

P.O. Box 12847, Austin, Texas, 78711 ◆(800) 835-5832 ◆(512) 463-7476 ◆
Hearing Impaired: (800) 735-2988 voice ◆(800) 735-2989 (TTY)

www.TexasAgriculture.gov

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED CITRUS NURSERY STOCK PROGRAM INCREASE BLOCK, SCION BLOCK, OR FOUNDATION BLOCK INSTRUCTIONS

To apply for a Certified Citrus Nursery, Increase Block, Scion Block, or Foundation Block, you must submit a complete signed application along with the appropriate fees. The Certification will be issued to the name appearing under Section D of this application. A Certified Citrus Nursery is required by each business and at each location where any person propagates citrus nursery stock. A Certified Citrus Nursery, that sells or distributes citrus nursery stock must hold a current nursery/floral license. CITRUS NURSERY STOCK GROWN IN A CERTIFIED CITRUS NURSERY, INCREASE BLOCK, SCION BLOCK, AND FOUNDATION BLOCK MUST MEET 4 TAC CHAPTER 21 REQUIREMENTS.

SECTION A

1. TYPE OF APPLICATION AND APPLICATION FEE

- <u>To apply for certification of a Certified Citrus Nursery, with or without an Increase Block, Scion Block, or</u> Foundation Block:
 - Check the box labeled "Certified Citrus Nursery" and enter the total number of square feet of insect exclusionary area.
 - Fee calculation for certified citrus nursery: For an insect exclusionary area of 25,000 sq. ft. or less, the fee is \$100.00. For each additional 25,000 sq. ft. area or less, add \$50.00.
 - o Enter the calculated application fee in the Fee Due column, on the right side of the page.
- To apply for an Increase Block or Scion Block:
 - O Check the box labeled "Increase / Scion Block."
 - o Circle either "Increase" or "Scion".
 - o If the Increase / Scion Block will be part of a currently certified insect exclusionary area:
 - Enter the number of square feet currently certified to the right of "Currently approved insect exclusionary area:"
 - o If the area for use as an Increase / Scion Block is currently uncertified:
 - Enter the number of square feet currently uncertified to the right of "Area being added to insect exclusionary area:"
 - O Use the TOTAL blank to enter the total number of square feet of insect exclusionary area for your increase / scion block (the sum of the blanks above, as applicable).
 - o <u>If the area for use as an Increase / Scion Block is *completely* within the area of the insect exclusionary structure already certified by TDA:</u>
 - Under "Fee," check the first box, indicating that the Increase / Scion Block will be in a currently certified structure. No application fee is required.
 - o <u>If the area for use as an Increase / Scion Block is to be in a new or currently uncertified insect</u> exclusionary structure:
 - Under "Fee", check the second box.
 - If the additional insect exclusionary area does not increase the total number of square feet at the certified citrus nursery to be greater than 25,000, there is no application fee. Check the first box labeled "The new structure either does not increase the total number of square feet of insect exclusionary area or increases the insect exclusionary area by less than 25,000 square feet"

- If the additional insect exclusionary area increases the total insect exclusionary area at the certified citrus nursery to be greater than 25,000 square feet. The application fee is \$100 for the initial 25,000 square feet, plus \$50 for each additional 25,000 square feet or fraction thereof. Check the box labeled "The new structure increases the insect exclusionary area by 25,000 square feet or more."
- o To apply for a Foundation Block, fee is \$500.
- o Total the applicable fees due and include under TOTAL APPLICATION FEE DUE.
 - Continue to Section B for Type of Application.
- o NOTE:
 - Increase / Scion trees shall be propagated and grown in a certified citrus nursery.
 - Increase trees must be held exclusively in an approved structure designated for increase trees or housed with other certified citrus nursery stock being grown in the approved structure, provided the two groups of plants are kept identifiably separate.
 - Scion trees must be held exclusively in an approved structure designated for scion trees.
 - See Rule §21.36, having to do with Increase Trees and Increase Blocks, and Rule §21.44, having to do with Scion Trees and Scion Block, for other requirements and restrictions.

SECTION B

1. TYPE OF APPLICATION

Indicate if you currently have a Nursery/Floral License certificate. If you have a current TDA Nursery Floral License, please provide the license number.

Indicate if you plan to sell or distribute budwood or citrus nursery stock at this certified citrus nursery. Nurseries selling or distributing citrus nursery stock must hold a nursery/floral license.

