Commissioner Miller Honors Leah Warren of Sweetwater High School With ‘GROW’ Award > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content


More News

Commissioner Miller Honors Leah Warren of Sweetwater High School With ‘GROW’ Award (2/17/2015)

AUSTIN – Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller today honored Leah Warren, a senior from Sweetwater High School in Sweetwater, Texas, as the winner of the Texas Department of Agriculture’s monthly GROW award. The award Gives Recognition for Outstanding Work to middle and high school students who demonstrate leadership and excellence inside and outside the classroom.

“I have to tip my hat to Leah for earning this month’s GROW award,” Commissioner Miller said. “Thanks to young leaders like Leah the future of Texas looks brighter than ever. I couldn’t be more proud to honor Leah, as she symbolizes everything I look for in a great leader — a strong work ethic, dedication to community and family, and a can-do attitude.”

Leah was chosen from hundreds of Texas students for demonstrating leadership in her school activities, as well as her commitment to community service. She is a shining example of a student leader who is dedicated to everything she does and the community around her.

Leah is a six-year member of FFA who participates, coordinates and assists in planning every major event and show each year. She has participated in stock shows, poultry and cotton judging, and veterinary technology contests. Leah also is recognized for providing inspiration to incoming students by assisting them in deciding what direction to take in school.

Beyond FFA, she is a band drum major and percussionist, as well as the 2015 Sweetwater High School "Yucca Gloriosa" Band Representative. Leah also is a member of the school’s Robotics Club.

“If someone asked me to describe the key attributes of a student leader, I would think of Leah Warren and her servant leadership approach at Sweetwater High School,” said Dr. Ronald Morris, principal of Sweetwater High School. “I know that Leah will exceed all expectations and demonstrate Texas pride in her future endeavors by leading with a quick smile and a compassionate heart.”

In the classroom, Leah excels in honors and dual credit classes. She has already earned 18 college hours through Western Texas College. Leah loves being challenged by rigorous instruction and academics — something that’s evident in her success. Leah also represents Sweetwater High School as part of the National Society of High School Scholars.

In the community, Leah plays intramural soccer, operates the technology each Sunday morning for her church and was crowned the 2014-2015 Sweetwater Lions Club Queen.

“Receiving the GROW award celebrates the positive impact the community of Sweetwater, Texas, has had on my development over the years,” said Leah. “Moreover, I am thrilled that our new Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, Sid Miller, continues to recognize student leaders in Texas who demonstrate excellence in academic and extracurricular activities.”

This fall, Leah plans to attend Tarleton State University, where she will study science and pursue a career in veterinary medicine.

For more on Leah’s accomplishments, click here. The Texas Department of Agriculture established the GROW award to celebrate outstanding student leaders who demonstrate excellence in either their academic or extracurricular activities. Students can be nominated by community leaders such as teachers, coaches, school administrators, mayors, county judges or anyone else committed to recognizing youth leadership and achievement.

To nominate a promising middle or high school student, visit TDA’s website at One GROW award winner is chosen monthly. Nominations for next month’s award are due March 1, 2015.

Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter