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The primary purpose of the Grain Warehouse 
Program is to protect grain depositors in public grain 
warehouses.

The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) requires public 
grain warehouses to be licensed and post a security to protect 
grain depositors. When the department becomes aware of 
potential violations involving the storage and handling of grain 
or the possible insolvency of a public grain warehouse, TDA 
protects the interests of grain depositors by suspending operations 
to prevent further movement of pending an investigation.

Investigations are conducted by TDA inspectors to measure 
grain in storage; verify accuracy of accounts for grain depositors, 
sellers and buyers; and analyze storage, handling and financial  
records to ensure that warehouse operators are in compliance 
with the state’s public grain warehouse laws and regulations. 

How does the Grain Warehouse Law protect 
depositors?

• Licensed warehouses are required to post a bond or other
security in the amount of 10 cents per bushel (minimum
$35,000; maximum $500,000). Bond proceeds may be used
to reimburse grain depositors in whole or in part when a
warehouse operator fails to meet grain storage obligations

• Licensed warehouses must carry insurance for the full
market value of all grain storage obligations. 

• Licensed grain warehouses are required to meet certain net
worth requirements. If the licensee does not meet those
requirements, additional bonding must be obtained. 

• Licensed warehouses are subject to random, unannounced
examinations by TDA inspectors to verify grain obligations.

• If a grain warehouse becomes insolvent, grain stocks on
hand plus the warehouse bond or other security may be
used to settle depositor storage claims filed with the
department.

How to protect yourself and your grain.

Make sure your grain has been properly weighed and the gross 
weight recorded on a scale ticket. Split weighing is not legal for 
trade in Texas. When appropriate, ensure your grain has been 
properly graded.

Verify that you receive the following for all grain that is physi-
cally deposited within or loaded out of a licensed warehouse:

• An Inbound Scale Ticket - for grain physically
deposited within the warehouse. 

• An Outbound Scale Ticket - for grain physically loaded out
of the warehouse. 

• A Warehouse Receipt - if a negotiable title is required. 

Ensure each sale ticket you receive contains the name and ad-
dress of the licensed grain warehouse, the name of the  
commodity with applicable discount factors concerning the 
grade and the gross, tare and net weights. Always retain your 
tickets or receipts. This may be your only proof of ownership.

Obtain a written agreement, invoice or other written  
documentation concerning the price to be paid for your grain 
and how/when you will be paid. Make sure you understand all 
of the terms of each transaction and that all sale or purchase 
terms are included in the written documentation.  

Question any delay in payment. 

Report delays in payment or other suspicious activities to TDA 
immediately.

Fo r m o re i n f o r m at i o n a n d 
li s t i n g s o f s tat e-li c en s ed wa reh o u s es, co n tac t: 

1-800-TELL-TDA
o r

w w w.Texa sAg ri c u lt u re.g ov Rev. 1/2015