SECTION C

1. TYPE OF ENTITY

Check the box that identifies your type of entity. Once submitted, this information cannot be changed. If you must change in your entity type, a new application will be required.

SECTION D

1. CLIENT INFORMATION

This information will be used to generate your certification. Enter the full legal name of entity, as it is registered. If applicable, also enter a Doing-Business-As (DBA) name. A Comptroller Taxpayer ID and Federal Tax ID/ Employee Identification Number is required; if not applicable, please state a valid reason.

For sole proprietors applying for this occupational license, a social security number is mandatory and required by Texas Family Code § 231.302. Social security numbers are required to assist in child support enforcement. In the event the applicant does not have a social security number, an affidavit of no social security number (form OGC-001) must be attached and a driver license number or state-issued ID number provided. This form is available on our website www.TexasAgriculture.gov or by mail. Failure to provide a social security number or an affidavit of no social security number will result in rejection of your application and a certification will not be issued to you.

SECTION E

- 1. RESPONSIBLE PERSON INSTRUCTIONS (see form)
- 2. RESPONSIBLE OFFICER, PARTNER, MANAGER, OR OWNER

Indicate name of person responsible for the business. Enter contact information.

3. RESPONSIBLE PERSON MAILING ADDRESS

Enter mailing address for indicated responsible person. If a web address is available for company please provide (optional).

NOTE: The Person to Contact, named by the business in Section F of this form, is the preferred signatory of this application. That person may be the Responsible Person.

SECTION F

1. PERSON TO CONTACT FOR LICENSE-RELATED MATTERS

Enter the name of a designated person, along with that person's contact information, who can discuss and answer questions about certification-related issues.

NOTE: The Person to Contact, named by the business, is the preferred signatory of this application. That person may be the Responsible Person.

All correspondence, certifications, and other documents will be sent to the Person to Contact at the mailing address listed below. If an e-mail address is listed, and e-mail is indicated as the preferred contact method, correspondence will be sent via e-mail.

2. MAILING ADDRESS

Enter the address at which the Person to Contact receives general correspondence

SECTION G

1. FACILITY INFORMATION

Enter facility name.

2. PHYSICAL ADDRESS OF LOCATION OF CERTIFICATION, ACTIVITIES or EQUIPMENT

Enter the actual physical street address of the certification, activities or the equipment, including directions to this location if the address is difficult to locate. Please do not enter a P.O. Box. This information will assist TDA inspectors in locating your business in the event that an inspection is needed.

SECTION H

1. OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS ONLY

If the address provided in Section E is out of state, resident agent information is required before a certification can be issued.

SECTION I

1. PAYMENT

NOTE: Texas Department of Agriculture accepts only checks, cashier's checks, or money orders. Certificates and fees are NOT transferable.

The Certification is valid for one year and shall expire on the last day of the anniversary month. For example, a Certification effective on January 10, 2016 will expire on January 31, 2017.

Requested effective date for certification. Check method of payment. Enter check number or money order number. See payment information above. Enter amount remitted.

Please remit to: Texas Department of Agriculture, P.O. Box 12847, Austin, TX. 78711.

Additional Information

Each location is required by law to renew its registration annually by the expiration date. Failure to renew may result in late fees.

Businesses operating with an expired certificate or without registering with the department may be subject to administrative penalties up to \$2,000 for each violation. Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for penalty assessment.

Anyone making a false representation for obtaining a certificate may have the certificate revoked and/or may be liable to the state for civil penalty of not less than \$50.00 nor more than \$1,000 for each violation and/or subject to administrative penalties of up to \$2,000 for each violation. Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessment. (Texas Agriculture Code \$12.020, 71.055 and 71.059).

The Texas Department of Agriculture may publish the names, certification types, contact persons, addresses and phone numbers of licensed businesses in written form or on the internet. Under Texas law, TDA may be required to furnish other information contained in our files under the Texas Open Records Act and Chapter 555 of the Texas Government Code.

SECTION J

1. SIGNATURE

After reading the summary, print and sign your name, and date the form. Your signature here indicates that you have read the summary and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding the issuance of the requested certification.

SECTION K

1. CHECKLIST

Check all boxes to verify you have completed the application process and attached/enclosed the necessary items (e.g., payment, documents, labels, etc).