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that all deer 
should be tested for CWD. While the department agrees that 
additional testing is beneficial, the department disagrees with 
the comment and responds that the testing of all deer is impos-
sible; however, the rules do allow the department to require all 
deer harvested in a CZ or SZ to be presented at a check station 
for testing. No changes were made as a result of the comment. 

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there has to 
be a better way to communicate the rules. The department nei-
ther agrees nor disagrees with the comment and responds that 

the department has made, is making, and will continue to make 
every effort to make the public aware of department efforts to 
detect and contain CWD. No changes were made as a result of 
the comment. 

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules 
do not articulate what will happen if a positive result for CWD 
occurs within a CZ or SZ. The department agrees with the com-
ment and responds that the rules are a mechanism for respond-
ing to the detection of CWD; they provide for the creation of ge-
ographical zones and provide for various actions that may be 
taken within those zones, but do not address future actions that 
may or may not be taken by the department in response to the 
discovery of CWD, which the department by design intends to 
address on a case-by-case basis according to the circumstances 
and the dictates of epidemiological science. However, the de-
partment will continue to make information available to landown-
ers and the public via literature and the department’s web site 
(www.tpwd.texas.gov), including Frequently Asked Questions to 
address this and other concerns posed by hunters and landown-
ers. No changes were made as a result of the comments. 

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that any re-
strictions or testing requirements of deer inside an 8-foot fence 
should be the same as the deer outside any fence. The depart-
ment disagrees that the comment is germane to the rules being 
adopted, as the only testing requirements imposed by the rules 
are on deer that are harvested by hunters in a CZ or SZ in which 
mandatory check stations have been established. No changes 
were made as a result of the comments. 

31 TAC §§65.80 - 65.82, 65.84, 65.85, 65.88, 65.89 
The amendments and new rules are adopted under the author-
ity of Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter C, which 
requires the commission to adopt rules to govern the collecting, 
holding, possession, propagation, release, display, or transport 
of protected wildlife for scientific research, educational display, 
zoological collection, or rehabilitation; Subchapter E, which re-
quires the commission to adopt rules for the trapping, transport-
ing, and transplanting of game animals and game birds, urban 
white-tailed deer removal, and trapping and transporting surplus 
white-tailed deer; Subchapter L, which authorizes the commis-
sion to make regulations governing the possession of breeder 
deer held under the authority of the subchapter; Subchapter R, 
which authorizes the commission to establish the conditions of a 
deer management permit, including the number, type, and length 
of time that white-tailed deer may be temporarily detained in an 
enclosure; Subchapter R-1, which authorizes the commission to 
establish the conditions of a deer management permit, including 
the number, type, and length of time that mule deer may be tem-
porarily detained in an enclosure (although as noted previously, 
the department has not yet established the DMP program for 
mule deer authorized by Subchapter R-1); and §61.021, which 
provides that no person may possess a game animal at any time 
or in any place except as permitted under a proclamation of the 
commission. 

§65.82. Surveillance Zones; Restrictions. 
The areas described in paragraph (1) of this section are SZs. 

(1) Surveillance Zones. 

(A) Surveillance Zone 1: That portion of the state lying 
within a line beginning where U.S. 285 enters from the State of New 
Mexico in Reeves County; thence southeast along U.S. 285 to R.M. 
652; thence west along R.M. 652 to Rustler Springs Rd./FM 3541 in 
Culberson County; thence south along Rustler Springs Rd./F.M. 3541 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

to F.M. 2185; thence south along F.M. 2185 to Nevel Road; thence west 
along Nevel Road to County Road 501; thence south along County 
Road 501 to Weatherby Road; thence south along Weatherby Road to 
F.M. 2185; thence southwest along to F.M. 2185 to S.H. 54; thence 
south on S.H. 54 to U.S. 90; thence south along U.S. 90 to the Cul-
berson County line; thence southwest along the Culberson County line 
to the Rio Grande River in Hudspeth County; thence north along the 
Rio Grande to F.M. 1088; thence northeast along F.M. 1088 to S.H. 20; 
thence southeast along S.H. 20 to I.H. 10; thence southeast along I.H. 
10 to F.M 1111; thence north on F.M. 1111 to U.S. 62/180; thence east 
and north along U.S. 62/180 to the New Mexico state line in Culberson 
County. 

(B) Surveillance Zone 2. That portion of the state ly-
ing within a line beginning at the New Mexico state line where U.S. 
60 enters Texas; thence northeast along U.S. 60 to U.S. 87 in Randall 
County; thence north along U.S. 87 to I.H. 27; thence north along U.S. 
87/I.H. 27 to U.S. 287 in Moore County; thence north along US 287 to 
the Oklahoma state line. 

(C) Surveillance Zone 3. That portion of the state lying 
within a line beginning at U. S. 90 in Hondo in Medina County; thence 
west along U.S. Highway 90 to F.M. 187 in Uvalde County; thence 
north along F.M. 187 to F. M. 470 in Bandera County; thence east along 
F.M. 470 to Tarpley in Bandera County; thence south along F.M. 462 
to U.S. 90 in Hondo. 

(D) Existing SZs may be modified and additional SZs 
may be designated as necessary by the executive director as provided 
in §65.84 of this title (relating to Powers and Duties of the Executive 
Director). 

(2) Restrictions. 

(A) Except as provided in §65.87 of this title (relating 
to Exception) and subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, no person within 
a SZ may conduct, authorize or cause any activity involving the move-
ment of a susceptible species, into, out of, or within a SZ under a permit 
issued pursuant to Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter C, 
E, L, R, or R-1. Such prohibited activity, includes, but is not limited 
to transportation, introduction, removal, authorizing the transportation, 
introduction or removal, or causing the transportation, introduction or 
removal of a live susceptible species into, out of, or within a SZ. 

(B) Breeder Deer. 

(i) Except as provided in Division 2 of this subchap-
ter, a breeding facility that is within a SZ and designated as a: 

(I)	 TC 1 breeding facility may: 
(-a-) transfer to or receive breeder deer from 

any other deer breeding facility in this state; and 
(-b-) transfer breeder deer in this state for pur-

poses of liberation, including to release sites within the SZ. 

(II)	 TC 2 breeding facility: 
(-a-) may receive deer from any facility in the 

state that is authorized to transfer deer; 
(-b-) may transfer deer to a breeding facility 

or release site that is within the same SZ; and 
(-c-) is prohibited from transferring deer to 

any facility outside of the SZ. 

(ii) Deer that escape from a breeding facility within 
a SZ may not be recaptured unless specifically authorized under a hold 
order or herd plan issued by the Texas Animal Health Commission. 

(C) Permits to Transplant Game Animals and Game 
Birds (Triple T permit). The department may authorize the release of 

susceptible species in a SZ under the provisions of a Triple T permit 
issued by the department under the authority of Parks and Wildlife 
Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter E and the provisions of Subchapter C 
of this chapter, but the department will not authorize the trapping of 
deer within a SZ for purposes of a Triple T permit. 

(D) Deer Management Permit (DMP). The department 
may issue a DMP for a facility in a SZ; however, any breeder deer in-
troduced to a DMP facility must be released and may not be transferred 
to any deer breeding facility. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604723 
Ann Bright 
General Counsel 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775 

31 TAC §65.83, §65.88 
The repeals are adopted under the authority of Parks and Wildlife 
Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter C, which requires the commis-
sion to adopt rules to govern the collecting, holding, possession, 
propagation, release, display, or transport of protected wildlife 
for scientific research, educational display, zoological collection, 
or rehabilitation; Subchapter E, which requires the commission 
to adopt rules for the trapping, transporting, and transplanting 
of game animals and game birds, urban white-tailed deer re-
moval, and trapping and transporting surplus white-tailed deer; 
Subchapter L, which authorizes the commission to make reg-
ulations governing the possession of breeder deer held under 
the authority of the subchapter; Subchapter R, which authorizes 
the commission to establish the conditions of a deer manage-
ment permit, including the number, type, and length of time that 
white-tailed deer may be temporarily detained in an enclosure; 
Subchapter R-1, which authorizes the commission to establish 
the conditions of a deer management permit, including the num-
ber, type, and length of time that mule deer may be temporar-
ily detained in an enclosure (although as noted previously, the 
department has not yet established the DMP program for mule 
deer authorized by Subchapter R-1); and §61.021, which pro-
vides that no person may possess a game animal at any time 
or in any place except as permitted under a proclamation of the 
commission. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 9, 

2016. 
TRD-201604722 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Ann Bright 
General Counsel 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
Effective date: September 29, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775 

TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS 

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

CHAPTER 4. COMMERCIAL VEHICLE 
REGULATIONS AND ENFORCEMENT 
PROCEDURES 
SUBCHAPTER B. REGULATIONS 
GOVERNING TRANSPORTATION SAFETY 
37 TAC §4.12 
The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts 
amendments to §4.12, concerning Exemptions and Exceptions. 
This section is adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the August 5, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 5709) and will not be republished. 

These amendments are necessary to ensure this section is con-
sistent with interstate hours of service rules promulgated under 
federal statute in 49 CFR Part 395. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these 
amendments. 

The amendment is adopted pursuant to Texas Transportation 
Code, §644.051, which authorizes the director to adopt rules 
regulating the safe transportation of hazardous materials and the 
safe operation of commercial motor vehicles; and authorizes the 
director to adopt all or part of the federal safety regulations, by 
reference. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604688 
D. Phillip Adkins 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Public Safety 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 5, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848 

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF AGING 
AND DISABILITY SERVICES 

CHAPTER 9. INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY 
SERVICES--MEDICAID STATE OPERATING 
AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES 
SUBCHAPTER E. INTERMEDIATE 
CARE FACILITIES FOR INDIVIDUALS 
WITH AN INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY 
OR RELATED CONDITIONS (ICF/IID) 
PROGRAM--CONTRACTING 
DIVISION 4. PROVIDER SERVICE 
REQUIREMENTS 
40 TAC §9.230 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability Ser-
vices (DADS), new §9.230, in Subchapter E, Intermediate Care 
Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related 
Conditions (ICF/IID) Program--Contracting, Chapter 9, Intellec-
tual Disability Services--Medicaid State Operating Agency Re-
sponsibilities. The section is adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the July 8, 2016, issue of the Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 4998), and will not be republished. 

The new section is adopted to implement recommendations in 
the Sunset Advisory Commission's July 2015 report regarding 
"day habilitation facilities" in the ICF/IID Program. Specifically, 
the Sunset Advisory Commission recommended that an ICF/IID 
program provider, to help ensure the safety of individuals en-
rolled in the ICF/IID Program, include in a contract with a day 
habilitation facility requirements to conduct background checks 
on employees and volunteers, to have an emergency response 
plan, to conduct fire drills, to post abuse hotline information, and 
to follow an individual's service plan. The adopted rule states 
that it does not apply to an ICF/IID program provider that oper-
ates a campus-based facility, which means it does not apply to 
a state supported living center or the ICF/IID component of the 
Rio Grande State Center. In addition, the adopted rule defines 
and uses the term "day habilitation center" instead of "day habil-
itation facility" because that is the term currently used by ICF/IID 
program providers for these settings. 

The adopted rule also requires an ICF/IID program provider that 
directly operates a day habilitation center to conduct fire drills, 
post abuse hotline information, and have an emergency pre-
paredness and response plan. An ICF/IID program provider is 
required by other rules to conduct background checks on its own 
employees and to provide active treatment in accordance with an 
individual's individual program plan, so those requirements are 
not included in the adopted rule. 

DADS received written comments from The Arc of Texas and 
Disability Rights Texas. A summary of the comments and the 
responses follows. 

Comment: A commenter is concerned that the posted notice re-
quired in §9.230(c)(2) may not be accessible to all individuals, 
including an individual who is blind or needs visual supports to 
read, an individual whose first language is not English, and an in-
dividual who can read the posted notice but may not understand 
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♦ ♦ ♦ the meaning of abuse, neglect, and exploitation and how to re-
port it. The commenter suggested that these rules encourage 
day habilitation providers to ensure that individuals they serve 
know when the notices are posted; understand what the post-
ings say; and are educated about abuse, neglect, and exploita-
tion, and how to file a complaint. 

Response: Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 42, 
§483.420(a)(1) requires an ICF/IID program provider to inform 
each individual or legally authorized representative of the 
individual's rights, including the right to be free from abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation. Code of Federal Regulations, Title 
42, §483.420(a)(3) requires an ICF/IID to allow and encourage 
individuals to exercise their rights, including the right to file 
complaints. Therefore, an individual should be informed of the 
information by the individual's program provider. No changes 
were made in response to the comment. 

Comment: A commenter requested that day habilitation 
providers and their employees be required to receive training on 
the reporting of abuse, neglect, and exploitation, and that such 
training be documented. 

Response: Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, 
§483.410(d)(2)(ii) requires an ICF/IID program provider to 
assure that services provided under agreement with an outside 
source meet the federal ICF/IID standards. If DADS determines 
that staff at a day habilitation center do not know how to 
report abuse, neglect, and exploitation, DADS would cite 
the program provider under 42 CFR §483.410(d)(3) for not 
ensuring outside services meet the needs of each individual, 
including the individual's need to be free from abuse, neglect, 
and exploitation. No changes were made in response to the 
comment. 

The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, includ-
ing DADS; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.021, which 
provides that the Aging and Disability Services Council shall 
study and make recommendations to the HHSC executive 
commissioner and the DADS commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which 
provides HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds 
and plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that 
operates a portion of the Medicaid program; and Texas Human 
Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC shall 
adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient operation of 
the Medicaid program. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604697 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (361) 334-6105 

CHAPTER 15. LICENSING STANDARDS FOR 
PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED CARE 
CENTERS 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability Ser-
vices (DADS), amendments to §§15.1, 15.5, 15.501, 15.1101, 
and 15.1302; and new §15.123, in Chapter 15, Licensing Stan-
dards for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 8, 2016, 
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5001). 

The amendments and new section are adopted to implement 
House Bill (H.B.) 2340, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, 
which amended Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC), Chap-
ter 248A, governing prescribed pediatric extended care centers 
(PPECCs). The adoption allows an applicant for a license to 
operate a PPECC to obtain a temporary license. DADS grants 
a temporary license if an applicant meets the requirements of 
a Life Safety Code inspection and DADS approves the appli-
cant’s written policies and procedures. With a temporary license, 
a PPECC may admit up to six minors before requesting an ini-
tial on-site health inspection. A temporary license expires 90 
days after the date the license is granted unless DADS grants 
a one-time 90-day extension. The adoption also implements 
amendments made by H.B. 2340 to THSC §248A.051, clarifying 
that an applicant for a PPECC license may not provide services 
until DADS issues a license, and THSC §248A.151, providing 
that a parent is not required to accompany a minor during the 
provision of services or during transportation of a minor to and 
from the PPECC. The adoption also adds a definition of "license" 
and corrects a statutory reference related to the investigation of 
abuse, neglect, and exploitation in a PPECC. 

DADS received no comments regarding adoption of the amend-
ments and new section. 

SUBCHAPTER A. PURPOSE, SCOPE, 
LIMITATIONS, COMPLIANCE, AND 
DEFINITIONS 
40 TAC §15.1, §15.5 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; and Texas Health and Safety Code, §248A.101, which 
provides that the HHSC executive commissioner shall adopt 
rules that are necessary to implement the chapter and to estab-
lish minimum standards for prescribed pediatric extended care 
centers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604689 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4077 

SUBCHAPTER B. LICENSING APPLICATION, 
MAINTENANCE, AND FEES 
40 TAC §15.123 
The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; and Texas Health and Safety Code, §248A.101, which 
provides that the HHSC executive commissioner shall adopt 
rules that are necessary to implement the chapter and to estab-
lish minimum standards for prescribed pediatric extended care 
centers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604690 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4077 

SUBCHAPTER C. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
DIVISION 4. GENERAL SERVICES 
40 TAC §15.501 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; and Texas Health and Safety Code, §248A.101, which 
provides that the HHSC executive commissioner shall adopt 
rules that are necessary to implement the chapter and to estab-
lish minimum standards for prescribed pediatric extended care 
centers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 

TRD-201604691 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4077 

SUBCHAPTER D. TRANSPORTATION 
40 TAC §15.1101 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; and Texas Health and Safety Code, §248A.101, which 
provides that the HHSC executive commissioner shall adopt 
rules that are necessary to implement the chapter and to estab-
lish minimum standards for prescribed pediatric extended care 
centers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604692 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4077 

SUBCHAPTER F. INSPECTIONS AND VISITS 
40 TAC §15.1302 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; and Texas Health and Safety Code, §248A.101, which 
provides that the HHSC executive commissioner shall adopt 
rules that are necessary to implement the chapter and to estab-
lish minimum standards for prescribed pediatric extended care 
centers. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604693 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4077 

CHAPTER 18. NURSING FACILITY 
ADMINISTRATORS 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability 
Services (DADS), amendments to §18.2 and §18.35, and new 
§18.42, in Chapter 18, Nursing Facility Administrators, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 8, 2016, 
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5009). 

The amendments and new section are adopted to implement 
Senate Bill (S.B.) 807 and S.B. 1307, 84th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2015, which amended Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ter 55, Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans, 
and Military Spouses. The adoption addresses several areas 
that relate to licensure of military service members, military vet-
erans, and military spouses. First, the adoption describes the 
process that a license applicant who is a military service member 
or a military veteran must follow to request a waiver of the appli-
cation and initial license fees. Second, the adoption describes 
the process that a license applicant or a nursing facility admin-
istrator who is a military service member, a military veteran, or 
a military spouse, and who holds a license in good standing in 
another jurisdiction must follow to request a waiver of the ap-
plication and initial license fees. Third, the adoption describes 
the process that a nursing facility administrator who is a military 
service member must follow to request two additional years to 
complete license renewal requirements. Fourth, the adoption 
describes the process that a license applicant must follow to re-
quest credit based on military service, training, or education to-
ward the internship requirements for an administrator-in-training. 
Finally, the adoption describes the process a former administra-
tor who is a military service member, a military veteran, or a mili-
tary spouse must follow to request renewal of an expired license. 
The adoption adds definitions related to the military provisions 
and replaces several defined terms with acronyms. The adop-
tion also deletes a provision related to a military member hav-
ing additional time to meet continuing education requirements 
for license renewal because the information is included in new 
§18.42. 

DADS received no comments regarding adoption of the amend-
ments and new section. 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL INFORMATION 
40 TAC §18.2 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which provides 
HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds and plan 
and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that operates 
a portion of the Medicaid program; Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 242, which authorizes the executive commis-
sioner to adopt rules regarding the licensing of nursing facility 

administrators; Texas Human Resources Code, §32.021, which 
provides that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the proper 
and efficient operation of the Medicaid program; and Texas 
Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which requires a state agency 
to adopt rules related to licensure of military service members, 
military veterans, and military spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604694 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4836 

SUBCHAPTER C. LICENSES 
40 TAC §18.35, §18.42 
The amendment and new section are adopted under Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §531.0055, which provides that the HHSC exec-
utive commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and pro-
vision of services by the health and human services agencies, 
including DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which pro-
vides HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds and 
plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that oper-
ates a portion of the Medicaid program; Texas Health and Safety 
Code, Chapter 242, which authorizes the executive commis-
sioner to adopt rules regarding the licensing of nursing facility 
administrators; Texas Human Resources Code, §32.021, which 
provides that HHSC shall adopt necessary rules for the proper 
and efficient operation of the Medicaid program; and Texas Oc-
cupations Code, Chapter 55, which requires a state agency to 
adopt rules related to licensure of military service members, mil-
itary veterans, and military spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604695 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4836 

CHAPTER 49. CONTRACTING FOR 
COMMUNITY SERVICES 
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The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability Ser-
vices (DADS), an amendment to §49.102, in Subchapter A, Ap-
plication and Definitions; and §49.205, in Subchapter B, Con-
tractor Enrollment; and new §49.313, in Subchapter C, Require-
ments of a Contractor, in Chapter 49, Contracting for Community 
Services. The amendment to §49.205 is adopted with changes 
to the proposed text published in the July 8, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 5015). The amendment to §49.102 
and new §49.313 are adopted without changes to the proposed 
text. 

The adoption implements recommendations in the Sunset Advi-
sory Commission's July 2015 report regarding "day habilitation 
facilities" in the Home and Community-based Services (HCS) 
Program, Texas Home Living (TxHmL) Program, Deaf-Blind with 
Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) Program, and Community Living 
Assistance and Support Services (CLASS) Program. Specifi-
cally, the Sunset Advisory Commission recommended that an 
HCS, TxHmL, DBMD, or CLASS provider, to help ensure the 
safety of individuals enrolled in those programs, include in a con-
tract with a day habilitation facility requirements to conduct back-
ground checks on employees and volunteers, have an emer-
gency response plan, conduct fire drills, post abuse hotline in-
formation, and follow an individual's service plan. The adoption 
does not use the term "day habilitation facility," but instead refers 
to a contractor or subcontractor that provides day habilitation in 
the HCS Program, the TxHmL Program, or the DBMD Program, 
or that provides prevocational services in the CLASS Program. 

The adoption also requires a contractor of HCS, TxHmL, DBMD, 
or CLASS Program services that directly provides day habilita-
tion or prevocational services to have an emergency response 
plan, conduct fire drills, and post abuse hotline information. 
These requirements ensure consistency with the requirements 
of subcontractors. 

The adoption also implements Senate Bill (S.B.) 1999, 84th 
Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, which amended 
the Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 103, to change 
"adult day care" to "day activity and health services." Also, in 
accordance with DADS current policy and S.B. 202, 84th Texas 
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, which repealed Texas 
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 781 regarding personal emer-
gency response systems, the adoption deletes the requirement 
for a contractor that provides Title XX emergency response 
services to have a license as a personal emergency response 
system provider issued by the Department of State Health 
Services or a license as an alarm systems company issued by 
the Texas Private Security Board. 

Changes were made in §49.205(a)(15) to use "DAHS," the 
acronym for "day activity and health services," and to correct 
the title of Chapter 98. 

DADS received written comments from The Arc of Texas and 
Disability Rights Texas. A summary of the comments and the 
responses follows. 

Comment: A commenter is concerned that the posted notice re-
quired in §49.313(a)(1)(B) and (b)(3), may not be accessible to 
all individuals, including an individual who is blind or needs vi-
sual supports to read, an individual whose first language is not 
English, and an individual who can read the posted notice but 
may not understand the meaning of abuse, neglect, and exploita-
tion and how to report it. The commenter suggested that these 
rules encourage day habilitation and prevocational providers to 

ensure that individuals they serve know when the notices are 
posted; understand what the postings say; and are educated 
about abuse, neglect, and exploitation, and how to file a com-
plaint. 

Response: Section 49.310(4) requires a contractor that has a 
contract for the HCS Program, the TxHmL Program, the CLASS 
Program, or the DBMD Program to ensure that an individual and 
legally authorized representative are informed, orally and in writ-
ing, of how to report an allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion before or at the time the individual begins receiving program 
services from the contractor and at least once every 12 months 
thereafter. Section 49.308 requires a contractor to ensure that 
subcontractors comply with the requirements in Chapter 49. No 
changes were made in response to the comment. 

Comment: A commenter requested that day habilitation 
providers and their employees be required to receive training on 
the reporting of abuse, neglect, and exploitation, and that such 
training be documented. 

Response: Section 49.310(3) requires a contractor to ensure its 
employees, subcontractors, and volunteers are knowledgeable 
of requirements regarding abuse, neglect, or exploitation. Sec-
tion 49.305(f)(5) requires a contractor to develop and maintain 
records regarding training of an employee, subcontractor or vol-
unteer required by the rules and §49.308 requires a contractor 
to ensure that subcontractors comply with the requirements in 
Chapter 49. No changes were made in response to the com-
ment. 

SUBCHAPTER A. APPLICATION AND 
DEFINITIONS 
40 TAC §49.102 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, includ-
ing DADS; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.021, which 
provides that the Aging and Disability Services Council shall 
study and make recommendations to the HHSC executive 
commissioner and the DADS commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which 
provides HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds 
and plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that 
operates a portion of the Medicaid program; and Texas Human 
Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC shall 
adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient operation of 
the Medicaid program. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604698 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (361) 334-6105 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER B. CONTRACTOR 
ENROLLMENT 
40 TAC §49.205 
The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, includ-
ing DADS; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.021, which 
provides that the Aging and Disability Services Council shall 
study and make recommendations to the HHSC executive 
commissioner and the DADS commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which 
provides HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds 
and plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that 
operates a portion of the Medicaid program; and Texas Human 
Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC shall 
adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient operation of 
the Medicaid program. 

§49.205. License, Certification, Accreditation, and Other Require-
ments. 

(a) To be a contractor, an applicant must have a license, certi-
fication, accreditation, or other document as follows: 

(1) CLASS-CFS and CLASS-SFS require: 

(A) a permit to operate a child-placing agency issued by 
DFPS in accordance with Chapter 745 of this title (relating to Licens-
ing); or 

(B) a HCSSA license issued by DADS in accordance 
with Chapter 97 of this title (relating to Licensing Standards for Home 
and Community Support Services Agencies) with: 

(i) the licensed home health services (LHHS) cate-
gory; or 

(ii) the licensed and certified home health services 
(L&CHHS) category; 

(2) CLASS-DSA requires a HCSSA license issued by 
DADS in accordance with Chapter 97 of this title with: 

(A) the LHHS category; or 

(B) the L&CHHS category; 

(3) DBMD requires: 

(A) a HCSSA license issued by DADS in accordance 
with Chapter 97 of this title with: 

(i) the LHHS category; or 

(ii) the L&CHHS category; and 

(B) for a contractor that provides residential services to 
four to six individuals, an assisted living facility license Type A or Type 
B issued by DADS in accordance with Chapter 92 of this title (relating 
to Licensing Standards for Assisted Living Facilities); 

(4) MDCP-AA requires, for a contractor that provides ve-
hicle modification services, a copy of a current contractual agreement 
with the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 
to provide vehicle modification services; 

(5) MDCP-HCSSA requires a HCSSA license issued by 
DADS in accordance with Chapter 97 of this title with: 

(A) the personal assistance services (PAS) category; 

(B) the LHHS category; or 

(C) the L&CHHS category; 

(6) MDCP-OHR-camp requires written accreditation by 
the American Camping Association for providing summer camp 
services; 

(7) MDCP-OHR-special care facility requires a special 
care facility license issued by the Department of State Health Services 
(DSHS) in accordance with 25 TAC Chapter 125 (relating to Special 
Care Facilities); 

(8) MDCP-OHR-child care facility requires a child-care 
center license issued by DFPS in accordance with Chapter 745 of this 
title; 

(9) MDCP-OHR-NF requires a nursing facility license is-
sued by DADS in accordance with Chapter 19 of this title (relating to 
Nursing Facility Requirements for Licensure and Medicaid Certifica-
tion); 

(10) MDCP-OHR-hospital requires a hospital license is-
sued by DSHS in accordance with 25 TAC Chapter 133 (relating to 
Hospital Licensing); 

(11) MDCP-OHR-host family requires a foster family 
home license issued by DFPS in accordance with Chapter 745 of this 
title or verification as a child-placing agency foster family home issued 
by a child placing agency in accordance with Chapter 749 of this title 
(relating to Minimum Standards for Child-Placing Agencies); 

(12) TAS requires: 

(A) written documentation from DARS or the Rehabil-
itation Services Administration that the applicant is a center for inde-
pendent living, as defined by 29 United States Code §796a; 

(B) a contract other than the TAS contract; or 

(C) written designation by DADS as an area agency on 
aging; 

(13) Medicaid hospice requires: 

(A) a HCSSA license for hospice issued by DADS in 
accordance with Chapter 97 of this title; and 

(B) a written notification from the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services that the applicant is certified to participate as a 
hospice agency in the Medicare Program; 

(14) PHC/CAS, and FC require a HCSSA license issued by 
DADS in accordance with Chapter 97 of this title with: 

(A) the LHHS category; 

(B) the L&CHHS category; or 

(C) the PAS category; 

(15) DAHS requires a DAHS facility license issued by 
DADS in accordance with Chapter 98 of this title (relating to Day 
Activity and Health Services); 

(16) Title XX AFC requires for an AFC facility serving 
four to eight individuals, an assisted living facility license Type A or 
Type B issued by DADS in accordance with Chapter 92 of this title; 
and 

(17) Title XX RC requires an assisted living facility license 
Type A or Type B issued by DADS in accordance with Chapter 92 of 
this title. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ 

(b) The license, certification, accreditation, or other document 
required by subsection (a) of this section must be valid in the service 
or catchment area: 

(1) in which the applicant is seeking to provide services; or 

(2) covered under the contractor's contract. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604699 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (361) 334-6105 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. REQUIREMENTS OF A 
CONTRACTOR 
40 TAC §49.313 
The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code, 
§531.0055, which provides that the HHSC executive com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, includ-
ing DADS; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.021, which 
provides that the Aging and Disability Services Council shall 
study and make recommendations to the HHSC executive 
commissioner and the DADS commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, which 
provides HHSC with the authority to administer federal funds 
and plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency that 
operates a portion of the Medicaid program; and Texas Human 
Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC shall 
adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient operation of 
the Medicaid program. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604700 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (361) 334-6105 

CHAPTER 94. NURSE AIDES 
40 TAC §§94.2, 94.11, 94.13 

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability 
Services (DADS), amendments to §94.2 and §94.11; and new 
§94.13, in Chapter 94, Nurse Aides, without changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the July 8, 2016, issue of the Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5021). The rules will not be republished. 

The amendments and new section are adopted to implement 
Senate Bill (S.B.) 807 and S.B. 1307, 84th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 2015, which amended Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ter 55, Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veter-
ans, and Military Spouses. The adoption describes the process 
a nurse aide who is a military service member must follow to 
request an additional two years to complete in-service educa-
tion requirements to maintain a listing on the nurse aide registry 
(NAR). The adoption also describes the process a former nurse 
aide who is a military service member, a military veteran, or a 
military spouse must follow to request that the status of a listing 
on the NAR be changed from expired to active during the five 
years after expiration. 

The adoption adds definitions related to the military provisions 
and replaces several defined terms with acronyms. The adop-
tion also deletes a provision allowing a military spouse to be 
listed on the NAR with active status for up to five years after 
the listing expires under certain circumstances because the in-
formation is included in new §94.13. 

DADS received no comments regarding adoption of the amend-
ments and new section. 

The amendments and new section are adopted under Texas 
Government Code, §531.0055, which provides that the HHSC 
executive commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation 
and provision of services by the health and human services 
agencies, including DADS; Texas Government Code, §531.021, 
which provides HHSC with the authority to administer federal 
funds and plan and direct the Medicaid program in each agency 
that operates a portion of the Medicaid program; Texas Human 
Resources Code, §32.021, which provides that HHSC shall 
adopt necessary rules for the proper and efficient operation of 
the Medicaid program; Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 
250, which requires DADS to maintain a Nurse Aide Registry; 
and Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which requires 
a state agency to adopt rules related to licensure of military 
service members, military veterans, and military spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 

2016. 
TRD-201604696 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: September 28, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4836 

CHAPTER 95. MEDICATION AIDES--
PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 
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95.129 

40 TAC §§95.101, 95.103, 95.105, 95.107, 95.109, 95.113, 
95.115, 95.117, 95.119, 95.121, 95.123, 95.125, 95.127 -

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) 
adopts, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disability 
Services (DADS), amendments to §§95.101, 95.103, 95.105, 
95.107, 95.109, 95.113, 95.115, 95.117, 95.119, 95.121, 95.123, 
95.125, 95.127, and 95.128; and new §95.129, in Chapter 95, 
Medication Aides--Program Requirements. The amendments to 
§§95.105, 95.125, and 95.128, and new §95.129 are adopted 
with changes to the proposed text as published in the July 
15, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5142). The 
amendments to §§95.101, 95.103, 95.107, 95.109, 95.113, 
95.115, 95.117, 95.119, 95.121, 95.123, and 95.127 are adopted 
without changes to the proposed text. 

The adopted rules provide that DADS does not issue or renew a 
permit if a medication aide applicant or a medication aide is listed 
as unemployable on the Employee Misconduct Registry (EMR), 
listed as revoked on the Nurse Aide Registry (NAR), or has been 
convicted of certain offenses. The adopted rules specify crite-
ria used to determine if a renewal application is late and allow 
DADS to use an applicant's email address of record as contact 
information. Certain practices, currently described as exceptions 
to prohibited practices, are listed as permissible practices. The 
adoption clarifies that any practice not listed in the rule is prohib-
ited. Throughout the chapter, the adopted amendments change 
the term "permit holder" to "medication aide" to be consistent and 
to use a defined term. 

The adopted amendments and new section also implement Sen-
ate Bill (S.B.) 807 and S.B. 1307, 84th Legislature, Regular Ses-
sion, 2015, which amended Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 
55, Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans, 
and Military Spouses. The adopted amendments add defini-
tions of terms related to these provisions and the new section 
addresses several areas that relate to issuing medication aide 
permits to military service members, military veterans, and mili-
tary spouses. 

Throughout the chapter, grammatical and editorial changes were 
made for clarity and consistency, and to correct formatting struc-
ture. 

DADS received no comments regarding adoption of the amend-
ments and new section. 

The agency added a provision to §95.125(e)(2) that allows an 
applicant for a corrections medication aide permit to provide the 
written results of a general educational development (GED) test, 
instead of a high school diploma or transcript. The agency also 
added new paragraphs to §95.125(e) and §95.128(i) stating that 
DADS verifies the accreditation of the high school that issued a 
diploma or transcript, or the testing service or program that certi-
fied a GED test of an applicant for a corrections medication aide 
permit or a home health medication aide permit. Further, if DADS 
is unable to verify the accreditation of the school, service, or pro-
gram, DADS may require the applicant to submit additional doc-
umentation to verify the accreditation status. These additions, 
which apply to corrections medication aides and home health 
medication aides, are consistent with existing rules that govern 
other medication aides. 

A minor editorial change was made to the text of §95.105 to 
correct a spelling error, and to §95.129 to correct a reference 
to another section in Chapter 95. 

The amendments and new section are adopted under Texas 
Government Code, §531.0055, which provides that the HHSC 
executive commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation 
and provision of services by the health and human services 
agencies, including DADS; Texas Health and Safety Code, 
§142.023, which authorizes the HHSC executive commissioner 
to establish standards for home health medication aides, and 
§242.608, which authorizes the HHSC executive commissioner 
to adopt rules regulating medication aides in nursing facilities; 
Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083, which authorizes 
the executive commissioner to establish minimum standards 
and requirements for the issuance of corrections medication 
aide permits; and Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which 
requires a state agency to adopt rules related to licensure of mil-
itary service members, military veterans, and military spouses. 

§95.105. Allowable and Prohibited Practices of a Medication Aide. 
(a) A medication aide under Texas Health and Safety Code, 

Chapter 242, Subchapter N, may: 

(1) observe and report to the facility's charge licensed nurse 
reactions and side effects to medication shown by a resident; 

(2) take and record vital signs before the administration of 
medication that could affect or change the vital signs; 

(3) administer regularly prescribed medication to a resident 
if the medication aide: 

(A) is trained to administer the medication; 

(B) personally prepares the medication or sets up the 
medication to be administered from a unit dose pack; and 

(C) documents the administration of the medication in 
the resident's clinical record; 

(4) administer oxygen per nasal cannula or a non-sealing 
mask only in an emergency, after which the medication aide must ver-
bally notify the licensed nurse on duty or on call and appropriately doc-
ument the action and notification; 

(5) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal, vagi-
nal, and rectal medication; 

(6) administer previously ordered PRN medication, if: 

(A) the facility's licensed nurse on duty or on call au-
thorizes the medication; 

(B) the medication aide documents in the resident's 
records the symptoms indicating the need for the medication and the 
time the symptoms occurred; 

(C) the medication aide documents in the resident's 
records that the facility's licensed nurse was contacted, symptoms were 
described, and the licensed nurse granted permission to administer the 
medication, including the time of contact; 

(D) the medication aide obtains authorization to admin-
ister the medication from the facility's licensed nurse on duty or on call 
each time the symptoms occur; and 

(E) the medication aide ensures that the resident's 
record is co-signed by the licensed nurse who gave authorization by 
the end of the nurse's shift or, if the nurse was on call, by the end of 
the nurse's next shift; 

(7) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication to 
be administered to a resident; 

(8) break a tablet to be administered to a resident, if: 
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(A) the resident's medication card or its equivalent ac-
curately documents how the tablet must be broken before administra-
tion; and 

(B) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calculated 
the dosage; 

(9) crush medication, if the medication aide: 

(A) obtains authorization to crush the medication from 
the licensed nurse on duty or on call; and 

(B) documents the authorization on the resident's med-
ication card or its equivalent; and 

(10) electronically order a refill of medication from a phar-
macy, if the refill request is signed by the licensed nurse on duty or on 
call. 

(b) A medication aide under Texas Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 242, Subchapter N, may not: 

(1) administer medication by the injection route including: 

(A) intramuscular route; 

(B) intravenous route; 

(C) subcutaneous route; 

(D) intradermal route; and 

(E) hypodermoclysis route; 

(2) administer medication used for intermittent positive 
pressure breathing treatments or any form of medication inhalation 
treatments; 

(3) administer previously ordered PRN medication, except 
in accordance with subsection (a)(6) of this section; 

(4) administer medication that, according to the resident's 
clinical records, has not been previously administered to the resident; 

(5) calculate a resident's medication doses for administra-
tion; 

(6) crush medication, except in accordance with subsection 
(a)(9) of this section; 

(7) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube 
inserted in a cavity of the body; 

(8) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to writing 
a verbal or telephone order from a healthcare professional; 

(9) order a resident's medications from a pharmacy, except 
in accordance with subsection (a)(10) of this section; 

(10) apply topical medications that involve the treatment 
of skin that is broken or blistered or when a specified aseptic technique 
is ordered by the attending physician; 

(11) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medication; 

(12) violate any provision of the Texas Health and Safety 
Code or this chapter; 

(13) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit; 

(14) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as pre-
scribed, in a responsible manner; or 

(15) administer medications if the person is unable to do so 
with reasonable skill and safety to residents by reason of drunkenness 
or excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of 
material. 

(c) If a practice is not described in subsection (a) of this section 
the practice is prohibited for a medication aide under Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N. 

§95.125. Requirements for Corrections Medication Aides. 
(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to provide the qual-

ifications, conduct, and practice activities of a medication aide em-
ployed in a correctional facility or employed by a medical services con-
tractor for a correctional facility. 

(b) Supervision and applicable law and rules. A medication 
aide must function under the direct supervision of a licensed nurse on 
duty or on call by the correctional facility using the medication aide. A 
medication aide must: 

(1) function in accordance with applicable law and rules 
relating to administration of medication and operation of a correctional 
facility; and 

(2) comply with TDCJ rules applicable to personnel used 
in a correctional institution. 

(c) Allowable and prohibited practices of a medication aide. 

(1) A medication aide may: 

(A) observe and report to the correctional facility's 
charge nurse reactions and side effects to medication shown by an 
inmate; 

(B) take and record vital signs before the administration 
of medication which could affect or change the vital signs; 

(C) administer regularly prescribed medication to an in-
mate if the medication aide: 

(i) is trained to administer the medication; 

(ii) personally prepares the medication or sets up the 
medication to be administered; and 

(iii) documents the administration of the medication 
in the inmate's clinical record; 

(D) administer oxygen per nasal cannula or a non-seal-
ing mask only in an emergency, after which the medication aide must 
verbally notify the licensed nurse on duty or on call and appropriately 
document the action and notification; 

(E) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal, 
vaginal, and rectal medication; 

(F) administer previously ordered PRN medication. A 
medication aide must document in the inmate's records, symptoms in-
dicating the need for the medication, and the time the symptoms oc-
curred; 

(G) administer the initial dose of a medication; 

(H) order an inmate's medications from the correctional 
institution's pharmacy; 

(I) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication 
to be administered; 

(J) break a tablet for administration to an inmate if: 

(i) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calcu-
lated the dosage; and 

(ii) the inmate's medication card or its equivalent ac-
curately documents how the tablet must be altered before administra-
tion; and 

(K) crush medication if: 
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(i) authorization is obtained from the licensed nurse 
on duty or on call; and 

(ii) the authorization is documented on the inmate's 
medication card or its equivalent. 

