Commissioner Miller Announces Appointments to Texas Shrimp Advisory Committee > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content

Commissioner Miller Announces Appointments to Texas Shrimp Advisory Committee (5/18/2016)

AUSTIN – Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller today announced new appointments to the Texas Shrimp Advisory Committee. Established in 2003, the committee assists the Texas Department of Agriculture in the marketing and promotion of Gulf shrimp. The committee is also charged with developing recommendations for Commissioner Miller to expand the industry through statewide education, awareness and tourism campaigns.

“Texas commercial fishermen are working hard to provide healthy Gulf shrimp to meet the demands of consumers around the world, and I look forward to working with this great group of individuals to advance the shrimp industry in Texas,” Commissioner Miller said. “By working together, we will be able to draw on the collective expertise of our committee members to strengthen the shrimp industry and satisfy this demand.”

Recently appointed members of the Texas Shrimp Advisory Committee include: 

  • Monte Sheffield, owner, Palmer Restaurant, San Marcos, Texas;
  • Andrea Hance, executive director, Texas Shrimp Association, Brownsville, Texas;
  • Ivo Goga, director, Texas Pack, Inc., Port Isabel, Texas;
  • Caleb Pool, district representative for U.S. Rep. Mac Thornberry, Amarillo, Texas; and
  • Ken Garcia, owner, Quality Seafood, Palacios, Texas.

 To learn more about Texas shrimp, visit


More News
Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter