Texas Bioenergy Research Committee
Commissioner Todd Staples Texas Department of Agriculture
Minor Hibbs, P.E. Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Dan Kelly, Ph.D. Railroad Commission of Texas
Robert Mace, Ph.D. Texas Water Development Board
Voiteh Yaroshevich Public Utility Commission of Texas
Dick Auld, Ph.D. Texas Tech University System
Theresa Maldonado, Ph.D., P.E. The Texas A&M University System
Raymond Orbach, Ph.D. The University of Texas System
Joe Outlaw, Ph.D. The Texas A&M University System
Susan Domke Dow Chemical
Matthew Lowe, Ph.D. Temple-Inland
Jeff Plowman Sustainable Biodiesel Alliance
Colin South, Ph.D Promethegen Corp. & Novogy, Inc.
David Stern, Ph.D. ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Co.
Alan Weber MARC-IV
Chris Wolfe, J.D. Haynes and Boone, LLP

Per Section 50D.023 of the Texas Agriculture Code, the research committee shall:

(1) identify and research appropriate and desirable biomass feedstock for each geographic region of this state;
(2) investigate logistical challenges to the planting, harvesting, and transporting of large volumes of biomass and provide recommendations to the policy council that will aid in overcoming barriers to the transportation, distribution, and marketing of bioenergy;
(3) identify strategies for and obstacles to the potential transition of the agriculture industry in western regions of this state to dryland bioenergy crops that are not dependent on groundwater resources;
(4) explore regions of this state, including coastal areas, that may contain available marginal land for use in growing bioenergy feedstocks;
(5) study the potential for producing oil from algae;
(6) study the potential for the advancement of thermochemical process technologies to produce alternative chemical feedstocks;
(7) study the potential for producing pipeline-quality natural gas from renewable sources; and
(8) perform other research duties as requested by the commissioner relating to the responsible development of bioenergy resources in this state.


July 30, 2010

February 16, 2010

© 2016 Texas Department of Agriculture