(2) A medication aide may not: 

(A) administer medication by the injection route includ-
ing: 

(i) intramuscular; 

(ii) intravenous; 

(iii) subcutaneous; 

(iv) intradermal; and 

(v) hypodermoclysis; 

(B) administer medication used for intermittent posi-
tive pressure breathing treatments or any form of medication inhalation 
treatments; 

(C) calculate an inmate's medication dose for adminis-
tration; 

(D) crush medication, except in accordance with sub-
section (c)(1)(K) of this section; 

(E) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube 
inserted in a cavity of the body; 

(F) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to 
writing a verbal or telephone order from a physician, dentist, or 
podiatrist; 

(G) apply topical medications that involve the treatment 
of skin that is broken or blistered or when a specified aseptic technique 
is ordered by the attending licensed practitioner; 

(H) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medications; 

(I) violate any provision of Texas Human Resources 
Code, §161.083, or this chapter; 

(J) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit; 

(K) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as 
prescribed, in a responsible manner; or 

(L) administer medications if the person is unable to do 
so with reasonable skill and safety to residents by reason of drunken-
ness or excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type 
of material. 

(d) Background and education requirements. Before applying 
for a corrections medication aide permit under Texas Human Resources 
Code, §161.083, an applicant must be: 

(1) able to read, write, speak, and understand English; 

(2) at least 18 years of age; 

(3) free of communicable diseases and in suitable physical 
and emotional health to safely administer medications; 

(4) a graduate of a high school or successfully passed a gen-
eral educational development test; and 

(5) employed in a correctional facility or by a medical ser-
vice contractor for a correctional facility on the first day of an appli-
cant's medication aide training program. 

(e) Application. An applicant for a corrections medication 
aide permit under Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083 must sub-
mit an official Corrections Medication Aide application form to DADS. 

(1) An applicant must submit the general statement enroll-
ment form that contains: 

(A) specific information regarding personal data, cer-
tain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience, education, 
and training; 

(B) a statement that all the requirements in subsection 
(d) of this section were met before the start of the program; 

(C) a statement that the applicant understands that ap-
plication fees submitted in the permit process are nonrefundable; 

(D) a statement that the applicant understands material 
submitted in the application process are nonreturnable; 

(E) a statement that the applicant understands that it is 
a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to DADS; and 

(F) the applicant's dated and notarized signature. 

(2) An applicant must submit a certified copy or a photo-
copy that has been notarized as a true and exact copy of an unaltered 
original of the applicant's high school graduation diploma or transcript, 
or the written results of a general educational development (GED) test. 

(3) DADS verifies the accreditation of the high school that 
issued the diploma or transcript, or the testing service or program that 
certified the GED test required by paragraph (2) of this subsection. If 
DADS is unable to verify the accreditation status of the school, test-
ing service, or program, and DADS requests additional documentation 
from the applicant to verify the accreditation status, the applicant must 
provide the documentation to DADS. 

(4) DADS considers a corrections medication aide permit 
application as officially submitted when DADS receives the permit ap-
plication. 

(5) DADS sends a notice listing the additional materials 
required to an applicant who does not complete the application. An 
application not completed by the day of the TDCJ final exam is void. 

(6) DADS sends notice of application approval or de-
ficiency in accordance with §95.127 of this chapter (relating to 
Application Processing). 

(f) Fees. An applicant must pay application and permit re-
newal fees for a corrections medication aide permit by cashier's check 
or money order made payable to the Department of Aging and Disabil-
ity Services. All fees are nonrefundable, except as provided by Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2005. The fee schedule is as follows: 

(1) permit application fee--$15; 

(2) renewal fee--$15; 

(3) late renewal fees for permit renewals made after the per-
mit expires: 

(A) $22.50 for an expired permit renewed from one to 
90 days after expiration; 

(B) $30 for an expired permit renewed from 91 days to 
one year after expiration; and 

(4) permit replacement fee--$5. 

(g) Examination procedures. TDCJ gives a written examina-
tion to each applicant at a site determined by TDCJ. An applicant with a 
disability, including an applicant with dyslexia as defined in Texas Ed-
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ucation Code, §51.970 (relating to Instructional Material for Blind and 
Visually Impaired Students and Students with Dyslexia), may request 
a reasonable accommodation for the examination under the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

(1) The applicant must meet the requirements of the TDCJ 
training program described in §95.119(d) of this chapter (relating to 
Training Program Requirements) before taking the written examina-
tion. 

(2) The applicant must be tested on the subjects taught in 
the TDCJ training program curriculum and correctional facility clinical 
experience. The examination must test an applicant's knowledge of 
accurate and safe drug therapy administered to a correctional facility 
inmate. 

(3) TDCJ administers the examination and determines the 
passing grade. 

(4) TDCJ must inform DADS, on the DADS class roster 
form, of the final exam results for each applicant within 15 days after 
completion of the exam. 

(5) An applicant who is unable to attend the applicant's 
scheduled examination due to unforeseen circumstances must contact 
TDCJ to reschedule. 

(6) If an applicant fails the examination, TDCJ notifies 
DADS and the applicant in writing of the failure to pass the exami-
nation. The applicant may take one subsequent examination without 
having to re-enroll in the training program described in §95.119 of 
this chapter. 

(7) An applicant whose application for a permit is denied 
under §95.113 of this chapter (relating to Determination of Eligibility) 
is ineligible to take the examination. 

(h) Determination of eligibility. DADS determines eligibility 
for a corrections medication aide permit applicant according to §95.113 
of this chapter and subsections (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this section. 

(i) Renewal. A permit must be renewed in accordance with 
§95.115 of this chapter (relating to Permit Renewal). 

(j) Changes. Medication aides must report changes in accor-
dance with §95.117 of this chapter (relating to Changes). 

(k) Violations, complaints, and disciplinary actions. 

(1) Complaints. Any person may complain to DADS al-
leging that a person or program has violated Texas Human Resources 
Code, §161.083, or this chapter. DADS handles complaints in the man-
ner set forth in §95.123 of this chapter (relating to Violations, Com-
plaints, and Disciplinary Actions). 

(2) Investigations of abuse and neglect complaints. Allega-
tions of abuse and neglect of inmates by corrections medication aides 
are investigated by the TDCJ Office of Inspector General. After an 
investigation, the TDCJ Office of Inspector General issues a report to 
DADS with findings of abuse or neglect against the corrections medi-
cation aide. After reviewing the report and findings, DADS determines 
whether to initiate a formal proceeding to revoke, suspend, or refuse to 
renew a corrections medication aide permit. If DADS determines a 
formal proceeding to revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a corrections 
medication aide permit should be initiated, §95.123(c) and (d) of this 
chapter apply. If DADS determines that no formal proceeding to re-
voke, suspend, or refuse to renew a corrections medication aide permit 
should be initiated, DADS dismisses the complaint against the correc-
tions medication aide and gives written notice of the dismissal to the 
corrections medication aide. 

(l) Section 95.121 of this chapter (relating to Permitting of 
Persons with Criminal Backgrounds) applies to corrections medication 
aides under this chapter. 

§95.128. Home Health Medication Aides. 
(a) General. 

(1) A person may not administer medication to a client un-
less the person: 

(A) holds a current license under state law that autho-
rizes the licensee to administer medication; 

(B) holds a current permit issued under this section and 
acts under the delegated authority of an RN to administer medication; 

(C) administers a medication to a client in accordance 
with rules of the BON that permit delegation of the administration of 
medication to a person not holding a permit under this section; or 

(D) administers noninjectable medication under cir-
cumstances authorized by the memorandum of understanding between 
the BON and DADS. 

(2) A HCSSA that provides licensed and certified home 
health services, licensed home health services, hospice services, or per-
sonal assistance services may use a home health medication aide. If 
there is a direct conflict between the requirements of this chapter and 
federal regulations, the requirements that are more stringent apply to 
the licensed and certified HCSSA. 

(3) Exemptions are as follows. 

(A) A person may administer medication to a client 
without the license or permit as required in paragraph (1) of this 
subsection if the person is: 

(i) a graduate nurse holding a temporary permit is-
sued by the BON; 

(ii) a student enrolled in an accredited school of 
nursing or program for the education of RNs who is administering 
medications as part of the student's clinical experience; 

(iii) a graduate vocational nurse holding a temporary 
permit issued by the BON; 

(iv) a student enrolled in an accredited school of vo-
cational nursing or program for the education of vocational nurses who 
is administering medications as part of the student's clinical experience; 
or 

(v) a trainee in a medication aide training program 
approved by DADS under this chapter who is administering medica-
tions as part of the trainee's clinical experience. 

(B) Supervision of an exempt person described in sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph is as follows. 

(i) A person described in: 

(I) subparagraph (A)(i) of this paragraph shall be 
supervised by an RN; 

(II) subparagraph (A)(ii) or (iv) of this paragraph 
shall be supervised by the student's instructor; or 

(III) subparagraph (A)(iii) of this paragraph shall 
be supervised by an RN or licensed vocational nurse. 

(ii) Supervision must be on-site. 

(C) An exempt person described in this subsection may 
not be used in a supervisory or charge position. 
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(b) Required actions. 

(1) If a HCSSA provides home health medication aide ser-
vices the HCSSA must employ a home health medication aide to pro-
vide the home health medication aide services. The HCSSA must em-
ploy or contract with an RN to perform the initial health assessment, 
prepare the client care plan, establish the medication list, medication 
administration record, and medication aide assignment sheet, and su-
pervise the home health medication aide. The RN must be available to 
supervise the home health medication aide when home health medica-
tion aide services are provided. 

(2) The clinical records of a client using a home health 
medication aide must include a statement signed by the client or family 
acknowledging receipt of the list of permitted and prohibited acts of a 
home health medication aide. 

(3) The RN must be knowledgeable of DADS rules gov-
erning home health medication aides and must ensure that the home 
health medication aide is in compliance with the Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B. 

(4) A home health medication aide must: 

(A) function under the supervision of an RN; 

(B) comply with applicable law and this chapter relat-
ing to administration of medication and operation of the HCSSA; 

(C) comply with DADS rules applicable to personnel 
used in a HCSSA; and 

(D) comply with this section and §97.701 of this title 
(relating to Home Health Aides) if the person will be used as a home 
health aide and a home health medication aide. 

(5) The RN must make a supervisory visit while the med-
ication aide is in the client's residence in accordance with §97.298 of 
this title (relating to Delegation of Nursing Tasks by Registered Profes-
sional Nurses to Unlicensed Personnel and Tasks Not Requiring Dele-
gation). 

(c) Permitted actions. A home health medication aide is per-
mitted to: 

(1) observe and report to the HCSSA RN and document in 
the clinical record any reactions and side effects to medication shown 
by a client; 

(2) take and record vital signs of a client before adminis-
tering medication that could affect or change the vital signs; 

(3) administer regularly prescribed medication to a client 
if the medication aide: 

(A) is trained to administer the medication; 

(B) personally prepares the medication or sets up the 
medication to be administered; and 

(C) documents the administration of the medication in 
the client's clinical record; 

(4) administer oxygen per nasal cannula or a non-sealing 
face mask only in an emergency, after which the medication aide must 
verbally notify the supervising RN and appropriately document the ac-
tion and notification; 

(5) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal, 
vaginal, topical, and rectal medication unless prohibited by subsection 
(d)(10) of this section; 

(6) administer medications only from the manufacturer's 
original container or the original container in which the medication had 

been dispensed and labeled by the pharmacy with all information man-
dated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy; and 

(7) administer previously ordered PRN medication if: 

(A) the HCSSA's RN authorizes the medication; 

(B) the medication aide documents in the client's clini-
cal notes the symptoms indicating the need for medication and the time 
the symptoms occurred; 

(C) the medication aide documents in the client's clin-
ical notes that the HCSSA's RN was contacted, symptoms were de-
scribed, and the HCSSA's RN granted permission to administer the 
medication, including the time of contact; 

(D) the medication aide obtains authorization to admin-
ister the medication each time the symptoms occur; and 

(E) the medication aide ensures that the client's clinical 
record is co-signed by the RN who gave permission within seven days 
after the notes are incorporated into the clinical record; 

(8) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication to 
be administered; 

(9) break a tablet for administration to a client if: 

(A) the client's medication administration record accu-
rately documents how the tablet must be altered before administration; 
and 

(B) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calculated 
the dosage; 

(10) crush medication, if: 

(A) authorization has been given in the original physi-
cian's order or the medication aide obtains authorization from the HC-
SSA's RN; and 

(B) the medication aide documents the authorization on 
the client's medication administration record. 

(d) Prohibited actions. A home health medication aide must 
not: 

(1) administer a medication by any injectable route, includ-
ing: 

(A) intramuscular route; 

(B) intravenous route; 

(C) subcutaneous route; 

(D) intradermal route; and 

(E) hypodermoclysis route; 

(2) administer medication used for intermittent positive 
pressure breathing treatment or any form of medication inhalation 
treatments; 

(3) administer previously ordered PRN medication except 
in accordance with subsection (c)(7) of this section; 

(4) administer medication that, according to the client's 
clinical records, has not been previously administered to the client; 

(5) calculate a client's medication doses for administration; 

(6) crush medication, except in accordance with subsection 
(c)(10) of this section; 
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(7) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube 
inserted in a cavity of the body except as specified §97.404(h) of this 
title; 

(8) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to writing 
a verbal or telephone order from a physician, dentist, podiatrist or ad-
vanced practice nurse; 

(9) order a client's medication from a pharmacy; 

(10) apply topical medications that involve the treatment 
of skin that is broken or blistered when a specified aseptic technique is 
ordered by the attending physician; 

(11) administer medications from any container other than 
the manufacturer's original container or the original container in which 
the medication had been dispensed and labeled by the pharmacy with 
all information mandated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy; 

(12) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medications; 

(13) violate any provision of the statute or of this chapter; 

(14) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit; 

(15) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as pre-
scribed, in a responsible manner; or 

(16) administer medications if the person is unable to do so 
with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reasons of drunkenness, 
inappropriate use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of 
material. 

(e) Applicant qualifications. Each applicant for a permit is-
sued under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B 
must complete a training program. Before enrolling in a training pro-
gram and applying for a permit under this section, all applicants: 

(1) must be able to read, write, speak, and understand Eng-
lish; 

(2) must be at least 18 years of age; 

(3) must be free of communicable diseases and in suitable 
physical and emotional health to safely administer medications; 

(4) must be a graduate of an accredited high school or have 
proof of successfully passing a general educational development test; 

(5) must have satisfactorily completed a home health aide 
training and competency evaluation program or a competency evalua-
tion program under §97.701 of this title; 

(6) must not have been convicted of a criminal offense 
listed in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(a), or convicted of a 
criminal offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(b) 
within five years before the date DADS receives a permit application; 

(7) must not be listed as unemployable on the EMR; and 

(8) must not be listed with a revoked or suspended status 
on the NAR. 

(f) Nursing graduates. A person who is a graduate of an ac-
credited school of nursing and who does not hold a license to practice 
professional or vocational nursing meets the training requirements for 
issuance of a permit under this section if the date of graduation from 
the nursing school was no earlier than January 1 of the year immedi-
ately preceding the year of application for a permit under this section. 

(1) The applicant must submit a DADS application form to 
DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection (e)(1) 
- (6) of this section. 

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined 
permit application and examination fee. 

(3) The applicant must include an official transcript docu-
menting graduation from an accredited school of nursing. 

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by 
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and DADS open book 
examination. 

(5) The applicant must complete the open book examina-
tion and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination notice. 

(6) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. DADS determines the site of the examination. DADS denies the 
application of an applicant failing to schedule and take the examination 
by the date given in the examination notice. 

(7) An open book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails. 

(8) Upon successful completion of the two examinations, 
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant. 

(9) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the examina-
tion results. 

(g) Nursing students. A person who is attending or has at-
tended an accredited school of nursing and who does not hold a li-
cense to practice professional or vocational nursing meets the training 
requirements for issuance of a permit under this section if the person: 

(1) attended the nursing school no earlier than January 1 
of the year immediately preceding the year of application for a permit 
under this section; 

(2) successfully completed courses at the nursing school 
that cover DADS curriculum for a home health medication aide training 
program; 

(3) submits a statement with the person's application for a 
permit under this section, that is signed by the nursing school's adminis-
trator or other authorized individual who is responsible for determining 
that the courses that he or she certifies cover DADS curriculum and cer-
tifies that the person completed the courses specified under paragraph 
(2) of this subsection; and 

(4) complies with subsection (f)(1) - (2) and (4) - (9) of this 
section. 

(h) Reciprocity. A person who holds a valid license, registra-
tion, certificate, or permit as a home health medication aide issued by 
another state whose minimum standards or requirements are substan-
tially equivalent to or exceed the requirements of this section in effect 
at the time of application may request a waiver of the training program 
requirement as follows: 

(1) The applicant must submit a DADS application form to 
DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection (e)(1) 
- (4) of this section. 

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined 
permit application and exam fee. 

(3) The application must include a current copy of the rules 
of the other state governing its licensing and regulation of home health 
medication aides, a copy of the legal authority, including the law, act, 
code, or section, for the state's licensing program, and a certified copy 
of the license or certificate by which the reciprocal permit is requested. 

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by 
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and of DADS open book 
examination. 
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(5) DADS may contact the issuing agency to verify the ap-
plicant's status with the agency. 

(6) The applicant must complete DADS open book exam-
ination and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination 
notice. 

(7) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. The site of the examination is determined by DADS. DADS de-
nies the application of an applicant failing to schedule and take the 
examination by the date given in the examination notice. 

(8) An open book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails. 

(9) Upon successful completion of the two examinations, 
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant. 

(10) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the exami-
nation results. 

(i) Application by trainees. An applicant under subsection (e) 
of this section must submit to DADS, no later than 30 days after en-
rollment in a training program, an application, including all required 
information and documentation on DADS forms. 

(1) DADS considers an application as officially submitted 
when DADS receives the nonrefundable combined permit application 
and examination fee payable to the Department of Aging and Disabil-
ity Services. The fee required by subsection (n) of this section must 
accompany the application form. 

(2) The general statement enrollment form must contain 
the following application material that is required of all applicants: 

(A) specific information regarding personal data, cer-
tain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience, education, 
and training; 

(B) a statement that all of the requirements in subsec-
tion (e) of this section were met before the start of the program; 

(C) a statement that the applicant understands that the 
application fee submitted in the permit process is nonrefundable; 

(D) a statement that the applicant understands that ma-
terials submitted in the application process are not returnable; 

(E) a statement that the applicant understands that it is 
a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to DADS; and 

(F) the applicant's signature that has been dated and no-
tarized. 

(3) The applicant must submit a certified copy or notarized 
photocopy of an unaltered original of the applicant's high school grad-
uation diploma or transcript, or an equivalent document demonstrating 
that the applicant successfully passed a general educational develop-
ment (GED) test, unless the applicant is applying under subsection (f) 
of this section. 

(4) DADS verifies the accreditation of the high school that 
issued the diploma or transcript, or the testing service or program that 
certified the GED test required by paragraph (3) of this subsection. If 
DADS is unable to verify the accreditation status of the school, test-
ing service, or program, and DADS requests additional documentation 
from the applicant to verify the accreditation status, the applicant must 
provide the documentation to DADS. 

(5) DADS sends a notice listing the additional materials 
required to an applicant who does not complete the application. An 
application not completed within 30 days after the date of the notice 
will be void. 

(6) DADS sends notice of application acceptance, disap-
proval, or deficiency in accordance with subsection (q) of this section. 

(j) Examination. DADS gives a written examination to each 
applicant at a site DADS determines. 

(1) No final examination may be given to an applicant until 
the applicant has met the requirements of subsections (e) and (i) of this 
section, and if applicable, subsections (f), (g), or (h) of this section. 

(2) An applicant with a disability, including an applicant 
with dyslexia as defined in Texas Education Code §51.970 (relating 
to Instructional Material for Blind and Visually Impaired Students and 
Students with Dyslexia), may request a reasonable accommodation for 
the examination under the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

(3) The applicant must be tested on the subjects taught in 
the training program curricula and clinical experience. The examina-
tion covers an applicant's knowledge of accurate and safe drug therapy 
to clients. 

(4) A training program must notify DADS at least four 
weeks before its requested examination date. 

(5) DADS determines the passing grade on the examina-
tion. 

(6) DADS notifies in writing an applicant who fails the ex-
amination. 

(A) DADS may give an applicant under subsection (e) 
of this section one subsequent examination, without additional pay-
ment of a fee, upon the applicant's written request to DADS. 

(B) A subsequent examination must be completed by 
the date given on the failure notification. DADS determines the site of 
the examination. 

(C) Another examination will not be permitted if the 
student fails the subsequent examination unless the student enrolls and 
successfully completes another training program. 

(7) An applicant who is unable to attend the applicant's 
scheduled examination due to unforeseen circumstances may be given 
an examination at another time without payment of an additional fee 
upon the applicant's written request to DADS. The examination must 
be completed within 45 days from the date of the originally scheduled 
examination. DADS determines the site for the rescheduled examina-
tion. 

(8) An applicant whose application for a permit will be dis-
approved under subsection (k) of this section is ineligible to take the 
examination. 

(k) Determination of eligibility. DADS approves or disap-
proves all applications. DADS sends notices of application approval, 
disapproval, or deficiency in accordance with subsection (q) of this sec-
tion. 

(1) DADS denies an application for a permit if the person 
has: 

(A) not met the requirements of subsections (e) - (i) of 
this section, if applicable; 

(B) failed to pass the examination prescribed by DADS 
as set out in subsection (j) of this section; 

(C) failed to or refused to properly complete or submit 
any application form, endorsement, or fee, or deliberately presented 
false information on any form or document required by DADS; 
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(D) violated or conspired to violate the Texas Health 
and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or any provision of this 
chapter; or 

(E) been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor if the 
crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of a medication 
aide as set out in subsection (r) of this section. 

(2) If, after review, DADS determines that the application 
should not be approved, DADS gives the applicant written notice of 
the reason for the proposed decision and of the opportunity for a formal 
hearing in accordance with subsection (r) of this section. 

(l) Medication aide. Home health medication aides must com-
ply with the following permit renewal requirements. 

(1) When issued, a permit is valid for one year. 

(2) A medication aide must renew the permit annually. 

(3) The renewal date of a permit is the last day of the cur-
rent permit. 

(4) Each medication aide is responsible for renewing the 
permit before the expiration date. Failure to receive notification from 
DADS before the expiration date of the permit does not excuse the 
medication aide's failure to file for timely renewal. 

(5) A medication aide must complete a seven hour contin-
uing education program approved by DADS before expiration of the 
permit in order to renew the permit. Continuing education hours are 
not required for the first renewal. After a permit is renewed for the 
first time, the medication aide must earn approved continuing educa-
tion hours to have the permit renewed again. 

(6) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication 
aide who is in violation of the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 
142, Subchapter B, or this chapter at the time of application for renewal. 

(7) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication 
aide who has been convicted of a criminal offense listed in Texas Health 
and Safety Code, §250.006(a), or convicted of a criminal offense listed 
in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(b) within five years before 
the date DADS receives the renewal application. 

(8) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication 
aide who is listed as unemployable on the EMR. 

(9) Home health medication aide permit renewal proce-
dures are as follows. 

(A) At least 30 days before the expiration date of a 
permit, DADS sends to the medication aide at the address in DADS 
records notice of the expiration date of the permit and the amount of 
the renewal fee due and a renewal form that the medication aide must 
complete and return with the required renewal fee. 

(B) The renewal form must include the preferred mail-
ing address of the medication aide and information on certain misde-
meanor and felony convictions. It must be signed by the medication 
aide. 

(C) DADS issues a renewal permit to a medication aide 
who has met all requirements for renewal. 

(D) DADS does not renew a permit if the medication 
aide does not complete the required seven-hour continuing education 
requirement. Successful completion is determined by the student's in-
structor. An individual who does not meet the continuing education 
requirement must complete a new program, application, and examina-
tion in accordance with the requirements of this section. 

(E) DADS does not renew a permit if renewal is pro-
hibited by the Texas Education Code, §57.491, concerning defaults on 
guaranteed student loans. 

(F) If a medication aide fails to timely renew his or her 
permit because the medication aide is or was on active duty with the 
armed forces of the United States of America serving outside the State 
of Texas, the medication aide may renew the permit pursuant to this 
subparagraph. 

(i) Renewal of the permit may be requested by the 
medication aide, the medication aide's spouse, or an individual having 
power of attorney from the medication aide. The renewal form must 
include a current address and telephone number for the individual re-
questing the renewal. 

(ii) Renewal may be requested before or after the ex-
piration of the permit. 

(iii) A copy of the official orders or other official 
military documentation showing that the medication aide is or was on 
active military duty serving outside the State of Texas must be filed 
with DADS along with the renewal form. 

(iv) A copy of the power of attorney from the medi-
cation aide must be filed with DADS along with the renewal form if the 
individual having the power of attorney executes any of the documents 
required in this subparagraph. 

(v) A medication aide renewing under this subpara-
graph must pay the applicable renewal fee. 

(vi) A medication aide is not authorized to act as a 
home health medication aide after the expiration of the permit unless 
and until the medication aide actually renews the permit. 

(vii) A medication aide renewing under this sub-
paragraph is not required to submit any continuing education hours. 

(10) A person whose permit has expired for not more than 
two years may renew the permit by submitting to DADS: 

(A) the permit renewal form; 

(B) all accrued renewal fees; 

(C) proof of having earned, during the expired period, 
seven hours in an approved continuing education program for each year 
or part of a year that the permit has been expired; and 

(D) proof of having earned, before expiration of the per-
mit, seven hours in an approved continuing education program as re-
quired in paragraph (5) of this subsection. 

(11) A permit that is not renewed during the two years after 
expiration may not be renewed. 

(12) DADS issues notices of permit renewal approval, dis-
approval, or deficiency must be in accordance with subsection (q) of 
this section. 

(m) Changes. 

(1) A medication aide must notify DADS within 30 days 
after changing his or her address or name. 

(2) DADS replaces a lost, damaged, or destroyed permit 
upon receipt of a completed duplicate permit request form and permit 
replacement fee. 

(n) Fees. 

(1) The schedule of fees is: 
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(A) combined permit application and examination fee-
-$25; 

(B) renewal fee--$15; and 

(C) permit replacement fee--$5.00. 

(2) All fees are nonrefundable. 

(3) An applicant or home health medication aide must pay 
the required fee by cashier's check or money order made payable to the 
Department of Aging and Disability Services. All fees are nonrefund-
able, except as provided by Texas Government Code, Chapter 2005. 

(o) Training program requirements. 

(1) An educational institution accredited by the Texas 
Workforce Commission or Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board that desires to offer a training program must file an application 
for approval on a DADS form. Programs sponsored by state agencies 
for the training and preparation of its own employees are exempt from 
the accreditation requirement. An approved institution may offer the 
training program and a continuing education program. 

(A) All signatures on DADS forms and supporting doc-
umentation must be originals. 

(B) The application includes: 

(i) the anticipated dates of the program; 

(ii) the location(s) of the classroom course(s); 

(iii) the name of the coordinator of the program; 

(iv) a list that includes the address and telephone 
number of each instructor and any other person responsible for the 
conduct of the program; and 

(v) an outline of the program content and curriculum 
if the curriculum covers more than DADS established curricula. 

(C) DADS may conduct an inspection of the classroom 
site. 

(D) DADS sends notice of approval or proposed disap-
proval of the application to the program within 30 days of the receipt of 
a complete application. If the application is proposed to be disapproved 
due to noncompliance with the requirements of the Texas Health and 
Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or of this chapter, the reasons 
for disapproval are given in the notice. 

(E) An applicant may request a hearing on a proposed 
disapproval in writing within ten days of receipt of the notice of the 
proposed disapproval. The hearing must be in accordance with sub-
section (r) of this section and the Administrative Procedure Act, Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2001. If no request is made, the applicant 
is deemed to have waived the opportunity for a hearing, and the pro-
posed action may be taken. 

(2) The program includes, but is not limited to, the follow-
ing instruction and training: 

(A) procedures for preparation and administration of 
medications; 

(B) responsibility, control, accountability, storage, and 
safeguarding of medications; 

(C) use of reference material; 

(D) documentation of medications in the client's clini-
cal records, including PRN medications; 

(E) minimum licensing standards for agencies covering 
pharmaceutical service, nursing service, and clinical records; 

(F) federal and state certification standards for partici-
pation under the Social Security Act, Title XVIII (Medicare), pertain-
ing to pharmaceutical service, nursing service, and clinical records; 

(G) lines of authority in the agency, including agency 
personnel who are immediate supervisors; 

(H) responsibilities and liabilities associated with the 
administration and safeguarding of medications; 

(I) allowable and prohibited practices of a medication 
aide in the administration of medication; 

(J) drug reactions and side effects of medications com-
monly administered to home health clients; 

(K) instruction on universal precautions; and 

(L) the provisions of this chapter. 

(3) The program consists of 140 hours in the following or-
der: 100 hours of classroom instruction and training, 20 hours of return 
skills demonstration laboratory, ten hours of clinical experience includ-
ing clinical observation and skills demonstration under the supervision 
of an RN in an agency, and ten more hours in the return skills demon-
stration laboratory. A classroom or laboratory hour is 50 minutes of 
actual classroom or laboratory time. 

(A) Class time will not exceed four hours in a 24-hour 
period. 

(B) The completion date of the program must be a min-
imum of 60 days and a maximum of 180 days from the starting date of 
the program. 

(C) Each program must follow the curricula established 
by DADS. 

(4) At least seven days before the commencement of each 
program, the coordinator must notify DADS in writing of the starting 
date, the ending date, the daily hours of the program, and the projected 
number of students. 

(5) A change in any information presented by the program 
in an approved application including, but not limited to, location, in-
structorship, and content must be approved by DADS before the pro-
gram's effective date of the change. 

(6) The program instructors of the classroom hours must 
be an RN and registered pharmacist. 

(A) The nurse instructor must have a minimum of two 
years of full-time experience in caring for the elderly, chronically ill, or 
pediatric clients or been employed full time for a minimum of two years 
as an RN with a home and community support services agency. An 
instructor in a school of nursing may request a waiver of the experience 
requirement. 

(B) The pharmacist instructor must have a minimum of 
one year of experience and be currently employed as a practicing phar-
macist. 

(7) The coordinator must provide clearly defined and writ-
ten policies regarding each student's clinical experience to the student, 
the administrator, and the supervising nurse of the agency used for the 
clinical experience. 

(A) The clinical experience must be counted only when 
the student is observing or involved in functions involving medication 
administration and under the direct, contact supervision of an RN. 
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(B) The coordinator is responsible for final evaluation 
of the student's clinical experience. 

(8) Upon successful completion of the program, each pro-
gram issues to each student a certificate of completion, including the 
program's name, the student's name, the date of completion, and the 
signature of the program coordinator. 

(9) Within 15 days after completion of the course, each pro-
gram must inform DADS on the DADS class roster form of the satis-
factory completion for each student. 

(p) Continuing education. The continuing education training 
program is as follows. 

(1) The program must consist of at least seven clock hours 
of classroom instruction. 

(2) The instructor must meet the requirements in subsec-
tion (o)(6) of this section. 

(3) Each program must follow the curricula established by 
DADS. 

(4) Within 15 days after completion of the course, each pro-
gram must inform DADS on the DADS class roster form of the name 
of each medication aide who has completed the course. 

(q) Processing procedures. DADS complies with the follow-
ing procedures in processing applications of home health medication 
aide permits and renewal of permits. 

(1) The following periods of time apply from the date of 
receipt of an application until the date of issuance of a written notice 
that the application is complete and accepted for filing or that the ap-
plication is deficient and additional specific information is required. A 
written notice stating that the application has been approved may be 
sent in lieu of the notice of acceptance of a complete application. The 
time periods are: 

(A) letter of acceptance of an application for a home 
health medication aide permit--14 days; and 

(B) letter of application or renewal deficiency--14 days. 

(2) The following periods of time shall apply from the re-
ceipt of the last item necessary to complete the application until the date 
of issuance of written notice approving or denying the application. The 
time periods for denial include notification of proposed decision and of 
the opportunity, if required, to show compliance with the law and of 
the opportunity for a formal hearing. An application is not considered 
complete until the required documentation and fee have been submit-
ted by the applicant. The time periods are as follows: 

(A) the issuance of an initial permit--90 days; 

(B) the letter of denial for a permit--90 days; and 

(C) the issuance of a renewal permit--20 days. 

(3) In the event an application is not processed in the time 
period stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection, the applicant 
has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular 
application process. Request for reimbursement is made to the Home 
Health Medication Aide Permit Program. If the director of the Home 
Health Medication Aide Permit Program does not agree that the time 
period has been violated or finds that good cause existed for exceeding 
the time period, the request will be denied. 

(4) Good cause for exceeding the time period exists if the 
number of applications for initial home health medication aide permits 
and renewal permits exceeds by 15 percent or more the number of ap-
plications processed in the same calendar quarter of the preceding year; 

another public or private entity relied upon by DADS in the application 
process caused the delay; or any other condition exists giving DADS 
good cause for exceeding the time period. 

(5) If a request for reimbursement under paragraph (3) of 
this subsection is denied by the director of the Home Health Medication 
Aide Permit Program, the applicant may appeal to the DADS commis-
sioner for a timely resolution of any dispute arising from a violation of 
the time periods. The applicant must give written notice to the DADS 
commissioner that the applicant requests full reimbursement of all fees 
paid because the application was not processed within the applicable 
time period. The applicant must mail the reimbursement request to 
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services, John H. Winters 
Human Services Complex, 701 W. 51st St., P.O. Box 149030, Austin, 
Texas 78714-9030. The director of the Home Health Medication Aide 
Permit Program must submit a written report of the facts related to the 
processing of the application and of any good cause for exceeding the 
applicable time period to the DADS commissioner. The DADS com-
missioner provides written notice of the commissioner's decision to the 
applicant and the director of the Home Health Medication Aide Permit 
Program. An appeal is decided in the applicant's favor if the applicable 
time period was exceeded and good cause was not established. If the 
appeal is decided in favor of the applicant, DADS reimburses, in full, 
all fees paid in that particular application process. 

(r) Denial, suspension, or revocation. 

(1) DADS may deny, suspend, emergency suspend, or re-
voke a permit or program approval if the medication aide or program 
fails to comply with any provision of the Texas Health and Safety Code, 
Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or this chapter. 

(2) DADS may also take action under paragraph (1) of this 
subsection for fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment of material fact 
on any documents required to be submitted to DADS or required to be 
maintained or complied by the medication aide or program pursuant to 
this chapter. 

(3) DADS may suspend or revoke an existing permit or 
program approval or disqualify a person from receiving a permit or 
program approval because of a person's conviction of a felony or mis-
demeanor if the crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities 
of a home health medication aide or training program. In determining 
whether a conviction directly relates, DADS considers the elements set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code §55.022 and §55.023. 

(4) If DADS proposes to deny, suspend, or revoke a home 
health medication aide permit or to rescind a home health medication 
aide program approval, DADS notifies the medication aide or home 
health medication aide program by certified mail, return receipt re-
quested, of the reasons for the proposed action and offers the medi-
cation aide or home health medication aide program an opportunity for 
a hearing. 

(A) The medication aide or home health medication 
aide program must request a hearing within 15 days after receipt of the 
notice. Receipt of notice is presumed to occur on the tenth day after 
the notice is mailed to the last address known to DADS unless another 
date is reflected on a United States Postal Service return receipt. 

(B) The request must be in writing and submitted to the 
Department of Aging and Disability Services, Medication Aide Pro-
gram, Mail Code E-416, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030. 

(C) If the medication aide or home health medication 
aide program does not request a hearing, in writing, 15 days after re-
ceipt of the notice, the medication aide or home health medication aide 
program is deemed to have waived the opportunity for a hearing and 
the proposed action is taken. 
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(5) DADS may suspend a permit to be effective immedi-
ately when the health and safety of persons are threatened. DADS no-
tifies the medication aide of the emergency action by certified mail, 
return receipt requested, or personal delivery of the notice and of the 
effective date of the suspension and the opportunity for the medication 
aide to request a hearing. 

(6) All hearings are governed by to Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2001, and Texas Administrative Code, Title 1, 
§§357.481 - 357.490. 

(7) If the medication aide or program fails to appear or be 
represented at the scheduled hearing, the medication aide or program 
has waived the right to a hearing and the proposed action is taken. 

(8) If DADS suspends a home health medication aide per-
mit, the suspension remains in effect until DADS determines that the 
reason for suspension no longer exists, revokes the permit, or deter-
mines not to renew the permit. DADS investigates before making a 
determination. 

(A) During the time of suspension, the suspended med-
ication aide must return the permit to DADS. 

(B) If a suspension overlaps a renewal date, the sus-
pended medication aide may comply with the renewal procedures in 
this chapter; however, DADS does not renew the permit until DADS 
determines that the reason for suspension no longer exists. 

(9) If DADS revokes or does not renew a permit, a person 
may reapply for a permit by complying with the requirements and pro-
cedures in this chapter at the time of reapplication. 

(A) DADS may refuse to issue a permit if the reason for 
revocation or nonrenewal continues to exist. 

(B) When a permit is revoked or not renewed, a medi-
cation aide must immediately return the permit to DADS. 

§95.129. Alternate Licensing Requirements for Military Service. 

(a) Fee waiver based on military experience. 

(1) DADS waives the combined permit application and ex-
amination fee described in §95.109(c)(1)(A) of this chapter (relating to 
Application Procedures) and §95.128(n)(1)(A) of this chapter (relating 
to Home Health Medication Aides) and the permit application fee de-
scribed in §95.125(f)(1) of this chapter (relating to Requirements for 
Corrections Medication Aides) for an applicant if DADS receives and 
approves a request for a waiver of fees from the applicant in accordance 
with this subsection. 

(2) To request a waiver of fees under this subsection, an 
applicant must submit a written request for a waiver with the applicant's 
application for a permit submitted to DADS in accordance with this 
section. The applicant must include with the request: 

(A) documentation of the applicant's status as a military 
service member or military veteran that is acceptable to DADS; and 

(B) documentation of the type and dates of the service, 
training, and education the applicant received and an explanation as to 
why the applicant's military service, training or education substantially 
meets all of the requirements for a permit under this chapter. 

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to 
DADS includes: 

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of 
a current military service order issued to the applicant by the armed 
forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; and 

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military 
service discharge order issued to the applicant by the armed forces of 
the United States, the State of Texas, or another state. 

(4) If DADS requests additional documentation, the appli-
cant must submit the requested documentation. 

(5) DADS approves a request for a waiver of fees submit-
ted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines that the 
applicant is a military service member or a military veteran and the ap-
plicant's military service, training, or education substantially meets all 
of the requirements for licensure under this chapter. 

(b) Fee waiver based on reciprocity. 

(1) DADS waives the combined permit application and 
examination fee described in §95.109(c)(1)(A) of this chapter and 
§95.128(n)(1)(A) of this chapter and the permit application fee de-
scribed in §95.125(f)(1) of this chapter for an applicant if DADS 
receives and approves a request for a waiver of fees from the applicant 
in accordance with this subsection. 

(2) To request a waiver of the fee under this subsection, an 
applicant must include a written request for a waiver of the fee with the 
applicant's application that is submitted to DADS in accordance with 
§95.128(h) of this chapter. The applicant must include with the request 
documentation of the applicant's status as a military service member, 
military veteran, or military spouse that is acceptable to DADS. 

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to 
DADS includes: 

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of 
a current military service order issued to the applicant by the armed 
forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; 

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military 
service discharge order issued to the applicant by the armed forces of 
the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; and 

(C) for status as a military spouse: 

(i) a copy of a marriage certificate issued to the ap-
plicant by a state of the United States or a foreign government; and 

(ii) a copy of a current military service order issued 
to the applicant's spouse by the armed forces of the United States, the 
State of Texas, or another state. 

(4) If DADS requests additional documentation, the appli-
cant must submit the requested documentation. 

(5) DADS approves a request for a waiver of the fee sub-
mitted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines that: 

(A) the applicant holds a license, registration, certifi-
cate, or permit as a medication aide in good standing in another juris-
diction with licensing requirements substantially equivalent to or that 
exceed the requirements for a permit under this chapter; and 

(B) the applicant is a military service member, a mili-
tary veteran, or a military spouse. 

(c) Additional time for permit renewal. 

(1) DADS gives a medication aide an additional two years 
to complete the permit renewal requirements described in §95.115 of 
this chapter (relating to Permit Renewal), if DADS receives and ap-
proves a request for additional time to complete the permit renewal re-
quirements from a medication aide in accordance with this subsection. 

(2) To request additional time to complete permit renewal 
requirements, a medication aide must submit a written request for addi-
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tional time to DADS before the expiration date of the medication aide's 
permit. The medication aide must include with the request documen-
tation of the medication aide's status as a military service member that 
is acceptable to DADS. Documentation as a military service member 
that is acceptable to DADS includes a copy of a current military service 
order issued to the medication aide by the armed forces of the United 
States, the State of Texas, or another state. 

(3) If DADS requests additional documentation, the medi-
cation aide must submit the requested documentation. 

(4) DADS approves a request for two additional years 
to complete permit renewal requirements submitted in accordance 
with this subsection if DADS determines that the medication aide is 
a military service member, except DADS does not approve a request 
if DADS granted the medication aide a previous extension and the 
medication aide has not completed the permit renewal requirements 
during the two-year extension period. 

(5) If a medication aide does not submit the written request 
described by paragraph (2) of this subsection before the expiration date 
of the medication aide's permit, DADS will consider a request after 
the expiration date of the permit if the medication aide establishes to 
the satisfaction of DADS that the request was not submitted before the 
expiration date of the medication aide's permit because the medication 
aide was serving as a military service member at the time the request 
was due. 

(d) Renewal of expired permit. 

(1) DADS renews an expired permit if DADS receives and 
approves a request for renewal from a former medication aide in accor-
dance with this subsection. 

(2) To request renewal of an expired permit, a former med-
ication aide must submit a written request with a permit renewal ap-
plication within five years after the former medication aide's permit 
expired. The former medication aide must include with the request 
documentation of the former medication aide's status as a military ser-
vice member, military veteran, or military spouse that is acceptable to 
DADS. 

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to 
DADS includes: 

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of a 
current military service order issued to the former medication aide by 
the armed forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another 
state; 

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military 
service discharge order issued to the former medication aide by the 
armed forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; 
and 

(C) for status as a military spouse: 

(i) a copy of a marriage certificate issued to the for-
mer medication aide by a state of the United States or a foreign gov-
ernment; and 

(ii) a copy of a current military service order issued 
to the former medication aide's spouse by the armed forces of the 
United States, the State of Texas, or another state. 

(4) If DADS requests additional documentation, the former 
medication aide must submit the requested documentation. 

(5) DADS approves a request for renewal of an expired per-
mit submitted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines 
that: 

(A) the former medication aide is a military service 
member, military veteran, or military spouse; 

(B) the former medication aide has not committed an 
offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code §250.006(a) and has 
not committed an offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code 
§250.006(b) during the five years before the date the former medica-
tion aide submitted the initial permit application; 

(C) the former medication aide is not listed on the EMR; 
and 

(D) the former medication aide is not listed on the NAR. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 12, 

2016. 
TRD-201604766 
Lawrence Hornsby 
General Counsel 
Department of Aging and Disability Services 
Effective date: October 2, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 15, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4836 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 20. TEXAS WORKFORCE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 809. CHILD CARE SERVICES 
The Texas Workforce Commission (Commission) adopts 
amendments to the following sections of Chapter 809, relating 
to Child Care Services, without changes, as published in the 
June 17, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4394): 

Subchapter B. General Management, §§809.13, 809.15 - 809.17 

Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §§809.42 - 44, 
809.46, 809.48, 809.49, 809.53 

Subchapter D. Parent Rights and Responsibilities, §§809.72, 
809.74, 809.75 

Subchapter E. Requirements to Provide Child Care, §809.95 

Subchapter F. Fraud Fact-Finding and Improper Payments, 
§809.113,§809.115 

The Texas Workforce Commission (Commission) adopts 
amendments to the following sections of Chapter 809, relating 
to Child Care Services, with changes, as published in the June 
17, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4394): 

Subchapter A. General Provisions, §809.2 

Subchapter B. General Management, §809.19, §809.20 

Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §§809.41, 
809.45, 809.47, 809.50, 809.51, 809.54 

Subchapter D. Parent Rights and Responsibilities, §§809.71, 
809.73, 809.78 

Subchapter E. Requirements to Provide Child Care, §§809.91 -
809.94 
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Subchapter F. Fraud Fact-Finding and Improper Payments, 
§§809.111, 809.112, 809.117 

The Commission adopts the following new section to Chapter 
809, relating to Child Care Services, without changes, as pub-
lished in the June 17, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 4394): 

Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §809.52 

The Commission adopts the repeal of the following sections of 
Chapter 809, relating to Child Care Services, without changes, 
as published in the June 17, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 4394): 

Subchapter C. Eligibility for Child Care Services, §809.55 

Subchapter D. Parent Rights and Responsibilities, §809.76, 
§809.77 

Subchapter F. Fraud Fact-Finding and Improper Payments, 
§809.116 

PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 

PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS WITH 
COMMENTS AND RESPONSES 

PART I. PURPOSE, BACKGROUND, AND AUTHORITY 

The purpose of the adopted Chapter 809 rule change is to amend 
the Commission's Child Care Services rules to address changes 
resulting from the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act 
(CCDBG Act) of 2014. The adopted amendments to Chapter 
809 also include, where appropriate, changes in rule language 
based on the Notification of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) is-
sued December 24, 2015, by the U.S. Health and Human Ser-
vices Administration for Children and Families. 

The CCDBG Act authorizes the federal Child Care and De-
velopment Fund (CCDF), which is the primary federal funding 
source for providing child care subsidy assistance to low-income 
families and for improving the quality of care for all children. 
The Texas Workforce Commission (Agency) is the CCDF Lead 
Agency in Texas. The CCDF program is administered by the 
28 Local Workforce Development Boards (Boards). Addition-
ally, the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS) is responsible for administering the health and safety 
requirements of the CCDF program. 

On November 19, 2014, President Obama signed the CCDBG 
Act of 2014, reauthorizing the CCDBG Act for the first time since 
1996. The new law makes significant changes to the CCDF pro-
gram, designed to promote children's healthy development and 
safety, improve the quality of child care, and provide support for 
parents who are working or are in training or education. 

The primary purpose of the Commission's amendments to Chap-
ter 809 is to implement the following changes to the CCDF pro-
gram resulting from the CCDBG Act of 2014: 

Twelve-Month Eligibility Period 

The CCDBG Act of 2014 added a 12-month eligibility and rede-
termination period requirement for children determined eligible 
for subsidized child care. This change to the CCDF program is 
designed to provide more stable assistance to families, protec-
tion for working families, and increased opportunities for children 
to remain in child care services. 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) and (ii) require states to demon-
strate in the CCDF State Plan that after initial eligibility, each 

child who receives assistance will be considered to meet all el-
igibility requirements for such assistance and will receive such 
assistance for not fewer than 12 months before the state or des-
ignated local entity redetermines the eligibility of the child. The 
12-month eligibility period applies regardless of changes in in-
come--as long as income does not exceed the federal threshold 
of 85 percent of the state median income (SMI)--or temporary 
changes in participation in work, training, or educational activi-
ties. 

Therefore, a state shall not terminate assistance prior to the end 
of the 12-month period if the family experiences a temporary job 
loss or temporary change in participation in a training or educa-
tional activity. 

Although the CCDBG Act requires a period of 12-month mini-
mum eligibility and receipt of child care services prior to redeter-
mination, §658E(c)(2)(N)(iii) allows states the option to terminate 
eligibility due to a permanent (nontemporary) change in work, 
training, or education. However, the CCDBG Act requires that 
prior to terminating a subsidy, the state must continue to provide 
child care assistance for a period of at least three months to al-
low parents to engage in job search, resume work, or attend an 
educational or training program as soon as possible. 

Parent Share of Cost during the 12-Month Eligibility Period 

To support continued care throughout the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod, NPRM §98.21(a)(3): 

--prohibits states from increasing the parent share of cost dur-
ing the 12-month eligibility period, regardless of increases in the 
family income; and 

--requires that states act upon information provided by the parent 
that would result in a reduction in the parent share of cost. 

NPRM §98.45(k)(2) requires that the parent share of cost be 
based on income and the size of the family and may be based on 
other factors as appropriate, but may not be based on the cost 
of care or amount of the subsidy payment. 

Income Calculation to Consider Irregular Income Fluctuations 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i)(II) requires that states take into 
consideration irregular fluctuations of earnings when calculating 
income for eligibility. NPRM §98.21(c) further clarifies this re-
quirement by adding that the calculation of income policies en-
sure that temporary increases in income, "including temporary 
increases that result in monthly income exceeding 85 percent of 
SMI (calculated on a monthly basis), do not affect eligibility or 
family co-payments." 

Graduated Phaseout of Eligibility 

Where a Lead Agency or designated local agency has estab-
lished an initial eligibility threshold below 85 percent of SMI, 
CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(iv) requires Lead Agencies to have 
a "Graduated Phaseout of Eligibility" that includes policies and 
procedures to continue child care assistance at the time of rede-
termination for children of parents who are working or attending 
a job training or educational program and whose income has 
risen above the Lead Agency's initial income eligibility threshold 
to qualify for assistance but remains at or below 85 percent of 
SMI. 

Priority and Eligibility for Children Experiencing Homelessness 

CCDBG Act §650E(3)(B)(i) and NPRM §98.46(a)(3) and §98.51 
require states to give priority for services to children experienc-
ing homelessness. NPRM §98.2 defines a "child experiencing 
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homelessness" as a child meeting the definition of homeless-
ness under the McKinney-Vento Homelessness Act of 1987 
(McKinney-Vento Act). 

The NPRM preamble clarifies that Lead Agencies have flexibil-
ity in how they offer priority to these populations, including by 
prioritizing enrollment, waiving copayments, paying higher rates 
for access to higher-quality care, or using grants or contracts to 
reserve slots for priority populations. 

Additionally, the CCDBG Act and the NPRM require that state 
procedures permit enrollment (after an initial eligibility determi-
nation) of children experiencing homelessness while required 
documentation is being obtained. 

Attendance and Provider Reimbursements 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(S) and NPRM §98.45(m) require im-
plementation of provider payment practices that: 

--align with generally accepted payment practices for children 
who do not receive CCDF funds; and 

--support the fixed costs of providing child care services by 
delinking provider payments from a child's occasional absences. 

Consumer Education Information 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E) and NPRM §98.33 require that 
states collect and disseminate, through a consumer-friendly 
and easily accessible website, consumer education information 
to parents of eligible children, the general public, and, where 
applicable, providers regarding: 

--availability of the full diversity of child care services; 

--quality of providers; 

--state processes for licensing, conducting background checks, 
and monitoring child care providers; 

--other programs for which families that receive child care ser-
vices may be eligible; 

--research and best practices concerning children's develop-
ment; and 

--state policies regarding social-emotional behavioral health of 
children. 

Additionally, NPRM §98.33(d) requires that parent consumer ed-
ucation include information on: 

--licensing compliance information for the provider selected by 
the parent; 

--how to submit a complaint regarding a child care provider; 

--how to contact community resources that assist parents in lo-
cating quality child care; and 

--how CCDF subsidies are designed to promote equal access to 
the full range of child care providers. 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E) also requires that Lead Agencies 
provide eligible parents with information on existing resources 
and other services in the state that conduct developmental 
screening and provide referrals and services, when appropriate, 
for children eligible for subsidized child care, including: 

--the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment program; and 

--the Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) and Preschool Program 
for Children with Disabilities developmental screening services. 

PART II. EXPLANATION OF INDIVIDUAL PROVISIONS WITH 
COMMENTS AND RESPONSES 

(Note: Minor editorial changes are made that do not change the 
meaning of the rules and, therefore, are not discussed in the 
Explanation of Individual Provisions.) 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter A: 

§809.2. Definitions 

Attending a Job Training or Educational Program 

Consistent with CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) - (ii), the definition 
of "attending a job training or educational program" is amended 
to clarify that the requirement in the definition that the individual 
be making progress toward successful completion of the pro-
gram as determined by the Board, is only applied at the parent's 
12-month redetermination. 

Consistent with the CCDBG Act, care cannot be discontinued 
during the 12-month eligibility period for failure to make progress 
toward completion of an education or training program. How-
ever, the NPRM allows additional eligibility requirements at the 
12-month redetermination period. Boards must ensure that the 
parent is making progress toward completion of the program, 
as determined by the Board, when redetermining eligibility for 
continued care, but are prohibited from making this a condition 
of eligibility at the parent's initial eligibility determination. When 
developing policies and procedures for determining if the par-
ent is making progress toward completion of the program, the 
Commission cautions against relying solely on the parent's grade 
point average (GPA), particularly one semester's GPA. If a Board 
uses the GPA, the Commission encourages Boards to establish 
a minimum threshold that would demonstrate if a parent has con-
sistently failed to complete coursework during the eligibility pe-
riod. 

The requirement in the definition that the individual must be con-
sidered by the program to be officially enrolled in and meeting 
the attendance requirements of the program is retained with-
out change because enrollment and attendance in the program 
should be maintained throughout the 12-month eligibility period. 
Discontinuing care due to a nontemporary cessation of atten-
dance in a training or education activity during the 12-month el-
igibility period is addressed in §809.51(b). 

As described in amended §809.73, parents are required to re-
port items that impact a family's eligibility during the 12-month 
eligibility period. Boards may develop procedures for confirm-
ing continued enrollment and attendance during the 12-month 
eligibility period, including requesting that education institutions 
and training providers confirm enrollment at each semester and 
the resumption of training classes in order to determine that the 
parent has not had a nontemporary cessation of education or 
training activities. 

The Commission notes that the language in §809.41 regarding 
Board policies for child care during education, including time lim-
its or eligibility based on the type of education pursued by the 
parent, is not changed by these amendments. 

A Child Experiencing Homelessness 

Consistent with NPRM §98.2, §809.2 is amended to add the defi-
nition for a "child experiencing homelessness" as a child meeting 
the definition of homeless pursuant to the McKinney-Vento Act. 
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Child with Disabilities 

The definition of a "child with disabilities" is amended to align 
with the definition under §504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. 

Family 

The definition of a "family" is amended to mirror the Workforce In-
novation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) definition of a family. The 
intent of this change is to clarify, consistent with current practice 
for both the child care and WIOA programs, that the individuals 
in a family are "living in a single household." Additionally, con-
sistent with WIOA, the definition of married individuals includes 
"common-law" marriages. Consistent with the WIOA program 
guidelines, written attestation must be obtained from both par-
ties affirming the common-law marriage. 

Improper Payments 

The definition of "improper payments" is amended to align with 
the current definition of an improper payment in CCDF regula-
tion §98.100(d). The amended §809.2(11) defines an improper 
payment as: 

Any payment of CCDF grant funds that should not have been 
made or that was made in an incorrect amount (including over-
payments and underpayments) under statutory, contractual, ad-
ministrative, or other legally applicable requirements governing 
the administration of CCDF grant funds and includes: 

--to an ineligible recipient; 

--for an ineligible service; 

--for any duplicate payment; and 

--for services not received. 

Regulated Child Care Provider 

The definition of a "regulated child care provider" is amended 
to remove providers licensed by the Texas Department of 
State Health Services (DSHS) as a youth day camp as eligible 
providers of subsidized child care services. 

CCDBG Act §658H and NPRM §98.43 require that states have 
in effect "requirements, policies, and procedures to require and 
conduct criminal background checks for child care staff members 
of all licensed, regulated, or registered child care providers and 
all providers eligible to deliver services." These requirements in-
clude a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) fingerprint check. 
Relative providers are exempt from this requirement, which must 
otherwise be implemented no later than September 30, 2017. 

DSHS youth day camps are not subject to DFPS child care li-
censing and monitoring requirements. DSHS conducts back-
ground checks of staff in compliance with state law for youth 
camps, but unlike the CCDBG Act and NPRM, state law does not 
require an FBI fingerprint criminal background check for youth 
day camp staff. Nonetheless, certain youth day camps may be 
eligible for DFPS to license as child care centers. Therefore, to 
allow sufficient time for day camps that serve subsidized children 
to choose to work with DFPS to become licensed, the Commis-
sion will not implement this provision until September 30, 2017. 

Working 

The definition of "working" is amended to remove job search ac-
tivities from the definition. Child care during periods of cessation 
of work, job training, or education is addressed in §809.51. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly supported the requirement that the par-
ent demonstrate successful progress toward completion of an 
education program only be applied at the 12-month redetermi-
nation date. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Commenters requested that the requirement for the parent to be 
making progress toward successful completion of the education 
program be applied at initial eligibility if the parent is already en-
rolled in an education or job training program. 

Response: 

Past performance in an education or training program should 
not be considered in initial eligibility for child care. The parent's 
progress toward completion of the program should only be based 
on the performance while the parent is receiving child care, as 
the lack of stable child care may have been a contributing factor 
to the parent's inability to work toward successful completion of 
the education or training activity. 

Comment: 

Commenters requested that the criteria for determining if a par-
ent is making progress toward successful completion of an ed-
ucation and/or training program be consistent across the state. 
The commenters stated that allowing various standards in the 
state leads to confusion when a parent moves from one local 
workforce development area (workforce area) to another. One 
commenter stated that there should not be more than one way to 
define the completion of a college course (i.e., grade point aver-
age) and that individual Boards should not have differing criteria 
to determine the extent of progress. Parents deserve to have 
equal access to child care assistance regardless of where they 
live or attend school. 

Response: 

The Commission understands the concerns; however, the Com-
mission believes that this standard should remain a local deci-
sion based on local needs and factors specific to education and 
training programs in the workforce area. Local Workforce Devel-
opment Boards (Boards) are in the best position, based on their 
knowledge of and experience with local training and education 
programs, to make policies regarding the criteria for determining 
whether the parent is making progress toward successful com-
pletion of the program. 

Comment: 

Commenters requested that if a parent is officially enrolled in the 
training or education program and meeting the program's atten-
dance requirements, that should be sufficient documentation for 
a Board to determine that the parent is making progress toward 
program completion. 

Response: 

Boards have the flexibility within the rule to determine that being 
enrolled in and meeting attendance standards of the program 
would meet the Board standard for making progress toward com-
pletion of the program. 

Comment: 

A commenter requested clarification as to whether the parent 
would be eligible for the three-month continued care (described 
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in §809.51) once the Board determines that the minimum thresh-
old for making progress has not been met. 

Response: 

The requirement that the parent is making successful progress 
toward completion of the program is only applied at the 12-month 
eligibility redetermination. If the parent is determined as not 
meeting this requirement at redetermination, then the parent is 
not eligible for care for the next eligibility period (unless the par-
ent meets other eligibility requirements regarding participation in 
work activities). The three-month period of continued care does 
not apply to parents who do not meet the eligibility requirements 
at the 12-month eligibility redetermination. 

Comment: 

One commenter supported the change to the definition of a "child 
with disabilities" to include the language change from "incapable 
of performing" to "substantially limits." The commenter also sup-
ported expanding the definition to include children who may not 
have a formal diagnosis but are "regarded to have a disability," 
as there are many reasons why a child may not have a formal 
diagnosis (e.g., the family does not have access to regular med-
ical care) but would certainly benefit from additional support ser-
vices. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that acceptable forms of documen-
tation to verify impairments listed in the definition of a child with 
disabilities (if required) be specified in the Child Care Services 
Guide. 

Response: 

The definition is based on §504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. 
The Agency will review documentation related to this Act and 
update the Child Care Services Guide accordingly. 

Comment: 

Commenters requested that the definition of a "family" align more 
closely with the WIOA definition, specifically to include the state-
ment that the individuals are "living in a single household," as 
this would clarify the current practice in child care and match 
the WIOA definition. Another commenter stated that aligning the 
definitions would increase opportunities to streamline Board eli-
gibility determination processes. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees and has modified the definition of a 
"family" to mirror, but not replicate, the definition of a family in 
WIOA. Consistent with the current child care practice of includ-
ing all household dependents in the family, the amended rule 
language modifies the WIOA definition to include all household 
dependents, not just the children, in the definition of a family. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification regarding the inclu-
sion of payments "for services not received" in the definition of 
"improper payments." The commenters stated that this appears 
to be in conflict with §809.93(b), which states that providers 
are reimbursed on authorized enrollment, not attendance. The 
commenters stated that "services not delivered" may be read 

to include payments for absences, which is required under 
§809.93(b). 

Response: 

Payment for enrollment is a requirement in the rule, and payment 
for absences is allowed as long as the child remains enrolled 
under a valid authorization for care. The Commission clarifies 
that the term "services not received" in the definition of "improper 
payments" is intended to cover instances in which payment is 
made to a provider without a valid authorization and care was 
not provided. Further, the definition of improper payment is also 
intended to apply to quality improvement activities. It would be 
considered an improper payment if payment is made for a quality 
activity, such as professional development or equipment, and the 
services or equipment were not delivered. 

Comment: 

One commenter supported the new definition of "child experi-
encing homelessness." 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested that the rule language for a 
"child experiencing homelessness" include the statutory lan-
guage from the McKinney-Vento Act for the definition of a child 
experiencing homelessness. The commenters stated that this 
would ensure consistent implementation of the definition. One 
commenter also requested that acceptable forms of documen-
tation to verify compliance with the definition should be included 
in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Response: 

The Child Care Services Guide will provide a link to the per-
tinent section of the McKinney-Vento Act, but actual language 
from that statute will not be included in rule. Doing so would re-
quire keeping the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) updated with 
any changes to the McKinney-Vento Act. Providing a link to the 
most current citation will ensure that the most current definition 
is used. 

Additional guidance regarding the definition of homelessness 
and determining eligibility for children experiencing homeless-
ness will be provided in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly supported the removal of youth day 
camp providers from the definition of a "regulated child care 
provider," and, therefore, being ineligible to serve subsidized 
children. The commenter commends the state on providing ad-
ditional support and an extended timeline for these providers to 
become licensed through DFPS. 

The commenter stated that ensuring the safety of all children, 
regardless of age and placement, by requiring an FBI fingerprint 
criminal background check for youth day camp staff is a respon-
sible state policy. The commenter urges the Commission to con-
sider extending FBI fingerprint criminal background checks to all 
child care providers, regardless of whether they serve subsidized 
children. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. The Commission 
also notes that the CCDBG Act of 2014 requires FBI fingerprint 
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background checks for all licensed, regulated, or registered child 
care providers (excluding eligible relatives), not just providers 
serving subsidized children. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended adding definitions for both "tem-
porary" and "nontemporary" regarding parent status changes in 
work, training, and education activities. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make this change. Temporary 
changes are listed in §809.51(a)(2) and conform to the re-
quirements in the proposed CCDF regulations. Nontemporary 
changes are clarified in §809.51(b) to be "a loss of work or 
cessation of attendance at a job training or educational program 
that does not constitute a temporary change in accordance 
with §809.51(a)(2)." If the status change is not a temporary 
change listed in §809.51(a)(2), then it would be considered a 
nontemporary change. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended adding a definition for a "job 
training program," which is part of the eligibility criteria defined 
in §809.41(a)(3)(B), but is not defined, while the other two 
criteria--educational programs and working--are defined. 

Response: 

The Commission points out that "job training program" is defined 
in §809.2(12). 

SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL MANAGEMENT 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter B: 

§809.13. Board Policies for Child Care Services 

Section 809.13 is amended to remove the requirement in 
subsection (c) for Boards to submit policy modifications, amend-
ments, or new policies to the Commission within two weeks of 
adopting the policy. This section retains the requirement that 
Boards submit Board policies to the Commission upon request. 
The additional requirement to submit changes to policies within 
a specific time frame is redundant. The Commission makes 
this change to reduce administrative burden on both Board and 
Agency staff. Section 809.13 is amended to remove multiple 
Board policy requirements that no longer apply under the 
CCDBG Act. 

Consistent with the CCDBG Act 12-month eligibility period re-
quirement, §809.13 is amended to remove the requirement for 
Boards to have a policy on frequency of eligibility determinations, 
as the frequency is now established under federal law. 

Section 809.13 is amended to remove the option for Boards 
to have a policy to include provider eligibility for nonrelative-
listed family homes. CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(K) requires an-
nual unannounced inspections of all CCDF-subsidized providers 
for compliance with health, safety, and fire standards. Relative 
providers are exempt from this requirement. By state statute, 
listed family homes are not inspected by DFPS child care li-
censing (unless there is a report of abuse or neglect at the facil-
ity). Therefore, under the CCDBG Act, nonrelative listed family 
homes are not eligible to provide CCDF-subsidized services. 

Section 809.13 is amended to remove the requirement that 
Boards establish policies for attendance standards in order to 
be consistent with CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(S), which requires 

that provider reimbursement policies support the fixed costs of 
providing child care services by delinking provider payments 
from a child's occasional absences. Attendance standards are 
established in amended §809.78, and reimbursement policies 
based on enrollments are established in §809.93. 

Section 809.13 is amended to remove the requirement that 
Boards have procedures for imposing sanctions when a parent 
fails to comply with the provisions of the parent responsibility 
agreement (PRA). As explained in the changes to Subchapter 
D, the PRA is no longer a requirement. 

Section 809.13 is amended to remove the requirement that 
Boards have a policy regarding the mandatory waiting period 
for reapplying or being placed on the waiting list. As explained 
in the changes to Subchapter C, the mandatory waiting period 
is no longer required. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that all of the required Board 
policies for child care services be removed from the rules and 
that the Agency standardize all child care rules and provide clear 
intent and implementation direction. In order to ensure equitable 
services be available to all parents, regardless of where the par-
ent resides within the state of Texas, the commenter stated that 
the rules must be standardized and applied consistently across 
all Board areas. 

Response: 

The Commission declines this recommendation. The Chapter 
809 Child Care Services rules provide for Agency oversight of 
the program in order to comply with federal and state laws and 
regulations and to ensure that the rules are applied consistently 
throughout the state. However, state statute requires that child 
care services be administered by Boards and requires that the 
Agency provide Boards with flexibility in administering workforce 
programs, including child care. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly recommended that the Commission 
retain the requirement that Boards submit policy modifications, 
amendments, or new policies to the Agency within two weeks of 
adopting the policy. 

The commenter contended that receiving notice of policy mod-
ifications after their adoption effectively removes all authority 
from the Agency to establish consistent standards. Removing a 
timeline for providing Board policies means that the state may 
be completely unaware of requirements for regulated child care 
providers for an extended period of time, including new policies 
that may be contradictory to federal or state law. Relying on 
the initiative of an individual Board to report changes or waiting 
for Agency staff to proactively ask about new policies is an 
unreliable system for compliance. Contrary to the Commission's 
interpretation, requiring a two-week standing deadline is not 
redundant to offering information only upon request. 

While the commenter acknowledged there is an administrative 
responsibility that may be challenging, the risk of allowing inap-
propriate or possibly noncompliant policies to be implemented 
on a local level is much greater. 

Response: 

The Commission disagrees that receiving notification of policy 
changes after their adoption removes all authority from the 
Agency to establish consistent standards. 
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The Agency and the Agency's Child Care Technical Assistance 
staff review all Board policies prior to conducting technical assis-
tance site visits. Additionally, the Agency's Subrecipient Monitor-
ing department also reviews Board policies prior to monitoring 
visits. Agency staff participates in Board meetings, is aware of 
changes to Board policies as they occur, and responds appropri-
ately and timely if the policies do not comply with Agency rules 
and policies. These routine activities are sufficient to meet the 
Agency's oversight responsibilities. 

§809.15. Promoting Consumer Education 

Section 809.15(b) is amended to clarify that consumer education 
information includes consumer education information provided 
on the Board's website. 

Section 809.15(b)(4) is amended to remove the requirement that 
Boards include in consumer education information for parents a 
description of the school readiness certification system, as the 
program has been discontinued. 

Information on Resources for Developmental Screening 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E)(ii) requires that states provide eli-
gible parents with information on existing resources and other 
services in the state that conduct developmental screening and 
provide referrals to services, when appropriate, for children eli-
gible for subsidized child care regarding: 

--the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment program; and 

--Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) and Preschool Program for 
Children with Disabilities developmental screening services. 

Information on developmental screenings must also include a 
description of how a family or eligible child care provider can 
use available resources and services to obtain developmental 
screenings for children receiving assistance who may be at risk 
for cognitive or other developmental delays, which may include 
social, emotional, physical, or linguistic delays. 

NPRM §98.33(c) clarifies that the developmental screening in-
formation should be made available to parents as part of the in-
take process and to providers through training and education. 

Consistent with CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E)(ii) and NPRM 
§98.33(c), §809.15(b) is amended to add the requirement, 
pursuant to CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E)(ii), that Boards include: 

--information on resources and services available in the work-
force area for conducting developmental screenings and provid-
ing referrals to services when appropriate for children eligible for 
child care services, including the use of: 

--the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment 
program under 42 U.S.C. 1396 et seq.; and 

--developmental screening services available under Part B and 
Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 
U.S.C. 1419, 1431 et seq.); and 

--a link to the Agency's designated child care consumer educa-
tion website. 

The Commission clarifies that Boards are not required to make 
referrals or to ensure that developmental screenings are con-
ducted. The only requirement is that Boards provide information 
to parents regarding available local resources and developmen-
tal screenings. 

Additional information and guidance regarding the manner in 
which information on developmental screenings is made avail-
able will be provided by the Agency through updates to the Child 
Care Services Guide. Additionally, the Agency is working with 
statewide training partners regarding making training and edu-
cation on developmental screenings available to providers. 

The Commission also notes that this provision does not affect 
the rules, policies, and procedures currently in place regarding 
approval of the inclusion rate pursuant to §809.20(e). 

Consumer Education 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(E) and NPRM §98.33 require that 
states collect and disseminate consumer education information 
to parents of eligible children, the general public, and, where 
applicable, providers regarding: 

--availability of the full diversity of child care services; 

--quality of providers; 

--state processes for licensing, conducting background checks, 
and monitoring child care providers; 

--other programs for which families that receive child care ser-
vices may be eligible; 

--research and best practices concerning children's develop-
ment; and 

--state policies regarding social-emotional behavioral health of 
children. 

Additional information and guidance regarding the manner in 
which consumer education information is made available will be 
provided by the Agency through updates to the Child Care Ser-
vices Guide, including guidance on: 

--providing licensing compliance information; 

--making consumer education information available in printed 
form; and 

--ensuring consumer education information is accessible to both 
individuals with disabilities and individuals with limited English 
proficiency. 

Additionally, NPRM §98.33(d) requires that parent consumer ed-
ucation include information on: 

--licensing compliance information of the provider selected by 
the parent; 

--how to submit a complaint regarding a child care provider; 

--how to contact community resources that assist parents in lo-
cating quality child care; and 

--how CCDF subsidies are designed to promote equal access to 
the full range of child care providers. 

All consumer education required by the final CCDF regulations is 
available on the Texas Child Care Solutions website at www.tex-
aschildcaresolutions.org. 

Section 809.15 is amended to require that Boards provide a link 
to the Agency's designated child care consumer education web-
site as part of the consumer education information provided to 
parents. 

Comment: 

Commenters requested additional information on how referrals 
for developmental screenings will be made and if a referral 
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to 2-1-1 Texas would be sufficient. One commenter inquired 
whether the Agency will be providing the Boards with infor-
mation on existing resources and services available within the 
workforce area for developmental screenings. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that there is no requirement that a re-
ferral for developmental screening is made. The rule language 
only requires that information be included in consumer educa-
tion materials regarding resources and services for conducting 
developmental screenings, and providing referrals is included in 
consumer education materials. The information provided to par-
ents will state how the parent can connect with the resources. 

The Agency will provide information to Boards in the Child Care 
Services Guide on procedures for providing information to par-
ents regarding screenings, including links to state websites and 
the option to provide printed materials. Additional information 
specific to resources in the workforce area should be provided 
by the Board. 

§809.16. Quality Improvement Activities 

Section 809.16 is amended to remove outdated CCDF regula-
tory citations. The current CCDF regulations are being amended 
by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the 
NPRM language has changed citations for quality improvement 
activities and the use of CCDF for construction. Further, the list 
of allowable quality activities in the CCDF regulations has been 
expanded to include quality activities listed in the CCDBG Act. 
Section 809.16 removes the specific citations list of quality activ-
ities, and replaces it with the general reference for CCDF in 45 
C.F.R., Part 98. 

§809.17. Leveraging Local Resources 

Section 809.17 is amended with language moved, without 
changes, from Subchapter C §809.42(c) related to public entities 
certifying expenditures for direct child care, as the language is 
more relevant to the local match process described in §809.17 
than to eligibility for child care services described in §809.42(c). 

Comment: 

One commenter requested additional information on the expec-
tations of how the public entity shall verify that children meet el-
igibility requirements. 

Response: 

The Commission notes that there are no changes to the rule 
provisions. Guidance regarding the requirements for local match 
is provided in Section C-202-a of the Child Care Services Guide. 

§809.19. Assessing the Parent Share of Cost 

Parent Share of Cost during the 12-Month Eligibility Period 

To support continued care throughout the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod, NPRM §98.21(a)(3): 

--prohibits states from increasing the parent share of cost dur-
ing the 12-month eligibility period, regardless of increases in the 
family income; and 

--requires that states act upon information provided by the parent 
that would result in a reduction in the parent share of cost. 

Consistent with the NPRM, §809.19(a) is amended to add the 
requirement that the parent share of cost is assessed only at the 
following times: 

--Initial eligibility determination; 

--12-month eligibility redetermination; 

--The addition of a child in care; 

--Upon a parent's report of a change in income, family size, or 
number of children in care that would result in a reduced parent 
share of cost assessment; and 

--Upon resumption of work, job training, or education activities 
following temporary changes described in §809.51(a)(2) and 
during the three-month continuation of care period described in 
§809.51(c). 

In order to ensure compliance with the requirement in the NPRM 
that prohibits states from increasing the parent share of cost dur-
ing the 12-month eligibility period, regardless of increases in the 
family income, the Commission adds §809.19(a)(1)(D), requiring 
Boards to ensure that the parent share of cost amount does not 
increase above the amount assessed at initial eligibility or at the 
12-month eligibility redetermination, except upon the addition of 
a child in care as described in §809.19(a)(1)(C)(iii). 

Additionally, the Commission amends §809.19(a)(2)(A) - (B) to 
clarify that parents participating in Choices or Supplemental Nu-
trition and Assistance Program Employment and Training (SNAP 
E&T), as well as a parent in Choices child care at §809.45 or 
SNAP E&T child care at §809.47, are exempt from the parent 
share of cost for the 12-month eligibility period. 

Basing the Parent Share of Cost on the Cost of Care or Subsidy 
Amount 

NPRM §98.45(k)(2) requires that the parent share of cost be 
based on income and the size of the family and may be based on 
other factors as appropriate, but may not be based on the cost 
of care or amount of the subsidy payment. 

Section 809.19 is amended to remove the provision that the 
assessed parent share of cost must not exceed the Board's 
maximum reimbursement rate or the provider's published rate, 
whichever is lower. This provision is contrary to the requirement 
in the NPRM that the assessed parent share of cost must not be 
based on the cost of care or the amount of the subsidy payment. 

The parent share of cost must only be based on the following 
factors: 

--the family's size and income; and 

--may also consider the number of children in care and parent 
selection of a provider certified by the Texas Rising Star (TRS) 
program, as described in §809.19(a)(1)(B). 

The Commission retains the rule language in §809.19(d) that 
allows Boards to review the assessed parent share of cost for 
possible reduction if there are extenuating circumstances that 
jeopardize a family's self-sufficiency. However, this reduction 
shall not be based on the Board's maximum reimbursement rate 
or the provider's published rate. 

The Commission notes that the current rules at §809.19(d) allow 
Boards to review the assessed parent share of cost for possible 
reductions if there are extenuating circumstances that jeopar-
dize a family's self-sufficiency. Extenuating circumstances in-
clude unexpected temporary costs such as medical expenses 
and work-related expenses that are not reimbursed by the em-
ployer. The Commission is aware that some Boards may allow 
a limited number of these reductions during the eligibility period. 
Such policies are still allowed, but Boards must ensure that the 
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parent share of cost is reduced any time the parent reports a 
change in income, family size, or number of children in care that 
would result in a reduced parent share of cost. 

The Commission further notes that amended §809.73 requires 
that parents report such changes within 14 calendar days of the 
change. Changes in the parent share of cost should be made at 
the beginning of the month following the reported change. If the 
parent does not report the change within that time period, the 
Board is not required to make the change retroactive from the 
actual date of the reduction. 

The Commission is also aware that some Boards reduce the 
parent share of cost for a limited period of time during the initial 
eligibility period in order to assist the parent, particularly newly 
employed parents, with the parent share of cost. This remains 
an allowable practice under §809.19(d) regarding a reduction of 
the assessed parent share of cost. After this initial reduction, 
the parent share of cost may be regularly assessed based on 
the family size and income and number of children in care, as 
required by §809.19(a)(1)(B). 

Exemptions for Parents of Children Experiencing Homelessness 

CCDBG Act §650E(3)(B)(i) and NPRM §98.46(a)(3) and §98.51 
require that states give priority for services to children experi-
encing homelessness. The NPRM preamble clarifies that Lead 
Agencies have flexibility as to how they offer priority to these 
populations, including by prioritizing enrollment, waiving copay-
ments, paying higher rates for access to higher-quality care, or 
using grants or contracts to reserve slots for priority populations. 

Section 809.19(a)(2) is amended to require that parents of a child 
receiving child care for children experiencing homelessness de-
scribed in §809.52 be exempt from the parent share of cost. 

The Commission emphasizes that pursuant to §809.19(e), the 
Board or its child care contractor shall not waive the assessed 
parent share of cost unless the parent is covered by an exemp-
tion specified in §809.19(a)(2). 

Parent Share of Cost Incentives to Consider Selection of a TRS-
Certified Provider 

NPRM §98.30(h) includes provisions designed to provide par-
ents with incentives that encourage the selection of high-qual-
ity child care without violating parental choice provisions. The 
NPRM provides states with flexibility in determining what types 
of incentives to use to encourage parents to choose high-quality 
providers, including the option to lower the parent share of cost 
for parents who choose a high-quality provider. 

Consistent with NPRM §98.30(h) and to encourage parents to 
select a TRS-certified provider, and, thus, encourage greater 
provider participation in the TRS program, the Commission adds 
§809.19(g) to allow Boards to reduce the assessed parent share 
of cost amount based on the parent's selection of a TRS-certi-
fied provider. 

If a Board elects to have such a policy, the policy must ensure 
that the parent continues to receive the reduction if: 

--the TRS provider loses TRS certification; or 

--the parent moves or changes employment within the workforce 
area and no TRS-certified providers are available to meet the 
needs of the parent's changed circumstances. 

However, the policy must also ensure that the parent no longer 
receives the reduction if the parent voluntarily transfers the child 
from a TRS-certified provider to a non-TRS-certified provider. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification regarding the 
requirements surrounding reductions in the assessed parent 
share of cost amount. 

Several Boards requested that the reduction of the parent share 
of cost during a three-month continuation of care period after the 
nontemporary employment loss be considered a temporary re-
duction and the parent share of cost be reassessed if the parent 
resumes activities during the three-month period. 

Similarly, several Boards requested to reassess a parent share 
of cost when the parent resumes activities following a tempo-
rary loss of employment. This is not stated in the proposed rule 
change. Without the ability to reassess the parent share of cost 
upon gaining new employment or resuming the parent share of 
cost originally established, the parent share of cost would remain 
at the reduced amount through the remainder of the eligibility pe-
riod. 

Response: 

The Commission has added clarification language at 
§809.19(a)(1)(C)(v) to allow for a reassessment of the parent 
share of cost upon the resumption of work, job training, or 
education activities following temporary changes described in 
§809.51(a)(2) and following nontemporary changes described 
in §809.51(c). 

However, in order to ensure compliance with the requirement 
in NPRM that prohibits states from increasing the parent 
share of cost during the 12-month eligibility period, regard-
less of increases in the family income, the Commission adds 
§809.19(a)(1)(D) requiring Boards to ensure that the parent 
share of cost amount does not increase above the amount 
assessed at initial eligibility or at the 12-month eligibility redeter-
mination, except upon the addition of a new child in care. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification regarding whether 
or not reductions made for extenuating circumstances are re-
quired to be permanent for the remainder of the eligibility period. 
The commenters recommended that reductions in parent share 
of cost due to extenuating circumstances in §809.19(d) be tem-
porary and that the parent share of cost return to its previous rate 
once the extenuating circumstances no longer exist. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees and has modified the language in 
§809.19(d) to clarify that the reductions due to extenuating 
circumstances are temporary and that following the temporary 
reduction, the parent share of cost amount immediately prior to 
the temporary reduction shall be reinstated. 

Comment: 

One commenter suggested that the language in 
§809.19(a)(1)(C)(iii) regarding the amount added to the parent 
share of cost upon the addition of a child in care should read 
"an additional amount for the family" instead of an additional 
amount "for the child." 

Response: 

The Commission has modified the language in 
§809.19(a)(1)(C)(iii) to streamline the rules by stating that the 
reassessment is done upon the addition of a child in care. 

Comment: 
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Several commenters requested clarification on the parent share 
of cost reduction based on the parent's selection of a TRS-cer-
tified provider. In light of the requirement that the assessed par-
ent share of cost amount cannot increase during the eligibility 
period, the commenters asked if the reduction would continue if 
the parent transfers to a non-TRS-certified provider. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has made 
changes to the proposed rule language to add §809.19(g) to 
clarify the requirements for TRS parent share of cost reduction. 

The Commission has removed the proposed language that the 
selection of a TRS provider is a factor in the parent share of 
cost assessment. Instead, the rule language in §809.19(g) is 
intended to clarify that the selection of a TRS provider would be, 
at the Board's option, a reduction of the amount of the parent 
share of cost assessed in §809.19(a)(1). 

The parent would continue to receive the applicable TRS re-
duction through the end of the eligibility period, if during the 
12-month period, the TRS provider selected by the parent loses 
TRS certification, or the parent moves or changes employment 
and no TRS providers are available to meet the needs of the par-
ent's changed circumstance. 

However, if the parent voluntarily transfers the child from a qual-
ity provider to a non-quality provider, then the parent would no 
longer be eligible for the TRS reduction. 

Comment: 

As will be discussed in §809.45, regarding Choices child care, 
and §809.47, regarding SNAP E&T child care, several com-
menters requested clarification regarding the parent share of 
cost exemption for parents participating in Choices and SNAP 
E&T. Commenters suggested ending the exemption from the 
parent share of cost once the parent stops participating in 
Choices or SNAP E&T. 

Additionally, several commenters requested that the parent 
share of cost exemption for parents of children experiencing 
homelessness should end and a parent share of cost be as-
sessed if the parent becomes employed or is otherwise eligible 
for At-Risk child care, following the initial three-month eligibility 
period for homeless children. 

Response: 

Consistent with the NPRM requirement §98.21(a)(3) that pro-
hibits states from increasing the parent share of cost during the 
12-month eligibility period, regardless of increases in the family 
income, the exemption from the parent share of cost for parents 
in Choices child care at §809.45 and SNAP E&T child care at 
§809.47 must continue during the 12-month eligibility period. 

Accordingly, the Commission has modified §809.19(a)(2)(A) -
(B) to clarify that parents participating in Choices or SNAP E&T, 
as well as parents in Choices child care at §809.45 or SNAP E&T 
child care at §809.47, are exempt from the parent share of cost. 
This change clarifies that the parent share of cost exemption is 
retained throughout the eligibility period, even if the parent's par-
ticipation in these programs changes. 

Similarly, the Commission has also modified §809.19(a)(2)(C) to 
state that parents with children receiving child care for children 
experiencing homelessness, as described in §809.52, are ex-
empt from the parent share of cost. This change clarifies that 

the parent share of cost exemption is retained throughout the el-
igibility period, even if the child's homelessness status changes. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly supported the option for Boards to con-
sider the parent selection of a TRS-certified provider in assess-
ing the parent share of cost. Reducing the parent share of cost, 
along with increasing the provider's payment rate for selection 
and participation in the TRS program, are effective strategies 
to encourage parents to select a TRS-certified provider and to 
encourage greater provider participation in the TRS program. 
The commenter encouraged the Commission to consider ex-
tending this as a requirement for all Boards. The commenter 
also strongly urged the Commission to ensure Boards secure 
funding to set their TRS-certified provider reimbursement rate 
bonus at a level that accommodates any reduction in the parent 
share of cost without reducing eligibility or creating a waiting list. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the support. However, the Com-
mission declines to require this of all Boards. The decision to 
include the TRS parent share of cost reduction should remain a 
local decision as determined by the Board--taking into consider-
ation the need for such an incentive and the availability of funds 
at the local level. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that the Commission clarify in 
the rule language that the Board's consideration of parent se-
lection of a TRS-certified provider result in the reduction of the 
parent share of cost, as intended by the Commission's rule ex-
planation of NPRM §98.30(h). The current proposed rule lan-
guage leaves the interpretation of "consider" too vague. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and, as explained 
previously, the Commission has modified the language and 
added §809.19(g) to clarify that this is a reduction in the as-
sessed parent share of cost, at the Board's discretion. 

Comment: 

One commenter disagreed that the selection of a TRS-certified 
provider as a consideration in the parent share of cost assess-
ment will encourage providers to participate in the TRS program. 
Providers are required to collect the parent share of cost at the 
beginning of the month, and reducing the amount collected at 
the beginning of the month will not encourage providers to be-
come TRS-certified. The commenter recommended that if the 
parent share of cost is reduced for selecting a TRS provider, then 
the TRS provider should be reimbursed at the beginning of the 
month based on the enrollment authorization. 

Response: 

The Commission's intent is for Boards, at their option, to provide 
incentives for parents to choose a TRS-certified provider, and, 
as a result, encourage more providers to become TRS certified 
in order for the parent to take advantage of this incentive. 

The Commission understands the payment issue described by 
the commenter and notes that amendments to §809.93 change 
reimbursements from being based on daily attendance to being 
based on authorized monthly enrollments. The Commission de-
clines to provide reimbursements prior to the delivery of services 
under that authorization to account for instances in which the au-
thorization may change during the week or month. This is also 
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consistent with the general principle that reimbursements using 
public funds occurs following the delivery of services. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that the Commission allow Boards 
to waive the parent share of cost for families at or below 100 
percent of the federal poverty guidelines, as allowed under the 
CCDF regulations. This would align with income limits for Early 
Head Start and Head Start and would help Boards coordinate 
with local partners in providing "wraparound care" for families. 

Response: 

Pursuant to §809.19(e), the Commission has waived the par-
ent share of cost only to parents in an exempted group in 
§809.19(a)(2). However, the requirement that the parent share 
of cost be a sliding fee scale based on income and family size is 
intended to result in the parent share of cost amount starting at 
a low amount for families with very low incomes and gradually 
increase as the family moves to higher income ranges for the 
same family size. Families at or below 100 percent of poverty 
would have a lower parent share of cost than families at higher 
income ranges. Additionally, pursuant to §809.19(f), families 
whose income is calculated to be zero shall have a zero parent 
share of cost. 

Comment: 

One commenter did not agree with prohibiting increases in par-
ent share of cost if a parent or family experiences an income 
increase during the eligibility period. 

Response: 

The Commission notes that the rule reflects requirements in the 
NPRM. The intent of the rule is described in the preamble to the 
NPRM as follows: 

The limitation on raising copayments, by protecting the child's 
benefit level for the minimum 12-month eligibility period, is con-
sistent with the statutory requirement that once deemed eligi-
ble, a child shall 'receive such assistance for not less than 12 
months.' Raising copayments earlier than the 12-month period 
could potentially destabilize the child's access to assistance and 
has the unintended consequence of forcing working parents to 
choose between advancing in the workplace and child care as-
sistance. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification regarding current 
Board policies that allow for reductions in the parent share of 
cost based on factors other than the selection of a TRS-certified 
provider. Specifically, the commenters inquired whether the 
Boards are allowed to reduce the assessed parent share of 
cost based on the level of care authorized (e.g., part-day or 
part-week). 

Response: 

Pursuant to §809.19(a)(1)(B), the amount of the parent share of 
cost, including any reduction pursuant to §809.19(a)(1)(C)(iv), 
due to changes during the eligibility period, is determined by a 
sliding fee scale based on the family's size and gross monthly 
income and may also take into consideration the number of chil-
dren in care. Those are the only factors allowed to determine 
the amount of the parent share of cost. 

Reductions to that assessed amount are only allowed if the re-
duction is: 

--temporary due to extenuating circumstances (§809.19(d)); or 

--based on the selection of a TRS-certified provider (§809.19(g)). 

NPRM §98.45(k)(2) prohibits the parent share of cost from being 
based on the cost of care or the subsidy amount. Basing the 
parent share of cost on the level of services would be considered 
as basing the parent share of cost on the cost of care or the 
subsidy amount. 

Reductions for "part-day" and "part-week" care do not meet the 
intent of the NPRM or §809.19(d) (regarding reductions due to 
extenuating circumstances), as these reductions are based on 
the level of services, and not based on family income, family 
size, number of children in care, temporary extenuating circum-
stances, or the selection of a TRS provider, as required in the 
rule. Therefore, these reductions are not allowable. 

As mentioned in the explanation on the rule changes, the 
Commission amended §809.19 to remove the provision that 
the assessed parent share of cost must not exceed the Board's 
maximum reimbursement rate or the provider's published rate, 
whichever is lower. This provision is contrary to the requirement 
in the NPRM that the assessed parent share of cost must not be 
based on the cost of care or the amount of the subsidy payment. 

The Commission acknowledges that this type of reduction was 
allowed previously; however, upon review of the rules that have 
been in place, these reductions do not conform to the require-
ments in the NPRM. 

Comment: 

Many commenters expressed concerns regarding parents who 
may fail to pay the parent share of cost as terminating care 
because the failure to pay the parent share of cost is no longer 
allowed during the eligibility period. Commenters inquired if 
Boards may continue to have a policy that limits transfers to 
another provider if the parent owes a parent share of cost at 
the current provider. The commenters expressed concerns that 
parents should be held responsible during the eligibility period 
for failure to pay the parent share of cost. 

Commenters expressed concerns that the only option to enforce 
the parent share of cost would be to require Boards to have a 
policy that reimburses the provider, and the parent would not be 
allowed back into care at the 12-month eligibility redetermination 
until the amount is repaid. 

One Board requested consideration to use a suspension 
process when parents do not pay their assigned parent share of 
cost, similar to the suspensions allowed for excessive absences. 
The Board does not want to pay the parent share of cost to the 
provider when the parent does not pay, as the Board believes 
this will be setting a negative precedent. The Board specifically 
requested to be allowed to withhold a transfer or suspend care 
until the parent has paid the parent share of cost to the provider 
in full. 

Response: 

Boards may prohibit transfers or allow a certain number of trans-
fers if a parent is not current on the parent share of cost, as 
long as it does not have the effect of terminating care during the 
12-month period. A Board cannot terminate care during the eligi-
bility period for a parent's failure to pay the parent share of cost. 

Providers should report timely for failure to pay the parent share 
of cost, and Board child care contractors should work with par-
ents to determine why the payments are not being made and 
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possibly temporarily reduce the parent share of cost if neces-
sary. 

Pursuant to §809.13(c)(3), at their option, Boards may choose 
to have a policy to reimburse the provider when a parent fails 
to pay the parent share of cost. Where the Board has such a 
policy, pursuant to §809.117(d)(3), the Board must recoup the 
costs at the next eligible determination. Where a parent fails to 
fully repay the cost, the parent is not eligible until the repayment 
is made, pursuant to §809.117(e). 

To ensure continuity of care for children and to assist working 
parents with child care, suspensions should only occur in in-
stances in which the parent determines that care is not needed 
for a temporary amount of time (such as temporary interruptions 
in activities, or other reasons as determined by the parent that 
may affect the child's continued attendance). However, failure 
to pay the parent share of cost is not a reason for the child care 
contractor to suspend care, as it is not a factor in demonstrating 
that care is not needed for a temporary amount of time. 

As explained in §809.51, regarding care during interruptions 
in activities, the preamble to the NPRM notes that, consistent 
with §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) of the CCDBG Act, "during the minimum 
12-month eligibility period Lead Agencies also may not end or 
suspend child care authorization or provider payments due to 
a temporary change in a parent's work, training, or education 
status." Consistent with this guidance, a Board or a Board child 
care contractor cannot suspend a child's care for the parent's 
failure to pay the parent share of cost. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if a provider is allowed to end enroll-
ment at the provider's facility if a parent fails to pay the parent 
share of cost and if those practices are in the provider's estab-
lished policies. 

Response: 

Yes, a provider may discontinue care at the provider's facility, 
consistent with established policies related to parents who do not 
pay for the services provided. However, this must not result in 
the contractor's termination of the child's eligibility for the subsidy 
during the 12-month eligibility period. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if a new redetermination is conducted 
and a new parent share of cost assessed if the parents get mar-
ried, have a baby, or add a sibling to care. 

Response: 

Pursuant to §809.42, family eligibility can only be redetermined 
at the 12-month eligibility period. Changes in family composition 
or the addition of a child in care are not factors in eligibility rede-
termination. If the changes result in a change in family size that 
would result in a reduced parent share of cost, then such reduc-
tion must be made. However, the parent share of cost cannot be 
increased based on the increase in income during the 12-month 
period. The addition of a new baby or sibling to care would con-
stitute a change to the number of children to which the parent 
share of cost is applied. Additional guidance on how to apply the 
parent share of cost for changes in family size amount added for 
the child will be provided in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding the phrase in 
the preamble that the parent share of cost may be based on 
"other factors as appropriate." 

Response: 

This is CCDF regulatory language quoted in the preamble. In 
Chapter 809 rules, "other factors as appropriate" are set out in 
§809.19(a)(1)(B) regarding the number of children in care. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if parents with currently enrolled chil-
dren will be able to request their parent share of cost to be re-
duced due to new exclusions of income sources in §809.44. The 
commenter suggested parents must wait until January 1, 2017, 
to request a parent share of cost to be reevaluated or until signifi-
cant status change occurs or the case comes up for review. This 
will assist Board contractor staff in managing workload. Other-
wise, there will be a significant need for overtime in order for all 
these cases to be processed timely due to the majority of par-
ents who receive some other income besides income received 
from work. 

Response: 

The income calculation in §809.44 is used to determine family 
income at the following points: 

--Initial eligibility determination; 

--12-month redetermination; and 

--When a parent reports a change in income that would result in 
a lower parent share of cost or result in the family exceeding 85 
percent of SMI. 

Beginning on October 1, 2016, the new income calculation 
methodology for continued eligibility and the parent share of cost 
assessment will be used at the family's scheduled redetermina-
tion. Upon the effective date of the rules, parents with children 
currently enrolled in care may report a change in family income 
or family size that could result in a reduction of the parent share 
of cost, and the parent share of cost will be calculated under the 
new income calculation guidelines. At their discretion, Boards 
may determine whether to consider a reevaluation of family 
income or family size as a redetermination. If Boards choose to 
do so, the requirements of §809.42 apply. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the reference to §809.54(c)(1) 
in the proposed §809.19(a)(2)(D) is incorrect. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and agrees. This 
was an error in the proposed rules. The reference should be to 
§809.54(c), as paragraph (1) has been removed from the final 
rules. 

§809.20. Maximum Provider Reimbursement Rates 

Section 809.20(b) is amended to remove the requirement that 
Boards establish enhanced reimbursement rates for preschool-
age children at providers that obtain school readiness certifica-
tion, as the school readiness certification system has been dis-
continued. 

Section 809.20(c) is amended to remove the September 1, 2015, 
effective date for the TRS tiered reimbursement rates as these 
requirements are currently in effect. 
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Section 809.20(d) is amended to clarify in rule language the cur-
rent requirement and practice that there must be a two percent-
age point difference between the TRS star levels. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the reference to §809.93(e) in 
the proposed §809.20(a) is incorrect. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and agrees. This 
was an error in the proposed rules. The reference should be to 
§809.93(f), and this has been corrected in the final rules. 

SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter C: 

§809.41. A Child's General Eligibility for Child Care Services 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) requires that each child who re-
ceives CCDF assistance be considered to meet all eligibility re-
quirements and receive assistance for not less than 12 months 
before eligibility redetermination. NPRM §98.20 clarifies that 
general eligibility requirements are applicable "at the time of el-
igibility determination or redetermination." 

Consistent with CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) and NPRM 
§98.20, §809.41 is amended to add language clarifying that a 
child's general eligibility requirements--i.e., child's age, citizen-
ship status, and residency, and the family's income, work status, 
and attendance in a job training or educational activity--are 
applied at the time of eligibility determination or redetermination. 
Changes to the child's age or residency, the family's income, 
participation in work, job training, or education activities that 
occur during the 12-month eligibility period and affect the child's 
continued care and eligibility are covered in §809.42. 

The CCDBG Act revised the definition of eligibility at §658P(4)(B) 
so that, in addition to being at or below 85 percent of SMI for 
a family of the same size, the "family assets do not exceed 
$1,000,000 (as certified by a member of such family)." This 
requirement is included in NPRM §98.20(a)(2)(ii). 

Section 809.41(a)(3)(A) is amended to include this requirement 
and clarify that a family member must certify that the family as-
sets do not exceed the $1,000,000 threshold. This certification 
will be based on the parent's self-attestation and will be included 
in the application for services. Boards are not required to verify 
this certification; however, if it is discovered that the family may 
exceed the $1 million asset threshold, the parent may be subject 
to fraud fact-finding procedures, as described in Subchapter F. 
Additional guidance will be provided in the Child Care Services 
Guide. 

As mentioned previously, CCDBG Act §650E(3)(B)(i) and NPRM 
§98.46(a)(3) and §98.51 require states to give priority for ser-
vices to children experiencing homelessness. The NPRM pre-
amble clarifies that Lead Agencies have flexibility as to how they 
offer priority to this population. 

Consistent with this requirement, §809.41(a)(2)(A) is amended 
to include language that families meeting the definition of expe-
riencing homelessness in §809.2 are considered as having in-
come that does not exceed 85 percent of SMI. Therefore, Boards 
are not required to conduct income eligibility determinations for 
families with a child experiencing homelessness. 

Section 809.41 is amended to remove subsection (d) related to 
job search limitations. Continued child care for job search is 
described in §809.51. 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(iv) requires Lead Agencies to have 
a "Graduated Phaseout of Eligibility" that includes policies and 
procedures to continue child care assistance at the time of rede-
termination for children of parents who are working or attending 
a job training or educational program and whose income has 
risen above the Lead Agency's initial income eligibility threshold 
to qualify for assistance but remains at or below 85 percent of 
SMI. 

NPRM §98.21(b) provides two options for states to use for the 
CCDBG Act's graduated phaseout requirement. The phaseout 
can be accomplished either by: 

--establishing a second tier of eligibility at 85 percent of SMI if the 
parents, at the time of redetermination, are working or attending 
a job training or educational program, even if their income ex-
ceeds the initial income limit; or 

--using the approach specified above, but only for a limited pe-
riod of not less than an additional 12 months. 

Section 809.41 is amended to add language requiring that 
Boards that establish initial family income eligibility at a level 
less than 85 percent of the SMI must ensure that the family 
remains eligible for care after passing the Board's initial income 
eligibility limit, up to 85 percent of SMI. 

This language is consistent with NPRM §98.21(b)(1)(i), which 
provides the option to require that the family remain income-el-
igible for care after passing the initial income eligibility limit, in-
cluding at the family's scheduled 12-month eligibility redetermi-
nation, as long as the family income does not exceed 85 percent 
of SMI. 

In determining whether the family exceeds 85 percent of SMI, the 
Board shall use income calculation methodology and guidance 
that take into consideration fluctuations of income pursuant to 
§809.44(a). 

The Commission notes that Boards are not required to estab-
lish initial family income eligibility at a level less than 85 percent 
of the SMI. The graduated phaseout requirements only apply to 
Boards that have established income eligibility thresholds pur-
suant to §809.41(a) that are less than 85 percent of the SMI. 
Boards are reminded that the establishment of income eligibil-
ity thresholds must be done in accordance with requirements for 
Board approving policies in an Open Meeting. 

Comment: 

Two commenters inquired if there is a federal requirement that 
WIOA-funded child care follow requirements in the CCDBG Act 
and the NPRM. The comments stated that Boards should be al-
lowed to use WIOA funds for child care services without requiring 
the 12-month eligibility if the WIOA customer ends WIOA partic-
ipation. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has amended 
§809.41 to add paragraph (f) to state that Subchapter C applies 
only to child care services using CCDF allocated by the Agency 
pursuant to its allocation rules at Chapter 800 General Adminis-
tration rule §800.58, and local public transferred funds and local 
private donated funds described in §809.17. 

Comment: 
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One commenter requested clarification regarding the provision 
in §809.41(c) related to time limits for child care if the parent is 
enrolled in an associate's degree program that will prepare the 
parent for a job in a high-growth, high-demand occupation as de-
termined by the Board. The commenter suggested that this lan-
guage be changed to read a "postsecondary degree program" 
and not specify the degree, as there is no Agency definition for 
what constitutes a high-growth, high-demand occupation. Ad-
ditionally, the commenter asked what happens to eligibility if a 
parent is meeting eligibility requirements in one workforce area 
with his or her enrollment in an educational program but moves to 
another area and no longer meets eligibility due to a program/oc-
cupation not being on the new Board's list, since high-growth, 
high-demand occupation lists can vary significantly across the 
state. The commenter also requested clarification to confirm that 
students' career fields no longer will need to be attached to a tar-
geted or demand occupation list. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make the requested changes. To 
clarify, there is no requirement in Chapter 809 that a student's 
career field must be attached to a target or demand occupation 
in order to be eligible for child care services. However, a Board 
may choose to have a local policy that places this restriction as 
a condition of eligibility pursuant to §809.41(b) and §809.41(c), 
which require four years of eligibility if the parent is enrolled in 
such a degree program. 

Section 809.41(b) allows Boards to establish policies for the pro-
vision of child care, including time limits, for the provision of child 
care services while the parent is attending an educational pro-
gram. Section 809.41(c) requires that the time limits must ensure 
child care for four years if the parent is enrolled in a high-growth, 
high-demand occupation as determined by the Board. However, 
the provisions in §809.41(b) - (c) do not require parents to be in 
such a program leading to a high-growth, high-demand, or tar-
geted occupation, absent a local policy placing this restriction. 

Regarding the issue of a parent with an enrolled child moving 
to a workforce area that has a different educational requirement 
for eligibility, the educational eligibility requirement of the new 
Board can only be applied at the parent's scheduled 12-month 
redetermination. 

§809.42. Eligibility Verification, Determination, and Redetermi-
nation 

Section 809.42 is amended to include rule provisions related to 
eligibility verification, determination, and redetermination consis-
tent with the CCDBG Act. 

Section 809.42(a) is amended to emphasize that a Board shall 
ensure that all eligibility requirements for child care are verified 
prior to authorizing care. Due to the requirement in CCDBG Act 
§658E(c)(2)(N)(i) that each child who receives CCDF assistance 
will be considered to meet all eligibility requirements and will re-
ceive assistance for not less than 12 months before the eligibility 
is redetermined, it is critical that eligibility is properly and accu-
rately verified prior to authorizing care. 

Consistent with CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) and NPRM 
§98.21, amended §809.42(b) requires that Boards ensure that 
eligibility for child care services shall be redetermined no sooner 
than 12 months following the initial determination or most recent 
redetermination. 

Comment: 

Several commenters strongly supported the establishment of 
a 12-month eligibility period. One commenter stated that this 
supports continuity of care for children while allowing for wage 
growth for families on a path toward economic stability. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter expressed concern that the 12-month eligibility 
period in §809.42 will result in fewer children receiving child care 
services in Texas and across the nation unless there is additional 
funding for the child care portion of services. The result will be 
an increase in an already long waiting list for services. The com-
menter understands that this eligibility period is a requirement 
of the CCDBG Act; however, there may be unintended conse-
quences that affect the ability to realistically move people back 
into the workforce. 

Response: 

The Agency agrees that the changes are required due to the 
changes in the CCDBG Act, and the Agency provided comments 
to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Adminis-
tration for Children and Families (ACF) on the potential impact to 
the number of children in care. The Agency will very closely mon-
itor the impact of the 12-month eligibility period on the number of 
children served and associated costs and any other unintended 
consequences. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that leaving the recertification require-
ment open ended to occur not before 12 months, and not defining 
an absolute requirement for Board or contractor actions within a 
certain time period, Boards and contractors could be left open to 
an arbitrary assignment of improper payment based on failure to 
conduct due diligence. 

Response: 

The CCDBG Act and the NPRM clearly state that once a child 
is determined eligible, the child is assumed to be meeting the 
eligibility requirements for the 12-month eligibility period. Addi-
tionally, the NPRM clarifies that payments made during the eligi-
bility period shall not be considered as improper payments due 
to a change in the family's circumstances. Agency rules further 
state that recoupments from the parents should only occur for in-
stances in which eligibility was determined on information fraud-
ulently reported or misreported. 

With these guidelines in mind, it is important that the Board en-
sures that contractors continue to conduct due diligence for de-
termining eligibility at the beginning of the eligibility period. 

Additionally, the Agency will work with the Boards to develop 
data analysis tools and reports to assist Boards in identifying 
potential changes in a parent's ongoing eligibility during the 
12-month period. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification regarding the lan-
guage that eligibility for child care services shall be redetermined 
"no sooner than 12 months following the initial determination 
or most recent redetermination." Commenters stated that the 
language is unclear if eligibility redetermination needs to occur 
during the 12th month of care or the 13th month of care. One 
commenter acknowledged that this language matches the 
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language used in the NPRM, however, recommended clarifying 
that the redetermination process occurs prior to the end of the 
12th month with an effective redetermination date after the 12th 
month. Two commenters recommended that the contractors be 
allowed to initiate the eligibility redetermination process prior 
to the end of the 12th month of eligibility, with any changes 
effective the day following the end of the 12th month of eligibility. 

Response: 

The rule language is identical to the language in the proposed 
CCDF regulations and CCDBG Act. The Commission agrees 
that the process for redetermining eligibility should begin prior to 
the end of the 12-month period and the actual redetermination 
decision should be made prior to the end of the 12-month eligibil-
ity period. However, if the parent is determined ineligible prior to 
the end of the eligibility period, then care shall continue through 
the end of the 12-month eligibility period. The time frame for be-
ginning the redetermination process is determined by the Board. 
However, the time frame and deadlines for parents should en-
sure that sufficient time is allowed for parents to complete the 
eligibility process, and allow for the required 15-day notification 
of termination prior to the end of the current eligibility period (if 
the parent is determined ineligible). 

The Commission also notes that CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(ii) 
requires states to certify that parents ". . . are not required to un-
duly disrupt their employment in order to comply with the State's 
or designated local entity's requirements for redetermination." 

Additional operational guidance regarding the redetermination 
process will be provided in the Child Care Services Guide. 

§809.43. Priority for Child Care Services 

Consistent with CCDBG Act §650E(3)(B)(i) and NPRM 
§98.46(a)(3) and §98.51, which require states to give prior-
ity for services to children experiencing homelessness, the 
Commission amends §809.43 to add children experiencing 
homelessness as a second priority group served, subject to 
the availability of funds. This priority group will follow the three 
priority groups in state statute--children in protective services, 
children of a qualified veteran or spouse, and children of foster 
youth. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the Sunset Review directs the 
Agency to study potential methods of providing incentives for 
parents participating in the child care subsidy program to choose 
providers with a TRS quality designation and include the results 
in its 2017 report to the legislature. The commenter recom-
mended incentivizing parents to choose quality-rated programs 
by placing them on a priority wait list and when space is available 
at one of these programs, parents may choose a program with 
the commitment to keep their child in that program for at least 
six months. Program types would include TRS quality-rated pro-
grams and programs participating in the Early Head Start--Child 
Care Partnership grant. 

Response: 

The Commission thanks for the commenter for the suggestion. 
The Agency will take this under consideration as part of the study 
on providing incentives to parents to choose quality care. 

Comment: 

One Board recommended adding language to clarify that prior-
ity as defined in this section is applicable at initial enrollment. 

Otherwise, the language regarding service being subject to the 
availability of funds for the second priority group appears to con-
tradict the 12-month eligibility period. The commenter inquired if 
"subject to the availability of funds" gives Boards the authority to 
terminate services for families in the second priority group during 
the 12-month eligibility period if funding is not available. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the CCDBG Act requires that care 
shall continue through the 12-month eligibility period unless the 
family has a permanent end of employment, job training, or ed-
ucation participation of three months. Additionally, Continuity of 
Care rules at §809.54(b) state, "Nothing in this chapter shall be 
interpreted in a manner as to result in a child being removed from 
care." Boards should closely monitor funding levels prior to open-
ing enrollment to new initial eligibility determinations. Addition-
ally, the Agency will work with the Boards to develop data anal-
ysis tools and reports to assist Boards in projecting enrollments 
and managing funds in order to ensure that care for enrolled chil-
dren is not discontinued due to the unavailability of child care 
funds. 

Comment: 

The Board recommends that §809.43(a)(2) be reworded to read, 
"The second priority group is served subject to the availability of 
funds and includes, in the following order of priority…" in order 
to ensure clarity of the intent that the priority groups outlined in 
the second priority group Item 2 be served in the order listed in 
the rule. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make the change in rule language; 
however, the Child Care Services Guide will clarify the order of 
the priority group. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that The Workforce Information sys-
tem of Texas (TWIST) be changed to track local priorities. 

Response: 

The Agency will review the feasibility of making this change in 
TWIST. 

§809.44. Calculating Family Income 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i)(II) and NPRM §98.21(c) require 
that states take into consideration irregular fluctuations of earn-
ings when calculating income for eligibility. The NPRM further 
clarifies this requirement by adding that the calculation of income 
policies ensures that temporary increases in income, "including 
temporary increases that result in monthly income exceeding 85 
percent of SMI (calculated on a monthly basis), do not affect el-
igibility or family co-payments." 

Section 809.44(a) is amended to reflect these new requirements. 
The rule language requires that Boards ensure family income is 
calculated in accordance with Commission guidelines. Consis-
tent with the CCDBG Act, rule language also requires that Com-
mission guidelines: 

--take into account irregular fluctuations in earnings; and 

--ensure that temporary increases in income, including tempo-
rary increases that result in monthly income exceeding 85 per-
cent SMI, do not affect eligibility or parent share of cost. 
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A standard and uniform methodology applied consistently across 
all 28 workforce areas is important to ensure that the state is 
meeting the requirements of the CCDBG Act regarding fluctua-
tions of income. Moreover, statewide consistency is important 
because child care is also required to continue if a parent moves 
to another workforce area. 

The Commission will be developing guidelines to align income 
calculation methodology with federal program guidance regard-
ing fluctuations in earnings. The guidance will include, but not 
be limited to, the following: 

--Income documentation requirements at initial eligibility that 
may differ from requirements at redetermination; 

--Documentation requirements for gaps in income; 

--Calculation of bonuses received during the 12-month eligibility 
period; 

--The methodology and documentation used to determine family 
income for changes reported during the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod; and 

--The methodology and documentation used to determine fam-
ily income for parents who resume work, training, or education 
during the three-month period of nontemporary cessation of ac-
tivities. 

Section 809.44(b) is amended to provide an updated itemized 
list of income sources that are specifically excluded from deter-
mining family income. This list includes income sources that are 
specifically excluded by various federal laws or regulations in 
determining eligibility for public assistance programs, including 
CCDF, as well as income sources that are excluded by the WIOA 
adult program. 

The specific exclusions are: 

--Medicare, Medicaid, SNAP benefits, school meals, and hous-
ing assistance; 

--Monthly monetary allowances provided to or for children of 
Vietnam veterans born with certain birth defects; 

--Needs-based educational scholarships, grants, and loans, in-
cluding financial assistance under Title IV of the Higher Edu-
cation Act--Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Op-
portunity grants, Federal Work Study Program, PLUS, Stafford 
loans, and Perkins loans; 

--Individual Development Account (IDA) withdrawals for the pur-
chase of a home, medical expenses, or educational expenses; 

--Onetime cash payments, including tax refunds, Earned Income 
Tax Credit (EITC) and Advanced EITC, onetime insurance pay-
ments, gifts, and lump sum inheritances; 

--VISTA and AmeriCorps living allowances and stipends; 

--Noncash or in-kind benefits such as employer-paid fringe ben-
efits, food, or housing received in lieu of wages; 

--Foster care payments and adoption assistance; 

--Special military pay or allowances, including subsistence al-
lowances, housing allowances, family separation allowances, or 
special allowances for duty subject to hostile fire or imminent 
danger; 

--Income from a child in the household between 14 and 19 years 
of age who is attending school; 

--Early withdrawals from qualified retirement accounts specified 
as hardship withdrawals as classified by the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS); 

--Unemployment compensation; 

--Child support payments; 

--Cash assistance payments, including Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF), Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI), Refugee Cash Assistance, general assistance, emer-
gency assistance, and general relief; 

--Onetime income received in lieu of TANF cash assistance; 

--Income earned by a veteran while on active military duty and 
certain other veterans' benefits, such as compensation for ser-
vice-connected death, vocational rehabilitation, and education 
assistance; 

--Regular payments from Social Security, such as Old-Age, and 
Survivors Insurance Trust Fund; 

--Lump sum payments received as assets in the sale of a house, 
in which the assets are to be reinvested in the purchase of a new 
home (consistent with IRS guidance); 

--Payments received as the result of an automobile accident in-
surance settlement that are being applied to the repair or re-
placement of an automobile; and 

--Any income sources specifically excluded by federal law or reg-
ulation. 

The Commission understands that the new income calculation 
methodology and income exemptions may equate to lower par-
ent share of cost assessments, thereby increasing the cost of 
care and reducing the number of children the Board may be able 
to serve. The Agency will continue to analyze Board costs, in-
cluding parent share of cost, as part of the Agency's performance 
target methodology. 

New §809.44(c) states that income that is not listed in §809.44(b) 
as excluded from income is included as income. 

Comment: 

One commenter supported a standard and uniform methodology 
that is applied consistently across all 28 Boards. 

One commenter supported the amendment to require Boards 
to calculate family income by taking into account irregular fluc-
tuations in earnings and to ensure that temporary increases in 
income do not affect eligibility or parent share of cost. The com-
menter commends the Commission on its recognition of and 
commitment to creating a standard and uniform methodology ap-
plied consistently across all 28 workforce areas in order to best 
meet the requirements of the CCDBG Act. 

One commenter supported the Commission's amendment iden-
tifying income sources excluded from the calculation of family 
income, especially the exclusion of income earned by a veteran 
while on active military duty. The commenter has firsthand expe-
rience with the challenges military parents face and commends 
the state on recognizing the unique needs of military families. 
One commenter strongly supported the exclusion of child sup-
port payment, SSI, Social Security, and unemployment insur-
ance (UI). 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments. 
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Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding the exclusion 
of income earned by a veteran while on active military duty. The 
commenter requested confirmation that this means regular base 
pay of parents in the military is excluded and wondered whether 
special pay would continue to be excluded. 

Response: 

It is not the intent of the Commission that base pay of parents in 
the military be excluded as income. The rule language exempts 
income earned by a current veteran (a veteran at the time of el-
igibility determination or redetermination) during the time the in-
dividual was serving on active duty. It is also intended to exempt 
income earned by a current veteran who may have been called 
back on active duty. The base pay of parents on active military 
duty, however, is considered income. Further, special military 
pay would continue to be excluded, pursuant to §809.44(b)(9). 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding the inclusion 
or exclusion of workers' compensation and alimony. The com-
menter suggested that workers' compensation, SSI, Social Se-
curity Disability Insurance (SSDI), UI, and alimony be included 
as income, as all of these sources are taxable. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that workers' compensation, SSDI, 
and alimony are not specifically excluded, and therefore, are 
included as income. However, the other payments (SSI and UI) 
are excluded from income, consistent with WIOA. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding payments from 
SSDI. The commenter noted that regular payments from Social 
Security (such as Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund) 
are listed as excluded income; however, SSDI is not listed as 
being excluded. SSDI is very similar to regular payments from 
Social Security. 

Response: 

The Commission notes that recent guidance from the U.S. De-
partment of Labor specifically requires that SSDI not be excluded 
from income for WIOA. Consistent with WIOA, SSDI is not listed 
as being excluded, and therefore, is included as income for child 
care eligibility and the parent share of cost assessment. 

Comment: 

Many commenters stated that a list of income that is excluded 
is difficult for frontline staff to operationalize, and, likewise, will 
be difficult for families to understand as well. The commenters 
recommended that the rules for calculating income include both 
an inclusion list as well as an exclusion list. 

Response: 

The income calculation guidelines in the Child Care Services 
Guide will clarify this issue. Similar to WIOA, it is expected that 
the parent will report all family income. When calculating income, 
the contractor should review the income reported and exclude 
from the calculation the sources that are excluded in rule. The 
Agency will work with Boards to provide ongoing technical assis-
tance regarding this issue. 

Comment: 

Two commenters requested that the calculation methodology be 
made available for public comment prior to implementation. 

Response: 

The Agency is working with Boards to develop the income calcu-
lation methodology. The income calculation methodology will be 
available in the Child Care Services Guide, which is available to 
the public. The Agency welcomes input from the public on these 
operational guidelines. 

Comment: 

One commenter expressed appreciation for the efforts by the 
Agency to establish a standard and uniform methodology for cal-
culating family income, but wishes to stress that it is imperative 
that this guidance be provided no later than September 1, 2016, 
in order for staff to employ the methodology when determining 
eligibility for customers whose eligibility redetermination is due 
at the beginning of October 2016. 

In addition to establishing such a methodology, the Board would 
also recommend that the Agency provide forms and/or check-
lists that might be helpful in ensuring that the process is being 
followed accurately, and that all required documentation for cal-
culating income has been ascertained. 

Response: 

The Agency will make the methodology, guidance, and technical 
assistance available at the earliest date possible upon the adop-
tion of the final rules. 

Comment: 

In order to meet the requirement that the methodology take 
into consideration fluctuations of income, one commenter rec-
ommended that bonuses and incentive payments be excluded 
from income, as these sources fluctuate greatly. Additionally, 
as bonuses are considered to be a reward for high-performing 
employees, including these irregular amounts as countable 
income is believed to be contrary to the intent of the CCDBG 
Act of 2014. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments. The Commission's 
Chapter 809 rules include bonuses as part of the family income 
because the bonus may be a significant and stable source 
of family income. However, the calculation methodology will 
be designed to appropriately account for fluctuations in bonus 
amounts. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that the income calculation not 
follow the WIOA methodology requesting proof of income for the 
last six months, as this creates a barrier for most parents. In-
cluding income from a previous employment worked during the 
prior six months, but which has now ended, does not accurately 
reflect future wages. The commenter suggested three months 
of income as a more appropriate methodology. The commenter 
suggested that the methodology provide for multiple options for 
parents to report and document income, including the use of the 
year-to-date amounts and the most recent tax returns. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and will take these 
suggestions into consideration in the income calculation method-
ology. 
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Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification on specific elements 
of the income calculation methodology, including: 

--gaps in income; 

--payments on commission-only; 

--cash-only income; 

--self-employment income; 

--temporary increases that may be over 85 percent of SMI; and 

--the methodology for calculating monthly income for individuals 
who are paid twice a month. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments. The income 
methodology will provide guidance on how these payments will 
be calculated. 

§809.45. Choices Child Care 

Section 809.45(b) is amended to clarify that for a parent receiv-
ing Choices child care who ceases participation in the Choices 
program during the 12-month eligibility period, Boards must en-
sure that Choices child care continues: 

--for the three-month period pursuant to §809.51(b); and 

--for the remainder of the eligibility period, if the parent resumes 
participation in Choices or begins participation in work or atten-
dance in a job training or education program during the three-
month period described in §809.51(c). 

Comment: 

One Board supported the Commission's efforts to stabilize child 
care for at-risk and vulnerable children whose parents are in the 
Choices, TANF Applicant, SNAP E&T, and child protective ser-
vices child care programs. The commenter noted the Septem-
ber 2012 jointly funded brief by ACF's Office of Child Care and 
Office of Head Start Convened by the National Center on Child 
Care Professional Development Systems and Workforce Initia-
tives concluded that "Research has shown that babies who ex-
perience multiple disruptions in their early child care are more 
likely to show aggression and be less outgoing in the preschool 
years. Further, children's relationships with adult caregivers are 
vital for shaping the brain, early childhood development, and the 
foundations of school readiness." 

Additionally, the commenter stated that the irrational and harmful 
practice of disrupting the care and education of young children 
whose parents are enrolled in these programs should end. The 
churning on and off of CCDF as parents lose assistance and later 
return fails to support CCDF's intentions to stabilize families, in-
crease the quality of care for children, and support the child care 
industry. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Many Boards requested that the Commission consider the nega-
tive impact on Choices performance that can occur if Boards are 
required to provide child care for three months after a Choices 
participant ceases participation in the Choices program. 

It is recommended that child care ceases when a Choices par-
ticipant stops participating in the Choices program as required. 

Customers participating in Choices may receive assistance 
with child care expenses. Eligibility is determined monthly. 
Unlike other customers who receive assistance with child care 
expenses when eligibility is determined for a 12-month period, 
Choices eligibility is a month-to-month issue. The Boards would 
support a rule that limits assistance with child care expenses to: 

(a) continued meeting participation requirements; and/or 

(b) continued receipt of TANF benefits. 

Just as eligibility is redetermined on a 12-month basis, Choices 
eligibility is determined monthly. If the customer does not meet 
the criteria for continued eligibility for Choices, then we should 
take action to stop the assistance with child care expenses. 

Response: 

The Commission emphasizes that ending child care prior to 
three-month continuation of care period is expressly disallowed 
under the CCDBG Act and the proposed CCDF regulations. 

The Agency will closely monitor the impact of the changes to cost 
and performance. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification regarding which fund-
ing source should be used during the three-month continuation 
of when the Choices parent stops participating in Choices. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and has modified 
§809.45(b)(1) and (2) to clarify that the continued care will be 
funded as Choices child care. 

Once initially determined eligible for Choices child care, the par-
ent is eligible to receive Choices child care throughout the entire 
12-month eligibility period. However, if the parent stops partic-
ipating in Choices, then Choices child care will continue during 
the required three-month continuation of care period. Choices 
child care will cease at the end of the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod or after three months of nonparticipation in either Choices 
or other work, education, or training activities. 

Comment: 

Many commenters recommended that the current practice of de-
termining eligibility for income-eligible child care services, com-
plete with the assignment of a parent share of cost, be continued 
once a Choices participant is no longer participating in Choices. 

Response: 

As stated previously, once determined eligible for Choices child 
care, Choices child care will continue through the 12-month pe-
riod as long as the parent is participating in Choices or work, 
training, or education activities. Also, as stated in the discussion 
on the parent share of cost in §809.19, parents participating in 
Choices are exempt from the parent share of cost at initial eligi-
bility and the amount cannot increase during the 12-month eligi-
bility period, as this would be contrary to the intent of the CCDBG 
Act and the NPRM. 

Comment: 

Several commenters asked whether the parent is placed in a job 
search for the three months and what documentation is required 
during the three months. 

Response: 
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The Commission clarifies that there is no requirement to docu-
ment that the parent is engaged in job search or other activities 
during the three-month continuation of care. The preamble to the 
NPRM also states, "In fact, we strongly discourage such policies, 
as they would be an additional burden on families and be incon-
sistent with the purposes of CCDF and this proposed rule." 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if there had been any considera-
tion given to the fact that continued care under the CCDBG Act 
might have a negative impact on Choices and SNAP E&T work-
force performance. The commenters inquired if TWC will read-
just each Board's target number of units due to the higher cost 
associated with Choices child care. 

Response: 

The Agency will monitor any impact to Choices performance and 
Boards' child care performance targets. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired whether an individual owes recoup-
ment from suspected fraud and whether they still receive three 
months once Choices ends. 

Response: 

For prospective fraud determinations, we refer the commenter 
to the discussion on suspected fraud and fraud determinations 
in Subchapter F. 

As stated previously, once determined eligible for Choices child 
care, Choices child care will continue through the 12-month pe-
riod as long as the parent is participating in Choices or work, 
training, or education activities. This would include parents who 
owe recoupments. 

Section 809.117(e) states that a parent subject to repayment for 
a fraud determination shall be prohibited from future eligibility un-
til the repayment is made "provided that the prohibition does not 
result in a Choices or SNAP E&T participant becoming ineligible 
for child care." Future eligibility is considered to be at the parent's 
12-month redetermination or the next time the parent applies for 
child care services. If a parent owes recoupments, but is eligible 
for Choices child care or SNAP E&T child care at initial eligibility 
due to participation in those activities, then care must be autho-
rized. However, if the parent is no longer participating in either 
of these programs at redetermination or the next time the parent 
applies, then the parent is not eligible for care until the debt is 
repaid. 

Comment: 

One commenter asked when a Choices customer becomes 
Transitional before the 12-month eligibility period ends, does 
this mean he or she will not be assessed a parent share of cost 
until the next eligibility period or will the eligibility characteristic 
remain the same until the next recertification period? 

Response: 

The Choices eligibility period will last the full 12 months (un-
less the parent ceases to participate in Choices or other 
work, training, or education activity for three months). At the 
parent's 12-month redetermination, the parent will be redeter-
mined based on Transitional child care eligibility requirements 
in §809.48 or At-Risk Child Care eligibility requirements in 
§809.50. 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if TWIST will be updated to allow 
a Child Care Program Detail with the Choices eligibility charac-
teristic while a Choices Program Detail is closed? This will be 
required if a Choices child care customer ceases participation 
in the Choices program as their Choices Program Detail will be 
closed as a result; however, Boards will still be required to con-
tinue child care for the three-month period. 

Response: 

TWIST does not require an open Choices Program Detail in or-
der to open a Choices Child Care Program Detail. 

§809.46. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Applicant 
Child Care 

Section 809.46 is amended to remove provisions that: 

--duplicate the 12-month eligibility period specified in §809.42; 
or 

--would end care prior to the end of the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod. 

§809.47. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employ-
ment and Training Child Care 

Section 809.47 is amended to remove language stating that 
SNAP Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) care continues 
as long as the case remains open. 

Section 809.47(b) is added to clarify that for a parent receiving 
SNAP E&T child care who ceases participation in the E&T pro-
gram during the 12-month eligibility period, Boards must ensure 
that: 

--child care continues for the three-month period pursuant to 
§809.51; and 

--the provisions of §809.51 shall apply if the parent resumes 
participation in the E&T program or begins participation in work 
or attendance in a job training or education program during the 
three-month period. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification regarding which fund-
ing source should be used during the three-month continuation 
of when the SNAP E&T parent stops participating in SNAP E&T. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and, consistent with 
Choices child care in §809.45, has modified §809.47(b)(1) and 
(2) to clarify that the continued care will be considered as SNAP 
E&T child care. 

Once initially determined eligible for SNAP E&T child care, the 
parent is eligible to receive SNAP E&T child care throughout the 
entire 12-month eligibility period. However, if the parent stops 
participating in E&T, then SNAP E&T child care will continue dur-
ing the required three-month continuation of care period. SNAP 
E&T child care will cease at the end of the 12-month eligibility 
period or after three months of nonparticipation in either SNAP 
E&T or other work, education, or training activities. 

Comment: 

Many commenters recommended that the current practice of de-
termining eligibility for income-eligible child care services, com-
plete with the assignment of a parent share of cost, be continued 
once a SNAP E&T participant is no longer participating in SNAP 
E&T. 

ADOPTED RULES September 23, 2016 41 TexReg 7547 



Response: 

As stated previously, once determined eligible for SNAP E&T 
child care, SNAP E&T child care will continue through the 
12-month period as long as the parent is participating in SNAP 
E&T or work, training, or education activities. Also, as stated in 
the discussion on the parent share of cost in §809.19, parents 
participating in SNAP E&T are exempt from the parent share of 
cost at initial eligibility and the amount cannot increase during 
the 12-month eligibility period as this would be contrary to the 
intent of the CCDBG Act and the NPRM. 

§809.48. Transitional Child Care 

Section 809.48 is amended to remove provisions that would end 
care prior to the end of the 12-month eligibility period. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested confirmation that the only change to 
this section was to remove those individuals who were not em-
ployed when TANF expired from eligibility for Transitional child 
care. The commenter stated that the current practice is to have 
the parent come in and determine eligibility for transitional care, 
and asked if this would still be the process. 

Response: 

The only changes to the section involved removing the provi-
sions that would end care prior to the end of the 12-month el-
igibility period for Transitional child care. Once Choices child 
care ends at the end of the 12-month eligibility period, the family 
would be redetermined for eligibility as Transitional, if the condi-
tions of §809.48 are met, or At-Risk, if the conditions of §809.50 
are met. 

§809.49. Child Care for Children Receiving or Needing Protec-
tive Services 

Section 809.49 is amended to clarify that child care discontin-
ued by DFPS prior to the end of the 12-month eligibility period 
shall be subject to the Continuity of Care provisions in §809.54(c) 
regarding continued care for closed DFPS Child Protective Ser-
vices (CPS) cases. 

Section 809.49 is also amended to clarify that the requirements 
of §809.91(f)(1) do not apply to foster parents whose care is au-
thorized by DFPS. The language clarifies that requests made by 
DFPS for specific eligible providers are enforced for children in 
protective services, including children of foster parents when the 
foster parent is the owner, director, assistant director, or other in-
dividual with an ownership interest in the provider. 

A technical change to §809.49(a)(2) is made to clarify that DFPS 
may authorize care for a child under the age of 19. 

Comment: 

The Commission received many comments regarding the con-
tinuation of care through the end of the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod for closed DFPS CPS cases as required in §809.54(c) and 
§809.49(a)(3). Commenters submitted that this provision would 
strain Board funding and would lead to many low-income cus-
tomers not receiving care. One commenter suggested that the 
Commission make an exception to the continuity of care provi-
sion for DFPS customers. One commenter asked if there would 
be a minimum amount of time that the child will be required to 
be funded by DFPS before DFPS discontinues funding and the 
child is served using Board funds. 

Response: 

As mentioned regarding continued care for Choices and SNAP 
E&T, discontinuing care prior to the end of the 12-month period 
is not allowed under the CCDBG Act or the proposed CCDF reg-
ulations. The preamble to the CCDF regulations states: 

Based on feedback from the States and various stakeholders, 
ACF has already considered possible exceptions to the mini-
mum 12-month eligibility period for certain populations, such as 
children in families receiving TANF and children in protective ser-
vices, but has decided that such special considerations would be 
in conflict with the CCDBG Act, which clearly provides 12-month 
eligibility for all children. 

The Agency will closely monitor the impact of the changes to cost 
and performance. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification as to whether the 
eligibility requirements outlined in §809.41 apply to families re-
ceiving protective services child care once DFPS funding has 
ended. The commenters are aware that many parents receiving 
DFPS CPS funding for child care are not eligible under §809.41 
because they are not meeting work, training, or educational re-
quirements or they are earning over 85 percent of SMI. The com-
menters stated that families not meeting the eligibility require-
ments in §809.41 would need to be terminated once DFPS eli-
gibility expires. 

One commenter suggested that once CPS funding ends, chil-
dren are allowed to be placed in CCDF funding for three months. 
At the end of the three months, the Board contractor would deter-
mine if parents are meeting eligibility requirements. If the family 
is no longer eligible, the care should end. 

Response: 

As stated in §809.41(a), the eligibility requirements in that sec-
tion do not apply to children authorized for care by DFPS under 
§809.49. The CCDBG Act and the NPRM require that during 
the period of time between redetermination, if the child met all of 
the requirements for eligibility on the date of the most recent el-
igibility determination or redetermination, the child shall be con-
sidered to be eligible and will receive services for the 12-month 
eligibility period. 

DFPS determines that the child meets eligibility requirements for 
CPS child care pursuant to §98.20(a)(3)(ii) of the CCDF regula-
tions, which allows for children in protective services to be eligi-
ble for care if the parent or caretaker is not working or if family 
income is over 85 percent of SMI. 

Once DFPS makes that determination, pursuant to the CCDBG 
Act, the child is considered eligible for the 12 months. Once 
DFPS closes the child protective case, then DFPS-funded care 
will end and Agency-funded care will begin through the remain-
der of the eligibility period. 

Comment: 

Many commenters inquired if former DFPS children will be made 
a required priority group or will be subject to the availability of 
funds. Many commenters recommended that former CPS be 
included as a second priority group, subject to the availability of 
funds. 

Response: 

Once DFPS authorizes care for a child in protective services, 
the Boards must provide child care services to that child. As 
mentioned previously, care must continue through the end of the 
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12-month eligibility period. At the end of the 12-month eligibility 
period, the child's eligibility will be redetermined for continued 
care under any eligibility type in Subchapter C. 

The Agency acknowledges that CPS cases must be served and 
not be subject to the availability of funds. The Agency will closely 
monitor the impact of the changes to cost and performance. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification on when the 
12-month eligibility begins for DFPS cases. The commenter 
inquired if the 12-month period begins when DFPS case opened 
the authorization or when DFPS case is closed. 

Response: 

The 12-month eligibility period begins when DFPS first autho-
rizes the care. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested information on the process for 
continuing care for former CPS cases. One commenter asked if 
the DFPS cases will be closed and referred to the Board contrac-
tor as "Former DFPS," or will the child be considered as at-risk. 
Another commenter requested clarification on what information 
will be requested or required from the parent or guardian. 

Response: 

The DFPS program detail will be closed and a new "Former 
DFPS" program detail will be opened with an end date that is 12 
months from the start of initial DFPS authorization. The Agency 
will work with DFPS to ensure that information necessary for the 
Board to continue care is provided to the Board. Additional infor-
mation on the process for continuing the care will be addressed 
in the Child Care Services Guide. 

§809.50. At-Risk Child Care 

Section 809.50 is amended to clarify that eligibility requirements 
for At-Risk child care are applied at initial determination and at 
the 12-month eligibility redetermination, pursuant to §809.41 and 
§809.42. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that with the rule that services must con-
tinue when there is a change in residency within the state, the al-
lowance for the Board to set a higher number of hours per week 
may be difficult for parents at the point of redetermination. If 
the parent moves from a Board area that uses the 25 hours per 
week rule and is eligible and then moves into another Board area 
that requires a higher number of hours for each parent, the child 
would remain in care for the remainder of the 12 months, but at 
the point of redetermination, the parent would then have to meet 
the current Board's higher rule. The commenter recommended 
to remove the allowance of the Board to set a higher number of 
hours per week in order to ensure consistent eligibility across the 
state. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make this change and will continue 
to allow Boards the local flexibility to have higher minimum work 
hours than the minimum Agency requirement. This is a local 
decision based on local needs and local factors as determined 
by the Board. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the proposed rules at 
§809.50(a)(1) made a reference to §809.41(a)(2)(A) instead of 
(a)(3)(A) in regards to income limits established by the Board. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has made the 
correction on the final rules. 

§809.51. Child Care during Interruptions in Work, Education, or 
Job Training 

Section 809.51 is amended to include CCDBG Act and NPRM 
requirements regarding the provision of child care during inter-
ruptions in work, education, or job training. The section contains 
the rules related to both temporary interruptions and permanent 
cessation of activities during the 12-month eligibility period. 

Section 809.51(a) is amended to include the CCDBG Act re-
quirement that if a child met all of the applicable eligibility require-
ments for any child care service in Subchapter C on the date of 
the most recent eligibility determination or redetermination, the 
child shall be considered to be eligible and will receive services 
during the 12-month eligibility period, regardless of any: 

--change in family income, if that family income does not exceed 
85 percent of SMI for a family of the same size; or 

--temporary change in the ongoing status of the child's parent as 
working or attending a job training or education program. 

Consistent with language in the NPRM, a temporary change 
shall include, at a minimum, any: 

--time-limited absence from work for an employed parent for pe-
riods of family leave (including parental leave) or sick leave; 

--interruption in work for a seasonal worker who is not working 
between regular industry work seasons; 

--student holiday or breaks within a semester, between the fall 
and spring semesters, or between the spring and fall semesters, 
for a parent participating in training or education; 

--reduction in work, training, or education hours, as long as the 
parent is still working or attending a training or education pro-
gram; 

--other cessation of work or attendance in a training or education 
program that does not exceed three months; 

--change in age, including turning 13 years old or a child with 
disabilities turning 19 years old during the eligibility period; and 

--change in residency within the state. 

Section 809.51(b) is amended to require that during the period 
of time between eligibility redeterminations, a Board shall dis-
continue child care services due to a parent's loss of work or 
cessation of attendance at a job training or educational program 
that does not constitute a temporary change in accordance with 
paragraph (b)(2) of this subsection. However, Boards must en-
sure that care continues at the same level for a period of not less 
than three months after such loss of work or cessation of atten-
dance at a job training or educational program. 

Section 809.42(c) is amended to state that if a parent resumes 
work or attendance at a job training or education program at any 
level and at any time during the three months, Boards shall en-
sure that: 
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--care will continue to the end of the 12-month eligibility period at 
the same or greater level, depending upon any increase in the 
activity hours of the parent; and 

--the parent share of cost will not be increased during the remain-
der of the 12-month eligibility period, including for parents who 
are exempt from the parent share of cost pursuant to §809.19. 

This is consistent with NPRM §98.21(a)(3), which prohibits 
states from increasing the parent share of cost during the 
12-month eligibility period, regardless of increases in the family 
income. 

The rule language also clarifies that the Board child care con-
tractor shall verify only: 

--that the family income does not exceed 85 percent SMI; and 

--the resumption of work or attendance at a job training or edu-
cation program. 

Section 809.51(d) is amended to state that the Board may sus-
pend child care services during interruptions in the parent's work, 
job training, or education only with the concurrence of the par-
ent. 

School Holidays and Breaks 

The Commission clarifies that student holidays such as spring 
break and breaks between the fall and spring semesters, or 
between the spring and fall semesters (including the summer 
break), are considered temporary changes, and care shall con-
tinue during those breaks. However, breaks of the full fall or the 
full spring semesters are considered nontemporary, and care 
ends if the parent does not resume attendance at an education 
or job training program, or does not participate in work within 
three months from the end of the previous enrollment. 

Reductions in Work, Training, or Education for Dual-Parent Fam-
ilies 

The Commission clarifies that in a dual-parent family, if both par-
ents have a nontemporary loss of job (or end of training/edu-
cation activities), then the family would be subject to the three-
month job search period prior to termination. However, if one 
parent experiences a nontemporary change, then this would be 
considered a reduction in the dual-parent 50-hour participation 
requirements. Under the CCDBG Act, a reduction in work is not 
considered a permanent loss of job and is not subject to discon-
tinuation of the child's care. Care would continue through the 
12-month period without requiring care to end if one parent does 
not resume activities within three months. The child is still re-
siding with at least one parent who is working and is still eligible 
under the CCDBG Act. 

Continued Care for Children over the Age of 13 or the Age of 19 
for a Child with Disabilities 

The Commission notes that the DFPS Child Care Licensing al-
lows children under the age of 14 (and under the age of 19 for 
children with disabilities) to receive care at a regulated facility. 
However, the Commission is aware that some child care facili-
ties do not serve children over the age of 13 or 19 (for a child with 
disabilities). In such a case, the Board must ensure that eligibil-
ity does not end and work with parents and provider to continue 
care at a different provider selected by the parent until the end 
of the child's eligibility period, unless the parent voluntarily with-
draws from child care services. 

Continued Care for Children and Families Relocating to Another 
Workforce Area 

Under the CCDBG Act, a change in the child's residence is not 
grounds for ending care in the state, regardless of the enrollment 
status of the workforce area to which the parent moved. The 
Commission understands that a Board at full enrollment would 
be required to enroll and fund children even if the Board enroll-
ment of new children is closed at the time. The movement of 
children both into and out of workforce areas is anticipated to be 
balanced throughout the year. However, the Agency will track 
this movement and the fiscal impact on Boards to determine if 
funding amounts should be adjusted accordingly. 

Additional policies, procedures, and documenting requirements 
regarding continuation of care for children and families who relo-
cate to another workforce area will be provided through updates 
to the Child Care Services Guide. 

The Commission clarifies that the Board that determined eligibil-
ity at the beginning of the 12-month period is responsible for any 
subsequent finding of improper eligibility determinations. How-
ever, the Board in the workforce area in which the family relo-
cates is responsible for verifying that the move did not result in a 
nontemporary loss of work, training, or education, and the family 
is not over 85 percent of the SMI. 

The Commission clarifies that if the move to a different work-
force area does not result in a change of provider (i.e., the child 
remains at the originating workforce area provider), then care 
would continue at that provider under the originating Board's 
agreement, rates, and funding through the remainder of the au-
thorization for care and the end of the 12-month eligibility period. 
However, if the move to a different workforce area results in or is 
accompanied by a change in provider, then the receiving Board 
will establish and fund the authorization. 

The Commission also clarifies that if a parent is participating in 
the three-month period of continued care and relocates to a dif-
ferent workforce area without resuming activities, then the par-
ent would not receive a new three-month period, but is entitled 
to continue the three-month period that began in the previous 
workforce area. 

Other Cessation of Work, Training, or Education Activities 

The Commission recognizes that there are situations, such as 
parent incarcerations or other circumstances, that may not be 
clearly defined in the rules. The Commission will work with 
Boards to provide guidance on these situations. As a general 
rule, if the separation from activities is of a length that would 
allow the parent to continue participation within three months, 
then care would continue through the remainder of the 12-month 
eligibility period. If, however, the separation is expected to 
last over three months, then care would be discontinued three 
months after the cessation of work, training, or education. 

Number of Three-Month Periods in a 12-Month Eligibility Period 

The CCDBG Act requires that care continue for at least 12 
months following the initial eligibility determination. Neither the 
CCDBG Act nor the NPRM allows states to put limits on the 
number of three-month periods of continued care that a parent 
may have during the 12-month eligibility period. Parents will be 
allowed a three-month period of continued care for each non-
temporary cessation of activities within the 12-month eligibility 
period. 

Parent Share of Cost during the Three-Month Period of Contin-
ued Care 
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As required in §809.19(a)(1)(c), the parent share of cost is re-
assessed if a parent reports a change in income that would result 
in a reduced parent share of cost. Accordingly, the parent share 
of cost should be reassessed during the three-month period due 
to the resulting reduction of family income. As mentioned in the 
discussion on calculating family income in §809.44, the Commis-
sion will provide guidance on the methodology used to calculate 
income during this period in order to take into consideration fluc-
tuation in income. During this period, Boards may also reduce 
the parent share of cost based on the Board policies for reduc-
tions due to extenuating circumstances pursuant to §809.19(d). 

Increases in the Level of Care following the Three-Month Period 
of Continued Care 

Section 809.51(c) requires care to continue to the end of the 
12-month eligibility period at the same or greater level, depend-
ing on any increase in the activity hours of the parent. The Com-
mission expects that the parent should provide documentation 
to verify that such an increase is warranted. 

Suspensions of Child Care during the 12-month Eligibility Period 

The preamble to the NPRM notes that, consistent with 
§658E(c)(2)(N)(i) of the CCDBG Act, "during the minimum 
12-month eligibility period Lead Agencies also may not end or 
suspend child care authorization or provider payments due to 
a temporary change in a parent's work, training, or education 
status." However, the preamble also notes that "despite the 
language that the child 'will receive such assistance,' the receipt 
of such services remains at the option of the family." The law 
does not require the family to continue receiving services, nor 
would it force the family to remain with a provider if the family 
no longer chooses to receive such services. 

Therefore, the amended Commission rules require that any sus-
pensions of care during the 12-month eligibility period shall only 
be upon concurrence from the parent. This provision is included 
in §809.51 regarding optional suspensions of care during inter-
ruptions in work, job training, or education. As will be discussed 
in §809.78 regarding attendance standards, the requirement that 
care can only be suspended at the concurrence of the parent is 
also included for suspensions of care under §809.78. 

Implementation of the 12-Month Eligibility Period 

The Commission clarifies that eligibility determinations under the 
new rules will go into effect at the family's first scheduled rede-
termination (under the Board's previous determination period) 
following October 1, 2016. 

Comment: 

Several commenters supported the requirements regarding con-
tinuation of care during interruptions of work, training, or educa-
tion activities. One commenter strongly supported the proposed 
amendments stating that it will make it easier for parents to main-
tain employment or complete education programs, and supports 
both family financial stability and the relationship between chil-
dren and their caregivers. 

Another commenter supported the continuation of child care 
for the 12-month eligibility period if one parent in a dual-parent 
household experiences a permanent loss of job or end of train-
ing or education activities. The commenter supports efforts to 
decrease the churning on and off of subsidized care as parents 
lose assistance then later return. The commenter is aware 
of the harm this can cause children and understands that it 

runs counter to the CCDF's purpose to stabilize the care and 
education of low-income children. 

Another commenter supported the changes to ensure the conti-
nuity of care and putting the welfare of the child first. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that some summer breaks slightly exceed 
the three-month period cited in the rule language as a tempo-
rary break. The commenter requested clarification as to whether 
summer breaks are included as a temporary break or a nontem-
porary break. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and agrees that 
summer breaks should be considered as temporary breaks in 
education. The rule has been modified to state that breaks 
between the fall and spring semesters, or between the spring 
and fall semesters, are considered temporary changes. This 
would include summer breaks as meeting the standard in 
§809.51(a)(2)(C) as a temporary break in education. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that parent-requested suspensions are 
not mentioned in the new rules. The commenter inquired if par-
ents will continue to be allowed to suspend care during tempo-
rary breaks in work or training periods. The commenter noted 
that some parents prefer to have their children at home with 
them on breaks and not pay the parent share of cost while on 
the breaks, including suspensions for court-ordered visitations. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and, as discussed 
previously, has added a provision in §809.51(d) that parents may 
suspend care during interruptions in work, training, or education. 
The rule requires that the suspension must be at the concurrence 
of the parent. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if a child with disabilities turns 19 during 
the 12-month eligibility period, does the child remain in care until 
the end of the eligibility period or would the child's care end from 
care the day before their 19th birthday. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has modified the 
rule to include that eligibility for children with disabilities contin-
ues through the end of the 12-month eligibility period if the child 
turns 19 during the eligibility period. 

Comment: 

Many commenters disagreed with the provision that allows for 
one parent in a dual-parent family to experience a permanent 
loss of a job and for the change to be considered a reduction 
in work. Commenters submitted that allowing such families to 
continue to receive care effectively held single-parent families to 
a higher participation standard than two-parent families. 

Response: 

The CCDBG Act and the CCDF regulations do not specifically 
address this issue of single or dual-parent families. 
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In the Act and the regulations, a child's eligibility requirement is 
to reside with "a parent or parents who are working or attending a 
job training or educational program" (CCDBG Act 658P(4)(C)(i); 
NPRM §98.20(a)(3)(i)). The language is unchanged in the reau-
thorization and proposed regulations. 

Both the Act (658E(c)(2)(N)) and the NPRM (§98.21) require that 
the child remain eligible between eligibility periods regardless of 
a temporary change in "the parent's" (singular) status. Both use 
the singular "parent" regarding the state option to end care if a 
"parent" has a nontemporary cessation of activities. Because 
this is a state option, there is no requirement in the Act or the 
regulations that the state must end care if one parent in a dual-
parent family has a permanent cessation of activities. 

In fact, the preamble states that the default is to continue care for 
12 months in order to ensure that the goal of continuity of care is 
maintained and child care is available to assist the parent if he 
or she regains employment. 

Therefore, in order to comply with the intent of the CCDBG Act 
that child care continue for 12 months, both parents must have 
a permanent cessation of activities in order to end care after 
the three-month continuation of care period. This would ensure 
that the goal of continuity of care for the child is maintained and 
ensure that child care is continued while one parent is working 
while the other parent reenters the workforce. 

Comment: 

One commenter asked if §809.51(a)(2)(D) means that the parent 
can be working less than 25 hours and if this would be consid-
ered temporary. 

Response: 

The minimum activity requirement of 25 hours per week (50 
hours for a dual-parent family) is a state requirement. NPRM 
§98.21(a)(1)(ii)(D) includes reduction in hours, as long as the 
parent is working or in training or education, as a temporary 
status change, and the child will remain eligible for care through 
the 12-month eligibility period. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on how Boards "must 
ensure" eligibility continues at a different provider when a child 
turns 13. Boards do not have any control over providers or their 
policies regarding the age of the youth they serve. 

Response: 

The Commission understands that providers may discontinue a 
child's care when the child turns 13, pursuant to the provider 
policy. However, Boards must ensure that the eligibility is not 
ended. The Board must ensure that the child remains eligible 
during the eligibility period. Boards are strongly encouraged to 
assist parents in locating providers that care for 13-year-old chil-
dren and should make a diligent effort to find and encourage local 
providers to care for children through the age of 13. 

As provided in §809.51(d), parents may decide to have care sus-
pended pending the choice of an acceptable provider. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if the three-month continuation of care 
is three calendar months or 90 calendar days. The commenter 
preferred to establish three calendar months as the benchmark. 
The commenter also requested this clarification regarding the 

three-month initial eligibility for children experiencing homeless-
ness. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the requirement is for three 
months, not 90 days. Therefore, the standard will be to use 
three calendar months. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification and guidance on 
specific scenarios that may occur during the 12-month eligi-
bility period related to continuing care or ending care after 
the three-month period. The commenters also requested 
clarification on the process, documentation requirements, and 
handling provider payments when a child in care moves from 
one workforce area to another. One commenter requested that 
guidance be provided in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and will review each 
scenario and provide guidance in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if care continues for the year of eligi-
bility if a parent moves out of state after the child is determined 
eligible for care. 

Response: 

Agency child care funds cannot be used for customers who do 
not reside in Texas. 

§809.52. Child Care for Children Experiencing Homelessness 

New §809.52 is added to include initial eligibility for children 
experiencing homelessness. CCDBG Act §658E(c)(3) requires 
that state procedures permit enrollment (after an initial eligibility 
determination) of children experiencing homelessness while 
required documentation is obtained. 

Consistent with this requirement, §809.52(a) requires that for a 
child experiencing homelessness, a Board shall ensure that the 
child is initially enrolled for a period not to exceed three months. 

Section 809.52(b)(1) states that if, during the three-month enroll-
ment period, the parent of a child experiencing homelessness is 
unable to provide documentation verifying that the child meets 
the age and citizenship status requirements under §809.41(a)(1) 
- (2), then care shall be discontinued following the three-month 
enrollment period. Consistent with NPRM §98.51, payments of 
child care services for this three-month period are not consid-
ered improper payments. 

Section 809.52(b)(2) states that if, during the three-month en-
rollment period, a parent provides documentation verifying eligi-
bility under §809.41(a) (regarding the child's age and citizenship 
status, and the parent's participation in work, job training, or ed-
ucation activities) then care shall continue through the end of the 
12-month initial eligibility period (inclusive of the three-month ini-
tial enrollment period). 

For parents of children experiencing homelessness, parent self-
attestation of the eligibility requirements under §809.41(a)(1) -
(2) will be allowed for the first three months for all eligibility re-
quirements, as long as the family meets the definition of home-
lessness. This can be verified through another entity such as a 
school district or housing authority, or by the Board contractor. 
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The Agency will work with Boards to provide guidance on deter-
mining initial and continuing eligibility for homeless families. 

The Commission clarifies that parents of children experiencing 
homelessness must have appeal rights pursuant to §809.74. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification as to whether or not initial 
eligibility includes verifying employment, training, and education 
activities for family members, and, if so, if verification documen-
tation must be presented at that time or if self-attestation is ade-
quate. The commenter understands that documentation related 
to age and citizenship does not have to be presented at initial 
eligibility but must be presented within three months for care to 
continue. The Board appreciates the Agency's stated commit-
ment to providing guidance on determining initial and continuing 
eligibility for homeless families, and requests that this guidance 
be included in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that initial eligibility for homeless chil-
dren does not include the parent's participation in work, training, 
or education. However, verification of these requirements must 
be conducted in order for care to continue after the initial eligibil-
ity period. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding acceptable 
documentation to verify homelessness. For example, is self-at-
testation acceptable only at initial eligibility determination and 
is the initial certification period only for three months, with a 
zero parent share of cost assessed? Then, at the end of the 
three-month certification, must all required eligibility documents 
be provided in order to continue care through the remainder of 
the 12-month period? At that point, is the parent share of cost 
assessed based on the sliding fee scale? 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that self-attestation is acceptable to 
verify homelessness at initial eligibility. All required documenta-
tion to verify eligibility under §809.41 is required at three months. 
Pursuant to §809.19(a)(2), parents of homeless children are ex-
empt from the parent share of cost for the entire 12-month eligi-
bility period. 

§809.53. Child Care for Children Served by Special Projects 

Section 809.53 is amended to clarify that the provisions related 
to child care for children serviced by special projects are only for 
special projects funded through non-CCDF sources. 

Comment: 

Two commenters inquired if there is a federal requirement that 
WIOA-funded Child Care follow requirements in the CCDBG Act 
and the NPRM. The comments stated that Boards should be al-
lowed to use WIOA funds for child care services without requiring 
the 12-month eligibility if the WIOA customer ends WIOA partic-
ipation. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has amended 
§809.41 to add paragraph (f) to state that Subchapter C ap-
plies only to child care services using funds allocated by TWC 
pursuant to its allocation rules at §800.58, and local public 
transferred funds and local private donated funds described in 
§809.17. 

§809.54. Continuity of Care 

Section 809.54 is amended to clarify that for enrolled children, 
including children whose eligibility for Transitional child care has 
expired, care continues through the end of the applicable eligi-
bility periods described in §809.42. 

Rule language also clarifies that enrolled children of military par-
ents in military deployment remain eligible for continued care, in-
cluding parents in military deployment at the end of the 12-month 
eligibility redetermination period. 

Section 809.54 also removes the temporary placement of a child 
if space is available due to another child's absence due to cus-
tody arrangements, as temporary placements are contrary to the 
CCDBG Act's 12-month eligibility requirements. 

Comment: 

Regarding §809.54(c), many commenters submitted identical or 
similar comments in §809.49 regarding continued care for closed 
DFPS Child Protective Services. 

Response: 

Responses to comments submitted in §809.54(c) are addressed 
in the discussion in §809.49. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification regarding the allowa-
bility of two providers being reimbursed for the same period when 
parents have joint custody and the child is cared for by two dif-
ferent providers every other week. 

Response: 

Section 809.93(b) requires that providers be reimbursed based 
on the child's monthly enrollment authorization, excluding peri-
ods of suspensions. Section 809.78(c) requires that absences 
due to court-ordered visitation are not included in the child's total 
absences for meeting attendance standards. 

The monthly child care enrollments for joint-custody arrange-
ments such as the one described in the comment should be con-
sistent with the court order. If the court-ordered joint custody ar-
rangement calls for a change in child care arrangements every 
other week, then the monthly enrollment must reflect that and the 
provider be reimbursed according to the monthly authorization. 

Comment: 

One commenter expressed appreciation for removing the tem-
porary placement of a child in a slot made open during another 
child's court-ordered custody arrangements. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification regarding filling a slot 
temporarily for a child on court-ordered visitation since temporar-
ily filling a slot is no longer allowed due to the 12-month eligibility 
period once a child is determined eligible for care. However, the 
commenter stated that the Board must ensure that a child can 
return to the same provider pursuant to §809.54(e). The com-
menter asked how the Board would pay for that child's enrollment 
during the time the child is away on court-ordered visitation. The 
commenter is concerned that the provider will not want to hold 
the spot unless the Board reimburses the provider. The com-
menter asked if the provider charges the client to hold the spot. 

ADOPTED RULES September 23, 2016 41 TexReg 7553 



Another commenter requested guidance if child care during cus-
tody arrangements would be considered a suspension of care. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that §809.54(e) does not require that 
the child return to the same provider following a court-ordered 
visitation. The rule requires that the child return to care "at the 
same provider or a different provider if agreed to by the parent in 
advance of the leave." The enrollment during the court-ordered 
arrangement should continue during the court-ordered visitation. 
However, the parent will still be responsible for paying the parent 
share of cost for care during the court-ordered visitation. If the 
parent decides to suspend the authorization and not pay the par-
ent share of cost, then the provider is not allowed to hold the spot 
open, as holding spots open without an enrollment authorization 
is not allowed under §809.93(g). The Commission clarifies that 
the suspension of care must be at the option of the parent. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the reference in §809.54(b) to 
§809.75(b) regarding care during appeals was removed. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has made the 
correction to the reference in the final rule at §809.48. 

§809.55. Mandatory Waiting Period for Reapplication 

Section 809.55, regarding a mandatory waiting period for reap-
plication if care is terminated for certain reasons, is repealed 
because the listed termination reasons for ending care are no 
longer applicable. 

The Commission did not receive comments on the repeal of this 
section. 

SUBCHAPTER D. PARENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter D: 

§809.71. Parent Rights 

Section 809.71 is amended to clarify that the 20-day eligibility 
notification following receipt of eligibility documentation from the 
parent is applicable only at the initial eligibility determination. 

Section 809.71(9) is amended to remove the exceptions to the 
15-day notification of termination for instances in which care is 
to end immediately due to a parent no longer participating in 
Choices or SNAP E&T or due to a child being absent five consec-
utive days, as these are no longer eligible reasons to terminate 
care during the 12-month eligibility period. 

Regarding the 15-day termination notice, the Commission clari-
fies that for parents with a nontemporary cessation of activities, 
at a minimum, notification must be provided at least 15 calen-
dar days prior to the end of the three-month period of continued 
care. However, Boards should also clearly notify or provide clear 
instructions to parents at the beginning of the three-month period 
that care will end if the parent does not resume participation at 
any level within three months. 

Section 809.71 is amended to remove the 30-day notification due 
to terminations to make room for a priority group member, as this 
is no longer an allowable reason to terminate care during the 
12-month period. 

Section 809.71 is also amended to remove the requirement that 
parents be informed of the Board's attendance policies. No-

tification of the attendance standards are located in amended 
§809.78. 

Comment: 

Two commenters disagreed that the 20-day notification of eli-
gibility be applied at both the initial eligibility determination and 
the eligibility redetermination, as required in the proposed rules. 
The commenters stated that the notification within 20 days upon 
receipt of all necessary documentation is pertinent for initial de-
termination. However, redeterminations must be completed with 
sufficient time in order to meet the 15-day termination notifica-
tion prior to end of the 12-month period. Therefore, the same 
allowance to receive all necessary documentation and then de-
termine and notify within 20 days is not applicable. 

Since the child is already receiving care, and if the intent is not 
to have an interruption in services, the commenters recommend 
that the required documentation be received at least 30 days in 
advance of the end of the eligibility period, which will allow for 
processing time, and in the event the parent is not eligible for 
services to continue, the termination of services could be real-
ized and care would not continue past the 12-month end date. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees with the commenters and has modi-
fied the rules to establish the 20-day notification of eligibility or 
denial only for initial eligibility determinations. The Commission 
also agrees with the commenters and clarifies that if the family 
is determined to not be eligible for care at the eligibility redeter-
mination, then the family must be notified of termination at least 
15-days before the end of the current 12-month eligibility period. 

The Commission believes that the timeline for parent submis-
sion of documentation is at a Board's discretion. However, a 
Board must ensure that the deadline for submitting redetermina-
tion documentation provides sufficient time for a Board child care 
contractor to accurately redetermine eligibility and to ensure that 
the Board child care contractor provide the 15-day notification of 
termination prior to the end of the 12-month eligibility period, if it 
is determined that the family is not eligible for care. 

Comment: 

Several commenters recommended that the 20-day notification 
of the eligibility determination be extended to allow for quality 
assurance. Since significant resources are being committed due 
to the 12-month eligibility period, the commenters stated that it is 
critical that accuracy is maintained and recommended additional 
time be allowed for review of case processing. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to extend the 20-day requirement 
for initial eligibility determinations. The Commission agrees 
that accuracy and quality assurance is vital, especially with 
the 12-month eligibility period; however, this quality assurance 
should be conducted within 20 days in order to ensure that 
parents who need child care do not have a delay in services. 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification as to whether the 
15-day notification of termination is provided during the period 
of care or at the end of the care. Several commenters recom-
mended that the clarification provided in the preamble that the 
notification of termination notice be provided at least 15 days 
prior to the end of the three-month period of continued care 
be adopted in all instances in which this notification is required 
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to be sent. To send the notification on the termination date 
requires the Board to pay for an additional 15 days of care and 
adds to the increased cost of care. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the 15-day notification is required 
at least 15 days prior to ending care at the end of the eligibility 
period, if the parent is determined not to be eligible, or at the end 
of the three-month continuation of care period, if the parent has 
not resumed activities, and emphasizes that the 12-month eligi-
bility period cannot be extended to allow for the 15-day notice of 
termination. 

Comment: 

Two commenters recommended that proposed language stating 
the customer has the right to receive written notification at least 
15 days before termination of child care services be changed to 
say the customer has the right to be sent written notification at 
least 15 days before termination of child care services. The com-
menter questions how the Board or contractor would determine 
the customer received the written notification. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make changes to this rule. This is 
a long-standing requirement with which Boards and Board con-
tractors should be familiar. It is correct that there is no guarantee 
that the parent would actually receive the notification, particularly 
if the parent moves and did not notify the Board. However, the 
intent of the language is that the Board's contractor must send 
the notification to ensure, under normal circumstances, that the 
parent would receive the notification at least 15 days of termina-
tion. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if, during the redetermination process, 
the family income exceeds 85 percent of SMI, does the customer 
still have 15 days from the day the parent is notified of the termi-
nation of child care services. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the parent must receive a notifi-
cation at least 15 days prior to terminating care at the end of the 
12-month eligibility period, including for cases determined ineli-
gible due to family income exceeding 85 percent of SMI. 

§809.72. Parent Eligibility Documentation Requirements 

Section 809.72(a) is amended to clarify that child care cannot 
be determined or redetermined and care cannot be authorized 
until parents provide to the Board's child care contractor all the 
information necessary to determine eligibility. 

Section 809.72(b) is amended to clarify that a parent's failure 
to submit required documentation shall result in initial denial of 
child care service or the termination of services at the 12-month 
redetermination period. 

As mentioned in §809.42(a), due to the requirement in CCDBG 
Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) that each child who receives CCDF-funded 
child care will be considered to meet all eligibility requirements 
and will receive assistance for not less than 12 months before 
the eligibility is redetermined, it is critical that all eligibility docu-
mentation submitted is properly and accurately verified prior to 
authorizing care. As described in §809.42(c), an exception to 
this requirement exists for a child experiencing homelessness. 

§809.73. Parent Reporting Requirements 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N)(ii) and NPRM §98.21(e)(2) state 
that any requirement for parents to provide notification of 
changes in circumstances shall not constitute an undue burden 
on families. Any such requirements shall: 

--limit notification requirements to changes that impact a fam-
ily's eligibility (e.g., only if income exceeds 85 percent of SMI, or 
there is a nontemporary change in the status of the child's parent 
as working or attending a job training or educational program) or 
changes that impact the Lead Agency's ability to contact the fam-
ily or pay providers; 

--not require an office visit to fulfill notification requirements; and 

--offer a range of notification options (e.g., phone, e-mail, online 
forms, extended submission hours) to accommodate the needs 
of working parents. 

Further NPRM language states that Lead Agencies must allow 
families the option to voluntarily report changes on an ongoing 
basis: 

--Lead Agencies are required to act on the information provided 
by the family if it would reduce the family's copayment or increase 
the family's subsidy. 

--Lead Agencies are prohibited from acting on information that 
would reduce the family's subsidy unless the information pro-
vided indicates that the family's income exceeds 85 percent of 
SMI for a family of the same size, taking into account irregular 
income fluctuations, or, at the option of the Lead Agency, if the 
family has experienced a nontemporary change in work, train-
ing, or educational status. 

Section 809.73 related to parent reporting requirements is 
amended consistent with this guidance. 

Section 809.73(a) is amended to require Boards to ensure that 
during the 12-month eligibility period, parents are only required 
to report items that impact a family's eligibility or that enable 
the Board or Board contractor to contact the family or pay the 
provider. 

This is further clarified in §809.73(b), which is amended to state 
that parents shall report to the child care contractor, within 14 
calendar days of the occurrence, the following: 

--Changes in family income or family size that would cause the 
family to exceed 85 percent of SMI for a family of the same size; 

--Changes in work or attendance at a job training or educational 
program not considered to be temporary changes, as described 
in §809.51; and 

--Any change in family residence, primary phone number, or 
e-mail (if available). 

The amendment extends the number of days to report from the 
current 10 calendar days to 14 calendar days. This will allow 
additional time for parents to report changes while also allowing 
sufficient time for Boards to make any requested changes in the 
parent share of cost or for other authorization changes to be-
come effective, as well as sufficient time to adjust the parent's 
eligibility (if the reported change caused the family to exceed 85 
percent SMI or constitutes a nontemporary change in activity sta-
tus). 

Because the CCDBG Act limits termination of eligibility for care 
to the parent's permanent cessation of work, training, or educa-
tion activities, or the family exceeding 85 percent of SMI (tak-
ing into consideration fluctuations of income), §809.73 is also 
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amended to remove the provision that care may be terminated 
and costs may be recovered due to a parent failure to report a 
change in §809.73(b). However, the provision that failure to re-
port a change may result in fact-finding for suspected fraud as 
described in Subchapter F is retained. 

Section 809.73 is also amended to require Boards to allow par-
ents to report, and require the child care contractor to take ap-
propriate action, regarding changes in: 

--income and family size, which may result in a reduction in the 
parent share of cost pursuant to §809.19; and 

--work, job training, or education program participation that may 
result in an increase in the level of child care services. 

The CCDBG Act requires that reporting requirements during the 
12-month period do not constitute an undue burden on working 
parents, and the NPRM clarifies that the reporting requirements 
must only be on information that affects eligibility or the ability to 
contact the parent and pay the provider. Therefore, the Commis-
sion emphasizes that Boards must not require parents to report 
any changes during the 12-month period other than those spec-
ified in amended §809.73(a) - (b). 

The Agency will work with Boards to provide technical assistance 
on establishing clear and family-friendly information for parents 
on when they are required to report income and family changes. 

Additionally, the Agency will work with Boards to provide reports 
and tools, including tools associated with wage records and a 
child's attendance tracking, to assist Boards in identifying par-
ents and families that: 

--may have changes in income or family size that may have re-
sulted in the family income exceeding 85 percent of the SMI; or 

--may have experienced a nontemporary change in work, train-
ing, or education activities. 

Implementation of the Reporting Requirements 

The Commission clarifies that parents with children enrolled prior 
to the effective date of the rule amendments may be notified 
of the new parent reporting requirements at the parent's next 
scheduled redetermination. However, the standards for assess-
ing any reported changes to the parent's eligibility as well as 
changes in the consequences for failure to report will be effec-
tive on the effective date of the amended rules. Therefore, the 
Board must ensure that if a parent fails to report a change that 
was required under the former rules, care shall not be terminated 
and recoupment is not required for this failure to report, subject 
to the requirements in Subchapter F regarding recoupments. 

Comment: 

Several commenters stated that the 14 calendar days to report 
changes seems irrelevant. While a reporting requirement is 
needed, since care will continue during the 12-month eligibility 
period, a time frame is not necessary. At whatever point the 
parent reports, fact-finding would have to occur to determine 
the start date of the change to determine eligibility. There is 
no adverse action that can occur if the parent does not report 
within 14 days. 

One commenter recommended that the reporting requirement 
remain but remove the 14 days. The commenter also recom-
mended that "parent shall" language be removed since there is 
no action (i.e., termination of services) that can be the result if 
the parent does not report. 

Response: 

The 14-day reporting requirement is to place the parent on notice 
that any changes that affect eligibility or that enable the Board or 
Board contractor to contact the family or pay the provider must be 
reported as soon as possible in order to allow appropriate time 
for the contractor to review and verify the documentation and 
to determine the appropriate action to take. If it is discovered, 
either upon eligibility redetermination or during the 12-month eli-
gibility period, that a change affecting eligibility was not reported 
timely, then that failure to report may be grounds for fact-finding 
for suspected fraud. 

Comment: 

Several commenters suggested that parents report all changes 
and allow the contractor to determine whether or not that change 
impacts the family's eligibility. The commenters stated that it 
is easier for parents to remember to report all changes rather 
than tasking them with making the determination themselves as 
to whether a change may affect their eligibility. If the change 
reported does not constitute a change that impacts eligibility, no 
action will be taken by contractor staff. Encouraging parents to 
report all changes lowers their risk of receiving services for which 
they are not eligible. It could also impact the family positively 
because if they report a change that does not impact eligibility, it 
could still potentially reduce their parent share of cost or increase 
their level of subsidy. Since the preamble indicates that parents 
are required to report one type of change, and are encouraged 
to voluntarily report all other changes, it would benefit both the 
parent and contractor staff if given the flexibility to continue to 
ask (not require) parents to report all changes to the contractor. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to require that parents report all 
changes. The CCDBG Act states that any requirements for 
parents to provide notification of changes shall not constitute an 
undue burden on families. The Commission agrees that parents 
need clear instructions and guidelines on what information 
would rise to the level of a required report. 

The Agency will work with Boards to provide clear income and 
family size levels that, if surpassed, would be over the 85 percent 
of the SMI eligibility requirement. Clear guidance should also 
be provided to parents regarding actions that would constitute 
a temporary change and not need to be reported. The Child 
Care Services Guide will include guidance for helping parents 
understand what is considered a temporary change. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that Boards be allowed to sanction 
parents for any status changes that would affect eligibility that is 
not reported, such as changes in income, household size, and 
address. 

Response: 

The Commission notes that pursuant to §809.112, certain 
parental actions may be grounds for suspected fraud and cause 
for Boards to conduct fraud fact-finding or the Agency to initiate 
a fraud investigation. This will be discussed in greater detail in 
Subchapter F, Fraud Fact-Finding and Improper Payments. 

Comment: 

Two commenters asked if the various exception reports from 
Agency (UI Early Warning, Work & Training, Identity Mismatch, 
and Income Exceptions) will still be necessary. 
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One commenter also requested Board flexibility in continuing to 
contact parents when information available to the contractor (via 
TIERS, UI, or exception reports provided by the Agency) may 
indicate that the parent is facing an eligibility issue (such as loss 
of employment, a second job that puts them over the 85 percent 
of SMI guidelines, or has had a change in work, training, or ed-
ucation status). 

Response: 

The Commission agrees that these reports will continue to be 
very important tools that Boards should use to identify potential 
changes to the parent's work or income status that may have 
occurred during the 12-month eligibility period. 

Additionally, the Commission agrees that parents must be con-
tacted when information becomes available that may indicate 
that a family is no longer eligible. In fact, the Commission notes 
that the exception reports and data analysis tools should not be 
the sole source used to determine whether the parent has, in 
fact, experienced a change in income or a change in work, train-
ing, or education participation. The parent must be contacted 
and given the opportunity to explain the exception and submit 
documentation, if necessary, to demonstrate that the change did 
not result in the family exceeding 85 percent of SMI or did not 
result in a permanent cessation of work, training, or education 
activities. 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if the contractor receives informa-
tion from a source other than the parent regarding potential eligi-
bility issues, will the contractor be allowed to contact the parent 
to request additional information. Additionally, one commenter 
asked what consequences are allowed to be imposed for not re-
sponding to the inquiry within a set number of days. 

Response: 

The activities described in the comment are allowable. How-
ever, care cannot be terminated based solely on the reports or 
the parent's failure to respond to the request for information. 
The CCDBG Act and the NPRM state that once the child is 
determined eligible, the child is assumed to be eligible for the 
12-month period. 

If a parent does not respond to requests for information, then 
a Board may need to address this at either the 12-month rede-
termination or as part of a potential fraud fact-finding, or both. 
Additional guidance will be provided in the Child Care Services 
Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested guidance on situations in which an 
individual on a temporary summer semester break intends to go 
back to school after the break, but then does not go back to 
school. Do they receive three months of continued care from 
the time school let out or from the time they decided not to go 
back to school? The commenter also asked what happens if a 
temporary break turns into a permanent end and is not reported. 

Response: 

The Commission has clarified in rule that a break between the 
spring and fall semesters would constitute a temporary break in 
activities. The three months of continued care would start from 
the date that the temporary break due to the summer semester 
change became a permanent change. In this example, the sum-
mer break is considered a temporary change, but the failure to 

return to school following this period would be the permanent 
change and child care would continue only for three months fol-
lowing the permanent change, namely, the failure to return to 
school. If the parent does not report the permanent change in 
status and this is discovered at eligibility redetermination, then 
the failure to report is grounds for fraud fact-finding. 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if it is the continued expectation 
that parents enrolled in a training institution be monitored by 
each semester, as they are now. The preamble noted that the 
enrollment information should be obtained from the training or 
education institution, instead of requiring the parent to submit 
this documentation. The commenters indicated that most train-
ing institutions in their area will not produce this type of enroll-
ment information for their students. 

The commenters noted that the preamble states that "Boards 
may develop procedures for confirming continued enrollment 
and attendance during the 12-month eligibility period…." The 
commenters requested clarification of the intent behind verifying 
this information when temporary changes do not impact the 
required 12-month eligibility period. 

The commenters requested clarification on the statement that 
Boards may request that educational institutions and training 
providers confirm enrollment and resumption of training classes. 
Are Boards limited to collecting this information directly from ed-
ucational institutions or may the information be requested from 
parents? Educational institutions are unlikely to release such in-
formation directly to Boards. 

This issue is causing some confusion, as it would seem that if 
parents do not report a nontemporary cessation of education or 
training activities, and if they are not monitored by semester, the 
possibility of fraud review may increase. However, this seems to 
go against the 12-month eligibility determination philosophy. 

Response: 

Section 809.73 requires parents to report a nontemporary (per-
manent) change in the education status during the 12-month pe-
riod. Section 809.51(a)(2)(C) has been amended to clarify that 
student holidays or breaks within a semester or between the fall 
and spring semesters, or between the spring and fall semesters, 
are temporary and do not need to be reported. 

However, for parents solely in education activities, parents must 
report breaks in these education activities that are longer than 
the breaks described in §809.51(a)(2)(C) (e.g., breaks between 
the fall and summer semester or breaks that include two full 
semesters). Therefore, Boards may develop procedures for con-
firming during the 12-month eligibility period, including request-
ing that education institutions and training providers confirm en-
rollment at each semester and the resumption of training classes 
in order to determine that the parent has not had a nontempo-
rary cessation of education or training activities. The Commis-
sion understands that educational institutions may not be able to 
provide such information. However, this is an allowable Board 
procedure. 

Also, the resumption of enrollment after the nontemporary break 
between semesters does not need to be reported by the parent 
for continuation of care through the end of the 12-month period. 
The resumption of enrollment is only required at the 12-month 
redetermination period. 

§809.74. Parent Appeal Rights 
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Section 809.74 is amended to clarify that parents may appeal the 
amount of any recoupment determined pursuant to Subchapter 
F of this chapter. 

§809.75. Child Care during Appeal 

Section 809.75 is amended to remove the provisions for not con-
tinuing care during a parent appeal as the reasons for terminat-
ing care provided in this section no longer apply. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that his experience shows that parents 
who are ineligible choose to continue care regardless of the pos-
sibility of having to pay for child care. Commenters request that if 
a hearing officer affirms a determination of ineligibility that there 
be no recoupment owed by the parent. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to change the rule regarding repay-
ment of child care provided during the appeal if the decision that 
the parent was ineligible for care is affirmed upon appeal. An 
affirmation of termination of care is a verification that the parent 
was not eligible to continue to receive services. The rule lan-
guage at §809.71(13) also requires that parents be informed of 
the appeal rights, including that the cost of care during the appeal 
is subject to recovery. Failure to attempt recovery of payments 
for services for which the person was not eligible is not allowed. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that the modified rule language implies 
that child care during an appeal is required and does not have 
to be requested by the parent. If the parent does request child 
care during an appeal, is it automatically approved? If the local 
review of the appeal process upholds the termination and the 
parent received child care during an appeal, how can we seek 
recoupment of these funds if the parent did not request child care 
during an appeal? 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the rule language has not changed 
regarding child care continuing during appeal. The language 
does not require that child care continue only if requested by the 
parent. The rule retains the statement that the cost of providing 
services during the appeal is subject to recovery if the decision is 
rendered against the parent. Rule language at §809.71(13) also 
requires that parents be informed of the appeal rights, includ-
ing that the cost of care during the appeal is subject to recovery. 
Boards must inform parents of this and allow the parent the op-
tion of not continuing care during the appeal. If the parent agrees 
that child care should continue, then the rules require that care 
continue during the appeal. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired if the Board can set local policy that 
states customers must pay this amount in full before they can 
apply to receive services again. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees and notes that §809.117, regarding re-
covery of improper payments, includes the requirement that pay-
ments made during the appeal in which the appeal is rendered 
against the parent are subject to full recovery in order for the par-
ent to be eligible for future child care. 

§809.76. Parent Responsibility Agreement 

As stated previously, CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(N) states that 
each child who receives assistance will be considered to meet 
all eligibility requirements for such assistance and will receive 
such assistance for not less than 12 months before the state 
redetermines eligibility. 

NPRM §98.20(b)(4) clarifies that the state may establish addi-
tional eligibility conditions, regarding the child's age, citizenship, 
residing in a family with an income that does not exceed 85 
percent SMI, and residing with parents who are working or in 
job training or education, as long as the additional requirements 
do not impact eligibility other than at the time of eligibility 
determination or redetermination. Additionally, CCDBG Act 
§658E(c)(2)(N)(ii) and NPRM §98.21(d) require that Lead 
Agency eligibility redetermination requirements do not unduly 
disrupt parent work, training, or education activities. 

The PRA in §809.76 requires that the parent shall: 

--pursue child support by: 

--cooperating with the Office of the Attorney General (OAG), if 
necessary, to establish paternity and to enforce child support on 
an ongoing basis by either: 

--providing documentation that the parent has an open case with 
OAG and is cooperating with OAG; or 

--opening a child support case with OAG and providing docu-
mentation that the parent is cooperating with OAG; or 

--providing documentation that the parent has an arrangement 
with the absent parent for child support and is receiving child 
support on an ongoing basis; 

--not use, sell, or possess marijuana or other controlled sub-
stances; and 

--ensure that each family member younger than 18 years of age 
attend school regularly (unless exempt under state law). 

Current §809.76(c) requires that the parent demonstrate compli-
ance with these provisions within three months of initial eligibil-
ity. If the parent does not demonstrate compliance within three 
months, child care is required to end. Some Boards require par-
ents to demonstrate compliance with the PRA at the time of initial 
eligibility. 

Boards have reported that parents meet PRA requirements by 
opening an OAG case at initial determination, closing the case 
immediately following initial determination, and then reopening 
the case immediately prior to redetermination. This increases 
OAG's workload and requires Boards and Board contractors to 
track parent compliance with the PRA-without meeting the PRA's 
intent. 

Therefore, §809.76 regarding the PRA is repealed, as the re-
quirements of the provisions of the PRA: 

--cannot be applied or enforced during the 12-month eligibility 
period; 

--cause delays in determining eligibility; and 

--cause errors in calculating income due to inconsistent receipt 
of child support. 

Comment: 

Several commenters expressed appreciation to the Commission 
for the Commission's willingness to review and accept the re-
quest to remove the PRA as a requirement for child care eligibil-
ity. 
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Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter, although appreciative of the removal of the 
PRA, inquired if the Commission will take into consideration the 
impact of removal of PRA on performance since the removal of 
the PRA affects parent income, which could affect parent share 
of cost and the final amount the Board pays. 

Response: 

The Agency will monitor any impact to child care performance 
targets. 

§809.77. Exemptions from the Parent Responsibility Agreement 

Section 809.77 related to exemptions from the PRA is repealed. 

§809.78. Attendance Standards and Reporting Requirements 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(S) and NPRM §98.45(m) require im-
plementation of provider payment practices that: 

--align with generally accepted payment practices for children 
who do not receive CCDF funds; and 

--support the fixed costs of providing child care services by 
delinking provider payments from a child's occasional absences. 

NPRM §98.45(m)(2) included four options that states may con-
sider to meet the statutory requirement to support the fixed costs 
of providing child care by delinking payments from a child's oc-
casional absence. The options include: 

--paying providers based on a child's enrollment, rather than at-
tendance; 

--providing full payment to providers as long as a child attends 
for at least 85 percent of the authorized time; 

--providing full payment to providers as long as a child is absent 
for five or fewer days in a four-week period; and 

--requiring states that do not choose one of these three ap-
proaches to describe their approach in the State Plan, including 
how the approach is not weaker than one of the three listed 
above. 

Currently, Chapter 809 requires Boards to establish a policy on 
attendance standards and procedures regarding reimbursement 
to providers for absence days. Chapter 809 requires Boards to 
terminate services if a child exceeds the Board-allowed num-
ber of paid absences during a year. If care is terminated due to 
excessive absences, then the parent must wait 30 days before 
reapplying for services. 

Neither the CCDBG Act nor the NPRM grants states the author-
ity to terminate care due to a child not meeting the state's atten-
dance standards. 

As described in §809.93, consistent with the requirements in the 
CCDBG Act and the NPRM, the Commission amends §809.93 
to state that providers shall be reimbursed based on the child's 
enrollment, rather than daily attendance. 

The Commission must ensure that authorizations for reimburse-
ment based on enrollments do not result in underutilization of 
services, and must reduce the potential for waste, fraud, or 
abuse of public child care funds. The Commission establishes 
statewide attendance standards designed to encourage parents 
to fully use child care services. The rules also require that 

12-month attendance standards must be met in order for the 
child to continue to be eligible at the 12-month recertification. 

Section 809.78(a)(1) is amended to require that parents shall 
be notified that the eligible child shall attend on a regular basis 
consistent with the child's authorization for enrollment. Failure 
to meet monthly attendance standards may: 

--result in suspension of care, at the concurrence of the parent; 
and 

--be grounds for determining that a change in the parent's par-
ticipation in work, job training, or an education program has oc-
curred and care may be terminated pursuant to the requirements 
in §809.51(b). 

Section 809.78(a)(2) establishes allowable attendance stan-
dards as fewer than: 

--five consecutive absences during the month; or 

--ten total absences during the month. 

Section 809.78(a)(3) requires parents to be notified that if a child 
exceeds 65 total absences during the most recent 12-month 
period, then the child is not eligible for continued care at the 
12-month eligibility redetermination period and shall not be el-
igible for a minimum of 12 months. 

Section 809.78(a)(4) includes in the parent notification that child 
care providers may end a child's enrollment with the provider if 
the child does not meet the provider's established attendance 
policy. As will be discussed in Subchapter E, regarding provider 
reimbursement based on enrollment, a child's eligibility cannot 
end based on the number of absences. However, parents must 
be notified that a provider is allowed to discontinue enrollment of 
the child at the provider facility if the child does not meet atten-
dance standards established by the provider. 

Section 809.78(a) is also amended to remove the provisions 
that child care services may be terminated for absences or mis-
use of attendance automation policies. However, the rules at 
§809.78(a)(9) state that the parent or secondary cardholders giv-
ing the attendance card or personal identification number (PIN) 
to another person, including the provider, is grounds for a poten-
tial fraud determination pursuant to Subchapter F of this chapter. 

Section 809.78(c) is added to state that Boards shall ensure that 
absences due to a child's documented chronic illness or disabil-
ity or court-ordered visitation are not included in the number of 
absences in paragraphs (2) and (3) (related to monthly and the 
12-month attendance standards). 

Section 809.78(d) is added to state that when a child's enroll-
ment has been ended by a provider in §809.78(d)(4), Boards 
shall work with the parent to place the otherwise eligible child in 
another eligible provider. 

The Commission acknowledges that the rule amendments re-
lated to enrollments and absences will require substantial mod-
ifications to existing Board policies and procedures as well as 
changes to the Agency's information and attendance automa-
tion systems. The Agency will work with Boards regarding these 
changes and to develop necessary reports to assist Boards, par-
ents, and providers in tracking attendance. 

Comment: 

Several commenters agreed that the goal of preventing potential 
waste, fraud, or abuse was to ensure that the child care autho-
rizations are being used. The commenters also understood that 
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the CCDBG Act and the NPRM absences are not listed as an 
allowable termination of care reason during the 12-month eligi-
bility period. Several commenters supported the development of 
statewide attendance standards designed to encourage parents 
to fully use child care services. One commenter stated that en-
couraging parents to maintain regular attendance for their child 
in a high-quality early education program results in stronger out-
comes for children and families. The commenter was pleased to 
see that the Commission has considered multiple opportunities 
to quantify absences, and interpreted this as a commitment to 
supporting the development of the whole family and their needs 
outside of child care. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Many commenters expressed concerns regarding the lack of en-
forcement of attendance standards. The commenters stated 
that the enforcement mechanisms (suspension, determining a 
change in parents' activity participation) are not efficient or ef-
fective to enforce compliance with attendance reporting require-
ments or attendance standards. 

One commenter pointed out that the Agency commented to ACF 
that attendance should be considered an eligibility requirement. 
While TWC provided comment to ACF requesting the consider-
ation of termination of services due to excessive absences, with-
out being able to end services, the additional 10 in a month or 
41 in a year are not needed. 

Many commenters requested that Boards be allowed to set local 
policy for redeterminations that consider whether or not atten-
dance standards were met during the previous eligibility period. 

Response: 

The Commission understands the commenters' concerns. As 
one of the commenters pointed out, the Commission provided 
comments to the NPRM recommending that the regulations to 
allow states the flexibility to end services during the 12-month 
eligibility period for children and families that do not meet state 
attendance standards. However, pending the final rules, there 
is no statement in the CCDBG Act or the NPRM that expressly 
gives states this flexibility. 

Regarding the recommendation that Boards be allowed to set lo-
cal policy for redeterminations that consider whether or not atten-
dance standards were met during the previous eligibility period, 
the Commission agrees that a child's attendance during the pre-
vious eligibility period should be taken into consideration at eligi-
bility redetermination. However, the Commission does not agree 
that this should be established by Board policy. The Commission 
believes it is important to have statewide attendance standards 
in order to ensure that families and providers are treated con-
sistently across the state regarding payments for absences and 
consequences for failure to meet attendance standards and re-
porting requirements. 

Therefore, the Commission modified the proposed rules at 
§809.98(a)(3) to require that parents be notified that if a child is 
absent more than 65 days during the 12-month eligibility period, 
then the child is not eligible for continued care at the 12-month 
eligibility redetermination period and shall not be eligible for a 
minimum of 12 months. 

The 65 total absences number is based on 75 percent atten-
dance during a typical 12-month eligibility period of 260 autho-

rized days. However, the Commission clarifies that the atten-
dance standard is not 75 percent of any individual authorized en-
rollment. The attendance standard is fewer than 65 absences on 
any authorizations, including authorizations in which care may 
be for more than five days a week based on a parent's flexible 
work schedule or fewer than five days a week based on the par-
ent's needs. 

The 65-day attendance standard should not be confused with 
a provider's own attendance policies. As stated previously, in-
dividual provider attendance standards are at the discretion of 
the provider's operational policies. A provider could end enroll-
ment for a child that does not meet the provider's attendance 
standards. However, if a provider ends the care due to viola-
tions of the provider attendance standards, the child care con-
tractor must work with the parent to place the otherwise eligible 
child in another eligible provider. The Commission has added 
§809.78(d) to emphasize this point. 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if absences due to extenuating cir-
cumstances such as illness or absences due to court-ordered 
visitations would be included in the absence totals for the at-
tendance standards. One commenter provided specific sug-
gestions regarding the circumstances in which these absences 
would or would not be counted, including partially counting par-
ticular absences over the course of a particular period. 

Response: 

In order to ensure that the attendance standards are consistently 
applied and enforced, the Commission believes that the treat-
ment of these types of absences should be included in Commis-
sion rules. Therefore, the Commission has added §809.78(c) 
to state that Boards shall ensure that absences due to a child's 
documented chronic illness or disability or court-ordered visita-
tion are not included in the number of absences in §809.78(a)(2) 
- (3). 

Comment: 

Many commenters requested clarification regarding the use 
of suspensions during the 12-month authorization period as a 
method for enforcing attendance standards and requested guid-
ance on how to implement suspensions. Several commenters 
requested that Boards be given local flexibility to define how 
the suspension process works in the workforce area since the 
proposed rules do not address this issue. 

Response: 

As noted earlier in the section entitled "Suspensions of Child 
Care during the 12-month Eligibility Period," the preamble to 
the NPRM notes that, consistent with §658E(c)(2)(N)(i) of the 
CCDBG Act, once determined eligible, the child "will receive 
such assistance" for the 12-month eligibility period, and "during 
the minimum 12-month eligibility period Lead Agencies also may 
not end or suspend child care authorization or provider payments 
due to a temporary change in a parent's work, training, or edu-
cation status." 

However, the preamble also notes that "despite the language 
that the child 'will receive such assistance,' the receipt of such 
services remains at the option of the family." The law does not 
require the family to continue receiving services nor would it 
force the family to remain with a provider if the family no longer 
chooses to receive such services. 
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Consistent with this guidance, the Commission modifies 
§809.78(a)(1) to require that the parent must concur with the 
suspension. The Board cannot suspend care without the agree-
ment and concurrence of the parent. Suspension of care without 
the request or concurrence from the parent is not allowed during 
the 12-month eligibility period under the guidance provided by 
the NPRM. 

Board child care contractors are encouraged to contact parents 
to determine the reason for the absences, including if the ab-
sences are due to a change in activity status. 

Contractors should work with the parent, including sending let-
ters to the parents, to encourage attendance, recommend po-
tential suspensions or reduction in the authorization and remind 
the parent of potential consequences, including termination of 
care at the 12-month redetermination period with the child not 
being eligible for care for future child care services for 12 months. 
Boards and contractors are reminded that suspensions or reduc-
tions in the authorizations can only occur with the concurrence of 
the parent. This will also be clarified in the Child Care Services 
Guide. 

Comment: 

Several Boards pointed out that some Boards are not currently 
reimbursing providers for the parent's failure to report attendance 
and asked if these Boards would now be required to pay for the 
non-reported attendance. 

Response: 

As discussed in §809.93, provider reimbursement will be based 
on the child's monthly authorized enrollment, excluding periods 
of suspensions. Providers will be reimbursed for all authorized 
days, including absences and days in which the parent did not 
report attendance. Boards currently not reimbursing providers 
for non-reported attendance days must start reimbursing the 
providers under the new rules. 

Comment: 

Several commenters inquired if the parent's failure to report at-
tendance using the child care attendance automation (CCAA) 
system would be counted as an absence. One commenter noted 
that often the five-day and 10-day consecutive absences are the 
result of the unavailability of the CCAA attendance card, as ei-
ther the card has not been received by the parent or the card 
needs to be replaced. 

Many commenters noted that the language in §809.78(a)(10) in-
cludes language that the failure to report attendance or the denial 
of the attendance report by the automated system "may" result 
in an absence counted toward the attendance standards. The 
commenters requested that Boards have the local flexibility to 
develop policy for how this will be counted; and, if so, that the 
guidance should be either added to the rule language or included 
in the Child Care Services Guide. 

One commenter requested that if the intent is to include non-
reported days as an absence, then language should be added 
to the rule stating that "absences and non-reported attendance" 
are counted as absences. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments, but declines to in-
clude rule language specifying that all non-reported attendance 
should be counted as an absence. As one commenter noted, 

the non-reported attendance could be the result of the inability 
to record attendance due to issues with the attendance card. 

However, the Commission agrees that the procedures for includ-
ing or excluding non-reported attendance as an absence should 
be included in the Child Care Services Guide. Currently, such 
guidance to Boards is provided in §E-804: "Board Absence Poli-
cies for Parent Failure to Report Attendance" of the Child Care 
Services Guide. The guidance requires Boards to ensure that 
the decision to include the non-reported day must take into con-
sideration situations that are beyond the control of the parent. 
The guidance in the revised Child Care Services Guide will be 
consistent with this requirement. 

Providers will also continue to be able to report attendance that 
the parent was unable to report due to the CCAA system. 

The Commission will make modifications to §E-804 to reflect the 
new rules for Boards to ensure that their procedures for including 
non-reported days as an absence comply with the Child Care 
Services Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested information regarding the methodol-
ogy used for determining these allowable attendance standards, 
as the commenter believed the proposed 41 absences in a 
12-month period seem excessive. The commenter stated that 
no employer would accept an employee being absent for 41 
days. The commenter stated that this 12-month period absence 
limit seems too generous and wasteful of taxpayer funds, es-
pecially when other families will be on the child care services 
waiting list for services. 

Response: 

The proposed rule language allows for a total of 40 absences in 
12-months. This equated to 85 percent attendance of the stan-
dard 260 annual child care days, which is approximately three 
days a month and is listed in the NPRM as the minimal accept-
able annual attendance standard for providers to receive full pay-
ment. 

Because the Commission has made a change as an enforce-
ment mechanism of the attendance standards, the Commission 
believes it is necessary to increase the annual amount from 40 
to 65 absences in a 12-month period. This is approximately five 
absences a month. Although this may not be an acceptable stan-
dard for adults in the workplace, the Commission believes that 
five absences over the course of a month is appropriate for chil-
dren in a child care setting, particularly if the child's continued 
eligibility at the 12-month redetermination period is at stake if 
the annual amount is exceeded. 

The Commission notes that rules specifically exclude absences 
due to a child's documented chronic illness and disability, but do 
not exclude all absences due to illnesses. Young children expe-
rience a higher rate of non-chronic illnesses, particularly during 
their early years, and the Commission believes it is important to 
account for the absences in the absence count, but allow for a 
reasonable threshold as to not jeopardize continued eligibility. 

Additionally, the annual absence requirement takes into consid-
eration authorizations in which care may be for more than five 
days a week based on a parent's flexible work schedule. The 
Commission recognizes that many parents have work schedules 
that may be seven days one week, three days another week, 
and four days in other weeks, and that these schedules are not 
established on a routine basis. The monthly authorization must 
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reflect          
able to the child. Some absences on many of those authorized, 
but non-working days, are to be expected and the 65 total ab-
sences during the year account for these variations. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification as to whether care 
is to be terminated if the child does not meet the attendance 
standards in the rules. One commenter stated that if care cannot 
be terminated during the eligibility period, and the absences are 
only to alert the contractor to check into the parent's status, then 
this would appear to be a burden. Another commenter asked 
how absence letters will work with these changes. 

Response: 

The Commission emphasizes that the CCDBG Act and the 
NPRM do not allow for care to be terminated during the 

this variation and the provider must make the space avail-

12-month period for absences. Contractors should work with the 
parent, including sending letters to the parents, to encourage at-
tendance, recommend potential suspensions or reduction in the 
authorization, and remind the parent of potential consequences, 
including termination of care at the 12-month redetermination 
period with the child not being eligible for care for future child 
care services for 12 months. Boards and contractors are re-
minded that suspensions or reductions in the authorizations can 
only occur with the concurrence of the parent. This will also be 
clarified in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Comment: 

Several commenters requested clarification regarding the rule 
language stating the parents must be notified that providers 
may end the child's enrollment with the provider if the child does 
not meet the provider's established policy regarding attendance. 
Several commenters inquired if the Board contractor is required 
to review all the provider attendance policies to ensure the 
provider is in compliance with this language. 

One commenter asked if parents would be able to request a 
transfer if a provider ends child's enrollment due to absences. 

Response: 

The Board's child care contractor will not be responsible for 
maintaining copies of providers' attendance policies. If a 
provider policy is to require adherence to attendance standards, 
then the Board cannot require the provider to keep the child 
enrolled. It is not expected that Boards monitor provider policies 
to ensure the policies are equitably enforced. This notification 
to the parent is intended to ensure that, even though the child's 
eligibility cannot end due to absences, the parent must be 
notified that absences may result in the provider ending care 
if the child is not attending in accordance with the provider's 
attendance standards. 

Parents will be able to transfer, and Boards should work with 
parents in finding placements for, the child. Boards should also 
work with the parent to determine the cause of the absences and 
recommend strategies to reduce absences. 

Comment: 

One commenter was appreciative of the statement in rule that 
providers may end care at the provider facility if absences ex-
ceed the provider policy. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification as to whether the atten-
dance standards are based on one calendar month or 30 calen-
dar days. 

Response: 

The time period specifies a month, not 30 days. This is to align 
with the monthly authorization. 

Comment: 

A commenter asked how Boards that pay providers weekly or 
biweekly should calculate the required attendance for payment 
to the providers. Rule states that providers are reimbursed on 
enrollment; however, there is also an attendance requirement for 
the family to meet. Please clarify whether these are two separate 
items and whether parents not meeting attendance requirements 
would not affect full enrollment payment to providers. 

Another commenter asked how the absences affect payments. 
It appears that the Agency is considering funding based solely 
on enrollment, but an absence policy based on a percentage of 
the enrollment may have a financial impact on providers. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that payments on enrollments and the 
attendance standards are two separate issues. Payments to 
providers will be based on authorized enrollment, not daily at-
tendance. Attendance tracking will help ensure that services are 
being used by alerting contractor staff to provide additional case 
management in situations in which a child is not regularly at-
tending. Further, the annual attendance standard is taken into 
consideration at the eligibility redetermination. 

Comment: 

Many commenters questioned the continued use of CCAA. 
The commenters stated that to be fully consistent with CCDBG 
changes, it is recommended that the Commission eliminate 
any attendance standards, and that the $3 million currently 
budgeted for CCAA be reallocated to direct care and quality. 
Since providers are already required to track attendance as 
part of DFPS minimum standards, CCAA is a duplication. 
Furthermore, since using CCAA cannot be enforced during the 
12-month eligibility period, it should be removed, like the PRA 
requirements. The change from paying providers based on 
authorized enrollment rather than attendance also supports the 
recommendation to stop using the CCAA system. 

The commenters cited the policy brief on Attendance Policies 
and Systems authored by ACF Office of Child Care, which 
states, "Time and attendance systems should support program 
payment policies and goals, not drive them. IT systems should 
be flexible and cost-effective to maintain, and not act as im-
pediments to change." The commenters stated that the CCAA 
system is neither flexible nor cost-effective. The commenters 
stated that there are other, more cost-effective attendance 
tracking systems available. 

One commenter suggested that there may be a way to collab-
orate with Child Care Licensing at both the local and state lev-
els to create a more robust provider fraud prevention program. 
The commenter pointed out that the entire public school system 
bases certain allocations on attendance, but the school adminis-
tration is responsible for reporting 100 percent of its attendance, 
not parents. 
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Another commenter stated that child care centers located on 
military bases are having difficulty meeting the requirement for 
CCAA since the military will not allow a point-of-service machine 
to be connected to their system for security reasons. 

Response: 

Tracking and reporting attendance will continue to be important 
parts of child care services, and CCAA will continue to be used 
for this purpose. Particularly during the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod, it is very important for the Agency, Boards, and contractors 
to be aware of changes and trends in a child's attendance in 
order to contact the parent to determine why absences are oc-
curring and if, with the concurrence of the parent, changes need 
to be made in the monthly authorization in order to reduce the 
number of absences for authorized days. 

Timely attendance reporting and tracking is also an important 
tool in identifying potential nontemporary changes in the parent 
work, training, and education status. 

However, the Commission will work with Boards to gather input 
on any future recommended changes to the automated atten-
dance system resulting from the changes in the rules. 

SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS TO PROVIDE CHILD 
CARE 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter E: 

§809.91. Minimum Requirements for Providers 

CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(K) requires annual unannounced 
inspections of all CCDF providers for compliance with health, 
safety, and fire standards. Relative providers are exempt from 
this requirement. By state statute, listed family homes are 
not inspected by DFPS child care licensing (unless there is a 
report of abuse or neglect at the facility). Therefore, under the 
CCDBG Act, nonrelative listed family homes are not eligible to 
provide CCDF services. Therefore, the Commission amends 
§809.91(a)(3) and (b) to remove requirements for Boards 
choosing to allow nonrelative listed homes as eligible child care 
providers as these providers are no longer eligible to care for 
CCDF-subsidized children. 

Section 809.91(f) is amended to clarify that foster parents who 
are also directors, assistant directors, or have an ownership in 
the child care center, may receive reimbursement if authorized 
by DFPS. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly supported the amendment to remove 
nonrelative listed homes as eligible to care for CCDF-subsidized 
children. All of Texas' children deserve access to child care 
options that meet the standards of health and safety as con-
firmed through annual, unannounced site inspections. The com-
menter commended the state on recognizing the critical impor-
tance of DFPS licensing standards and monitoring. DFPS child 
care licensing establishes minimum standards and monitoring 
processes that ensure the health and safety of children in care. 
Investment of state and federal funds should be made in safe, 
quality early childhood programs that deliver educational out-
comes. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. The Commission 
also notes that the final rules have been modified from the 
proposed rules to include removing §809.91(a)(3), which gave 

Boards the option to allow nonrelative listed family homes. This 
provision was inadvertently retained in the proposed rules. 

§809.92. Provider Responsibilities and Reporting Requirements 

Section 809.92(b) is amended to remove the specific attendance 
reporting requirements for providers to: 

--document and maintain a list of each child's attendance and 
submit the list upon request; 

--inform the Board when an enrolled child is absent; and 

--inform the Board that a child has not attended the first three 
days of scheduled care. 

The implementation of the child care attendance automation sys-
tem eliminates the need for providers to report this attendance 
to the Board. However, the Commission notes that removing 
the requirement from Chapter 809 that providers document and 
maintain a list of each child's attendance does not remove the 
DFPS child care licensing requirement for providers to maintain 
a daily sign-in sheet for all children enrolled at the facility. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that the requirement to maintain atten-
dance records is removed in the proposed rules. However, the 
commenter stated that the contractor uses the sign-in sheets re-
quired by Child Care Licensing as evidence in potential fraud 
cases and would like to continue to request the sign-in sheets 
that are required by Child Care Licensing. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that Boards may continue to request 
these sign-in sheets from providers as part of fraud fact-finding. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on the purpose of the 
requirement that providers report when the parent fails to pay 
the parent share of cost since Boards are not allowed to impose 
consequences to parents failing to comply. The only reason for 
providers, that we can see, is if Boards are required to pay the 
parent share of cost when parents fail to do so. 

Response: 

A Board may have a policy that prohibits transfers if a parent is 
not current on their parent share of cost (as long as this policy 
does not have the effect of terminating a child's care). A Board 
may also have a policy that reimburses the provider if the par-
ent fails to pay the parent share of cost. Both of these policies 
depend on the provider's timely reporting to the child care con-
tractor that the parent is not current on the parent share of cost 
pursuant to §809.93(b)(3). 

The requirement that providers report this information to the con-
tractor will be vital to ensuring that appropriate actions are taken 
with the parent, including potential temporary reductions in the 
parent share of cost. Boards will be able to better anticipate 
costs associated with "making the provider whole," and the con-
tractor will be alerted to families that require outreach and case 
management. 

The Child Care Services Guide will provide guidance on working 
with parents who are not paying their parent share of cost. 

Comment: 

While not stated in rule, there is a common understanding among 
the Board child care network representatives that the provider 
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may end services with the parent if the parent does not pay the 
parent share of cost. This is not based on proposed rule. Should 
it actually be considered, the environment of "provider hopping" 
will occur. The parent will not pay provider A. Provider A ends 
the services. Parent transfers to provider B, and it starts again. 

The Agency provided comment to ACF that allows for termina-
tion of services for nonpayment of parent share of cost. That 
request is fully supported. The termination of services for non-
payment of parent share of cost, if allowed, is the best solution to 
support the providers and to support the parent. If the provider 
reports the nonpayment of parent share of cost appropriately, 
then the parent share of cost could be paid to the provider. The 
parent would then have services terminated or would pay the 
parent share of cost to the Board to have services continued. 

If it remains that services cannot be terminated due to nonpay-
ment of parent share of cost, then recommend that the rule re-
main as it is that the provider must report and the child care con-
tractor works with the parent to pay the parent share of cost to 
the provider before any consideration of a transfer is given. 

Response: 

Pursuant to the NPRM, a child's care may not be terminated 
within the 12-month eligibility period for any reason other than 
income exceeding 85 percent of SMI for a family of the same 
size, or a permanent cessation of work, training, or education 
has occurred and three months of continuing care have been 
provided to allow the parent to resume the work, training, or ed-
ucation activity. 

A Board may establish a policy prohibiting transfers when a par-
ent has failed to pay his or her share of cost, as long as the policy 
does not have the effect of terminating care during the 12-month 
eligibility period. 

Boards may enact policies to pay providers when parents fail 
to pay their share of cost. The Child Care Services Guide will 
provide guidance for contractor staff regarding parents who may 
qualify for a temporary reduction in their parent share of cost. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that the Agency commented to ACF 
disagreement that states or local areas cannot allow providers 
to charge parents above the copay for provider mandatory fees, 
preferring that the decision should be based on local needs and 
provider base. Yet, the Agency issued Workforce Development 
(WD) Letter 33-13 implementing a methodology on calculating 
a provider's published rates, stating that the intent is to ensure 
that provider's published daily rates are consistently calculated 
across the state. The calculation includes enrollment fees, 
supply fees, and activity fees. If indeed there are additional 
mandatory fees, then all mandatory fees should be included in 
the standardized method of calculating daily rate. This would 
negate Agency disagreement that states or local areas cannot 
allow providers to charge parents above the co-pay for provider 
mandatory fees. 

Response: 

The calculation in the referenced WD Letter concerns the 
methodology for calculating an individual provider's published 
rate, which does require the inclusion of provider mandatory 
fees. However, this is not the same as the Board maximum rate. 
Board maximum rates may be higher or lower than an individual 
provider's published rate. If the Board maximum rate is lower 
than the provider's published rate, then the current rules retain 

the provision that a Board may prohibit providers from charging 
parents the difference between the lower Board maximum rate 
and the higher provider published rate. However, this should be 
a local decision. 

§809.93. Provider Reimbursement 

As explained in §809.78 regarding a child's attendance stan-
dards, CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(S) and NPRM §98.45(m) re-
quire implementation of provider payment practices that: 

--align with generally accepted payment practices for children 
who do not receive CCDF funds; and 

--support the fixed costs of providing child care services by 
delinking provider payments from a child's occasional absences. 

NPRM §98.45(m)(2) included four options that states may con-
sider to meet the statutory requirement to support the fixed costs 
of providing child care by delinking payments from a child's oc-
casional absence. The options include: 

--paying providers based on a child's enrollment, rather than at-
tendance; 

--providing full payment to providers as long as a child attends 
for at least 85 percent of the authorized time; 

--providing full payment to providers as long as a child is absent 
for five or fewer days in a four-week period; and 

--requiring states that do not choose one of these three ap-
proaches to describe their approach in the State Plan, including 
how the approach is not weaker than one of the three listed 
above. 

Currently, Chapter 809 requires Boards to establish a policy on 
attendance standards and procedures regarding reimbursement 
to providers for absence days. Chapter 809 requires Boards to 
terminate services if a child exceeds the Board-allowed num-
ber of paid absences during a year. If care is terminated due to 
excessive absences, then the parent must wait 30 days before 
reapplying for services. 

Neither the CCDBG Act nor the NPRM grants states the author-
ity to terminate care due to a child not meeting the state's atten-
dance standards. 

To ensure statewide consistency for families and statewide com-
pliance to the requirements in CCDBG Act §658E(c)(2)(S) and 
NPRM §98.45(m), §809.93 is amended to implement a statewide 
policy that reimburses regulated providers based on the child's 
enrollment, rather than daily attendance. The rule language at 
§809.93(b) states that a Board or its contractor shall reimburse 
a regulated provider based on a child's monthly enrollment, ex-
cluding periods of suspension (at the concurrence of the parent). 

Additionally, the Commission reletters §809.93(g) to §809.93(f) 
and amends the language to remove references to reimburse-
ments based on the unit of services delivered. The amended lan-
guage states that the monthly enrollment authorization is based 
on the unit of service authorized (either as an authorized part-day 
unit or an authorized full-day unit). 

The rules retain the requirement that relative child care providers 
are not reimbursed for days on which the child is absent. The 
Commission retains this provision based on the contention that 
unregulated relative providers do not have the same fixed costs 
as regulated providers do in order to meet regulatory standards. 

Comment: 
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One commenter noted that §809.93(b) states that providers 
will be reimbursed based on "monthly enrollment." However, 
§809.93(f) states that "reimbursement for child care is based on 
the unit of service delivered," which is then defined on a daily 
basis. Monthly enrollment implies that providers are paid their 
monthly rate for the entire month; "unit of service delivered" 
defined on a daily basis implies that providers are reimbursed 
a daily amount (current practice), whether based on enrollment 
or attendance. The commenter recommended that §809.93 
should be modified to be clear on which basis providers are 
reimbursed. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and has modified the 
language in §809.93(f) accordingly. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly supported the rule change to re-
imburse a regulated provider based on a child's monthly 
enrollment authorization. As the Commission noted, CCDBG 
Act §658E(c)(2)(S) and NPRM §98.45(m) require implemen-
tation of provider payment practices that align with generally 
accepted payment practices for children who do not receive 
CCDF funds and support the fixed costs of providing child 
care services by delinking provider payments from a child's 
occasional absences. This change will bring Texas into the 
forefront of states that are committed to ensuring equal access 
for children receiving subsidy. 

The commenter would like to offer support, input, and feedback 
on any rules or guidelines needed to fully implement this pay-
ment structure. As this is a major change to existing practice 
that will greatly support currently participating providers and en-
courage new providers to participate in CCDF, the commenter 
also supports the Agency in any request for additional funding to 
comply with this requirement. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that with the 12-month eligibility period 
and care being paid based upon authorization, not on atten-
dance, that greater consideration must be given to paying the 
early care and education providers at the beginning of each 
month based upon authorized days in the month. This would 
align the child care services with the early care and education 
industry. It would encourage more providers to participate, 
as the funds would be paid at the beginning of each month. 
This may also encourage providers to expand their infant and 
toddler capacity and to provide care during nontraditional hours 
because they would have the funds at the beginning of each 
month. They would be incentivized to work with the parents and 
the children to deliver stable, consistent, quality care in order to 
maintain the children in care and the payment upfront. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make this change. It is a matter of 
generally accepted practice that public funds be expended after 
the authorized services are delivered in order to ensure greater 
integrity of the public funds and to minimize the amount that may 
be required to be recovered if spent improperly. Additionally, the 
authorization may change during the month due to the parent 
requesting an increase in services from part-time to full-time, a 
requested parent suspension of care, or the family's eligibility pe-

riod ending during the month and the family is not redetermined 
as eligible. The payments made prior to these changes would 
need to be recovered. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that the Commission add lan-
guage to support child care providers in managing fixed costs to 
include that "A Board or its child care contractor shall reimburse 
a regulated provider based on a child's monthly enrollment au-
thorization, regardless of whether eligibility changes during the 
month." This change is especially impactful since daily atten-
dance is no longer reported and many fixed costs recur monthly, 
such as rent. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make this change. If the family 
eligibility changes during the month and the family is no longer 
eligible, then the authorization must end and the provider cannot 
be reimbursed. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that this section requires Boards to en-
sure that providers are not paid for holding spaces open and 
requested clarification on the difference between paying to hold 
spaces open and paying for authorized enrollment when a child 
is not attending. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that paying a provider without an au-
thorized enrollment would be considered paying a provider for 
holding a space open. 

With an enrollment authorization, the Board is not paying for an 
open slot because the enrolled child fills the slot. 

Comment: 

Several commenters stated that this section prohibits child care 
services from ending because of attendance, but proposes to 
only pay providers 85 percent of the rate if the children do not 
meet the standards of attendance. The commenters stated that 
this           
menters highly object to that burden being placed on providers. 
And in many cases already, the provider is not being paid the 
published rate, but is being paid below that. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the amended rule requires that 
payment be based upon authorized enrollment, not daily atten-
dance. The Commission anticipates that, consistent with the re-
quirement in the CCDBG Act, this will assist providers in meet-
ing the fixed costs of providing care. The rules do not limit the 
payments to 85 percent of the rate if the children do not meet 
attendance standards. 

§809.94. Providers Placed on Corrective or Adverse Action by 
the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services 

Section 809.94(c) is amended to remove language stating that 
a parent receiving notification of a provider's corrective action 
may choose to continue care with the provider if the parent signs 
the notification acknowledging that the parent is aware of the 
provider status. The effect of this language is to end the child's 
care unless the parent signs the notification and acknowledges 
that the parent chooses to continue care at the facility. Under the 
CCDBG Act, care cannot end during the 12-month period for a 

would not allow provider to cover its fixed costs. The com-
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parent's failure to return the acknowledgement to continue care 
at the facility. 

Therefore, §809.94(c) is amended to state that the parent may 
transfer the child to another provider without being subject to the 
Board's transfer policies if the parent requests the transfer within 
14 calendar days of receiving the notification. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the parent must request the 
transfer within 14 business days of receiving the notification. The 
commenter stated that 14 business days is too long for the parent 
to pick another provider to transfer their children. It would be 
most beneficial if this rule were changed to 14 calendar days, 
which would align with the new parent reporting requirement. 

Response: 

This is an oversight in the proposed rules. The language should 
be 14 calendar days to align with the parent reporting require-
ments. 

Comment: 

One commenter expressed concern about removing the require-
ment that a parent must sign an acknowledgement that the par-
ent is aware of the provider's licensing status. If something sub-
sequently were to happen to the parent's child, then the Board 
would have no documentation to support the fact that the parent 
was informed of the provider status and chose to keep their child 
at the facility anyway. 

One commenter asked if the case remains open if the contractor 
does not hear anything back from the parent after sending notice 
to the parent. 

One commenter asked if a parent chooses to keep a child at a 
provider that is on corrective action would this be considered a 
voluntary withdrawal from child care services. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that care cannot be terminated due to 
the parent not returning the acknowledgement that the provider 
is on corrective action. The contractor should retain a copy of 
the notification sent to the parent, either on hard copy or elec-
tronic format, in order to document that the contractor provided 
notification to the parent. 

Additionally, parents may choose to continue care in a provider 
that is on corrective action as corrective action does not disqual-
ify a provider from serving subsidized children. 

§809.95. Provider Automated Attendance Agreement 

Section 809.95 is amended to clarify that provider misuse of at-
tendance reporting and violation of the requirements in this sec-
tion are grounds for fraud determination pursuant to Subchapter 
F of this chapter. 

Comment: 

One commenter strongly recommended the Commission clarify 
the reporting requirement for providers, specifically with regards 
to "authorized days," and how that differs from attendance, which 
providers will no longer be required to report. 

Response: 

The Commission clarifies that the authorized days consist of the 
number of days, the days of the week, and the level of care 
(part-day or full-day) that will determine the monthly authoriza-

tion. The attendance associated with the authorized enrollment 
will be reported by the parent through the automated attendance. 
Although the providers are no longer required to report individ-
ual attendance days in order to be reimbursed, providers are 
required to notify the contractor if the authorized days in the au-
tomated system are different than the authorization received by 
the provider and the parent, in order to ensure that the proper 
number of days for reimbursement is correct. 

Comment: 

Since payment for services will be based on authorized days and 
not on attendance, the rules associated with CCAA usage seem 
overly harsh and in most cases not necessary. The CCAA sys-
tem will primarily be used for tracking absence and non-records 
of attendance as a tool for the child care contractor to determine 
which parents need to be contacted. 

Response: 

CCAA will be used to track absences to determine if parents 
should be contacted in regards to attendance. However, the 
attendance system will also be used to verify that the child's 
authorized enrollment is being used for continued provider pay-
ments. Instances in which the parent removed the child from 
the provider without informing the child care contractor, yet the 
child's attendance is still being recorded through automated at-
tendance and the provider continues to receive payments on the 
enrollment, will be grounds for determination of fraud fact-find-
ing. 

SUBCHAPTER F. FRAUD FACT-FINDING AND IMPROPER 
PAYMENTS 

The Commission adopts the following amendments to Subchap-
ter F: 

§809.111. General Fraud Fact-Finding Procedures 

Under Program Integrity on page 80488, the NPRM preamble 
provided the following clarification regarding the Administration 
for Children and Families' (ACF) intent regarding fraud and re-
coupments: 

ACF would like to clarify that there is no Federal requirement 
for Lead Agencies to recoup CCDF overpayments, except in in-
stances of fraud. We also strongly discourage such policies as 
they may impose a financial burden on low-income families that 
is counter to CCDF's long-term goal of promoting family eco-
nomic stability. The Act affirmatively states an eligible child "will 
be considered to meet all eligibility requirements" for a mini-
mum of 12 months regardless of increases in income (as long 
as income remains at or below 85 percent of SMI) or tempo-
rary changes in parental employment or participation in educa-
tion and training. Therefore, there are very limited circumstances 
in which a child would not be considered eligible after an initial 
eligibility determination. 

When implementing their CCDF programs, Lead Agencies 
must balance ensuring compliance with eligibility requirements 
with other considerations, including administrative feasibility, 
program integrity, promoting continuity of care for children, 
and aligning child care with Head Start, Early Head Start, and 
other early childhood programs. These proposed changes 
are intended to remove any uncertainty regarding applicability 
of Federal eligibility requirements for CCDF and the threat of 
potential penalties or disallowances that otherwise may inhibit 
Lead Agencies ability to balance these priorities in a way that 
best meets the needs of children. 
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Existing regulations at §98.60 indicate that Lead Agencies shall 
recover child care payments that are the result of fraud from the 
responsible party. While ACF does not define the term fraud and 
leaves flexibility to Lead Agencies, fraud in this context typically 
involves knowing and willful misrepresentation of information to 
receive a benefit. We urge Lead Agencies to carefully consider 
what constitutes fraud, particularly in the case of individual fam-
ilies. 

In accordance with this guidance, §809.111 is amended to pro-
vide a definition of fraud in relation to child care services. The 
amended rule states that a person commits fraud if, to obtain or 
increase a benefit or other payment, either for the person or an-
other person, the person: 

--makes a false statement or representation, knowing it to be 
false; or 

--knowingly fails to disclose a material fact. 

This definition is consistent with the definition of fraudulently ob-
taining benefits under Texas Labor Code §214.001. 

§809.112. Suspected Fraud 

Section 809.112 is amended to clarify specific parental actions 
that may be grounds for suspected fraud and cause the Board 
to conduct fact-finding or the Commission to initiate a fraud in-
vestigation. These actions include: 

--not reporting or falsely reporting at initial eligibility or at eligibility 
redetermination: 

--household composition, or income sources or amounts that 
would have resulted in ineligibility or a higher parent share of 
cost; or 

--work, training, or education hours that would have resulted in 
ineligibility; or 

--not reporting during the 12-month eligibility period: 

--changes in income or household composition that would cause 
the family income to exceed 85 percent of SMI (taking into con-
sideration fluctuations of income); 

--a permanent loss of job or cessation of training or education 
that exceeds three months; or 

--improper or inaccurate reporting of attendance. 

Comment: 

One commenter suggested that the "90-day" reference in 
§809.112(b)(2) regarding a permanent loss of job be changed 
to "three months" to align with the language in §809.51(a)(2)(E) 
regarding other temporary cessations of activities. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees and for consistency has modified the 
language as suggested. 

Comment: 

One commenter pointed out that the last two actions considered 
as grounds for suspected fraud in §809.112(b)(2) should be sep-
arated by an "or," not "and." Using the word "and" implies that 
both instances have to be true to suspect fraud. 

Response: 

The Commission agrees and has modified the language as sug-
gested. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that the rules clarify what actions 
should be taken at redetermination if the contractor needs to 
process fact-finding for suspected fraud due to the parent fail-
ure to report changes. 

Response: 

Section 809.112 specifies parent actions that would be grounds 
for suspected fraud, which includes not reporting or falsely re-
porting family size or income that would result in the family be-
ing over 85 percent of SMI for a family of the same size. Section 
809.112 also includes failure to report a permanent change in 
work, education, or training. 

The Agency is developing procedures regarding fact-finding ac-
tions to determine fraud and provide guidance through a WD 
Letter or in the Child Care Services Guide. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended the household composition be 
defined based upon marriage certificates, public records, legal 
and financial records, and client admittance. 

Response: 

The definition of a family in §809.2 has been changed to include 
marriage, including common-law marriage. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that further fact-finding may be initiated 
if the parent entered a legal union of matrimony during the 
12-month eligibility period and fails to disclose a change in 
household composition at eligibility redetermination. 

Response: 

If the marriage increased the family size, then this would be con-
sidered a change of family size that must be reported. If two un-
married parents reported as residing together at eligibility, then 
both parents would be included in the family size. The couples 
getting married during the 12-month eligibility period would not 
change the family size. However, if the marriage increased the 
family size and income, then that must be reported and would 
be subject to fraud fact-finding. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that if a parent does not report 
a change in income or household composition that causes the 
family income to exceed 85 percent of SMI, this failure to report 
should not be considered grounds for fraud, as the family may 
not be aware of the SMI guidelines. It is the parent's responsi-
bility to ensure such changes are reported at initial eligibility and 
eligibility redeterminations. 

Response: 

The Commission understands the concern that a parent may not 
be fully versed in the specific income calculation used to deter-
mine eligibility or if a change in activity status constitutes a non-
temporary change. The Agency will work with Boards to provide 
clear information to parents regarding the family size and income 
amounts that must be reported if exceeded, and to provide clear 
guidance on changes that are considered temporary changes. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on what constitutes im-
proper reporting of attendance described in §809.112(b)(2)(C). 
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Response: 

Improper reporting of attendance includes misuse of the atten-
dance automation system and reporting of attendance that did 
not occur. 

§809.113. Action to Prevent or Correct Suspected Fraud 

Section 809.113 is amended to remove the provision that a child 
care contractor may take certain actions if a provider or parent 
has committed fraud. Although a Board's child care contractor 
is expected to take these actions, the language implied that the 
contractor determines which action to take without the involve-
ment of the Board or the Commission. 

Amended language in §809.113 clarifies that actions taken 
against a provider or parent shall be consistent with and pur-
suant to Commission policy. 

Further, §809.113 is amended to include the following options: 

--A provider may be prohibited from future eligibility to provide 
Commission-funded child care services; and 

--A parent's eligibility may be terminated during the 12-month 
eligibility period if eligibility was determined using fraudulent in-
formation provided by the parent. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on §809.113(b)(4) 
regarding termination of a parent's care during the 12-month 
eligibility period, if eligibility was determined using fraudulent 
information provided by the parent. The commenters asked if 
this would require the appeal or fraud review to take place first 
before terminating the parent's care. Would fraud have to be 
confirmed first before terminating the parent's care or can the 
parent be terminated for suspected fraud? 

Another commenter asked if a parent is found to have committed 
fraud, is the Board required to give 15 days' notice of termination 
or is the care terminated immediately. 

Response: 

The language in §809.113(b) states that the actions are based 
on a finding of fraud. A finding of fraud would be a fraud determi-
nation. The required 15-day notification must be provided, and 
the parent must be allowed to appeal the decision as required in 
§809.74. 

Comment: 

One commenter recommended that to achieve the explanation 
in the preamble, it is recommended that the revision be, "The 
Commission, Board, or Board's child care contractor (with Board 
approval)…" 

Another commenter recommended that the wording in §809.113 
(a) and (b) be modified to read, "the Commission, Board, or 
Board's child care contractor at the direction of the Board…" 
in recognition of the fact that the contractor is expected to take 
these actions while addressing the concern that they should not 
be taken without the involvement of the Board or the Commis-
sion. 

Response: 

The Commission declines to make this change. The intent of 
the rule language in §809.113 is to list actions that may be taken 
against a provider or parent for a finding of fraud. The decision 
on the actions taken is the responsibility of the Board, not the 
Board contractor. The contractor may present the results of the 

fact-finding to the Board and recommend that the Board deter-
mine that fraud occurred. The Commission understands that the 
contractor will ultimately implement the action as determined by 
the Board regarding a finding of fraud, but the intent of the lan-
guage is to establish that the Commission or the Board, not the 
contractor, will take action regarding fraud determinations. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on what is considered 
fraud and provided specific scenarios and inquired if those sce-
narios would be considered fraud and the funds subject to re-
covery. 

Response: 

The Agency will develop guidelines and criteria for fraud deter-
minations. RID will continue to provide training to Boards and 
Board contractors on fact-finding. 

§809.115. Corrective Adverse Actions 

Section 809.115 is amended to remove §809.115(b)(4) to re-
move termination of child care services as a possible corrective 
action for parents' noncompliance with this chapter. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested that a list of corrective actions for 
parents be provided as was done for providers in §809.115(b). 
One commenter asked if giving a CCAA card or PIN to a provider 
are the only parent actions for which Boards may take corrective 
actions against parents. 

Response: 

The actions taken against a parent are included in §809.117(d) 
and involve recovery of improper payments for instances: 

-- involving fraud; 

-- in which the parent has received child care services while 
awaiting an appeal and the determination is affirmed by the hear-
ing officer; and 

-- in which the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost and 
the Board's policy is to pay the provider. 

Comment: 

One commenter requested clarification on whether or not Boards 
have local flexibility to impose sanctions on parents for other rea-
sons at the discretion of the Board. 

Response: 

Boards may only take corrective action as allowed under Sub-
chapter F. Any termination of care within the 12 months must be 
in compliance with this subchapter. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that the corrective actions for the CCAA 
card seem overly harsh and in most cases not necessary. The 
CCAA system will primarily be used for tracking absence and 
non-records of attendance as a tool for the child care services 
contractor to determine which parents need to be contacted. 
There are no corrective actions that can be taken against the 
parent for non-usage if the parent is and remains eligible for ser-
vices. 

Response: 

In this subchapter, the definition of "fraud" includes knowingly 
making a false statement or declaration in order to obtain or in-
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crease payments either for the person or another person. Know-
ingly making false attendance reporting in order to bypass the at-
tendance standards with the goal of continuing care at the next 
eligibility redetermination could be considered grounds for a find-
ing of fraud. 

§809.116. Recovery of Improper Payments 

Section 809.116 is repealed and combined with §809.117. 

§809.117. Recovery of Improper Payments to a Provider or Par-
ent 

Section 809.117 is amended to clarify the circumstances in which 
parents are required to repay improper payments. The language 
clarifies that a parent shall repay improper payments only in the 
following circumstances: 

--Instances involving fraud; 

--Instances in which the parent has received child care services 
awaiting an appeal and the determination is affirmed by the hear-
ing officer; or 

--Instances in which the parent fails to pay the parent share of 
cost and the Board's policy is to pay the provider for the parent's 
failure to pay the parent share of cost. 

Section 809.117 is amended to prohibit a parent subject to the 
repayment provisions above from future child care eligibility until 
the repayment amount is recovered, provided that the prohibition 
does not result in a Choices or SNAP E&T participant becoming 
ineligible for child care. 

A technical amendment to §809.117(e) is made to change the 
word "prepayment" to "repayment." 

Comment: 

One commenter asked if upon finding an eligibility error that re-
sulted in the customer receiving services for which they were 
not eligible, whether contractors will be able to discontinue ser-
vices or is the customer still entitled to receive a full 12 months 
of services. Additionally, the commenter asked who would be 
responsible for paying back the improper payment. 

Response: 

The actions taken and any possible recoupments will be in-
cluded in Agency guidelines regarding fraud determinations and 
recoupments that are currently under development. 

Comment: 

One commenter stated that to align with the proposed change 
to not recoup overpayments from parents due to not timely re-
porting changes, it is recommended that contractors not be as-
sessed disallowed costs from overpayments due to unintended 
errors. 

The commenter stated that this is particularly true during this 
transition period of enacting major changes, including 12-month 
certifications, and enhanced quality assurance will need to be 
developed. To allow time for training and review processes to 
be fully implemented, it is recommended that contractors be ex-
empt from disallowed cost charges so resources can be devoted 
to areas that benefit families. These include training staff on 
new rules that better adhere to the interests of the children and 
internally monitoring cases to ensure new rules are being ad-
ministered accurately. Uniform statewide training is also recom-
mended, given the significant changes being proposed to Chap-
ter 809. 

Response: 

The Agency will provide training on the new requirements and 
new processes and will provide technical assistance to Boards 
and contractors on the new requirements. However, the Agency 
cannot exempt contractors from disallowed costs, even during 
the implementation period. Any findings of disallowed costs due 
to contractor error will be handled in accordance with Agency 
policy. 

Comment: 

One commenter noted that §809.117(d)(2) states that improper 
payments should be repaid in "instances in which the parent has 
received child care services awaiting an appeal and the determi-
nation is affirmed by the hearing officer." One commenter asked 
if this refers to the first step of the appeal process--the local re-
view--or the second step of the appeal process--the Board level 
hearing--or both. 

Are parents required to repay the cost of child care during an 
appeal if the termination is upheld even with the first level of 
appeal as they do now? 

Response: 

The repayment amount will be based on the final appeal deter-
mination. 

Comment: 

Several commenters asked if the Board's current process of us-
ing repayment schedules (payments received over a period of 
time) and allowing parents to remain in care as long as they are 
paying on their repayment schedules will still be allowed. 

The current proposed rule does not allow for parents who are 
complying with their recoupment payment plan to be eligible to 
receive services. Under the current proposed rule, if a Choices 
or SNAP E&T participant receives services and then becomes 
eligible for At-Risk child care services, the parent would have to 
be denied under current proposed rule because the recoupment 
amount has not been paid in full. 

One commenter recommended to allow for eligibility for services 
if a parent is complying with recoupment payments. 

One commenter asked for clarification if the language in 
§809.117(e) means the repayment must be paid in full prior to 
determination of eligibility. 

Response: 

Full payment must be made in order for the parent to be eligible 
for future child care at the eligibility redetermination or at the next 
time the parent applies for care. This is necessary due to the 
12-month eligibility period and the requirement that care cannot 
be terminated during the eligibility period. There is a possibility 
that a parent may make one payment at the beginning the re-
payment plan in order to be determined eligible, then not make 
a payment for the remainder of the eligibility period. 

Comment: 

One commenter inquired as to whether Boards have local flex-
ibility on how to handle recoupments owed under current rules. 
If Boards do not have flexibility, the commenter requested guid-
ance on how to handle current recoupments effective October 1, 
2016. 

Response: 
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As stated previously in the discussion in §809.111 regarding gen-
eral fraud fact-finding procedures, there is no federal require-
ment for Lead Agencies to recoup CCDF overpayments, except 
in instances of fraud. However, the Commission is obligated to 
ensure that child care funds are effectively and efficiently tar-
geted toward eligible low-income families. As noted in the NPRM 
preamble, when implementing CCDF program, Lead Agencies 
must balance ensuring compliance with eligibility requirements 
with other considerations, including administrative feasibility and 
program integrity. The Commission has long had a strong fo-
cus on program integrity and a significant Rapid Process Im-
provement review is underway to streamline and standardize 
Boards' fraud fact-finding investigations and adverse action de-
termination procedures. As Agency and Board procedures be-
come more clear and efficient, recoupment efforts will become 
more focused on fraud detection. 

To ensure that recoupment of amounts owed prior to the effec-
tive date of these rules are consistent with the revised Agency 
and Board fraud-related standards moving forward, the Com-
mission proposes to limit consideration during eligibility determi-
nation and redetermination of prior recoupments solely to debts 
from court-ordered restitution. Therefore, amounts owed other 
than those that are court-ordered restitution cannot be consid-
ered during eligibility redetermination. 

GENERAL COMMENTS 

Comment: 

The Commission received many comments from Boards as 
well as from the Board Child Care Network in support of the 
changes to ensure continuity of care. However, the commenters 
were also concerned that many of the changes resulting from 
the CCDBG reauthorization will make it even more difficult for 
Boards to accurately forecast expenditures in the first couple 
of years, such as reductions in parent share of cost, transfers 
between workforce areas, and the requirement to fund all 
former DFPS children with CCDF funds for the remainder of 
the eligibility period. Since DFPS families do not have a parent 
share of cost, it will be more expensive to serve these families 
compared to At-Risk families. Additionally, potential changes 
in the methodology for calculating income are likely to reduce 
parent shares of cost resulting in higher Board costs. Over half 
of the Boards currently do not reimburse providers for non-at-
tendance days and the change to reimbursing providers based 
on authorized enrollment will further increase the amount of 
funds needed to provide care for these Boards. These factors, 
along with higher utilization rates, will present new challenges 
to Boards in managing funds. These factors may necessitate 
the need of Boards to terminate services rather than exceed 
their child care allocations. 

One Board recommended that the Agency develop specialized 
technical assistance in this area and that adequate resources 
be made available to develop and run specialized or canned re-
ports. 

The child care network and several Boards recommended that 
the ability of Boards to end services in order to stay within budget 
be added to the Chapter 809 rules. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and understands 
the concerns mentioned. The Agency will closely monitor the 
impact of the changes to cost and. 

The Commission will also provide technical assistance and spe-
cialized data analysis as requested to Boards on an individual 
and group basis in order to develop strategies and identify best 
practices during the implementation of the rules. 

Regarding the recommendation to end services in order to stay 
within budget, CCDBG Act 658E(c)(2)(N) states that the child 
will receive assistance for not less than 12 months "before the 
State or designated local entity redetermines the eligibility of the 
child under this subchapter." Additionally, the Act further states 
that there are procedures in place ". . . to ensure that working 
parents (especially parents in families receiving assistance un-
der [TANF] are not required to unduly disrupt their employment 
in order to comply with the State's or designated local entity's 
requirement for redetermination of eligibility for assistance in ac-
cordance with this subchapter." 

The CCDBG Act promotes continuity of services and does not 
provide for dropping an otherwise eligible child for continued care 
at redetermination. 

The Agency's child care rules reflect this intent. Section 
809.54(b) states that "nothing in this chapter shall be interpreted 
in a manner as to result in a child being removed from care." 
Additionally, §809.50 regarding At-Risk child care specifically 
states that a parent is eligible under this section "at eligibility 
determination and at eligibility redetermination," if the child and 
the family meet the eligibility requirements. 

Comment: 

One Board commented that it supports the concept of continu-
ity of care; however, as the Agency has acknowledged in the 
preamble to §809.44 related to calculating family income, these 
changes, as well as changes to other rules (in particular, those 
related to assignment of parent share of cost and serving pop-
ulations not required to pay parent share of cost), may result in 
increased costs of care and reduce the number of children the 
Board may be able to serve. 

The Board is grateful to see that the Agency plans to perform 
ongoing analyses of these and other factors that may affect per-
formance and be open to making adjustments accordingly, es-
pecially since remedies once available to Boards for managing 
over expenditures (such as termination policies) are no longer 
allowable and are, therefore, unavailable as an option for miti-
gating risk. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Commenters expressed concern about the deadline to imple-
ment the reauthorization and new state rules on October 1, 2016. 
The amended rules and the income calculation redesign consti-
tute major operational changes that will require changes to pro-
cesses, systems, customer and provider communications, and 
finally training for staff. In the meantime, customers needing to 
be recertified receive notices 20-45 days in advance, depending 
on the region. In some cases this is well before final rules are 
even adopted. In order to ensure clear communication to cus-
tomers and ensure that the rules are implemented appropriately, 
we would request that the rules be phased in starting on Octo-
ber 1, 2016, and that time be allowed to implement the changes 
required. 

Response: 
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The Commission understands the concern and is planning to 
provide training webinars in September in preparation for the 
October 1, 2016, rule implementation. Training and technical 
assistance will also be provided throughout the 2017 Board 
contract year. Additionally, the Agency has issued guidance 
to Boards that the rules in effect prior to the effective date of 
these amendments allow Boards to establish their own eligibility 
periods. Therefore, Boards may extend the eligibility periods of 
children in care prior to the effective date of these rules in order 
to ensure minimum disruption to service delivery and to allow 
time for Board and Board contractors to receive training on the 
new rules and to modify processes and procedures. 

Comment: 

One commenter was "overwhelmingly excited" to see the 
changes coming and cannot wait until October 1, 2016. The 
commenter has used child care services for several years and 
thinks it is a great program. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. 

Comment: 

Several commenters noted that scattered throughout the doc-
ument are limitations or time frames when parents can report 
changes, request a transfer after the provider is placed on cor-
rective action by DFPS, etc. However, these date limitations do 
not appear to be consistent and make the rules more challeng-
ing than necessary. Additionally, sometimes the term "calendar 
days" is used, while other times, the term "business days" is 
used. Using "calendar days" is our preferred method. Consis-
tency with limitations and time frames among all of the sections 
of the proposed rules would be appreciated (if allowable). 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment. Generally, the time 
frames in the rules are "calendar" days, and the rules will be 
modified to make this clarification, where applicable. However, 
to account for the weekend and to allow the greatest amount of 
time possible, deadlines of five days or fewer will remain "busi-
ness days." 

Comment: 

One commenter appreciated the opportunity to provide comment 
on proposed rule changes. The commenter believes that 30 
days is insufficient time to thoroughly review each proposed rule 
and suggests rules that address the intent and implementation of 
the Reauthorization Act of 2014. These 30 days have been the 
first opportunity for the public to provide comments. Given the 
sweeping changes that the Act allows, the commenter respect-
fully requests that the Commission and/or Boards host forums 
to receive input from parents, providers, private and public enti-
ties, and early care and education associations. Guidelines may 
have to be issued in order to comply with an October 1, 2016, im-
plementation date but after that, host public forums--gather the 
input from the public on how they see the future implementation 
of the CCDF rules in Texas. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comment and thanks the com-
menter for reviewing the proposed rules and providing input. The 
Commission encourages input from all stakeholders regarding 
the Child Care Services program. 

Comment: 

One provider submitted that the provider has always been willing 
to be paid less for the sake of these families and children and 
over the years have seen families use the system and then get 
out of it, making room for others and being successful. 

The provider reported seeing much abuse by parents who fail to 
record attendance, fail to turn in their paperwork and are then re-
moved from the system, but get back on and the cycle continues. 
The commenter believes there should be some accountability for 
the parent to do what is required, and the penalty should not be 
placed on the provider who is already not being compensated at 
the rate they are charging. If an open child support case is no 
longer required, allowing parents to neglect the cost and care of 
their child, then the burden falls on the taxpayer. 

The provider is supporting the current workforce by providing 
care for young children as well as educating the young children 
in care to become the workforce of tomorrow. 

The commenter stated that parents should be required to attend 
education classes, parenting classes, budgeting classes, and 
self-improvement classes, if they are allowed to remain in the 
system. The provider is required to train staff and follow all the 
rules in order to care for children. Parents should have to do the 
same. 

The commenter also stated that parents complain about having 
to pay their copay amounts. Many have an entitlement mental-
ity. The commenter stated the understanding that many Child 
Care Services customers have little education or life skills, but 
wondered when the cycle will be broken if we continue to enable 
parents to remain in the cycle their parents were in. 

There should be a limit of how long parents are allowed to stay in 
the system. If parents knew they would never receive funds after 
a certain amount of time, perhaps they would be more diligent in 
becoming self-sufficient. 

Response: 

The Commission appreciates the comments and appreciates 
the challenges faced by providers. The Commission has im-
plemented several initiatives to assist child care providers with 
funding and professional development to improve the quality of 
child care services. 

Additionally, the Agency strives to support the fixed costs of pro-
viding subsidized child care services by paying providers on en-
rollment rather than daily attendance. 

The Commission appreciates the commenter's support for the 
current workforce and helping to develop and educate the future 
workforce. The 12-month eligibility period and the emphasis on 
continuity of care will assist children in obtaining stable and con-
sistent care and early education opportunities. The consistent 
and stable care will also assist parents in obtaining and maintain-
ing consistent and stable employment to lead to self-sufficiency. 

COMMENTS WERE RECEIVED FROM: 

Rachel Garcia, Senior Operations Manager, Lower Rio Grande 
Valley 

Sharon Felderhoff, Workforce Texoma Board of Directors 

Julie Craig, Child Care Contracts Manager, Texoma 

Marsha Lindsey, Deputy Director/EO Officer, Workforce Solu-
tions Texoma 

Dr. Jeremy P. McMillen, President, Grayson College 
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Angela Magers, Director, Montessori Academy of North Texas 

Kelly Langley 

Tammy Flores 

Debra English 

Shannon Richter, Contract Manager, Workforce Solutions Rural 
Capital Area 

Kelley Fontenot, Child Care Manager, North Central Texas 
Council of Governments, Workforce Solutions for North Central 
Texas 

Shari Anderson, VP Child Care Assistance, ChildCareGroup 

Shawn Garrison, Child Care Policy Analyst, Workforce Solutions 
Alamo 

Rita Morris, Director of Child Care Management Services, Child 
Care Associates (Tarrant County) 

Pam McPeak, Owner and Executive Director, Little People's 
Learning Center 

Sandy Balk 

Kerry Echard 

Workforce Solutions Concho Valley 

Workforce Solutions of West Central Texas 

City of San Antonio, Workforce Solutions Alamo's child care con-
tractor 

Kathy Talbert, Owner/Director, Little Cougar, Inc. 

September Jones, Government Relations Manager, KinderCare 
Education, LLC 

Sharron Benson Powell, Houston-Galveston Area Council, 
Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast 

Janet Bono, Workforce Services Program Administrator, Work-
force Solutions Borderplex 

YWCA El Paso 

Workforce Solutions Northeast Texas 

Rosa Hernandez, Workforce Solutions South Plains 

Elaine Clark, Child Care Programs Manager, Workforce Solu-
tions Capital Area 

Julie Talbert, Manager of Child Care & Public Transportation, 
Workforce Solutions for the Heart of Texas 

Marvin Albright, Nomah Albright, Alison Albright, Imelda Davila-
Leon, Marissa Hudler, and Todd Hudler 

Neil Hanson, Senior Director of Public Sector Solutions, Neigh-
borhood Centers Inc. 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
40 TAC §809.2 
The rule is adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rule affects Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.2. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Attending a job training or educational program--An in-
dividual is attending a job training or educational program if the indi-
vidual: 

(A) is considered by the program to be officially en-
rolled; 

(B) meets all attendance requirements established by 
the program; and 

(C) is making progress toward successful completion of 
the program as determined by the Board upon eligibility redetermina-
tion as described in §809.42(b). 

(2) Child--An individual who meets the general eligibility 
requirements contained in this chapter for receiving child care services. 

(3) Child care contractor--The entity or entities under con-
tract with the Board to manage child care services. This includes con-
tractors involved in determining eligibility for child care services, con-
tractors involved in the billing and reimbursement process related to 
child care subsidies, as well as contractors involved in the funding of 
quality improvement activities as described in §809.16. 

(4) Child care services--Child care subsidies and quality 
improvement activities funded by the Commission. 

(5) Child care subsidies--Commission-funded child care 
reimbursements to an eligible child care provider for the direct care of 
an eligible child. 

(6) Child experiencing homelessness--A child who is 
homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act (42 U.S.C. 11434(a)), 
Subtitle VII-B, §725. 

(7) Child with disabilities--A child who has a physical or 
mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life ac-
tivities, has a record of such an impairment, or is regarded as having 
such an impairment. Major life activities include, but are not limited 
to, caring for oneself; performing manual tasks; walking; hearing; see-
ing, speaking, or breathing; learning; and working. 

(8) Educational program--A program that leads to: 

(A) a high school diploma; 

(B) a General Educational Development (GED) creden-
tial; or 

(C) a postsecondary degree from an institution of higher 
education. 

(9) Family--Two or more individuals related by blood, 
marriage, or decree of court, who are living in a single residence and 
are included in one or more of the following categories: 

(A) Two individuals, married--including by common-
law, and household dependents; or 

(B) A parent and household dependents. 

(10) Household dependent--An individual living in the 
household who is one of the following: 

(A) An adult considered as a dependent of the parent for 
income tax purposes; 
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(B) A child of a teen parent; or 

(C) A child or other minor living in the household who 
is the responsibility of the parent. 

(11) Improper payments--Any payment of CCDF grant 
funds that should not have been made or that was made in an incorrect 
amount (including overpayments and underpayments) under statutory, 
contractual, administrative, or other legally applicable requirements 
governing the administration of CCDF grant funds and includes 
payments: 

(A) to an ineligible recipient; 

(B) for an ineligible service; 

(C) for any duplicate payment; and 

(D) for services not received. 

(12) Job training program--A program that provides train-
ing or instruction leading to: 

(A) basic literacy; 

(B) English proficiency; 

(C) an occupational or professional certification or li-
cense; or 

(D) the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge, and 
abilities specific to an occupation. 

(13) Listed family home--A family home, other than the el-
igible child's own residence, that is listed, but not licensed or registered 
with, the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
pursuant to Texas Human Resources Code §42.052(c). 

(14) Military deployment--The temporary duty assignment 
away from the permanent military installation or place of residence for 
reserve components of the single military parent or the dual military 
parents. This includes deployed parents in the regular military, military 
reserves, or National Guard. 

(15) Parent--An individual who is responsible for the care 
and supervision of a child and is identified as the child's natural parent, 
adoptive parent, stepparent, legal guardian, or person standing in loco 
parentis (as determined in accordance with Commission policies and 
procedures). Unless otherwise indicated, the term applies to a single 
parent or both parents. 

(16) Protective services--Services provided when: 

(A) a child is at risk of abuse or neglect in the immediate 
or short-term future and the child's family cannot or will not protect the 
child without DFPS Child Protective Services (CPS) intervention; 

(B) a child is in the managing conservatorship of DFPS 
and residing with a relative or a foster parent; or 

(C) a child has been provided with protective services 
by DFPS within the prior six months and requires services to ensure 
the stability of the family. 

(17) Provider--A provider is defined as: 

(A) a regulated child care provider as defined in 
§809.2(18); 

(B) a relative child care provider as defined in 
§809.2(19); or 

(C) a listed family home as defined in §809.2(13), sub-
ject to the requirements in §809.91(b). 

(18) Regulated child care provider--A provider caring for 
an eligible child in a location other than the eligible child's own resi-
dence that is: 

(A) licensed by DFPS; 

(B) registered with DFPS; or 

(C) operated and monitored by the United States mili-
tary services. 

(19) Relative child care provider--An individual who is at 
least 18 years of age, and is, by marriage, blood relationship, or court 
decree, one of the following: 

(A) The child's grandparent; 

(B) The child's great-grandparent; 

(C) The child's aunt; 

(D) The child's uncle; or 

(E) The child's sibling (if the sibling does not reside in 
the same household as the eligible child). 

(20) Residing with--Unless otherwise stipulated in this 
chapter, a child is considered to be residing with the parent when 
the child is living with and physically present with the parent during 
the time period for which child care services are being requested or 
received. 

(21) Teen parent--A teen parent (teen) is an individual 18 
years of age or younger, or 19 years of age and attending high school 
or the equivalent, who has a child. 

(22) Texas Rising Star program--A voluntary, qual-
ity-based rating system of child care providers participating in 
Commission-subsidized child care. 

(23) Texas Rising Star Provider--A provider certified as 
meeting the TRS program standards. TRS providers are certified as 
one of the following: 

(A) 2-Star Program Provider; 

(B) 3-Star Program Provider; or 

(C) 4-Star Program Provider. 

(24) Working--Working is defined as: 

(A) activities for which one receives monetary compen-
sation such as a salary, wages, tips, and commissions; or 

(B) participation in Choices or Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) activities. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604645 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 
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SUBCHAPTER B. GENERAL MANAGEMENT 
40 TAC §§809.13, 809.15 - 809.17, 809.19, 809.20 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.19. Assessing the Parent Share of Cost. 

(a) For child care funds allocated by the Commission pursuant 
to its allocation rules (generally, Chapter 800, General Administration, 
Subchapter B, Allocation and Funding, and specifically, §800.58, Child 
Care), including local public transferred funds and local private do-
nated funds, as provided in §809.17, the following shall apply. 

(1) A Board shall set a parent share of cost policy that as-
sesses the parent share of cost in a manner that results in the parent 
share of cost: 

(A) being assessed to all parents, except in instances 
when an exemption under paragraph (2) of this subsection applies; 

(B) being an amount determined by a sliding fee scale 
based on the family's size and gross monthly income, and also may 
consider the number of children in care. 

(C) being assessed only at the following times: 

(i) initial eligibility determination; 

(ii) 12-month eligibility redetermination; 

(iii) upon the addition of a child in care; 

(iv) upon a parent's report of a change in income, 
family size, or number of children in care that would result in a reduced 
parent share of cost assessment; and 

(v) upon resumption of work, job training, or educa-
tion activities following temporary changes described in §809.51(a)(2) 
and upon resumption of work, job training, or education activities 
during the three-month continuation of care period described in 
§809.51(c); and 

(D) not increasing above the amount assessed at initial 
eligibility determination or at the 12-month eligibility redetermination 
based on the factor in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, except upon 
the addition of a child in care as described in subsection (a)(1)(C)(iii) 
of this section. 

(2) Parents who are one or more of the following are ex-
empt from paying the parent share of cost: 

(A) Parents who are participating in Choices or who are 
in Choices child care described in §809.45; 

(B) Parents who are participating in SNAP E&T ser-
vices or who are in SNAP E&T child care described in §809.47; 

(C) Parents of a child receiving Child Care for Children 
Experiencing Homelessness as described in §809.52; or 

(D) Parents who have children who are receiving pro-
tective services child care pursuant to §809.49 and §809.54(c), unless 
DFPS assesses the parent share of cost. 

(3) Teen parents who are not covered under exemptions 
listed in paragraph (2) of this subsection shall be assessed a parent share 
of cost. The teen parent's share of cost is based solely on the teen par-
ent's income and size of the teen's family as defined in §809.2. 

(b) For child care services funded from sources other than 
those specified in subsection (a) of this section, a Board shall set a 
parent share of cost policy based on a sliding fee scale. The sliding fee 
scale may be the same as or different from the provisions contained in 
subsection (a) of this section. 

(c) A Board shall establish a policy regarding reimbursement 
of providers when parents fail to pay the parent share of cost. 

(d) The Board or its child care contractor may review the 
assessed parent share of cost for a possible temporary reduction if 
there are extenuating circumstances that jeopardize a family's self-suf-
ficiency. The Board or its child care contractor may temporarily reduce 
the assessed parent share of cost if warranted by these circumstances. 
Following the temporary reduction, the parent share of cost amount 
immediately prior to the reduction shall be reinstated. 

(e) If the parent is not covered by an exemption as specified 
in subsection (a)(2) of this section, then the Board or its child care 
contractor shall not waive the assessed parent share of cost under any 
circumstances. 

(f) If the parent share of cost, based on family income and fam-
ily size, is calculated to be zero, then the Board or its child care con-
tractor shall not charge the parent a minimum share of cost amount. 

(g) A Board may establish a policy to reduce the parent share 
of cost amount assessed pursuant to subsection (a)(1)(B) of this section 
upon the parent's selection of a TRS-certified provider. Such Board 
policy shall ensure: 

(1) that the parent continue to receive the reduction if: 

(A) the TRS provider loses TRS certification; or 

(B) the parent moves or changes employment within the 
workforce area and no TRS-certified providers are available to meet the 
needs of the parent's changed circumstances; and 

(2) that the parent no longer receives the reduction if the 
parent voluntarily transfers the child from a TRS-certified provider to 
a non-TRS-certified provider. 

§809.20. Maximum Provider Reimbursement Rates. 
(a) Based on local factors, including a market rate survey pro-

vided by the Commission, a Board shall establish maximum reimburse-
ment rates for child care subsidies to ensure that the rates provide equal 
access to child care in the local market and in a manner consistent with 
state and federal statutes and regulations governing child care. At a 
minimum, Boards shall establish reimbursement rates for full-day and 
part-day units of service, as described in §809.93(f), for the following: 

(1) Provider types: 

(A) Licensed child care centers, including before- or af-
ter-school programs and school-age programs, as defined by DFPS; 

(B) Licensed child care homes as defined by DFPS; 

(C) Registered child care homes as defined by DFPS; 
and 

(D) Relative child care providers as defined in §809.2. 

(2) Age groups in each provider type: 

(A) Infants age 0 to 17 months; 

(B) Toddlers age 18 to 35 months; 
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(C) Preschool age children from 36 to 71 months; and 

(D) School age children 72 months and over. 

(b) A Board shall establish enhanced reimbursement rates: 

(1) for all age groups at TRS provider facilities; 
and 

(2) only for preschool-age children at child care providers 
that participate in integrated school readiness models pursuant to Texas 
Education Code §29.160. 

(c) The minimum enhanced reimbursement rates established 
under subsection (b) of this section shall be greater than the maximum 
rate established for providers not meeting the requirements of subsec-
tion (b) of this section for the same category of care up to, but not to 
exceed, the provider's published rate. The maximum rate must be at 
least: 

(1) 5 percent greater for a: 

(A) 2-Star Program Provider; or 

(B) child care provider meeting the requirements of 
subsection (b)(2) of this section; 

(2) 7 percent greater for a 3-Star Program Provider; and 

(3) 9 percent greater for a 4-Star Program Provider. 

(d) Boards may establish a higher enhanced reimbursement 
rate than those specified in subsection (c) of this section for TRS 
providers, as long as there is a minimum 2 percentage point difference 
between each star level. 

(e) A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that 
providers that are reimbursed for additional staff or equipment needed 
to assist in the care of a child with disabilities are paid a rate up to 190 
percent of the provider's reimbursement rate for a child of that same 
age. The higher rate shall take into consideration the estimated cost of 
the additional staff or equipment needed by a child with disabilities. 
The Board shall ensure that a professional, who is familiar with 
assessing the needs of children with disabilities, certifies the need for 
the higher reimbursement rate described in this subsection. 

(f) The Board shall determine whether to reimburse providers 
that offer transportation as long as the combined total of the provider's 
published rate, plus the transportation rate, is subject to the maximum 
reimbursement rate established in subsection (a) of this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604647 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. ELIGIBILITY FOR CHILD 
CARE SERVICES 

40 TAC §§809.41 - 809.54 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.41. A Child's General Eligibility for Child Care Services. 

(a) Except for a child receiving or needing protective services 
as described in §809.49, for a child to be eligible to receive child care 
services, at the time of eligibility determination or redetermination, a 
Board shall ensure that the child: 

(1) meets one of the following age requirements: 

(A) be under 13 years of age; or 

(B) at the option of the Board, be a child with disabili-
ties under 19 years of age; 

(2) is a U.S. citizen or legal immigrant as determined under 
applicable federal laws, regulations, and guidelines; and 

(3) resides with: 

(A) a family within the Board's workforce area: 

(i) whose income does not exceed the income limit 
established by the Board, which income limit must not exceed 85 per-
cent of the state median income (SMI) for a family of the same size; 
and 

(ii) whose assets do not exceed $1,000,000 as certi-
fied by a family member; or 

(iii) that meets the definition of experiencing home-
lessness as defined in §809.2. 

(B) parents who require child care in order to work or 
attend a job training or educational program; or 

(C) a person standing in loco parentis for the child while 
the child's parent is on military deployment and the deployed military 
parent's income does not exceed the limits set forth in subparagraph 
(A) of this paragraph. 

(b) Notwithstanding the requirements set forth in subsection 
(c) of this section, a Board shall establish policies, including time lim-
its, for the provision of child care services while the parent is attending 
an educational program. 

(c) Time limits pursuant to subsection (b) of this section shall 
ensure the provision of child care services for four years, if the eligi-
ble child's parent is enrolled in an associate's degree program that will 
prepare the parent for a job in a high-growth, high-demand occupation 
as determined by the Board. 

(d) A Board may establish a policy to allow parents attending 
a program that leads to a postsecondary degree from an institution of 
higher education to be exempt from residing with the child as defined 
in §809.2. 

(e) Boards that establish initial family income eligibility at a 
level less than 85 percent of SMI must ensure that the family remains 
income-eligible for care after passing the Board's initial income eligi-
bility limit. 
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(f) Unless otherwise specified, this subchapter applies only to 
child care services using funds allocated pursuant to §800.58 of this 
title, including local public transferred funds and local private donated 
funds described in §809.17. 

§809.45. Choices Child Care. 

(a) A parent is eligible for Choices child care if the parent is 
participating in the Choices program as stipulated in Chapter 811 of 
this title. 

(b) For a parent receiving Choices child care who ceases par-
ticipation in the Choices program during the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod, Boards must ensure that Choices child care continues: 

(1) for the three-month period pursuant to §809.51(b); and 

(2) for the remainder of the eligibility period, if the parent 
resumes participation in Choices or begins participation in work or at-
tendance in a job training or education program during the three-month 
period described in §809.51(c). 

§809.47. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment 
and Training Child Care. 

(a) A parent is eligible to receive SNAP E&T child care ser-
vices if the parent is participating in SNAP E&T services, in accor-
dance with the provisions of 7 CFR Part 273. 

(b) For a parent receiving SNAP E&T child care services who 
ceases participation in the E&T program during the 12-month eligibil-
ity period, Boards must ensure that SNAP E&T child care continues: 

(1) for the three-month period pursuant to §809.51(b); and 

(2) for the remainder of the eligibility period, if the parent 
resumes participation in the SNAP E&T program or begins participa-
tion in work or attendance in a job training or education program during 
the three-month period described in §809.51(c). 

§809.50. At-Risk Child Care. 

(a) A parent is eligible for child care services under this section 
if at initial eligibility determination and at eligibility redetermination as 
described in §809.42: 

(1) the family income does not exceed the income limit es-
tablished by the Board pursuant to §809.41(a)(3)(A); and 

(2) child care is required for the parent to work or attend 
a job training or educational program for a combination of at least an 
average of 25 hours per week for a single-parent family or 50 hours per 
week for a two-parent family, or a higher number of hours per week as 
established by the Board. 

(b) A Board may allow a reduction to the work, education, or 
job training activity requirements in subsection (a)(2) of this section if a 
parent's documented medical disability or need to care for a physically 
or mentally disabled family member prevents the parent from partici-
pating in these activities for the required hours per week. 

(c) For purposes of meeting the education requirements stipu-
lated in subsection (a)(2) of this section, the following shall apply: 

(1) each credit hour of postsecondary education counts as 
three hours of education activity per week; 

(2) each credit hour of a condensed postsecondary educa-
tion course counts as six education activity hours per week; and 

(3) teen parents attending high school or the equivalent 
shall be considered as meeting the education requirements in subsec-
tion (a)(2) of this section. 

(d) When calculating income eligibility for a child with dis-
abilities, a Board shall deduct the cost of the child's ongoing medical 
expenses from the family income. 

(e) Boards may establish a higher income eligibility limit 
for teen parents than the eligibility limit established pursuant to 
§809.41(a)(3)(A) provided that the higher income limit does not 
exceed 85 percent of the state median income for a family of the same 
size. 

(f) A teen parent's family income is based solely on the teen 
parent's income and size of the teen's family as defined in §809.2(9). 

(g) Boards may establish a higher income eligibility limit for 
families with a child who is enrolled in Head Start, Early Head Start, 
or public pre-K provided that the higher income limit does not exceed 
85 percent of the state median income for a family of the same size. 

§809.51. Child Care during Interruptions in Work, Education, or Job 
Training. 

(a) Except for a child experiencing homelessness, as described 
in §809.52, if the child met all of the applicable eligibility requirements 
for child care services in this subchapter on the date of the most recent 
eligibility determination or redetermination, the child shall be consid-
ered to be eligible and will receive services during the 12-month eligi-
bility period described in §809.42, regardless of any: 

(1) change in family income, if that family income does not 
exceed 85 percent of SMI for a family of the same size; or 

(2) temporary change in the ongoing status of the child's 
parent as working or attending a job training or education program. A 
temporary change shall include, at a minimum, any: 

(A) time-limited absence from work for an employed 
parent for periods of family leave (including parental leave) or sick 
leave; 

(B) interruption in work for a seasonal worker who is 
not working between regular industry work seasons; 

(C) student holiday or breaks within a semester, be-
tween the fall and spring semesters, or between the spring and fall 
semesters, for a parent participating in training or education; 

(D) reduction in work, training, or education hours, as 
long as the parent is still working or attending a training or education 
program; 

(E) other cessation of work or attendance in a training 
or education program that does not exceed three months; 

(F) change in age, including turning 13 years old or a 
child with disabilities turning 19 years old during the eligibility period; 
and 

(G) change in residency within the state. 

(b) During the period of time between eligibility redetermina-
tions, a Board shall discontinue child care services due to a parent's 
loss of work or cessation of attendance at a job training or educational 
program that does not constitute a temporary change in accordance 
with subsection (a)(2) of this section. However, Boards must ensure 
that care continues at the same level for a period of not less than three 
months after such loss of work or cessation of attendance at a job train-
ing or educational program. 

(c) If a parent resumes work or attendance at a job training 
or education program at any level and at any time during the period 
described in subsection (b) of this section, then the Board shall ensure 
that: 
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(1) care will continue to the end of the 12-month eligibility 
period at the same or greater level, depending upon any increase in the 
activity hours of the parent; 

(2) the parent share of cost will not be increased during the 
remainder of the 12-month eligibility period, including for parents who 
are exempt from the parent share of cost pursuant to §809.19; and 

(3) the Board's child care contractor verifies only: 

(A) that the family income does not exceed 85 percent 
of SMI; and 

(B) the resumption of work or attendance at a job train-
ing or education program. 

(d) The Board may suspend child care services during inter-
ruptions in the parent's work, job training, or education status only at 
the concurrence of the parent. 

§809.54. Continuity of Care. 

(a) Enrolled children, including children whose eligibility for 
Transitional child care has expired, shall receive child care through the 
end of the applicable eligibility periods described in §809.42. 

(b) Except as provided by §809.75 relating to child care during 
appeal, nothing in this chapter shall be interpreted in a manner as to 
result in a child being removed from care. 

(c) In closed DFPS CPS cases (DFPS cases) where child care 
is no longer funded by DFPS, child care shall continue through the end 
of the applicable eligibility periods described in §809.42 using funds 
allocated to the Board by the Commission. 

(d) A Board shall ensure that no enrolled children of military 
parents in military deployment have a disruption of child care services 
or eligibility during military deployment, including parents in military 
deployment at the end of the 12-month eligibility redetermination pe-
riod. 

(e) A Board shall ensure that a child who is required by a court-
ordered custody or visitation arrangement to leave a provider's care 
is permitted to continue receiving child care by the same provider, or 
another provider if agreed to by the parent in advance of the leave, upon 
return from the court-ordered custody or visitation arrangement. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604649 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §809.55 
The repeal is adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 

and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted repeal affects Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particu-
larly Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604651 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

SUBCHAPTER D. PARENT RIGHTS AND 
RESPONSIBILITIES 
40 TAC §§809.71 - 809.75 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.71. Parent Rights. 

A Board shall ensure that the Board's child care contractor informs the 
parent in writing that the parent has the right to: 

(1) choose the type of child care provider that best suits 
their needs and to be informed of all child care options available to 
them as included in the consumer education information described in 
§809.15; 

(2) visit available child care providers before making their 
choice of a child care option; 

(3) receive assistance in choosing initial or additional child 
care referrals including information about the Board's policies regard-
ing transferring children from one provider to another; 

(4) be informed of the Commission rules and Board poli-
cies related to providers charging parents the difference between the 
Board's reimbursement and the provider's published rate as described 
in §809.92(c) - (d); 

(5) be represented when applying for child care services; 

(6) be notified of their eligibility to receive child care ser-
vices within 20 calendar days from the day the Board's child care con-
tractor receives all necessary documentation required to initially deter-
mine eligibility for child care; 

(7) receive child care services regardless of race, color, na-
tional origin, age, sex, disability, political beliefs, or religion; 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(8) have the Board and the Board's child care contractor 
treat information used to determine eligibility for child care services as 
confidential; 

(9) receive written notification at least 15 calendar days be-
fore termination of child care services; 

(10) reject an offer of child care services or voluntarily 
withdraw their child from child care, unless the child is in protective 
services; 

(11) be informed of the possible consequences of rejecting 
or ending the child care that is offered; 

(12) be informed of the eligibility documentation and re-
porting requirements described in §809.72 and §809.73; 

(13) be informed of the parent appeal rights described in 
§809.74; and 

(14) be informed of required background and criminal his-
tory checks for relative child care providers through the listing process 
with DFPS, as described in §809.91(e), before the parent or guardian 
selects the relative child care provider. 

§809.73. Parent Reporting Requirements. 

(a) Boards shall ensure that during the 12-month eligibility pe-
riod, parents are only required to report items that impact a family's 
eligibility or that enable the Board or Board contractor to contact the 
family or pay the provider. 

(b) Pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, parents shall re-
port to the child care contractor, within 14 calendar days of the occur-
rence, the following: 

(1) Changes in family income or family size that would 
cause the family to exceed 85 percent of SMI for a family of the same 
size; 

(2) Changes in work or attendance at a job training or edu-
cational program not considered to be temporary changes, as described 
in §809.51; and 

(3) Any change in family residence, primary phone num-
ber, or e-mail (if available). 

(c) Failure to report changes described in subsection (a) of this 
section may result in fact-finding for suspected fraud as described in 
Subchapter F of this chapter. 

(d) A Board shall allow parents to report and the child care 
contractor shall take appropriate action regarding changes in: 

(1) income and family size, which may result in a reduction 
in the parent share of cost pursuant to §809.19; and 

(2) work, job training, or education program participation 
that may result in an increase in the level of child care services. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604652 

Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

40 TAC §809.76, §809.77 
The repeals are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 
and §302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the author-
ity to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted repeals affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particu-
larly Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604654 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

40 TAC §809.78 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.78. Attendance Standards and Reporting Requirements. 

(a) A Board shall ensure that parents are notified of the follow-
ing: 

(1) Parents shall ensure that the eligible child attends on a 
regular basis consistent with the child's authorization for enrollment. 
Failure to meet monthly attendance standards described in paragraph 
(2) of this subsection may: 

(A) result in suspension of care, at the concurrence of 
the parent; or 

(B) be grounds for determining that a change in the par-
ent's participation in work, job training, or an education program has 
occurred and care may be terminated pursuant to the requirements in 
§809.51(b). 
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(2) Meeting attendance standards for child care services 
consists of fewer than: 

(A) five consecutive absences during the month; 

(B) ten total absences during the month. 

(3) If a child exceeds 65 total absences during the most re-
cent eligibility period, then the child is not eligible for care at the next 
eligibility determination and shall not be eligible for care for 12 months 
from the end of the most recent eligibility period. 

(4) Notwithstanding paragraph (3) of this subsection, child 
care providers may end a child's enrollment with the provider if the 
child does not meet the provider's established policy regarding atten-
dance. 

(5) Parents shall use the attendance card to report daily at-
tendance and absences. 

(6) Parents shall not designate anyone under age 16 as a 
secondary cardholder, unless the individual is a child's parent. 

(7) Parents shall not designate the owner, assistant director, 
or director of the child care facility as a secondary cardholder. 

(8) Parents shall: 

(A) ensure the attendance card is not misused by sec-
ondary cardholders; 

(B) inform secondary cardholders of the responsibili-
ties for using the attendance card; 

(C) ensure that secondary cardholders comply with 
these responsibilities; and 

(D) ensure the protection of attendance cards issued to 
them or secondary cardholders. 

(9) The parent or secondary cardholders giving the atten-
dance card or the personal identification number (PIN) to another per-
son, including the child care provider, is grounds for a potential fraud 
determination pursuant to Subchapter F of this chapter. 

(10) Parents shall report to the child care contractor in-
stances in which a parent's attempt to record attendance in the child 
care automated attendance system is denied or rejected and cannot be 
corrected at the provider site. Failure to report such instances may re-
sult in an absence counted toward the attendance standards described 
in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection. 

(b) Boards shall ensure that parents sign a written acknowl-
edgment indicating their understanding of the attendance standards and 
reporting requirements at each of the following stages: 

(1) initial eligibility determination; and 

(2) each eligibility redetermination, as required in 
§809.42(b). 

(c) Boards shall ensure that absences due to a child's docu-
mented chronic illness or disability or court-ordered visitation are not 
counted in the number of absences in subsection (a)(2) and (3) of this 
section. 

(d) Where a child's enrollment has been ended by a provider 
in subsection (a)(4) of this section, Boards shall work with the parent 
to place the otherwise eligible child with another eligible provider. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604655 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS TO 
PROVIDE CHILD CARE 
40 TAC §§809.91 - 809.95 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.91. Minimum Requirements for Providers. 

(a) A Board shall ensure that child care subsidies are paid only 
to: 

(1) regulated child care providers as described in §809.2; 

(2) relative child care providers as described in §809.2, 
subject to the requirements in subsection (e) of this section; or 

(3) at the Board's option, child care providers licensed in a 
neighboring state, subject to the following requirements: 

(A) Boards shall ensure that the Board's child care con-
tractor reviews the licensing status of the out-of-state provider every 
month, at a minimum, to confirm the provider is meeting the minimum 
licensing standards of the state; 

(B) Boards shall ensure that the out-of-state provider 
meets the requirements of the neighboring state to serve CCDF-sub-
sidized children; and 

(C) The provider shall agree to comply with the require-
ments of this chapter and all Board policies and Board child care con-
tractor procedures. 

(b) A Board shall not prohibit a relative child care provider 
who is listed with DFPS and who meets the minimum requirements of 
this section from being an eligible relative child care provider. 

(c) Except as provided by the criteria for TRS Provider cer-
tification, a Board or the Board's child care contractor shall not place 
requirements on regulated providers that: 

(1) exceed the state licensing requirements stipulated in 
Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 42; or 

(2) have the effect of monitoring the provider for compli-
ance with state licensing requirements stipulated in Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 42. 

(d) When a Board or the Board's child care contractor, in the 
course of fulfilling its responsibilities, gains knowledge of any pos-
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sible violation regarding regulatory standards, the Board or its child 
care contractor shall report the information to the appropriate regula-
tory agency. 

(e) For relative child care providers to be eligible for reim-
bursement for Commission-funded child care services, the following 
applies: 

(1) Relative child care providers shall list with DFPS; how-
ever, pursuant to 45 CFR §98.41(e), relative child care providers listed 
with DFPS shall be exempt from the health and safety requirements of 
45 CFR §98.41(a). 

(2) A Board shall allow relative child care providers to care 
for a child in the child's home (in-home child care) only for the follow-
ing: 

(A) A child with disabilities as defined in §809.2, and 
his or her siblings; 

(B) A child under 18 months of age, and his or her sib-
lings; 

(C) A child of a teen parent; and 

(D) When the parent's work schedule requires evening, 
overnight, or weekend child care in which taking the child outside of 
the child's home would be disruptive to the child. 

(3) A Board may allow relative in-home child care for cir-
cumstances in which the Board's child care contractor determines and 
documents that other child care provider arrangements are not avail-
able in the community. 

(f) Boards shall ensure that subsidies are not paid for a child 
at the following child care providers: 

(1) Except for foster parents authorized by DFPS pur-
suant to §809.49, licensed child care centers, including before- or 
after-school programs and school-age programs, in which the parent 
or his or her spouse, including the child's parent or stepparent, is the 
director or assistant director, or has an ownership interest; or 

(2) Licensed, registered, or listed child care homes where 
the parent also works during the hours his or her child is in care. 

§809.92. Provider Responsibilities and Reporting Requirements. 

(a) A Board shall ensure that providers are given written notice 
of and agree to their responsibilities, reporting requirements, and re-
quirements for reimbursement under this subchapter prior to enrolling 
a child. 

(b) Providers shall: 

(1) be responsible for collecting the parent share of cost as 
assessed under §809.19 before child care services are delivered; 

(2) be responsible for collecting other child care funds re-
ceived by the parent as described in §809.21(a)(2); 

(3) report to the Board or the Board's child care contractor 
instances in which the parent fails to pay the parent share of cost; and 

(4) follow attendance reporting and tracking procedures re-
quired by the Commission under §809.95, the Board, or, if applicable, 
the Board's child care contractor. 

(c) Providers shall not charge the difference between the 
provider's published rate and the amount of the Board's reimbursement 
rate as determined under §809.21 to parents: 

(1) who are exempt from the parent share of cost assess-
ment under §809.19(a)(2); or 

(2) whose parent share of cost is calculated to be zero pur-
suant to §809.19(f). 

(d) A Board may develop a policy that prohibits providers 
from charging the difference between the provider's published rate and 
the amount of the Board's reimbursement rate (including the assessed 
parent share of cost) to all parents eligible for child care services. 

(e) Providers shall not deny a child care referral based on the 
parent's income status, receipt of public assistance, or the child's pro-
tective service status. 

(f) Providers shall not charge fees to a parent receiving child 
care subsidies that are not charged to a parent who is not receiving 
subsidies. 

§809.93. Provider Reimbursement. 
(a) A Board shall ensure that reimbursement for child care is 

paid only to the provider. 

(b) A Board or its child care contractor shall reimburse a reg-
ulated provider based on a child's monthly enrollment authorization, 
excluding periods of suspension at the concurrence of the parent as de-
scribed in §809.51(d) and §809.78(a). 

(c) ) A Board shall ensure that a relative child care provider is 
not reimbursed for days on which the child is absent. 

(d) A relative child care provider shall not be reimbursed for 
more children than permitted by the DFPS minimum regulatory stan-
dards for Registered Child Care Homes. A Board may permit more 
children to be cared for by a relative child care provider on a case-by-
case basis as determined by the Board. 

(e) A Board shall not reimburse providers that are debarred 
from other state or federal programs unless and until the debarment is 
removed. 

(f) Unless otherwise determined by the Board and approved by 
the Commission for automated reporting purposes, the monthly enroll-
ment authorization described in subsection (b) of this section is based 
on the unit of service authorized, as follows: 

(1) A full-day unit of service is 6 to 12 hours of care pro-
vided within a 24-hour period; and 

(2) A part-day unit of service is fewer than 6 hours of care 
provided within a 24-hour period. 

(g) A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that 
providers are not paid for holding spaces open. 

(h) A Board or the Board's child care contractor shall not pay 
providers: 

(1) less, when a child enrolled full time occasionally at-
tends for a part day; or 

(2) more, when a child enrolled part time occasionally at-
tends for a full day. 

(i) The Board or its child care contractor shall not reimburse 
a provider retroactively for new Board maximum reimbursement rates 
or new provider published rates. 

(j) A Board or its child care contractor shall ensure that the 
parent's travel time to and from the child care facility and the parent's 
work, school, or job training site is included in determining whether to 
authorize reimbursement for full-day or part-day care under subsection 
(f) of this section. 

§809.94. Providers Placed on Corrective or Adverse Action by the 
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services. 
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(a) For a provider placed on evaluation corrective action (eval-
uation status) by DFPS, Boards shall ensure that: 

(1) parents with children enrolled in Commission-funded 
child care are notified in writing of the provider's evaluation status 
no later than five business days after receiving notification from the 
Agency of DFPS' decision to place the provider on evaluation status; 
and 

(2) parents choosing to enroll children in Commis-
sion-funded child care with the provider are notified in writing of the 
provider's evaluation status prior to enrolling the children with the 
provider. 

(b) For a provider placed on probation corrective action (pro-
bationary status) by DFPS, Boards shall ensure that: 

(1) parents with children in Commission-funded child care 
are notified in writing of the provider's probationary status no later 
than five business days after receiving notification from the Agency 
of DFPS' decision to place the provider on probationary status; and 

(2) no new referrals are made to the provider while on pro-
bationary status. 

(c) A parent receiving notification of a provider's evaluation or 
probationary status with DFPS pursuant to subsections (a) and (b) of 
this section may transfer the child to another eligible provider without 
being subject to the Board transfer policies described in §809.71(3) if 
the parent requests the transfer within 14 calendar days of receiving 
such notification. 

(d) For a provider placed on evaluation or probationary status 
by DFPS, Boards shall ensure that the provider is not reimbursed at the 
Boards' enhanced reimbursement rates described in §809.20 while on 
evaluation or probationary status. 

(e) For a provider against whom DFPS is taking adverse ac-
tion, Boards shall ensure that: 

(1) parents with children enrolled in Commission-funded 
child care are notified no later than two business days after receiving 
notification from the Agency that DFPS intends to take adverse action 
against the provider; 

(2) children enrolled in Commission-funded child care 
with the provider are transferred to another eligible provider no later 
than five business days after receiving notification from the Agency 
that DFPS intends to take adverse action against the provider; and 

(3) no new referrals for Commission-funded child care are 
made to the provider while DFPS is taking adverse action. 

(f) For adverse actions in which DFPS has determined that the 
provider poses an immediate risk to the health or safety of children and 
cannot operate pending appeal of the adverse action, but for which there 
is a valid court order that overturns DFPS' determination and allows the 
provider to operate pending administrative review or appeal, Boards 
shall take action consistent with subsection (e) of this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604656 

Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

SUBCHAPTER F. FRAUD FACT-FINDING 
AND IMPROPER PAYMENTS 
40 TAC §§809.111 - 809.113, 809.115 
The rules are adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rules affect Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.111. General Fraud Fact-Finding Procedures. 
(a) This subchapter establishes authority for a Board to de-

velop procedures for the prevention of fraud by a parent, provider, or 
any other person in a position to commit fraud consistent with fraud 
prevention provisions in the Agency-Board Agreement. 

(b) In this subchapter, a person commits fraud if, to obtain or 
increase a benefit or other payment, either for the person or another 
person, the person: 

(1) makes a false statement or representation, knowing it 
to be false; or 

(2) knowingly fails to disclose a material fact. 

(c) A Board shall ensure that procedures for researching and 
fact-finding for possible fraud are developed and implemented to deter 
and detect suspected fraud for child care services in the workforce area. 

(d) These procedures shall include provisions that suspected 
fraud is reported to the Commission in accordance with Commission 
policies and procedures. 

(e) Upon review of suspected fraud reports, the Commission 
may either accept the case for investigation and action at the state level, 
or return the case to the Board or its child care contractor for action 
including, but not limited to, the following: 

(1) further fact-finding; or 

(2) other corrective action as provided in this chapter or as 
may be appropriate. 

(f) The Board shall ensure that a final fact-finding report is 
submitted to the Commission after a case is returned to the Board or 
its child care contractor and all feasible avenues of fact-finding and 
corrective actions have been exhausted. 

§809.112. Suspected Fraud. 
(a) A parent, provider, or any other person in a position to com-

mit fraud may be suspected of fraud if the person presents or causes to 
be presented to the Board or its child care contractor one or more of the 
following items: 

(1) A request for reimbursement in excess of the amount 
charged by the provider for the child care; or 
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(2) A claim for child care services if evidence indicates that 
the person may have: 

(A) known, or should have known, that child care ser-
vices were not provided as claimed; 

(B) known, or should have known, that information 
provided is false or fraudulent; 

(C) received child care services during a period in 
which the parent or child was not eligible for services; 

(D) known, or should have known, that child care sub-
sidies were provided to a person not eligible to be a provider; or 

(E) otherwise indicated that the person knew or should 
have known that the actions were in violation of this chapter or state or 
federal statute or regulations relating to child care services. 

(b) The following parental actions may be grounds for sus-
pected fraud and cause for Boards to conduct fraud fact-finding or the 
Commission to initiate a fraud investigation: 

(1) Not reporting or falsely reporting at initial eligibility or 
at eligibility redetermination: 

(A) household composition, or income sources or 
amounts that would have resulted in ineligibility or a higher parent 
share of cost; or 

(B) work, training, or education hours that would have 
resulted in ineligibility; or 

(2) Not reporting during the 12-month eligibility period: 

(A) changes in income or household composition that 
would cause the family income to exceed 85 percent of SMI (taking 
into consideration fluctuations of income); or 

(B) a permanent loss of job or cessation of training or 
education that exceeds three months; or 

(C) improper or inaccurate reporting of attendance. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604660 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §809.116 
The repeal is adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted repeal affects Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particu-
larly Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604661 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 

40 TAC §809.117 
The rule is adopted under Texas Labor Code §301.0015 and 
§302.002(d), which provide the Commission with the authority 
to adopt, amend, or repeal such rules as it deems necessary 
for the effective administration of Agency services and activities, 
and Texas Human Resources Code §44.002, regarding Admin-
istrative Rules. 

The adopted rule affects Texas Labor Code, Title 4, particularly 
Chapters 301 and 302, as well as Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2308. 

§809.117. Recovery of Improper Payments to a Provider or Parent. 

(a) A Board shall attempt recovery of all improper payments 
as defined in §809.2. 

(b) Recovery of improper payments shall be managed in ac-
cordance with Commission policies and procedures. 

(c) The provider shall repay improper payments for child care 
services received in the following circumstances: 

(1) Instances involving fraud; 

(2) Instances in which the provider did not meet the 
provider eligibility requirements in this chapter; 

(3) Instances in which the provider was paid for the child 
care services from another source; 

(4) Instances in which the provider did not deliver the child 
care services; 

(5) Instances in which referred children have been moved 
from one facility to another without authorization from the child care 
contractor; and 

(6) Other instances when repayment is deemed an appro-
priate action. 

(d) A parent shall repay improper payments for child care only 
in the following circumstances: 

(1) Instances involving fraud as defined in this subchapter; 

(2) Instances in which the parent has received child care 
services while awaiting an appeal and the determination is affirmed by 
the hearing officer; or 
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(3) Instances in which the parent fails to pay the parent 
share of cost and the Board's policy is to pay the provider for the par-
ent's failure to pay the parent share of cost. 

(e) A Board shall ensure that a parent subject to the repayment 
provisions in subsection (d) of this section shall prohibit future child 
care eligibility until the repayment amount is recovered, provided that 
the prohibition does not result in a Choices or SNAP E&T participant 
becoming ineligible for child care. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 6, 

2016. 
TRD-201604662 
Patricia Gonzalez 
Deputy Director, Workforce Development Division Programs 
Texas Workforce Commission 
Effective date: October 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0829 
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