

Changes in the Public Weigher Regulations

As a result of recent changes in law by the 81st Legislative Session, the *Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA)* has amended Public Weigher Regulations to conform to new requirements. Regulations are effective September 1, 2009.

Key points of the Public Weigher Regulations include:

- ♦ New definition for "Public Weigher." The distinction between County, Deputy, and State Public Weigher were removed. The definition of a Public Weigher is as follows:
 - "Public Weigher A business appointed to issue an official certificate in Texas."
- Each business location is required to be licensed, rather than the individuals employed by the business. The individual employees are no longer required to be licensed as a state or county public weigher.
- ♦ The revised *Public Weigher Certificate of Authority Application (RWM-702)* is required per business location. The form is available at TexasAgriculture.gov.
- ◆ The Public Weigher registration fee is per business location. Fees must be submitted with the RWM-702.
- ◆ The Public Weigher bond is \$10,000 per business location. Each business shall submit with RWM-702, a \$10,000 Bond of Public Weigher (RWM-704) payable to the State of Texas.
- Registrations are effective for two years from the date of issuance and are non-renewable. TDA will honor all County and State Public Weigher Certificates of Authority effective prior to September 1, 2009. After the expiration, the business location is required to register with the TDA under the new regulations by submitting the revised RWM-702, registration fee, and \$10,000 bond payable to the State of Texas.

For more information about the changes, call (800) TELL-TDA or email WeightsMeasures@TexasAgriculture.gov. Information on the Public Weigher program may be found on TDA's website at <u>TexasAgriculture.gov</u>.