Commissioner Miller To Hold First Texas Olive Oil Advisory Board Meeting > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content


More News

Commissioner Miller To Hold First Texas Olive Oil Advisory Board Meeting (12/4/2019)

For Immediate Release:
Dec. 4, 2019


This first Olive Oil Advisory Board meeting is scheduled for Dec. 12, 2019

Today, Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller announced the Texas Department of Agriculture will hold its first Olive Oil Advisory Board meeting on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019.   The nine-member board will meet at the TDA headquarters in the Stephen F. Austin building in downtown Austin. The meeting will begin at 1 p.m. and will be open to the public.

Created by the Texas Legislature earlier this year, the Texas Olive Oil Advisory Board will be responsible for developing a plan to promote and expand the growing olive oil industry in the State of Texas. Additionally, board members will develop a long-term branding and marketing plan, review rules and assess the current state of the industry.

“Olive oil is a booming industry for Texas right now,” Commissioner Miller said. “In 2018, there were more than 150 growers and approximately 4,000 acres of olives planted. I am excited about the great potential for growth for Texas olive oil - both domestically and internationally. The Texas Department of Agriculture is committed to doing what we can to help this industry succeed.”

The board consists of nine members appointed by the Texas Commissioner of Agriculture. Those members will include one person from each of the 5 established olive-growing regions of the state; one representative who is actively engaged in harvesting, milling or agritourism; one researcher or educator from an institution of higher education; one representative from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service; and one representative from the Texas Department of Agriculture.

Board Members include:

Grower, Region 1 – Jim Henry
Grower, Region 2 – Jon Ann Welch
Grower, Region 3 – Adam Jenschke
Grower, Region 4 – Marcia Bauer
Grower, Region 5 – Cathy Bernell
Harvesting, Milling, Agritourism – Michael Paz
Research and Education – Dr. Stanley Kelley
AgriLife Extension – Dr. Larry Stein
Texas Department of Agriculture- Dan Hunter

Details for those interested in attending are listed below:

Office Location:
Stephen F. Austin building
1700 N. Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701
Second Floor Conference Room



For media inquiries:
Contact: Maddison Jaureguito at 512-463-7899


Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter