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INSTRUCTIONS FOR 

PESTICIDE PRIVATE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATE RECERTIFICATION 

FORM NO. PA-414 
 

All sections on the application must be completed. It is unlawful for any person to apply restricted-use or state-

limited-use pesticides or regulated herbicides without a license or valid certificate. 

 

For assistance completing the application, call 1-800-TELL-TDA (835-5832).  For the hearing impaired, call Relay Texas 

1-800-735-2988 (voice) or 1-800-735-2989 (TDD/TT). 

 

 
 

SECTION A  

 

1. PRIVATE CERTIFICATE NUMBER 

Private Applicator Certificates were issued from 1977 through 1989. The certificates never expire but certificate holders 

must earn 15 continuing education units (CEUs) every five years in order to keep the certificate current.  The certificate 

must be current in order for the applicator to purchase or use restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides or regulated 

herbicides.  Enter your certificate number on this line. 

 

 
 

SECTION B 

 

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Information entered into this form will be used to generate your license.   

Please provide your driver license number and the issuing state.  If a driver license is not available, you must provide a 

state issued identification number.  

 

2. PHYSICAL ADDRESS 

Provide actual street address, not the mailing address, including directions to this location if the address is difficult to 

locate.   

 

3. MAILING ADDRESS 

Enter the address at which the applicant receives general correspondence, if different from physical address.  If the 

mailing address is the same as the physical, check the box and leave the rest of this area blank. 

 

4. CONTACT INFORMATION 

All correspondence, licenses, and other documents will be sent to the Person to Contact at the email address listed.  

Approximately 30 – 45 days in advance of the expiration date of the license/certificate, the contact employee will receive 

a renewal invoice via email that will include a login ID and password to access TDA's internet website. The contact 

employee will then be able to conduct business related to their assigned license(s) online, including viewing their licenses, 

making changes to their company information, and renewing their licenses. A business can appoint one contact person to 

manage online all of the company's licenses.   
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SECTION C 

 

1. SELF-CERTIFICATION OF CEU HOURS EARNED 

Private certificate holders must obtain 15 CEUs to keep their certificate current. Two credits must be in laws and 

regulations and  two in integrated pest management. You should receive a "certificate of completion" after each 

continuing education course you attend. The certificates will have the date of the course, the course number and 

breakdown of hours earned. Enter this information into the table provided.  You are responsible for keeping these 

certificates for 12 months following your renewal date.  

 

You can obtain a list of approved courses or other information on CEU courses by calling 1-800-TELL-TDA or (512) 

463-7622 or by logging on to TDA’s Web site TexasAgriculture.gov 

 

Certificate holders may also earn the required credits by passing a comprehensive recertification exam.  This test costs 

$64 for each attempt.  After passing, an applicator will receive a certificate of completion for 15 CEUs. 

 

A certificate holder who has never obtained a private applicator license may take the private applicator training and obtain 

a private applicator license instead of earning the CEUs.  The license costs $100, and the applicator will be required to 

earn 15 CEUs over the next five-year cycle. For information on private licenses, you may check TDA's Web site  

http://www.texasagriculture.gov/RegulatoryPrograms/Pesticides/PesticidePrivateApplicatorLicense.aspx or call the 

numbers above. 

 
 

 

SECTION D 

 

1. SIGNATURE  

After reading the summary, print and sign your name, and date the form. Your signature here indicates that you have read 

the summary and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding the issuance of the requested license.  

 

 
 

 

SECTION E 

 

Please note that an incomplete application may result in processing delays. 

 

1. CHECKLIST 

Check all boxes to verify you have completed the application process and attached/enclosed the necessary items. 

 

http://www.texasagriculture.gov/RegulatoryPrograms/Pesticides/PesticidePrivateApplicatorLicense.aspx

