

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE COMMISSIONER SID MILLER

December 2, 2019

The Honorable Sonny Perdue Secretary of Agriculture U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Perdue:

The Agricultural Improvement Act of 2018 (Farm Bill), which was signed by President Trump in December 2018, includes regulatory framework for Hemp Production (*All references to Section 297 are references to the Farm Bill, Section 10113, Subtitle G—Hemp Production*) in the United States. The farmers and producers of Texas appreciate the support that you have shown to advance hemp production nationally.

As you know, agriculture is a \$110 billion industry in Texas, and the state's farmers and ranchers welcome the economic opportunities possible with industrial hemp. Throughout the past year, the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA or Department) has maintained an ongoing dialogue with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) regarding the regulation and production of hemp in Texas. TDA looks forward to working closely with you and your agency on this exciting new opportunity for Texas agriculture.

During the 86th Legislative Session, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 1325 (HB 1325) to provide the Department with the statutory authority to submit a state plan (as required by Section 297B of the Farm Bill) and administer a hemp program within Texas. This bill (see attached) provides Texas farmers with new agricultural opportunities which will enhance economic development throughout the state. HB 1325 divides regulatory responsibility between two state agencies: TDA will regulate and license the growth and distribution of hemp and nonconsumable hemp products, while the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) will regulate consumable hemp products processed and manufactured in Texas.

One key provision of HB 1325, which became effective on June 10, 2019, is that TDA must submit the Texas state plan to USDA no later than 90 days after the effective date of the bill, on or before September 8, 2019. TDA recognized that USDA was not accepting state plans prior to the October 31, 2019, release date of the federal rules and guidelines for hemp production. Nevertheless, in order to comply with HB 1325, TDA submitted Texas' state plan on August 28, 2019, with the understanding that the agency would submit a revised plan if necessary.

TDA now submits Texas' revised state plan (*see attached*), which includes HB 1325 and TDA's proposed rules for TDA's Hemp Program. TDA's proposed rules incorporate the federal rules and guidelines, and expand on key provisions in HB 1325.

(1) Maintain Relevant Information Regarding Land.

The following sections demonstrate the state's plan 'to maintain relevant information regarding land on which hemp is produced in the State ... including a legal description of the land, for a period of not less than 3 calendar years[.]" See Sec. 297B(a)(2)(A)(i).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp.

Subchapter C. Hemp Grower's License

See §122.101. License Required; Exceptions.

See §122.103. Application; Issuance.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter A. General Provisions.

See §24.03. Records Retention.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter C. Licensing

See §24.08. License Application.

See §24.09. Ineligibility for a License.

See §24.10. Criteria for Evaluation of License Application.

See §24.11. Criminal Background Check.

See §24.12. Administrative Appeal from Denial of License Application.

See §24.13. Terms and Conditions for License Holders.

See §24.14. Restrictions for License Holders.

See §24.15. License Holders who Transplant.

See §24.16. Facility Addition or Modification.

See §24.17. Lot Permit.

See §24.18. Reporting and Recordkeeping.

See §24.19. Registration of Processors.

(2) Testing Procedures.

The following sections and procedures demonstrate the state's "procedure[s] for testing, using postdecarboxylation or other similarly reliable methods, delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration levels of hemp produced in the State ..." See Sec. 297B(a)(2)(A)(ii).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp. Subchapter D. Testing.

See §122.151. Testing Laboratories.

See §122.152. Registration of Independent Testing Laboratories.

See §122.153. Preharvest Testing Required.

See § 122.154. Preharvest Sample Collection.

See §122.156. Shipping Documentation for Testing Samples.

See §122.157. False Laboratory Report; Criminal Offense.

<u>See Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 443. Manufacture, Distribution, and Sale of Consumable Hemp Products. Subchapter D. Testing of Consumable Hemp Products.</u>

See §443.151. Testing Required.

See §443.152. Provisions Related to Testing.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter E. Testing.

See §24.24. Testing Laboratory.

See §24.25. Standards for Testing.

See §24.26. Methods for Testing.

See §24.27. Testing Procedure.

See §24.28. Reporting Test Results.

See §24.29. Retest.

See TDA Testing Procedure.

(3) Disposal of Plants and Products.

The following sections demonstrate the state's "procedure for the effective disposal of plants, whether growing or not, that are produced in violation of this subtitle, and products derived from those plants[.]" See Sec. 297B(a)(2)(A)(iii)(I)-(II).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp.

Subchapter E. Harvest and Use or Disposal of Plants.

See §122.202. Use or Disposal of Harvested Plants.

See Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 443. Manufacture, Distribution, and Sale of Consumable Hemp Products. Subchapter B. Powers and Duties.

See §443.051. Rulemaking Authority of Executive Commissioner.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter F. Disposal.

See §24.30. Notice Procedures.

See §24.31. Non-Compliant Cannabis Plants.

See TDA Disposal Procedure.

(4) Enforcement Procedures for Violations of the Hemp Program.

The following sections demonstrate "procedure[s] to comply with the enforcement procedures under subsection (e)..." regarding negligent and other violations by hemp producers in Texas. See 297B(a)(2)(A)(iv).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 12. Powers and Duties.

See §12.020. Administrative Penalties.

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp.

See §122.055. Shipping Certificate or Cargo Manifest.

See §122.102. License Ineligibility.

See §122.105. Revocation.

See §122.157. False Laboratory Report; Criminal Offense.

See §122.359. Civil Penalty.

See §122.360. Criminal Offense.

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp.

Subchapter I. Enforcement; Penalties.

See §122.401. Penalty Schedule.

See §122.402. Administrative Penalty.

See §122.403. Negligent Violations by License Holder.

See §122.404. Other Violations by License Holder.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter G. Enforcement.

See §24.32. Complaints.

See §24.33. Negligent Violations.

See §24.34. Violations with a Culpable Mental State Greater than Negligence.

See §24.35. License Suspension.

See §24.36. License Revocation.

See §24.37. Penalties.

See §24.38. Appeals.

(5) Annual Inspections of Hemp Producers.

The following sections and procedures demonstrate "a procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random sample of hemp producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of this subtitle[.]." See 297B(a)(2)(A)(v).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 122. Cultivation of Hemp. Subchapter B. Powers and Duties of Department.

See §122.053. Inspections.

See §122.055. Shipping Certificate or Cargo Manifest.

See §122.358. Powers and Duties of Peace Officers.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter D. Inspections.

See §24.20. Site Access for Representatives of the Department and Law Enforcement Agencies.

See §24.21. Sampling and Collection.

See §24.22. Lot Report.

See §24.23. Other Activities.

See TDA Sampling and Collection Procedure.

(6)Information Sharing for Law Enforcement and the Secretary of Agriculture.

The following sections include "a procedure for submitting the information described in section 297C(d)(2), as applicable, to the Secretary not more than 30 days after the date on which the information is received," which includes the hemp producers contact information, a legal description of the land, and the license status and any changes in that status. See 297B(a)(2)(A)(vi).

See Texas Agriculture Code Chapter 121. State Hemp Production Plan. Subchapter F. Hemp.

See §121.004. Rules.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter A. General Provisions.

See §24.02. Information Submitted to the United States Secretary of Agriculture

See TDA Information Gathering and Sharing Procedure

(7) State Certification of Resources and Personnel Necessary to Administer the State Hemp Program.

See attached document titled "Hemp Program Certification by Commissioner Sid Miller, Texas Department of Agriculture," dated December 2, 2019. See 297B(a)(2)(A)(vii).

(8)Other Procedures.

The following sections include "other procedures consistent with the 2018 Farm Bill", as stated in section 297B(a)(2)(B), which includes definition of terms, fee schedules, transport manifests, hemp seed, and academic hemp related research.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter A. General Provisions

See §24.01. Definitions.

See §24.04. Information Submitted to the Department Subject to Open Records Act.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter B. Fees.

See §24.05. Schedule of Licensing and Registration Fees.

See §24.06. Schedule of Testing Fees.

See §24.07. Other Fees.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter H. Transportation

See §24.39. Transport Manifest Required.

See §24.40. Transport Manifest for Test Samples.

See §24.41. Transport of Pests Prohibited.

See §24.42. Transplants Originating Outside the State of Texas Prohibited.

See §24.43. Mixed Cargo Prohibited.

See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter I. Seed

See §24.44. Certified or Approved Hemp Seed.

See §24.45. License Required to Sell, Possess, Hold or Purchase Hemp Seed.

See §24.46. Hemp Seed Quality and Labeling Requirements.

See §24.47. Hemp Seed Recordkeeping.

See §24.48. Certification and Approval of Hemp Seed.

<u>See TDA's Proposed Rules Subchapter J. Agricultural or Academic Hemp Related</u> Research

See §24.49. Hemp Research License.

See §24.50. Hemp Research Plan.

For your convenience, TDA completed the "USDA Checklist for Approving State and Tribal Hemp Plans" (*see attached*), and cited the applicable sections of the Texas Agriculture Code and TDA proposed rules that satisfy the federal requirements. Thank you for the leadership you and your staff have shown on this important development for the agricultural industry. As always, please let me know if there is anything I can do to help.

Sincerely,

Sid Miller Commissioner

Attachments:

Hemp Program Certification

USDA Checklist for Approving State and Tribal Hemp Plans

HB 1325

TDA's Proposed Rules

TDA Information Gathering and Sharing Procedure

TDA Sampling and Collection Procedure

TDA Testing Procedure

TDA Disposal Procedure

Cc: Honorable Greg Abbott

Honorable Ken Paxton



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE COMMISSIONER SID MILLER

HEMP PROGRAM CERTIFICATION

Commissioner Sid Miller, Texas Department of Agriculture

December 2, 2019

Pursuant to Section 297B(a)(2)(A)(vii) of the Agricultural Improvement Act of 2018, I certify that the Texas Department of Agriculture has the resources and personnel necessary to carry out each of the practices and procedures identified in Section 297B(a)(2) of the Act.

i Miller

Respectfully,

Sid Miller Commissioner

USDA CHECKLIST FOR APPROVING STATE AND TRIBAL GOVERNMENTS HEMP PLANS		
Farm Bill Criteria and USDA Requirements	Applicable	TDA Provisions Satisfying Requirement
State or Tribal Government name: Texas	Regulations, Laws or Procedures	2 = 0
Plan to Maintain Relevant Producer and Land Information	AP THE PART OF THE	是1990年在1990年中的共和国的基本的基本的基本的。
 Collect, maintain and provide to USDA contact and real-time 	7 CFR §990.3(a)(1)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.02-03
information for each hemp producer licensed or authorized in the		
state or territory of the tribal government (whichever applicable)		
 Provide contact information for each hemp producer covered 	7 CFR §990.3(a)(1)(i)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.02
under the plan including name, address, telephone number, and		
email address (if available). If the producer is a business entity, the information must include the full name of the business,		
address of the principal business location, full name and title of		i i
the key participants, an email address if available, and EIN number		
of the business entity. This information can be provided via mail,		
fax, or email.		
 A legal description collected and forwarded for land where hemp 	7 CFR §990.3(a)(1)(ii)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.103 (1)
is produced in the state or tribal territory		TDA Proposed Rule §24.02
 Maintain and report to USDA status of licensed producers (and 	7 CFR §990.3(a)(1)(iii)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.02-03
any changes) and license or authorization numbers of producers		
Plan for accurate and effective sampling and testing using post		·····································
decarboxylation or similar reliable methods		是自己的。
Procedures for collecting samples from the flower material of plants	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(i)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.21(b)
Procedures to conduct sampling and testing 15 days prior to the harvest	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(i)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.21(a).
date anticipated		
Procedures to ensure the method used for sampling represents a	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(ii)	Texas Agriculture Code § 122.153 (c)
homogenous composition of the lot		TDA Proposed Rule §24.21(b)
		TDA Sampling and Collection Procedure
Procedure/statement/allowance to require the producer or an authorized	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(iii)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.20(C)
representative of the producer to be present at the growing site during sample collection	· ×	
sample collection		

USDA CHECKLIST FOR APPROVING	STATE AND TRIBAL GO	VERNMENTS HEMP PLANS
Procedures to allow for representatives of the sampling agency to have complete and unrestricted access during business hours to all hemp and other cannabis plants and all land, buildings, etc. used for cultivation and/or handling	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(iv)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.053 (d) TDA Proposed Rule §24.20(a)
Procedures to ensure that a producer does not harvest any cannabis prior to samples being taken	7 CFR §990.3(a)(2)(v)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.201 (b) TDA Proposed Rule §24.23(a)
Procedures to require testing for delta-9 THC concentration with detection. The procedures must require accurate identification of the acceptable hemp THC level. Testing methods must include but are not limited to:	7 CFR §990.3(a)(3)	
☑Post decarboxylation or other similarly reliable method *If "similarly reliable," verify with AMS S&T		Texas Agriculture Code §122.153, TDA Proposed Rule §24.26(b)
☑Consideration of potential conversion of delta-9 THCA into THC and test result measure total available THC (THC + THCA)		TDA Proposed Rule §24.26(c)
☐Gas or liquid chromatography with detection		Texas Agriculture Code § 122.153, TDA Proposed Rule §24.26(c)
		Texas Agriculture Code § 122.051, TDA Proposed Rule §24.28(b)
Procedures that prohibit handling, processing, or entering the stream of commerce of any hemp grown in a lot where the acceptable hemp THC level is noncompliant	7 CFR §990.3(a)(3)(i)	Texas Health & Safety Code §443.152 TDA Proposed Rule §24.23(d), TDA Proposed Rule §24.31
Procedures to ensure the hemp plant material from one lot not be commingled with hemp plant material from other lots	7 CFR §990.3(a)(3)(ii)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.201 (c) TDA Proposed Rule §24.23(c)
Procedures to require hemp testing laboratories to adhere to standards of performance for detecting THC concentration, including Measurement of Uncertainty (MU); must use DEA registered labs.	7 CFR §990.25	TDA Proposed Rules §24.25, §24.26 and §24.27 TDA Testing Procedure
Plan for Disposal Procedures		
 Procedures for plants that do not meet the requirements of this part Procedures to notify USDA of non-compliant plants and disposal of those plants from the lot where representative samples were taken. Test results must be included. 	7 CFR §990.3(a)(4)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.202 (b) (1) TDA Proposed Rule §24.30-31 TDA Proposed Rule §24.02 TDA Information Sharing Procedure

USDA CHECKLIST FOR APPROVING	STATE AND TRIBAL GO	VERNMENTS HEMP PLANS
Plan for Inspection Procedures		
Procedure for conducting annual inspections of random sample of	7 CFR §990.3(a)(6)	Texas Agriculture Code §122.053
licensed producers to verify that hemp is not produced in violation of this	1	TDA Proposed Rule §24.20
part		
Plan for Collection of Information	10 美国的	
Procedure for submitting the information described in 990.70 to the	7 CFR §990.3(a)(7)	HB 1325 Section 10
Secretary not more than 30 days after the date on which the information		TDA Proposed Rule §24.02
is received.		TDA Information and Sharing Procedure
Procedure for producers licensed under state and tribal government plans	7 CFR §990.3(a)(9)	TDA Proposed Rules §24.13(k) and §24.02
to share information with USDA, Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS), or	and §990.7	
Farm Service Agency (FSA) including:		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
☑ Reporting total acreage of hemp planted, harvested, and disposed		X
□ License or authorization number		
Street address		
☑ Geospatial location(s) of each lot or greenhouse where hemp will		
be produced		
Acreage of greenhouse or indoor square footage dedicated to the		
production of hemp		
Plan to Comply with Enforcement Procedures		
 Provides for corrective action plan for negligent violations: 	7 CFR §990.6(b)	TDA Proposed Rule §24.33(b)&(d)
 Failure to provide legal description of land 		NV 0:507 NX 87 SW 66
Failure to obtain a license		
Produces cannabis with THC exceeding the acceptable		
hemp THC level		
 Procedures to provide for the correction of negligent violations: 	7 CFR §990.6(c)	Texas Agriculture Code § 122.403 (d)
 A reasonable date to correct the violation 		TDA Proposed Rule §24.33(d)
Reporting requirements for 2 years from date of the		TDA Proposed Rule §24.33(d)
negligent violation		
Violations are not subject to federal, state, tribal, or local		TDA Proposed Rule §24.33.(e)
government criminal enforcement action		
Provides that a negligent violation 3 times within a 5-year		TDA Proposed Rule §24.33(g)
period is ineligible to produce hemp for a period of 5		
years from the date of the 3 rd violation		
		to the second se

State or tribal government shall conduct inspections to determine if corrective action plan has been implemented		TDA Proposed Rule §24.33(h)
Procedures for producer violations made with a culpable mental state greater than negligence: • Producer shall be reported to the U.S. Attorney General and the chief law enforcement officer of the state or tribal government	7 CFR §990.6(d)&(e)	Texas Agriculture Code § 122.404 TDA Proposed Rule §24.34
Procedures for addressing felonies. Provides for a 10-year ineligibility restriction for persons with a State or Felony conviction relating to a controlled substance Provides for controlled substance felony conviction exception for participants in state hemp pilot program authorized under the 2014 Agricultural Act after December 2018 Procedures for business entities to determine which participants are considered to be "key," or have executive managerial control		TDA Proposed Rules §24.08(d) and §24.09 Texas Agriculture Code § 122.105 TDA Proposed Rules §24.08(d) and §24.09 TDA Proposed Rules §24.08(e)(2) and §24.01(41)
Procedures stating that any persons who materially falsify any information in their application shall be deemed ineligible to participate in the program	7 CFR §990.6(f)	Texas Health and Safety Code §443.102 TDA Proposed Rules §24.09(d) and §24.10
Certification that the state or tribal government (whichever applicable) has resources and personnel to carry out required Farm Bill practices and procedures	7 CFR §990.3(a)(8)	Document included with the plan called "Hemp Program Certification by Commissioner Sid Miller, Texas Department of Agriculture" dated December 2, 2019.
Plan may include other practices or procedures as long as consistent with this part and the Act. Plan may include requirements more stringent than this part or the Act.	7 CFR §990.3(a)(9)(b) (1) and (2)	TDA Proposed Rules §24.01, §24.04-07 and §24.39-50

1	AN ACT
2	relating to the production and regulation of hemp; requiring
3	occupational licenses; authorizing fees; creating criminal
4	offenses; providing civil and administrative penalties.
5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
6	SECTION 1. Section 12.020(c), Agriculture Code, is amended
7	to read as follows:
8	(c) The provisions of law subject to this section and the
9 10	applicable penalty amounts are as follows:
11 12	Provision Amount of Penalty
13 14 15 16 17	Chapters 13, 14A, 17, 18, 19, 41, 46, 61, 72, 73, 74, 76, 94, 95, 101, 102, 103, 122, 125, 132, and 134 not more than \$5,000
19 20 21 22 23 24 25	Subchapters A, B, and C, Chapter 71 not more than \$5,000 not more than \$10,000 not more than \$5,000 Chapter 1951, Occupations Code not more than \$5,000 Chapter 153, Natural Resources Code not more than \$5,000 section 91.009 not more than \$5,000.
26	SECTION 2. Title 5, Agriculture Code, is amended by adding
27	Subtitle F to read as follows:
28	SUBTITLE F. HEMP
29	CHAPTER 121. STATE HEMP PRODUCTION PLAN
30	Sec. 121.001. DEFINITION. In this chapter, "hemp" means
31	the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, including
32	the seeds of the plant and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids,

- 1 isomers, acids, salts, and salts of isomers, whether growing or
- 2 not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more
- 3 than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.
- 4 Sec. 121.002. LEGISLATIVE INTENT. It is the intent of the
- 5 legislature that this state have primary regulatory authority over
- 6 the production of hemp in this state.
- 7 Sec. 121.003. STATE PLAN. (a) The department, after
- 8 consulting with the governor and attorney general, shall develop a
- 9 state plan to monitor and regulate the production of hemp in this
- 10 state. The plan must comply with:
- 11 (1) 7 U.S.C. Section 1639p;
- 12 (2) Chapter 122; and
- 13 (3) Chapter 443, Health and Safety Code.
- (b) The department shall submit the plan developed under
- 15 Subsection (a) to the secretary of the United States Department of
- 16 Agriculture as this state's plan for monitoring and regulating the
- 17 production of hemp as provided by 7 U.S.C. Section 1639p.
- 18 (c) If a plan submitted under Subsection (b) is disapproved
- 19 by the secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture,
- 20 the department, after consulting with the governor and attorney
- 21 general, shall amend the plan as needed to obtain approval and
- 22 <u>submit an amended plan.</u>
- 23 (d) The department shall, as necessary, seek technical
- 24 assistance from the secretary of the United States Department of
- 25 Agriculture and other state agencies in developing the plan under
- 26 this section.
- 27 Sec. 121.004. RULES. The department may adopt any rules

1	necessary to implement and administer the state plan under Section
2	121.003.
3	CHAPTER 122. CULTIVATION OF HEMP
4	SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
5	Sec. 122.001. DEFINITIONS. In this chapter:
6	(1) "Cultivate" means to plant, irrigate, cultivate,
7	or harvest a hemp plant.
8	(2) "Governing person" has the meaning assigned by
9	Section 1.002, Business Organizations Code.
10	(3) "Handle" means to possess or store a hemp plant:
11	(A) on premises owned, operated, or controlled by
12	a license holder for any period of time; or
13	(B) in a vehicle for any period of time other than
14	during the actual transport of the plant from a premises owned,
15	operated, or controlled by a license holder to:
16	(i) a premises owned, operated, or
17	controlled by another license holder; or
18	(ii) a person licensed under Chapter 443,
19	Health and Safety Code.
20	(4) "Hemp" has the meaning assigned by Section
21	<u>121.001.</u>
22	(5) "Institution of higher education" has the meaning
23	assigned by Section 61.003, Education Code.
24	(6) "License" means a hemp grower's license issued
25	under Subchapter C.
26	(7) "License holder" means an individual or business
27	entity holding a license.

(8) "Nonconsumable hemp product" means a product that 2 contains hemp, other than a consumable hemp product as defined by 3 Section 443.001, Health and Safety Code. The term includes cloth, cordage, fiber, fuel, paint, paper, particleboard, and plastics 5 derived from hemp. (9) "Plot" means a contiguous area in a field, 7 greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same variety or cultivar of hemp throughout the area. 9 Sec. 122.002. LOCAL REGULATION PROHIBITED. A municipality, county, or other political subdivision of this state may not enact, adopt, or enforce a rule, ordinance, order, resolution, or other regulation that prohibits the cultivation, handling, 13 transportation, or sale of hemp as authorized by this chapter. Sec. 122.003. STATE HEMP PRODUCTION ACCOUNT. (a) The state 14 hemp production account is an account in the general revenue fund administered by the department. 17 (b) The account consists of: (1) appropriations of money to the account by the 18 19 legislature; 20 (2) public or private gifts, grants, or donations, 21 including federal funds, received for the account; 22 (3) fees received under Section 122.052; 23 (4) interest and income earned on the investment of 24 money in the account; 25 (5) penalties collected under this chapter other than 26 a civil penalty collected under Subchapter H; and 27 (6) funds from any other source deposited in the

1 account. 2 (c) The department may accept appropriations and gifts, 3 grants, or donations from any source to administer and enforce this subtitle. Money received under this subsection shall be deposited in the account. 6 (d) Money in the account may be appropriated only to the department for the administration and enforcement of this subtitle. 8 Sec. 122.004. SEVERABILITY. (a) A provision of this chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is invalid 10 if the secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture determines that the provision or application conflicts with 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38, Subchapter VII, and prevents the approval of the state plan submitted under Chapter 121. 14 (b) The invalidity of a provision or application under Subsection (a) does not affect the other provisions or applications 16 of this chapter that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this 18 chapter are declared to be severable. 19 SUBCHAPTER B. POWERS AND DUTIES OF DEPARTMENT 20 Sec. 122.051. DEPARTMENT RULES AND PROCEDURES. (a) The

21

22 23

24

26

of

5

department shall adopt rules and procedures necessary to implement,

(1) prescribe sampling, inspection, and testing

laboratory equipment, to ensure that the delta-9

(b) Rules adopted under Subsection (a) must:

25 procedures, including standards and procedures for the calibration

27 tetrahydrocannabinol_concentration of hemp plants cultivated in

administer, and enforce this chapter.

- 1 this state is not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis; and
- 2 (2) provide due process consistent with Chapter 2001,
- 3 Government Code, including an appeals process, to protect license
- 4 holders from the consequences of imperfect test results.
- 5 Sec. 122.052. FEES. (a) The department shall set and
- 6 collect:
- 7 (1) an application fee for an initial license in an
- 8 amount not to exceed \$100;
- 9 (2) a license renewal fee in an amount not to exceed
- 10 \$100;
- 11 (3) a participation fee for each location described by
- 12 Section 122.103(a)(1) and each location added after the application
- 13 is submitted in an amount not to exceed \$100;
- 14 (4) a site modification fee for each change to a
- 15 location described by Section 122.103(a)(1) in an amount not to
- 16 exceed \$500; and
- 17 (5) a collection and testing fee for each preharvest
- 18 test or postharvest test if performed by the department in an amount
- 19 not to exceed \$300.
- 20 (b) A fee set by the department under this section may not
- 21 exceed the amount necessary to administer this chapter. The
- 22 comptroller may authorize the department to collect a fee described
- 23 by Subsection (a) in an amount greater than the maximum amount
- 24 provided by that subsection if necessary to cover the department's
- 25 costs of administering this chapter.
- (c) The department may not set or collect a fee associated
- 27 with the cultivation of hemp that is not listed in Subsection (a),

- 1 other than:
- 2 (1) a fee for the organic certification of hemp under
- 3 Chapter 18 or for participation in another optional marketing
- 4 program; or
- 5 (2) a fee for the certification of seed or plants under
- 6 Chapter 62.
- 7 (d) Fees collected by the department under this chapter are
- 8 not refundable and may be appropriated only to the department for
- 9 the purpose of administering this chapter.
- 10 Sec. 122.053. INSPECTIONS. (a) The department may
- 11 randomly inspect land where hemp is grown to determine whether hemp
- 12 <u>is being cultivated in compliance with this chapter.</u>
- 13 (b) The department may enter onto land described by Section
- 14 122.103(a)(1), conduct inspections, and collect and test plant
- 15 samples.
- 16 (c) Using participation fees set and collected under
- 17 Section 122.052(a)(3), the department shall pay the cost of
- 18 inspections under this section.
- 19 (d) The Department of Public Safety may inspect, collect
- 20 samples from, or test plants from any portion of a plot to ensure
- 21 compliance with this chapter. A license holder shall allow the
- 22 Department of Public Safety access to the plot and the property on
- 23 which the plot is located for purposes of this subsection.
- 24 (e) If, after conducting an inspection or performing
- 25 testing under this section, the department or the Department of
- 26 Public Safety determines any portion of a plot is not compliant with
- 27 this chapter, the department or the Department of Public Safety may

- 1 report the license holder to the other department or to the attorney
- 2 general.
- 3 Sec. 122.054. SAMPLE COLLECTION AND TESTING. The
- 4 department may collect samples and perform testing or contract with
- 5 a laboratory for the performance of that collection and testing on
- 6 behalf of the department. A test performed by a laboratory on behalf
- 7 of the department is considered to be performed by the department
- 8 for purposes of this chapter.
- 9 Sec. 122.055. SHIPPING CERTIFICATE OR CARGO MANIFEST. (a)
- 10 The department shall develop a shipping certificate or cargo
- 11 manifest which the department shall issue to a license holder in
- 12 connection with the transportation of a shipment of hemp plant
- 13 material originating in this state, other than sterilized seeds
- 14 that are incapable of beginning germination.
- 15 (b) A certificate or manifest developed under Subsection
- 16 (a) must include a unique identifying number for the shipment and
- 17 the department's contact information to allow law enforcement
- 18 during a roadside inspection of a motor vehicle transporting the
- 19 shipment to verify that the shipment consists of hemp cultivated in
- 20 compliance with this chapter.
- 21 (c) The department may coordinate with the Department of
- 22 Public Safety to determine whether information included on a
- 23 certificate or manifest issued under Subsection (a), including the
- 24 unique identifying number, may be made available to law enforcement
- 25 personnel through the Texas Law Enforcement Telecommunications
- 26 System or a successor system of telecommunication used by law
- 27 enforcement agencies and operated by the Department of Public

- 1 Safety.
- 2 (d) A person commits an offense if the person, with intent
- 3 to deceive law enforcement, forges, falsifies, or alters a shipping
- 4 certificate or cargo manifest issued under this section. An
- 5 offense under this subsection is a third degree felony.
- 6 SUBCHAPTER C. HEMP GROWER'S LICENSE
- 7 Sec. 122.101. LICENSE REQUIRED; EXCEPTIONS. (a) Except as
- 8 provided by Subsection (b), a person or the person's agent may not
- 9 cultivate or handle hemp in this state or transport hemp outside of
- 10 this state unless the person holds a license under this subchapter.
- 11 (b) A person is not required to hold a license under this
- 12 subchapter to manufacture a consumable hemp product in accordance
- 13 with Subtitle A, Title 6, Health and Safety Code.
- 14 Sec. 122.102. LICENSE INELIGIBILITY. (a) An individual
- 15 who is or has been convicted of a felony relating to a controlled
- 16 substance under federal law or the law of any state may not, before
- 17 the 10th anniversary of the date of the conviction:
- (1) hold a license under this subchapter; or
- 19 (2) be a governing person of a business entity that
- 20 holds a license under this subchapter.
- 21 (b) The department may not issue a license under this
- 22 subchapter to a person who materially falsifies any information
- 23 contained in an application submitted to the department under
- 24 Section 122.103.
- 25 <u>Sec. 122.103. APPLICATION; ISSUANCE.</u> (a) A person may
- 26 apply for a license under this subchapter by submitting an
- 27 application to the department on a form and in the manner prescribed

- 1 by the department. The application must be accompanied by:
- 2 (1) a legal description of each location where the
- 3 applicant intends to cultivate or handle hemp and the global
- 4 positioning system coordinates for the perimeter of each location;
- 5 (2) written consent from the applicant or the property
- 6 owner if the applicant is not the property owner allowing the
- 7 department, the Department of Public Safety, and any other state or
- 8 local law enforcement agency to enter onto all premises where hemp
- 9 is cultivated or handled to conduct a physical inspection or to
- 10 ensure compliance with this chapter and rules adopted under this
- 11 chapter;
- 12 (3) the application fee; and
- 13 (4) any other information required by department rule.
- (b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), the department
- 15 shall issue a license to a qualified applicant not later than the
- 16 60th day after the date the department receives the completed
- 17 application and the required application fees.
- 18 (c) A qualified applicant who along with the application
- 19 submits proof to the department that the applicant holds a license
- 20 under Chapter 487, Health and Safety Code, is not required to pay an
- 21 application fee, and the department shall issue the license to the
- 22 applicant within the time prescribed by Subsection (b).
- Sec. 122.104. TERM; RENEWAL. (a) A license is valid for
- 24 one year and may be renewed as provided by this section.
- 25 (b) The department shall renew a license if the license
- 26 holder:
- 27 (1) is not ineligible to hold the license under

```
1 Section 122.102;
 2
               (2) submits to the department the license renewal fee;
 3
   <u>and</u>
 4
               (3) does not owe any outstanding fee described by
 5
   Section 122.052.
 6
         Sec. 122.105. REVOCATION. The department shall revoke a
   license if the license holder is convicted of a felony relating to a
   controlled substance under federal law or the law of any state.
 9
                         SUBCHAPTER D. TESTING
10
         Sec. 122.151. TESTING LABORATORIES.
                                                  (a) Subject to
   Subsection (b), testing under this subchapter or Section 122.053
   must be performed by:
13
              (1) the department;
14
               (2) an institution of higher education; or
15
              (3) an independent testing laboratory registered
16 under Section 122.152.
17
         (b) To perform testing under this chapter, a laboratory
   described by Subsection (a) must be accredited by an independent
19 accreditation body in accordance with International Organization
20 for Standardization ISO/IEC 17025 or a comparable or successor
21 standard.
22
         (c) A license holder shall select a laboratory described by
23 Subsection (a) to perform preharvest or postharvest testing of a
24 sample taken from the license holder's plot. A license holder may
25 not select an independent testing laboratory under Subsection
26 (a)(3) unless the license holder has:
27
              (1) no ownership interest in the laboratory; or
```

- 1 (2) less than a 10 percent ownership interest in the
- 2 laboratory if the laboratory is a publicly traded company.
- 3 (d) A license holder must pay the costs of preharvest or
- 4 postharvest sample collection and testing in the amount prescribed
- 5 by the laboratory selected by the license holder.
- 6 (e) The department shall recognize and accept the results of
- 7 a test performed by an institution of higher education or an
- 8 independent testing laboratory described by Subsection (a). The
- 9 department shall require that a copy of the test results be sent by
- 10 the institution of higher education or independent testing
- 11 laboratory directly to the department and the license holder.
- 12 (f) The department shall notify the license holder of the
- 13 results of the test not later than the 14th day after the date the
- 14 sample was collected under Section 122.154 or the date the
- 15 <u>department receives test results under Subsection (e).</u>
- 16 Sec. 122.152. REGISTRATION OF INDEPENDENT TESTING
- 17 LABORATORIES. (a) The department shall register independent
- 18 testing laboratories authorized to conduct testing under Section
- 19 122.151(a)(3).
- 20 (b) A laboratory is eligible for registration if the
- 21 laboratory submits to the department proof of accreditation by an
- 22 independent accreditation body in accordance with International
- 23 Organization for Standardization ISO/IEC 17025 or a comparable or
- 24 successor standard and any required fee.
- 25 (c) The department shall annually prepare a registry of all
- 26 independent testing laboratories registered by the department and
- 27 make the registry available to license holders.

- 1 (d) The department may charge a registration fee to recover
- 2 the costs of administering this section.
- 3 Sec. 122.153. PREHARVEST TESTING REQUIRED. (a) A license
- 4 holder may not harvest a hemp plant or plant intended or believed to
- 5 be hemp unless a representative sample of plants from the plot where
- 6 the plant is grown is collected before harvest and subsequently
- 7 tested using post-decarboxylation, high-performance liquid
- 8 chromatography, or another similarly reliable method to determine
- 9 the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of the sample in the
- 10 manner required by this subchapter.
- 11 (b) For purposes of Subsection (a), a representative sample
- 12 of plants from a plot consists of cuttings taken from at least five
- 13 plants throughout the plot. The department by rule shall prescribe
- 14 the minimum distance between plants from which cuttings may be
- 15 taken based on the size of the plot.
- 16 (c) A laboratory performing preharvest testing under this
- 17 section shall homogenize all the cuttings in the sample and test the
- 18 delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of a random sample of
- 19 the homogenized material.
- 20 (d) This section does not prohibit a license holder from
- 21 harvesting plants immediately after a preharvest sample is
- 22 collected.
- 23 <u>Sec. 122.154. PREHARVEST SAMPLE COLLECTION.</u> (a) A license
- 24 holder shall notify the department at least 20 days before the date
- 25 the license holder expects to harvest plants from a plot in the
- 26 manner prescribed by department rule.
- 27 (b) A sample must be collected by the department or another

- 1 entity described by Section 122.151(a) for purposes of preharvest
- 2 testing under Section 122.153.
- 3 (c) The department by rule may prescribe reasonable
- 4 procedures for submitting a preharvest sample collected under this
- 5 section to a testing laboratory selected by the license holder.
- 6 Sec. 122.155. OPTIONAL POSTHARVEST TESTING. (a) The
- 7 department by rule shall allow a license holder to have a single
- 8 postharvest test performed on a representative sample of plants
- 9 from a plot if the results of the preharvest test representing the
- 10 plot show a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of more than
- 11 <u>0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.</u>
- 12 (b) The department by rule shall prescribe the requirements
- 13 for a representative sample and for sample collection under this
- 14 section.
- 15 (c) If a license holder fails to request postharvest testing
- 16 on or before the 15th day after the date the license holder is
- 17 notified of the results of the preharvest test, the results of the
- 18 preharvest test are final.
- 19 Sec. 122.156. SHIPPING DOCUMENTATION FOR TEST SAMPLES. The
- 20 department shall issue documentation to an entity authorized to
- 21 collect samples of plants for testing that authorizes the
- 22 transportation of those samples from the place of collection to a
- 23 testing laboratory described by Section 122.151(a).
- 24 Sec. 122.157. FALSE LABORATORY REPORT; CRIMINAL OFFENSE.
- 25 (a) A person commits an offense if the person, with the intent to
- 26 deceive, forges, falsifies, or alters the results of a laboratory
- 27 test required or authorized under this chapter.

