INSTRUCTIONS FOR
PUBLIC WEIGHER CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY APPLICATION
FORM NO. RWM-702

A public weigher may not officially weigh a commodity unless the weigher has obtained a certificate of
authority from the department.

Public Weigher applicants must submit the original bond WITH the application for Certificate of Authority.
Public Weighers are required to execute a bond for the duration of 2 years and in the amount of $10,000, made

payable to the State of Texas, and submit the original bond with the application. Bond of State Public Weigher
can be downloaded from www.TexasAgriculture.gov.

SECTION A

1. TYPE OF APPLICATION

Check the box that identifies the application type. A new business application is an application for a business that has not
held a TDA license or is a recently established business. A change of ownership application is an application where a
business has been acquired from a previous owner or is an established business changing type (see below). If the most
recent license account number is known please indicate in space provided.

2. BUSINESS TYPE
Check the box that identifies your type of business. Once submitted, this information cannot be changed. If you have to
change your business type, a new application will be required.

3. CLIENT INFORMATION

This information will be used to generate your license. Enter the full legal business name as it is registered. If applicable,
also enter a Doing-Business-As (DBA) name. For in-state businesses (except sole proprietors), a Comptroller Taxpayer
ID is required. For out-of-state business (except sole proprietors), a Federal ID is required.

For sole proprietors applying for this occupational license, a Social Security Number is mandatory and required by Texas
Family Code § 231.302. Social Security Numbers are required to assist in child support enforcement. In the event the
applicant does not have a Social Security Number, an affidavit of no Social Security Number (form OGC-001) must be
attached and a driver license number or state-issued ID number provided. This form is available on our website
www.TexasAgriculture.gov or by mail. Failure to provide a Social Security Number or an affidavit of no Social Security
Number will result in rejection of your application and a license will not be issued to you.
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SECTION B
1. RESPONSIBLE PERSON INSTRUCTIONS (see form)

2. RESPONSIBLE OFFICER, PARTNER, MANAGER, OR OWNER
Indicate name of person responsible for the business. Enter contact information.

3. RESPONSIBLE PERSON MAILING ADDRESS
Enter mailing address for indicated responsible person. If a web address is available for company please provide
(optional).

NOTE: The Person to Contact, named by the business in Section C of this form, is the preferred signatory of this
application. That person may be the Responsible Person.

SECTION C

1. PERSON TO CONTACT FOR LICENSE-RELATED MATTERS
Enter the name of a designated person, along with that person's contact information, who can discuss and answer
questions about license-related issues.

NOTE: The Person to Contact, named by the business, is the preferred signatory of this application. That person may be
the Responsible Person.

All correspondence, licenses, and other documents will be sent to the Person to Contact at the email address listed below.
Approximately 30 — 45 days in advance of the expiration date of the license/certificate, the contact employee will receive
a renewal invoice via email that will include a login ID and password to access TDA's internet website. The contact
employee will then be able to conduct business related to their assigned license(s) online, including viewing their licenses,
making changes to their company information, and renewing their licenses. A business can appoint one contact person to
manage online all of the company's licenses.

2. MAILING ADDRESS
Enter the address at which the Person to Contact receives general correspondence, where applicable.

SECTION D

1. FACILITY INFORMATION - NAME OF LICENSEE
Enter name of the facility to whom license will be issued.

2. PHYSICAL ADDRESS OF LOCATION (WHERE WEIGHING WILL TAKE PLACE)

Enter the actual physical street address of the weighing location, including directions to this location if the address is
difficult to locate. Please do not enter a P.O. Box. This information will assist TDA inspectors in locating your business
in the event that an inspection is needed.
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SECTION E

1. OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS ONLY

Check either the Texas Secretary of State or the “Other” box and enter the resident agent’s contact information. Only fill
out the Resident Agent contact information if the Texas Secretary of State box is not checked. If the address provided in
section A is out of state, agent information is required before a license can be issued.

SECTION F

1. PUBLIC WEIGHER FEE

Fee for a Public Weigher license is $485.

A Public Weigher license is valid for a period of two years. The licenses cannot be renewed. If you wish to
continue as a public weigher, submit a new application two weeks prior to the expiration of your current public
weigher license.

SECTION G

NOTE: Texas Department of Agriculture accepts only checks, cashier's checks or money orders.
1. PAYMENT

Check method of payment. Enter check number or money order number. Enter amount remitted.

Please remit to: Texas Department of Agriculture, P.O. Box 12076, Austin, TX. 78711-2076.

SECTION H

1. SIGNATURE
After reading the summary, print and sign your name, and date the form. Your signature here indicates that you have read
the summary and that you are aware of your responsibilities regarding the issuance of the requested license.

SECTION 1
Please note that an incomplete application may result in processing delays.

1. CHECKLIST
Check all boxes to verify you have completed the application process and attached/enclosed the necessary items (e.g.,
payment, applications & bond).
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