Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller Honors Historic Farms and Ranches at 40th Annual Family Land Heritage Ceremony > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content


More News

Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller Honors Historic Farms and Ranches at 40th Annual Family Land Heritage Ceremony (11/6/2015)

AUSTIN - In a celebration of agriculture and family heritage, Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller and the Texas Department of Agriculture today honored 76 farms and ranches spanning 56 Texas counties at the 40th Annual Family Land Heritage (FLH) ceremony. The ceremony, held in the House Chamber at the Texas State Capitol, recognized Texas families who have kept their farms and ranches in continuous agricultural production for 100 years or more.

“The roots of agriculture run deep in Texas history, and the families we honored today are true pioneers,” Commissioner Miller said. “It is my pleasure to recognize our Family Land Heritage honorees and their contributions to our state’s legacy. Making a living off the land has never been easy, and the success of these farms and ranches is a testament to the rewards of hard work, determination and commitment to land and family.”

Among the families honored today are five who represent properties that have been in continuous agricultural production for 150 years or more, including:

  • Constant Creek Ranch in Austin County
  • Brautigam Farm in Montgomery County
  • Butler Ranch in Smith County
  • Rancho Santo Niño in Webb County
  • La Libertad Ranch in Zapata County

To date, TDA has recognized more than 4,800 properties in 237 counties across Texas. To view the complete list of FLH properties honored this year, click here.

Cowboy poet and entertainer Red Steagall performed at today’s ceremony, and award-winning weathercaster Jim Spencer served as the master of ceremonies.

With the generous support of our sponsors, no taxpayer dollars were used for activities during the event. Title, platinum and gold sponsors include:

  • The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company (Title Sponsor)
  • Ag Workers Insurance
  • Brookshire Brothers
  • Capital Farm Credit
  • Collin Street Bakery
  • Earthmoving Contractors Association of Texas
  • McCoy's Building Supply
  • Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association
  • Texas Association of Dairymen
  • Texas Potato Growers
  • Texas Tea
  • Dow AgroSciences
  • National Ranching Heritage Center
  • Texas A&M Forest Service
  • Texas Poultry Federation
  • Texas Wildlife Association

Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter