Texas Agriculture Memorial Day Honors the Lives and Sacrifices Made By Farmers and Ranchers > Texas Department of Agriculture Website > News & Events
Skip to content


More News

Texas Agriculture Memorial Day Honors the Lives and Sacrifices Made By Farmers and Ranchers (11/15/2018)

AUSTIN — On Monday, November 19, Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller and the Texas Department of Agriculture will host the 3rd Annual Texas Agriculture Memorial Day at the State Capitol in Austin. Texas Agriculture Memorial Day is a day to remember the lives and honor the sacrifices of Texas farmers and ranchers whose dedication to agriculture contributes so much to our heritage and our economy.

The event, in the Capitol Extension Auditorium, will recognize men and women who have lost their lives or have been severely injured while engaged in agricultural-related pursuits, and those who passed away due to other causes but had an significant role in the agricultural community.

A memorial wreath will be delivered to the steps of the Texas Capitol by state 4-H and FFA youth leaders. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will provide an honor guard to accompany the wreath as well as a lone bagpiper. Commissioner Sid Miller will accept the wreath on behalf of the families and deliver it to the event.

Texas Agriculture Memorial Day was organized by John Paul Dineen, III who lost his son to an agriculture-related accident. All listed events are open to the public.

Among the individuals being recognized is a young man who was tragically electrocuted one day shy of his 21st birthday. There are six who will be honored for their loss of life in an agriculture-related accident, two who were severely injured, and eight that dedicated their life to agriculture and have passed away.

  • Jimmy Lee Davis
  • Fredrick (Fritz) Mueller
  • Jacob Darren Biar
  • Wayne Reynolds
  • William Lloyd Hill
  • Edward Charles Zoch

  • James Allen Bishop
  • Pedro (Pete) Trevino Jr.

Life of Service:
  • Mary Cain
  • George W. (Tee) Knox
  • Larry Butler
  • James Pace
  • James Harry & Fannie Hitt
  • Bobby Ray Jackson
  • J. O. Williams
  • John F. Davis

Monday, Nov. 19, 2018
Memorial Wreath Delivery 1:30 p.m. *MEDIA OPPORTUNITY
Ceremony: 2:00 p.m.

Texas State Capitol
1100 Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701
Memorial Wreath Delivery: North Steps of the Capitol
Memorial Ceremony: Capitol Extension Auditorium (E1.004)

Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller
John Paul Dineen, III – organizer
State FFA and 4-H Youth Leaders
Department of Public Safety Honor Guard and Bagpiper

It is important to recognize and honor those who have lost their lives or were severely injured in an agriculture-related accident. The Texas industry of agriculture appreciates the sacrifices required to produce the food and fiber we all need.

Media Contacts

Director, Communications
Maddison Jaureguito

Public Information Requests
Read the Texas Agriculture Matters newsletter