
Pesticide Applicator Record Requirements* 

Law or 
Regulation 

  

  

Texas Pesticide Law and Regs TX Agricultural Hazard 
Communication Law and Regs 

Who is 
affected? 

Commercial and 
noncommercial 
applicators 

Private applicators 
and licensed 
veterinarians 

Covered employers of farm workers 
Producers of agricultural plants using 
pesticides 

Type of 
Products 
Affected 

All Pesticides Restricted-use and 
state-limited-use 
pesticides and 
regulated 
herbicides 

All pesticides 

Type of 
Records 
Required 

Date of application and time of day 

Person for whom the application was 
made 

Location of land where application was 
made; the site treated (name of crop, 
etc.) and total acres or volume of area 
treated. 

The pesticide applied including: product 
name, EPA Reg. No., rate of product per 
unit, total volume of materials applied per 
unit, name of the pest treated 

Wind direction and velocity and air 
temperature 

FAA "N" number of aerial equipment; I.D. 
No. of other application equipment 

Name and license number of responsible 
licensed applicator and, if different, name 
of person actually making the application 

Spray permit No. for regulated herbicides 
applied in a regulated county 

Work Place Chemical List - - one form 
for employers choice of crop, work area, 
or workplace with: Date of application, 
use, or storage 

Location of treated area and/or storage; 
name of crop(s); (acres treated required 
on form) 

Product name (applied or stored) and 
EPA Reg. No. 

Estimated amount of product per acre or 
stored required on form 

Attachment – Material Safety Data 
Sheet(s) 

Attachment – Current crop sheets (on file 
for each crop) 

Maintenance 
Requirement 

Maintain for two years Maintain for 30 years; may transfer to 
TDA annually 

 



Law or 
Regulation 

Federal Worker Protection Standards 
(40 CFR 156 &170) 

1990 Federal Farm Bill and 7 CFR 110 

Who is 
affected? 

Producers of agricultural plants using 
pesticides 

Private applicators 

Type of 
Products 
Affected 

All pesticides labeled for WPS Restricted-use pesticides 

Type of 
Records 
Required 

Before making the application, post a list 
including: 

Time and date to be applied 

Location and description of area to be 
treated 

Product name; EPA Reg. No.; and active 
ingredient(s) 

Restricted entry interval 

Month, day, and year of application 

Location of application; the site treated 
(name of crop, etc.); and size of area 
treated 

Brand name or product name and EPA 
Reg. No. 

Total amount of restricted-use pesticide 
used 

Name and certificate or license number 
of applicator making or supervising 
application 

** commercial applicators must provide 
records of application within 30 days to 
person for whom application was made 

Maintenance 
Requirement 

Display for 30 days after last reentry 
interval has expired 

Maintain for two years 

 

*Consult the appropriate laws and regulations for full details. Also, special record keeping requirements 
for Compound 1080 Livestock Protection Collars and M-44 cyanide capsules are found in Section 7.39 
and in Section 7.40, respectively, of the Texas Pesticide Regulations and on the product labeling. 

 


