
Are you a clinician, other than a physician?  

Eligible health professionals 
include, but are not limited 
to, physician assistants; 
nurses; physical and 
occupational therapists; 
pharmacists; optometrists; 
emergency medical 
technicians; speech 
pathologists; dentists; and 
licensed non-physician 
mental health practitioners.   

Do you have a new license? 

Recieved license  within the 
last 24 months prior to 
application submission and 
practice in a qualifying 
community.  

Are you new to rural? 

Changed employment within 
the last 12 months, prior to 
application submission, 
from a practice site in a 
large county (over 500,000) 
to a qualifying community 
to practice in the field for 
which they are licensed. 

RURAL COMMUNITIES HEALTH CARE  

INVESTMENT PROGRAM (RCHIP) 
STATE OFFICE OF RURAL HEALTH 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eligibility Requirements  
 

1) Not have a service obligation to any entity or participate in any educational loan reimbursement 

program or other incentive program; 

2) Hold a Texas license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or a 

state agency to work in a health care profession (herein collectively referred to as a license), other than 

MD or DO, and 

 Be newly licensed in the field under which this application is submitted (received first license 

within the last 24 months prior to application submission); OR 

 Be a licensed health professional practicing in a county with more than 500,000 people and move  

to practice in a qualifying community  in the field under which this application is submitted 

(applicant may not have been residing or practicing in the qualifying community for more than 12 

months prior to application submission);   

3)   Provide services to clients that receive at least one form of indigent care in qualifying community;  

4)   Agree to practice in the qualifying community for at least 12 consecutive months;  

5) Provide services in a county that has either MUA designation or the  HPSA designation appropriate for 

the provider type applying to the program (i.e. dentists apply for a dental HPSA, mental health providers 

apply for a mental health HPSA, primary care providers for a primary care HPSA); and 

6) Establish an office and residency in the qualifying community before receiving any portion of the 

stipend (applies only to health professionals participating in the stipend program). 

Up to $10,000 for 

student loan 

reimbursement or 

stipend 

 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
For full application visit http://www.texasagriculture.gov or 

email us at RuralHealth@TexasAgriculture.Gov. 
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