(800)-Tell-TDA
835-5832
SPCS Technician and Apprentice Licensing

Licensed Technicians

A commercial technician is defined as the person who, under the direct supervision of a certified applicator, performs pest control services. A technician must be licensed for every business for which they are employed or for whom they perform pest control services.

A noncommercial technician is defined as the person who, under the direct supervision of a certified applicator, performs pest control services for a governmental entity, apartment building, day-care center, hospital, nursing home, hotel, motel, lodge, warehouse, food-processing establishment, school or education institution.

The applicant must first register as an apprentice and complete all apprentice training requirements before taking the exam for a technician license.

Apprentice Requirements

Submit an Application for Apprentice Registration and Technician License form with the $125 fee within 10 days of employment or within 10 days of beginning pest control services.

SPCS will review the application and conduct a background review. An apprentice card will then be issued for 12 months from date of hire.

An apprentice may provide pest control services in the category for which training has been completed under the direct supervision of a certified applicator.  This means that a certified applicator shall have personal contact at least three days per week. 

Required Training:

  • 20 hours classroom training in the general standards with at least two hours in each of the following subjects:
    • Federal and state laws that regulate the industry
    • Recognition of pests and pest damage
    • Pesticide labels and label comprehension
    • Pesticide safety
    • Environmental protection
    • Application equipment and techniques
    • Pesticide formulations and actions
    • Emergency procedures and pesticide cleanup, and procedures for immediate reporting of spills and misapplications
    • Basic principles of mathematics, chemistry, toxicology and entomology
    • Non-chemical pest control techniques, including biological, mechanical, and prevention techniques.
  • 8 hours of classroom training in each category seeking licensure.
  • 40 hours of on-the-job training in each category seeking licensure. 
  • Apprentices must attend and participate in a SPCS approved technician training course prior to taking the technician exam.

Verification of training must be kept in the personnel file of the apprentice and are subject to review by SPCS personnel. 

Exam Preparation

Study materials for license exams may be purchased from Texas AgriLife Extension Service.

Extension Agricultural and Environmental Safety Program

P.O. Drawer FS,

College Station, Texas 77841

Phone: (979)845-1099

Fax: (979)845-6251

www-aes.tamu.edu/

 

Exams

  • Apprentices must attend and participate in a SPCS approved technician training course prior to taking the technician exam.
  • Submit an Application for Apprentice Registration and Technician Exam along with $64 for each category exam.  Pass an exam in each category in which training was completed to receive a technician license. 
  • Exam must be passed prior to the expiration date of the apprentice card.  May retest as many times as needed during a 12-month period. 
  • A technician license will be issued when the exam is passed.  Technicians may provide pest control services under direct supervision and receive instructions at least three days per week from a certified applicator. 
  • To add a category, the individual must receive 40 hours of on-the-job training and 8 hours of classroom training in the additional category and pass the category exam.

Criminal Background

SPCS performs a criminal background review.

If TDA identifies criminal activity that affects your fitness to license you'll be asked to provide the following additional information.  The application will not be processed until all the information is provided and reviewed.  All items are mandatory and must be submitted for ALL pending criminal matters, as well as any conviction or deferrals listed in your criminal history record. 

 

1.            If you served a probation or parole, a copy of the document releasing you from the conditions and terms of your parole or probation, or an official document or statement from your supervising officer showing that you have met and completed the terms of your parole or probation;

2.            A signed statement from your parole office or other law enforcement agency stating you have paid all outstanding court costs, supervision fees, fines, and restitution as may have been ordered or that you have been consistent in meeting the conditions of any payment plan;

3.            At least one letter of recommendation from a law enforcement official familiar with your current conduct, or any other person, other than an employer, who has had recent significant contact with you;

4.  A written, dated statement, signed by you, containing a complete description of

 

-              the crime(s) for which you were convicted or any pending criminal matter(s);

-              your age at the time the crime(s) was committed;

-              the gender and age of the victim or victims of your crime(s),

-              your relationship to the victim or victims;

-              how the victim or victims of your crime were affected by that crime(s);

-              your conduct and work activities prior to the conviction or deferral;

-              the sentence imposed for the conviction or deferral;

-              the amount of time incarcerated, if any;

-              the year of your release from incarceration, if any;

-              the time period during which you were or will be on parole or probation;

-              if currently on parole or probation, the terms of your parole or probation;

               

5.            Evidence that the applicant or licensee has maintained a record of steady employment, supported dependents, and record of good conduct since the most recent conviction or deferral.

6.            A letter from your employer indicating that they are aware of all convictions or deferrals listed on your criminal history record.

Expiration

The expiration date of the technician license will be based on the expiration date of the business or noncommercial certified applicator.   

Training Required to Renew License

Licensed technicians must complete eight hours of verifiable training for the calendar year of renewal year.  The verifiable training must be reported on a prescribed verifiable training record form and be verified for each annual renewal of the technician's license.

  • Two of the eight hours of training may be on-the-job training or hands-on training.
  • Internet training or videotape training may be used if the certified applicator certifies that the training is the appropriate training.
  • Hour for hour credit will be given if a SPCS approved continuing education unit course is completed.
  • No courses may be repeated for credit per year.
  • Verifiable training records form must be kept on a format prescribed by SPCS in the business file for at least two years after termination of employment.

Change of Address

Must be submitted within 10 days of the effective date.  Include company name and license number, Social Security number, and old and new addresses and phone numbers. To get a copy of the license with the new information, submit a written request.   

Changing Employers

Submit a Change of License Form and pay any fees within 10 days of the effective date.