Commissioner Miller Announces New Texas Organic Agricultural Industry Advisory Board Appointments > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content


More News

Commissioner Miller Announces New Texas Organic Agricultural Industry Advisory Board Appointments (4/6/2016)

AUSTIN - Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller today announced new appointments to the Texas Organic Agricultural Industry Advisory Board. Created during the 80th Legislative Session by House Bill 2345, the board assists the Texas Department of Agriculture in assessing the state of the organic agriculture industry and develops recommendations for Commissioner Miller to promote and expand the industry. Additionally, board members also recommend statewide organic agriculture product education and awareness campaigns.

“Texas’ organic agricultural producers are working hard to provide organic products for a rapidly growing market and meet the demands of consumers around the world, and I look forward to working with this great group of individuals to advance the organic industry in Texas,” Commissioner Miller said. “By working together, we will be able to draw on the collective expertise of our board members to strengthen and promote the organic industry in Texas to satisfy this demand.”

The first board meeting will be April 7, 2016 at 11 a.m. in room 220S of the Stephen F. Austin Building, located at 1700 N. Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78701. This meeting is open to the public.

Recently appointed members of the Texas Organic Agricultural Industry Advisory Board include:

Four organic producers:

  • Donald De Jong of Dalhart
  • Tim Miller of Kyle
  • Cathy Slaughter of Georgetown
  • James Wedel of Muleshoe 

Two organic retailers

  • Russon Holbrook – Earthborn Market in Mission
  • Robert Morton – H-E-B in San Antonio

One organic distributor

  • Richard Ottis of El Campo

One organic processor

  • Greg Devillier of Beaumont

One representative of the Texas Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association

  • Leslie McKinnon of San Marcos

One representative from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

  • Dr. Monty Dozier of College Station

One technical advisor employed by an institution of higher education

  • David Kattes from Tarleton State University in Stephenville

One public representative

  • Amy Griffith of Texarkana 

Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter