Skip to content

Commissioner Miller Encourages Community Leaders to Nominate Promising Students For GROW Award (9/14/2015)

AUSTIN - As the 2015 school year gets underway, Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller reminds teachers, school administrators and community leaders across Texas to nominate promising students for the Texas Department of Agriculture’s GROW Award. The award Gives Recognition for Outstanding Work to middle and high school students who demonstrate leadership and excellence in their pursuits inside and outside the classroom.

“Thanks to young leaders across the Lone Star State the future of Texas and our agriculture industry looks brighter than ever,” Commissioner Miller said. “Every day, we hear about young Texans doing great work in their communities, leading their peers and demonstrating excellence. Our youth are our greatest resource, and now is the time to recognize these young folks for their hard work and amazing contributions to our state. The GROW award does just that, and I look forward to another great year of honoring these amazing kids.”

GROW celebrates outstanding student leaders by highlighting each winner’s special interests, service to community and family, strong work ethic, leadership and overall character. Award recipients will receive an official certificate from Commissioner Miller and special recognition on the TDA website.

Students can be nominated by community leaders such as teachers, coaches, school administrators, mayors, county judges or anyone else committed to recognizing youth leadership and achievement. A committee will choose a winner each month during the regular school year.

To nominate a promising middle or high school student in your area, click here. Applications are due Oct. 1, 2015. The first GROW award recipient of the 2015 school year will be announced on Oct. 15, 2015. A new student will be recognized each month throughout the school year. Additionally, nominations can be submitted throughout the school year.

For a list of previous GROW award winners, visit our website.