- 1 (b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a third degree
- 2 felony.
- 3 SUBCHAPTER E. HARVEST AND USE OR DISPOSAL OF PLANTS
- 4 Sec. 122.201. HARVEST. (a) A license holder shall harvest
- 5 the plants from a plot not later than the 20th day after the date a
- 6 preharvest sample is collected under Section 122.154 unless field
- 7 conditions delay harvesting or the department authorizes the
- 8 license holder to delay harvesting. This subsection does not
- 9 prohibit the license holder from harvesting the plants immediately
- 10 after the preharvest sample is collected.
- 11 (b) A license holder may not sell or use harvested plants
- 12 before the results of a preharvest and, if applicable, postharvest
- 13 test performed on a sample representing the plants are received. If
- 14 the test results are not received before the plants are harvested,
- 15 the license holder shall dry and store the harvested plants until
- 16 the results are received.
- 17 (c) A license holder may not commingle harvested plants
- 18 represented by one sample with plants represented by another sample
- 19 until the results of the tests are received.
- 20 Sec. 122.202. USE OR DISPOSAL OF HARVESTED PLANTS. (a) If
- 21 the results of a preharvest or postharvest test performed on a
- 22 sample show a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not
- 23 more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis, the license holder may
- 24 <u>sell or use the plants represented by the sample for any purpose</u>
- 25 allowed by law.
- 26 (b) If the results of a preharvest and, if applicable,
- 27 postharvest test performed on a sample show a delta-9

1	tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of more than 0.3 percent on a
2	dry weight basis:
3	(1) the license holder shall dispose of or destroy all
4	plants represented by the sample:
5	(A) in the manner prescribed by federal law; or
6	(B) in a manner approved by the department that
7	does not conflict with federal law; or
8	(2) if the department determines the plants
9	represented by the sample reached that concentration solely as a
10	result of negligence, the license holder is subject to Section
11	122.403(c) and may:
12	(A) trim the plants until the delta-9
13	tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of the plants is not more than
14	0.3 percent on a dry weight basis and dispose of the noncompliant
15	parts of the plants in a manner approved by the department;
16	(B) process the plants into fiber with a delta-9
17	tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on
18	a dry weight basis and dispose of any remaining parts of the plants
19	in a manner approved by the department; or
20	(C) take any other corrective action consistent
21	with federal regulations adopted under 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38,
22	Subchapter VII.
23	SUBCHAPTER F. HEMP SEED
24	Sec. 122.251. APPLICABILITY OF SUBCHAPTER. This subchapter
25	does not apply to sterilized seeds that are incapable of beginning
26	germination.
27	Sec. 122.252. CERTIFICATION OR APPROVAL. (a) The

- 1 department or an entity authorized to certify seed under Chapter 62
- 2 shall identify and certify or approve seed confirmed to produce
- 3 hemp.
- 4 (b) The department or entity may not certify or approve a
- 5 variety of hemp seed if the seed is tested and confirmed to produce
- 6 a plant that has delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of more
- 7 than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. For purposes of this
- 8 subsection, the department may partner with a private entity or an
- 9 institution of higher education to test seed for the purpose of
- 10 certification or approval under this section.
- 11 (c) The department may authorize the importation of hemp
- 12 seed certified in accordance with the law of another state or
- 13 jurisdiction that requires as a condition of certification that
- 14 hemp be produced in compliance with:
- 15 (1) that state or jurisdiction's plan approved by the
- 16 United States Department of Agriculture under 7 U.S.C. Section
- 17 <u>1639p; or</u>
- 18 (2) a plan established under 7 U.S.C. Section 1639q if
- 19 that plan applies in the state or jurisdiction.
- 20 (d) The department shall maintain and make available to
- 21 license holders a list of hemp seeds certified or approved under
- 22 this section.
- 23 Sec. 122.253. PROHIBITED USE OF CERTAIN HEMP SEED. A person
- 24 may not sell, offer for sale, distribute, or use hemp seed in this
- 25 state unless the seed is certified or approved under Section
- 26 122.252.

- 1 SUBCHAPTER G. NONCONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCTS 2 Sec. 122.301. MANUFACTURE. (a) Except as provided by 3 Subsection (b), a state agency may not prohibit a person who manufactures a product regulated by the agency, other than an article regulated under Chapter 431, Health and Safety Code, from 6 applying for or obtaining a permit or other authorization to 7 manufacture the product solely on the basis that the person intends to manufacture the product as a nonconsumable hemp product. 9 (b) A state agency may not authorize a person to manufacture a product containing hemp for smoking, as defined by Section 10 443.001, Health and Safety Code. 11 Sec. 122.302. POSSESSION, TRANSPORTATION, AND SALE. 12 Notwithstanding any other law, a person may possess, transport, 13 sell, and purchase legally produced nonconsumable hemp products in 14 15 this state. 16 (b) The department by rule must provide to a retailer of 17 nonconsumable hemp products fair notice of a potential violation 18 concerning hemp products sold by the retailer and an opportunity to 19 cure a violation made unintentionally or negligently. Sec. 122.303. RETAIL SALE OF OUT-OF-STATE PRODUCTS. 20 21 nonconsumable hemp product manufactured outside of this state may 22 be sold at retail in this state unless: 23 (1) the hemp used to manufacture the product was 24 cultivated illegally; or (2) the retail sale of the product in this state 25
 - 18

Sec. 122.304. TRANSPORTATION AND EXPORTATION OUT OF STATE.

26

27

violates federal law.

- 1 Nonconsumable hemp products may be legally transported across state
- 2 lines and exported to foreign jurisdictions in a manner that is
- 3 consistent with federal law and the laws of respective foreign
- 4 jurisdictions.
- 5 SUBCHAPTER H. TRANSPORTATION REQUIREMENTS
- 6 Sec. 122.351. DEFINITION. In this subchapter, "peace
- 7 officer" has the meaning assigned by Article 2.12, Code of Criminal
- 8 Procedure.
- 9 Sec. 122.352. POLICY. It is the policy of this state to not
- 10 interfere with the interstate commerce of hemp or the transshipment
- 11 of hemp through this state.
- 12 Sec. 122.353. INTERSTATE TRANSPORTATION. To the extent of
- 13 a conflict between a provision of this chapter and a provision of
- 14 federal law involving interstate transportation of hemp, including
- 15 a United States Department of Agriculture regulation, federal law
- 16 controls and conflicting provisions of this chapter do not apply.
- 17 Sec. 122.354. DEPARTMENT RULES. The department, in
- 18 consultation with the Department of Public Safety, shall adopt
- 19 rules regulating the transportation of hemp in this state to ensure
- 20 that illegal marihuana is not transported into or through this
- 21 state disguised as legal hemp.
- 22 Sec. 122.355. HEMP TRANSPORTATION ACCOUNT. (a) The hemp
- 23 transportation account is a dedicated account in the general
- 24 revenue fund administered by the department. The account consists
- 25 of:
- 26 (1) civil penalties collected under this subchapter;
- 27 <u>and</u>

1	(2) interest and income earned on the investment of
2	money in the account.
3	(b) Money in the account may be appropriated only to the
4	department for the administration and enforcement of this
5	subchapter. The department may transfer money appropriated under
6	this subsection to the Department of Public Safety for the
7	administration and enforcement of that department's powers and
8	duties under this subchapter, unless prohibited by other law.
9	Sec. 122.356. DOCUMENTATION AND OTHER SHIPPING
10	REQUIREMENTS. (a) A person may not transport hemp plant material
11	in this state unless the hemp:
12	(1) is produced in compliance with:
13	(A) a state or tribal plan approved by the United
14	States Department of Agriculture under 7 U.S.C. Section 1639p; or
15	(B) a plan established under 7 U.S.C. Section
16	1639q if the hemp was cultivated in an area where that plan applies;
17	and
18	(2) is accompanied by:
19	(A) a shipping certificate or cargo manifest
20	issued under Section 122.055 if the hemp originated in this state;
21	<u>or</u>
22	(B) documentation containing the name and
23	address of the place where the hemp was cultivated and a statement
24	that the hemp was produced in compliance with 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38,
25	Subchapter VII, if the hemp originated outside this state.
26	(b) A person transporting hemp plant material in this state:
27	(1) may not concurrently transport any cargo that is

- 1 not hemp plant material; and
- 2 (2) shall furnish the documentation required by this
- 3 section to the department or any peace officer on request.
- 4 Sec. 122.357. AGRICULTURAL PESTS AND DISEASES. A person
- 5 may not transport in this state hemp that contains an agricultural
- 6 pest or disease as provided by department rule.
- 7 Sec. 122.358. POWERS AND DUTIES OF PEACE OFFICERS. (a) A
- 8 peace officer may inspect and collect a reasonably sized sample of
- 9 any material from the plant Cannabis sativa L. found in a vehicle to
- 10 determine the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of the
- 11 plant material. Unless a peace officer has probable cause to
- 12 believe the plant material is marihuana, the peace officer may not:
- 13 (1) seize the plant material; or
- 14 (2) arrest the person transporting the plant material.
- 15 (b) A peace officer may detain any hemp being transported in
- 16 this state until the person transporting the hemp provides the
- 17 documentation required by Section 122.356. The peace officer shall
- 18 immediately release the hemp to the person if the person produces
- 19 documentation required by that section.
- 20 (c) If a peace officer has probable cause to believe that a
- 21 person transporting hemp in this state is also transporting
- 22 marihuana or a controlled substance, as defined by Section 481.002,
- 23 Health and Safety Code, or any other illegal substance under state
- 24 or federal law, the peace officer may seize and impound the hemp
- 25 along with the controlled or illegal substance.
- 26 (d) This subchapter does not limit or restrict a peace
- 27 officer from enforcing to the fullest extent the laws of this state

- 1 regulating marihuana and controlled substances, as defined by
- 2 Section 481.002, Health and Safety Code.
- 3 Sec. 122.359. CIVIL PENALTY. (a) A person who violates
- 4 Section 122.356 is liable to this state for a civil penalty in an
- 5 amount not to exceed \$500 for each violation.
- 6 (b) The attorney general or any district or county attorney
- 7 may bring an action to recover the civil penalty.
- 8 (c) A civil penalty collected under this section must be
- 9 deposited in the hemp transportation account under Section 122.355.
- 10 Sec. 122.360. CRIMINAL OFFENSE. (a) A person commits an
- 11 offense if the person violates Section 122.356.
- 12 (b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor
- 13 punishable by a fine of not more than \$1,000.
- 14 SUBCHAPTER I. ENFORCEMENT; PENALTIES
- 15 Sec. 122.401. PENALTY SCHEDULE. (a) The department by rule
- 16 shall adopt a schedule of sanctions and penalties for violations of
- 17 this chapter and rules adopted under this chapter that does not
- 18 conflict with 7 U.S.C. Section 1639p(e).
- 19 (b) A penalty collected under this chapter other than a
- 20 civil penalty collected under Subchapter H must be deposited in the
- 21 state hemp production account under Section 122.003.
- 22 Sec. 122.402. ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY. Except as provided
- 23 by Section 122.403 and to the extent permitted under 7 U.S.C.
- 24 Section 1639p(e), the department may impose an administrative
- 25 penalty or other administrative sanction for a violation of this
- 26 chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter, including a
- 27 penalty or sanction under Section 12.020 or 12.0201.

- 1 Sec. 122.403. NEGLIGENT VIOLATIONS BY LICENSE HOLDER. (a)
- 2 If the department determines that a license holder negligently
- 3 violated this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter, the
- 4 department shall enforce the violation in the manner provided by 7
- 5 <u>U.S.C. Section 1639p(e).</u>
- 6 (b) A license holder described by Subsection (a) is not
- 7 subject to a civil, criminal, or administrative enforcement action
- 8 other than an enforcement action provided by this chapter.
- 9 (c) A license holder who violates this chapter by
- 10 cultivating plants described by Section 122.202(b)(2):
- 11 (1) must comply with an enhanced testing protocol
- 12 developed by the department;
- 13 (2) shall pay a fee in the amount of \$500 for each
- 14 violation to cover the department's costs of administering the
- 15 enhanced testing protocol; and
- 16 (3) shall be included on a list maintained by the
- 17 department of license holders with negligent violations, which is
- 18 public information for purposes of Chapter 552, Government Code.
- 19 (d) A person who negligently violates this chapter three
- 20 times in any five-year period may not cultivate, process, or
- 21 otherwise produce hemp in this state before the fifth anniversary
- 22 of the date of the third violation. The department shall include
- 23 each person subject to this subsection on a list of banned
- 24 producers, which is public information for purposes of Chapter 552,
- 25 Government Code.
- 26 Sec. 122.404. OTHER VIOLATIONS BY LICENSE HOLDER. If the
- 27 department suspects or determines that a license holder violated

- 1 this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter with a culpable
- 2 mental state greater than negligence, the department shall
- 3 immediately report the license holder to:
- 4 (1) the United States attorney general; and
- 5 (2) the attorney general of this state, who may:
- 6 (A) investigate the violation;
- 7 (B) institute proceedings for injunctive or
- 8 other appropriate relief on behalf of the department; or
- 9 (C) report the matter to the Department of Public
- 10 Safety and any other appropriate law enforcement agency.
- 11 SECTION 3. Subchapter A, Chapter 141, Agriculture Code, is
- 12 amended by adding Section 141.008 to read as follows:
- 13 Sec. 141.008. HEMP IN COMMERCIAL FEED. The service may
- 14 adopt rules authorizing, defining, and controlling the use of hemp
- 15 and hemp products in commercial feed.
- 16 SECTION 4. Subchapter A, Chapter 431, Health and Safety
- 17 Code, is amended by adding Section 431.011 to read as follows:
- 18 Sec. 431.011. APPLICABILITY OF CHAPTER TO CONSUMABLE HEMP
- 19 PRODUCTS AND MANUFACTURERS. (a) This chapter applies to a
- 20 consumable hemp product subject to Chapter 443. An article
- 21 regulated under this chapter may not be deemed to be adulterated
- 22 solely on the basis that the article is a consumable hemp product.
- 23 (b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), this chapter
- 24 applies to the conduct of a person who holds a license under Chapter
- 25 443.
- 26 (c) A person who holds a license under Chapter 443 related
- 27 to the processing of hemp or the manufacturing of a consumable hemp

- 1 product regulated under that chapter and is engaging in conduct
- 2 within the scope of that license is not required to hold a license
- as a food manufacturer or food wholesaler under Subchapter J.
- 4 SECTION 5. Section 431.043, Health and Safety Code, is
- 5 amended to read as follows:
- 6 Sec. 431.043. ACCESS TO RECORDS. A person who is required
- 7 to maintain records under this chapter or Section 519 or 520(g) of
- 8 the federal Act or a person who is in charge or custody of those
- 9 records shall, at the request of the department or a health
- 10 authority, permit the department or health authority at all
- 11 reasonable times access to and to copy and verify the records,
- 12 including records that verify that the hemp in a consumable hemp
- 13 product was produced in accordance with Chapter 122, Agriculture
- 14 Code, or 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38, Subchapter VII.
- 15 SECTION 6. Section 431.2211, Health and Safety Code, is
- 16 amended by adding Subsection (a-3) to read as follows:
- 17 (a-3) A person is not required to hold a license under this
- 18 subchapter if the person holds a license under Chapter 443 and is
- 19 engaging in conduct within the scope of that license.
- 20 SECTION 7. Subtitle A, Title 6, Health and Safety Code, is
- 21 amended by adding Chapter 443 to read as follows:
- 22 CHAPTER 443. MANUFACTURE, DISTRIBUTION, AND SALE OF CONSUMABLE
- 23 <u>HEMP PRODUCTS</u>
- 24 SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
- Sec. 443.001. DEFINITIONS. In this chapter:
- 26 (1) "Consumable hemp product" means food, a drug, a
- 27 device, or a cosmetic, as those terms are defined by Section

- 1 431.002, that contains hemp or one or more hemp-derived
- 2 cannabinoids, including cannabidiol.
- 3 (2) "Department" means the Department of State Health
- 4 Services.
- 5 (3) "Establishment" means each location where a person
- 6 processes hemp or manufactures a consumable hemp product.
- 7 (4) "Executive commissioner" means the executive
- 8 commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission.
- 9 (5) "Hemp" has the meaning assigned by Section
- 10 121.001, Agriculture Code.
- 11 (6) "License" means a consumable hemp product
- 12 manufacturer's license issued under this chapter.
- 13 (7) "License holder" means an individual or business
- 14 entity holding a license.
- 15 (8) "Manufacture" has the meaning assigned by Section
- 16 <u>431.002.</u>
- 17 (9) "Process" means to extract a component of hemp,
- 18 including cannabidiol or another cannabinoid, that is:
- 19 (A) sold as a consumable hemp product;
- 20 (B) offered for sale as a consumable hemp
- 21 product;
- 22 (C) incorporated into a consumable hemp product;
- 23 <u>or</u>
- (D) intended to be incorporated into a consumable
- 25 hemp product.
- 26 (10) "QR code" means a quick response machine-readable
- 27 code that can be read by a camera, consisting of an array of black

- 1 and white squares used for storing information or directing or
- 2 leading a user to additional information.
- 3 (11) "Smoking" means burning or igniting a substance
- 4 and inhaling the smoke or heating a substance and inhaling the
- 5 resulting vapor or aerosol.
- 6 Sec. 443.002. APPLICABILITY OF OTHER LAW. Except as
- 7 provided by Section 431.011(c), Chapter 431 applies to a license
- 8 holder and a consumable hemp product regulated under this chapter.
- 9 Sec. 443.003. LOCAL REGULATION PROHIBITED. A municipality,
- 10 county, or other political subdivision of this state may not enact,
- 11 adopt, or enforce a rule, ordinance, order, resolution, or other
- 12 regulation that prohibits the processing of hemp or the
- 13 manufacturing or sale of a consumable hemp product as authorized by
- 14 this chapter.
- 15 Sec. 443.004. SEVERABILITY. (a) A provision of this
- 16 chapter or its application to any person or circumstance is invalid
- 17 if the secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture
- 18 determines that the provision or application conflicts with 7
- 19 U.S.C. Chapter 38, Subchapter VII, and prevents the approval of the
- 20 state plan submitted under Chapter 121, Agriculture Code.
- 21 (b) The invalidity of a provision or application under
- 22 <u>Subsection (a) does not affect the other provisions or applications</u>
- 23 of this chapter that can be given effect without the invalid
- 24 provision or application, and to this end the provisions of this
- 25 chapter are declared to be severable.
- 26 <u>SUBCHAPTER B. POWERS AND DUTIES</u>
- 27 Sec. 443.051. RULEMAKING AUTHORITY OF EXECUTIVE

- 1 COMMISSIONER. The executive commissioner shall adopt rules and
- 2 procedures necessary to administer and enforce this chapter. Rules
- 3 and procedures adopted under this section must be consistent with:
- 4 (1) an approved state plan submitted to the United
- 5 States Department of Agriculture under Chapter 121, Agriculture
- 6 Code; and
- 7 (2) 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38, Subchapter VII, and federal
- 8 regulations adopted under that subchapter.
- 9 SUBCHAPTER C. CONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCT MANUFACTURER LICENSE
- 10 Sec. 443.101. LICENSE REQUIRED; EXCEPTIONS. A person may
- 11 not process hemp or manufacture a consumable hemp product in this
- 12 state unless the person holds a license under this subchapter.
- 13 <u>Sec. 443.102. LICENSE INELIGIBILITY.</u> (a) An individual
- 14 who is or has been convicted of a felony relating to a controlled
- 15 <u>substance under federal law or the law of any state may not, before</u>
- 16 the 10th anniversary of the date of the conviction:
- 17 (1) hold a license under this subchapter; or
- 18 (2) be a governing person of an establishment that
- 19 holds a license under this subchapter.
- 20 (b) The department may not issue a license under this
- 21 subchapter to a person who materially falsifies any information
- 22 contained in an application submitted to the department under
- 23 Section 443.103.
- 24 Sec. 443.103. APPLICATION; ISSUANCE. An individual or
- 25 establishment may apply for a license under this subchapter by
- 26 submitting an application to the department on a form and in the
- 27 manner prescribed by the department. The application must be

- 1 accompanied by:
- 2 (1) a legal description of each location where the
- 3 applicant intends to process hemp or manufacture consumable hemp
- 4 products and the global positioning system coordinates for the
- 5 perimeter of each location;
- 6 (2) written consent from the applicant or the property
- 7 owner if the applicant is not the property owner allowing the
- 8 department, the Department of Public Safety, and any other state or
- 9 local law enforcement agency to enter onto all premises where hemp
- 10 is processed or consumable hemp products are manufactured to
- 11 conduct a physical inspection or to ensure compliance with this
- 12 chapter and rules adopted under this chapter;
- 13 (3) any fees required by the department to be
- 14 submitted with the application; and
- 15 (4) any other information required by department rule.
- 16 Sec. 443.104. TERM; RENEWAL. (a) A license is valid for
- 17 one year and may be renewed as provided by this section.
- 18 (b) The department shall renew a license if the license
- 19 holder:
- 20 (1) is not ineligible to hold the license under
- 21 Section 443.102;
- 22 (2) submits to the department any license renewal fee;
- 23 <u>and</u>
- 24 (3) does not owe any outstanding fees to the
- 25 department.
- Sec. 443.105. REVOCATION. The department shall revoke a
- 27 license if the license holder is convicted of a felony relating to a

1	controlled substance under federal law or the law of any state.	
2	SUBCHAPTER D. TESTING OF CONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCTS	
3	Sec. 443.151. TESTING REQUIRED. (a) A consumable hemp	
4	product must be tested as provided by:	
5	(1) Subsections (b) and (c); or	
6	(2) Subsection (d).	
7	(b) Before a hemp plant is processed or otherwise used in	
8	the manufacture of a consumable hemp product, a sample representing	
9	the plant must be tested, as required by the executive	
10	commissioner, to determine:	
11	(1) the concentration of various cannabinoids; and	
12	(2) the presence or quantity of heavy metals,	
13	pesticides, and any other substance prescribed by the department.	
14	(c) Before material extracted from hemp by processing is	
15	sold as, offered for sale as, or incorporated into a consumable hemp	
16	product, the material must be tested, as required by the executive	
17	commissioner, to determine:	
18	(1) the presence of harmful microorganisms; and	
19	(2) the presence or quantity of:	
20	(A) any residual solvents used in processing, if	
21	applicable; and	
22	(B) any other substance prescribed by the	
23	department.	
24	(d) Except as otherwise provided by Subsection (e), before a	
25	consumable hemp product is sold at retail or otherwise introduced	
26	into commerce in this state, a sample representing the hemp product	
27	must be tested.	

1 (1) by a laboratory that is accredited by an accreditation body in accordance with International Organization for Standardization ISO/IEC 17025 or a comparable or successor delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol standard to determine the concentration of the product; and 6 (2) by an appropriate laboratory to determine that the product does not contain a substance described by Subsection (b) or (c) in a quantity prohibited for purposes of those subsections. 9 (e) A consumable hemp product is not required to be tested under Subsection (d) if each hemp-derived ingredient of the product: 11 12 (1) has been tested in accordance with: 13 (A) Subsections (b) and (c); or 14 (B) Subsection (d); and 15 (2) does not have a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of more than 0.3 percent. 16 17 Sec. 443.152. PROVISIONS RELATED TO TESTING. (a) A consumable hemp product that has a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of more than 0.3 percent may not be sold at retail or 20 otherwise introduced into commerce in this state. 21 (b) A person licensed under Chapter 122, Agriculture Code, 22 shall provide to a license holder who is processing hemp harvested 23 by the person or otherwise using that hemp to manufacture a consumable hemp product the results of a test conducted under that 24 as 25 chapter, if available, proof that the delta-9 26 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of the hemp does not exceed 0.3

27 percent, including for purposes of Section 443.151(b)(1).

- 1 (c) A license holder shall make available to a seller of a
- 2 consumable hemp product processed or manufactured by the license
- 3 holder the results of testing required by Section 443.151. The
- 4 results may accompany a shipment to the seller or be made available
- 5 to the seller electronically. If the results are not able to be
- 6 <u>made available, the seller may have the testing required under</u>
- 7 Section 443.151 performed on the product and shall make the results
- 8 available to a consumer.
- 9 SUBCHAPTER E. RETAIL SALE OF CONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCTS
- 10 Sec. 443.201. POSSESSION, TRANSPORTATION, AND SALE OF
- 11 CONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCTS. (a) A person may possess, transport,
- 12 sell, or purchase a consumable hemp product processed or
- 13 manufactured in compliance with this chapter.
- 14 (b) The executive commissioner by rule must provide to a
- 15 retailer of consumable hemp products fair notice of a potential
- 16 violation concerning consumable hemp products sold by the retailer
- 17 and an opportunity to cure a violation made unintentionally or
- 18 <u>negligently</u>.
- 19 Sec. 443.202. REGULATION OF CERTAIN CANNABINOID OILS. (a)
- 20 This section does not apply to low-THC cannabis regulated under
- 21 Chapter 487.
- 22 (b) Notwithstanding any other law, a person may not sell,
- 23 offer for sale, possess, distribute, or transport a cannabinoid
- 24 oil, including cannabidiol oil, in this state:
- 25 (1) if the oil contains any material extracted or
- 26 derived from the plant Cannabis sativa L., other than from hemp
- 27 produced in compliance with 7 U.S.C. Chapter 38, Subchapter VII;

- 1 and
- 2 (2) unless a sample representing the oil has been
- 3 tested by a laboratory that is accredited by an independent
- 4 accreditation body in accordance with International Organization
- 5 for Standardization ISO/IEC 17025 or a comparable or successor
- 6 standard and found to have a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol
- 7 concentration of not more than 0.3 percent.
- 8 (c) The department and the Department of Public Safety shall
- 9 establish a process for the random testing of cannabinoid oil,
- 10 including cannabidiol oil, at various retail and other
- 11 establishments that sell, offer for sale, distribute, or use the
- 12 oil to ensure that the oil:
- 13 (1) does not contain harmful ingredients;
- 14 (2) is produced in compliance with 7 U.S.C. Chapter
- 15 38, Subchapter VII; and
- 16 (3) has a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration
- 17 of not more than 0.3 percent.
- 18 Sec. 443.2025. REGISTRATION REQUIRED FOR RETAILERS OF
- 19 CERTAIN PRODUCTS. (a) This section does not apply to low-THC
- 20 cannabis regulated under Chapter 487.
- 21 (b) A person may not sell consumable hemp products
- 22 containing cannabidiol at retail in this state unless the person
- 23 registers with the department each location owned, operated, or
- 24 controlled by the person at which those products are sold. A person
- 25 is not required to register a location associated with an employee
- 26 or independent contractor described by Subsection (d).
- 27 (c) The department may issue a single registration under

- 1 Subsection (b) covering multiple locations owned, operated, or
- 2 controlled by a person.
- 3 (d) A person is not required to register with the department
- 4 under Subsection (b) if the person is:
- 5 (1) an employee of a registrant; or
- 6 (2) an independent contractor of a registrant who
- 7 sells the registrant's products at retail.
- 8 (e) A registration is valid for one year and may be renewed
- 9 as prescribed by department rule.
- 10 (f) The department by rule may adopt a registration fee
- 11 schedule that establishes reasonable fee amounts for the
- 12 registration of:
- 13 (1) a single location at which consumable hemp
- 14 products containing cannabidiol are sold; and
- 15 (2) multiple locations at which consumable hemp
- 16 products containing cannabidiol are sold under a single
- 17 registration.
- 18 (g) The department shall adopt rules to implement and
- 19 administer this section.
- 20 Sec. 443.203. DECEPTIVE TRADE PRACTICE. (a) A person who
- 21 sells, offers for sale, or distributes a cannabinoid oil, including
- 22 cannabidiol oil, that the person claims is processed or
- 23 manufactured in compliance with this chapter commits a false,
- 24 misleading, or deceptive act or practice actionable under
- 25 Subchapter E, Chapter 17, Business & Commerce Code, if the oil is
- 26 not processed or manufactured in accordance with this chapter.
- 27 (b) A person who sells, offers for sale, or distributes a

- 1 cannabinoid oil commits a false, misleading, or deceptive act or
- 2 practice actionable under Subchapter E, Chapter 17, Business &
- 3 Commerce Code, if the oil:
- 4 (1) contains harmful ingredients;
- 5 (2) is not produced in compliance with 7 U.S.C.
- 6 Chapter 38, Subchapter VII; or
- 7 (3) has a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration
- 8 of more than 0.3 percent.
- 9 Sec. 443.204. RULES RELATED TO SALE OF CONSUMABLE HEMP
- 10 PRODUCTS. Rules adopted by the executive commissioner regulating
- 11 the sale of consumable hemp products must to the extent allowable by
- 12 federal law reflect the following principles:
- 13 (1) hemp-derived cannabinoids, including cannabidiol,
- 14 are not considered controlled substances or adulterants;
- 15 (2) products containing one or more hemp-derived
- 16 cannabinoids, such as cannabidiol, intended for ingestion are
- 17 considered foods, not controlled substances or adulterated
- 18 products;
- 19 (3) consumable hemp products must be packaged and
- 20 labeled in the manner provided by Section 443.205; and
- 21 (4) the processing or manufacturing of a consumable
- 22 hemp product for smoking is prohibited.
- 23 <u>Sec. 443.205. PACKAGING AND LABELING REQUIREMENTS.</u> (a)
- 24 Before a consumable hemp product that contains or is marketed as
- 25 containing more than trace amounts of cannabinoids may be
- 26 <u>distributed or sold, the product must be labeled in the manner</u>
- 27 provided by this section with the following information:

1 (1) batch identification number; 2 (2) batch date; 3 (3) product name; 4 (4) a uniform resource locator (URL) that provides or links to a certificate of analysis for the product or each 5 6 hemp-derived ingredient of the product; 7 (5) the name of the product's manufacturer; and 8 (6) a certification that the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of the product or each hemp-derived ingredient of the product is not more than 0.3 10 11 percent. (b) The label required by Subsection (a) may be in the form 12 13 of: (1) a uniform resource locator (URL) for the 14 manufacturer's Internet website that provides or links to the 15 information required by that subsection; and 17 (2) a QR code or other bar code that may be scanned and 18 that leads to the information required by that subsection. 19 (c) The label required by Subsection (a) must appear on each unit of the product intended for individual retail sale. If that 20 unit includes inner and outer packaging, the label may appear on any 22 of that packaging. 23 (d) This section does not apply to sterilized seeds 24 incapable of beginning germination. 25 Sec. 443.206. RETAIL SALE OF OUT-OF-STATE CONSUMABLE HEMP PRODUCTS. Retail sales of consumable hemp products processed or 26 manufactured outside of this state may be made in this state when

- 1 the products were processed or manufactured in another state or
- 2 jurisdiction in compliance with:
- 3 (1) that state or jurisdiction's plan approved by the
- 4 United States Department of Agriculture under 7 U.S.C. Section
- 5 1639p;
- 6 (2) a plan established under 7 U.S.C. Section 1639q if
- 7 that plan applies to the state or jurisdiction; or
- 8 (3) the laws of that state or jurisdiction if the
- 9 products are tested in accordance with, or in a manner similar to,
- 10 Section 443.151.
- 11 Sec. 443.207. TRANSPORTATION AND EXPORTATION OF CONSUMABLE
- 12 HEMP PRODUCTS OUT OF STATE. Consumable hemp products may be legally
- 13 transported across state lines and exported to foreign
- 14 jurisdictions in a manner that is consistent with federal law and
- 15 the laws of respective foreign jurisdictions.
- 16 SECTION 8. Sections 481.002(5) and (26), Health and Safety
- 17 Code, are amended to read as follows:
- 18 (5) "Controlled substance" means a substance,
- 19 including a drug, an adulterant, and a dilutant, listed in
- 20 Schedules I through V or Penalty Group 1, 1-A, 2, 2-A, 3, or 4. The
- 21 term includes the aggregate weight of any mixture, solution, or
- 22 other substance containing a controlled substance. The term does
- 23 not include hemp, as defined by Section 121.001, Agriculture Code,
- 24 or the tetrahydrocannabinols in hemp.
- 25 (26) "Marihuana" means the plant Cannabis sativa L.,
- 26 whether growing or not, the seeds of that plant, and every compound,
- 27 manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of that

- 1 plant or its seeds. The term does not include:
- 2 (A) the resin extracted from a part of the plant
- 3 or a compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or
- 4 preparation of the resin;
- 5 (B) the mature stalks of the plant or fiber
- 6 produced from the stalks;
- 7 (C) oil or cake made from the seeds of the plant;
- 8 (D) a compound, manufacture, salt, derivative,
- 9 mixture, or preparation of the mature stalks, fiber, oil, or cake;
- 10 [or]
- 11 (E) the sterilized seeds of the plant that are
- 12 incapable of beginning germination; or
- 13 (F) hemp, as that term is defined by Section
- 14 121.001, Agriculture Code.
- 15 SECTION 9. (a) Not later than the 90th day after the
- 16 effective date of this Act, the Department of Agriculture shall
- 17 submit for approval a state plan to the secretary of the United
- 18 States Department of Agriculture as provided by Section 121.003,
- 19 Agriculture Code, as added by this Act.
- 20 (b) The Department of Agriculture shall submit amended
- 21 state plans as provided by Section 121.003(c), Agriculture Code, as
- 22 added by this Act, as necessary until the plan is approved.
- 23 (c) As soon as practicable after the effective date of this
- 24 Act, the executive commissioner of the Health and Human Services
- 25 Commission shall adopt rules necessary to implement the changes in
- 26 law made by this Act.
- 27 SECTION 10. The Department of Agriculture and the

- 1 Department of State Health Services shall begin implementing the
- 2 state plan approved by the secretary of the United States
- 3 Department of Agriculture not later than the 30th day after the date
- 4 on which the state plan is approved and shall fully implement the
- 5 state plan as soon as practicable after the state plan is approved.
- 6 SECTION 11. Notwithstanding Chapter 443, Health and Safety
- 7 Code, as added by this Act, a retailer may possess, transport, or
- 8 sell a consumable hemp product, as defined by Section 443.001,
- 9 Health and Safety Code, as added by this Act, that becomes part of
- 10 the retailer's inventory before rules under Section 443.051, Health
- 11 and Safety Code, as added by this Act, become effective unless the
- 12 product:
- 13 (1) is unsafe for consumption based on the presence or
- 14 quantity of heavy metals, pesticides, harmful microorganisms, or
- 15 residual solvents; or
- 16 (2) has a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration
- 17 of more than 0.3 percent.
- 18 SECTION 12. Notwithstanding Section 443.2025, Health and
- 19 Safety Code, as added by this Act, a person is not required to
- 20 register a location to sell a consumable hemp product containing
- 21 cannabidiol at retail in this state before the 60th day after the
- 22 date the Department of State Health Services begins issuing
- 23 registrations.
- 24 SECTION 13. This Act takes effect immediately if it
- 25 receives a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each
- 26 house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution.
- 27 If this Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate

H.B. No. 1325

I effect, this Act takes effect September 1, 2019.

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.B. No.	1325 was passed by the House on April
24, 2019, by the following vot	te: Yeas 144, Nays O, 1 present, not
voting; and that the House co	ncurred in Senate amendments to H.B.
No. 1325 on May 22, 2019, by th	ne following vote: Yeas 140, Nays 3,
2 present, not voting.	
-	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H R No	1325 was passed by the Senate, with
_	by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays
0.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	